Cards / sending off's, brawls in Football vs Hurling

Was watching the Cork v Kilkenny game yesterday and I was thinking, it appears to me that there is more brawls, cards and sending off's in Gaelic Football than there is in Hurling at the senior level at home. Why do you think that is? Here in the states Hurling is much bigger within our club than football with the American lads. Some of the reasons are that it is so unique, but they all have the opinion that it is also more violent than football and therefore cooler and more attractive?? But if you look at the record lately it appears that there is more cynical fouls, dirty play etc. in football. Is it because in Hurling your hands are tied up holding the hurley or maybe because the penalties are harsher for hitting out with the hurley, straight red for example?? Or are footballers that much less sophisticated than hurlers?
Let the opinions roll.

Dubfan Abroad (Dublin) - Posts: 282 - 26/03/2012 15:36:26    1137537

Top hurling teams are more disciplined, and the rules for fouls are more clearly defined than in football. Also in hurling, the hurl is the focal point of your involvement in the game, in football the body is all-important.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 26/03/2012 15:55:44    1137560

Most of serious injuries I got playing were in football rather than hurling. I do think that the fact that lads have potentially weapons in their hands makes them more cautious about using them! I would also contend that hurling is played in a better spirit and that there is less gamesmanship and cheating.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 26/03/2012 15:57:37    1137561

Hurling is more sophisticated than football in terms of skill but to use that as a basis that hurlers are more sophisticated than footballers in the overall sense is a touch much

Football is fiercely competitive in many many games on any given day, it generally has lower scoring, so it's going to be closer, more tense, every point over the bar that bit more precious than in hurling, so maybe footballers get more fired up, football is more physical anyway, you can hook a hurler but you physically tackle a footballer so it's only natural a good old handbag fight starts up

Hurling isn't that competitive in terms of results compared to football, but is seeing too much handbags and brawling but I think that's just the big boys in hurling lashing out as they try to dethrone the other, Kilkenny/Cork being a good example. But that's just an impression, not a statement of fact against the big teams of hurling

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 26/03/2012 15:57:39    1137562

its refes and officals who are to blame there seems to be an intent to gove yellow cards for any tackle in football but when the same foul is commited in hurling the same punishment does not be applied,take acouple weeks back in croker paul ryan tripped a cork player with hurl ref gave a free no car same thing happened in the dublin v armagh football and the player got yellow card now tripping with a hurl should be viewed as more dangerous or a least the same punishment as a yellow card offence.also any time there is a brawl in football teams get sverly punished where as in hurling its let go a throw ball and thats the end of it despite them pulling across each other with the hurl.
also the side line ball rule seems to only be applied in football if you cross the line they give throw ball where as in hurling the linesman a yard or two away lets the player place the sliotar half a yard inside the line all the time surely this should be spotted.mickey harte made also a good point that the ref got hit with the hurl across the face in the all ireland final when there wasa brawl happening it was laughed off and nobody got suspended could you imagine a brawl in football and the ref getting a punch the guy would get 6months minimum

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/03/2012 16:21:51    1137586

Well there's no doubt that there's too many cards going on moreso in football for innoccous challenges, if it goes on, the physicality will be lost for the game which would be a disaster.

Ciaran Whelahan pointed it out in 4/5 different instances on League sunday last week all resulting in yellow/red cards.

someone ought to remind the GAA this is football, not volleyball

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 26/03/2012 16:50:50    1137604

Increasingly yellow cards are being dished out in football far too easily. This leads to very soft red cards which can effectively ruin games.

Hurling in the last 15 years has become a far more physical game than football. In hurling yellow cards are far more deserved and it's rare that you see one dished out needlessly, although it does happen. Referees in hurling should be commended in my opinion for letting the physicality remain within the game.

Anyone who plays hurling will know how annoying it is when you get what's known as a 'football ref'. It can totally ruin the game and is extremely frustrating!!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13837 - 26/03/2012 17:00:09    1137617

yes but its the top brass who is to blame in my opinion football was the same way reffed as hurling up untill last decade where they seemed to realy want to change rules and fouls in football and leave hurling alone consistency in both codes is what is needed

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/03/2012 17:11:30    1137628

Sure the ref just stands there in hurling.
He could blow his whistle every 10 seconds if he was implementing the rules, but he doesn't and everyone is happy.

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 26/03/2012 17:18:07    1137634

Coylers, refs are tough on stuff that needs to be penalised but most have the cop on to allow anything that is not dangerous. Dub refs were notoriously strict up until recently which hampered the game as county sides were not used to the aggression and physicality of others. Dublin hurling used to have a reputation for being tough but a lot of that was pure badness and focused on long standing fueds and vendettas!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 26/03/2012 17:24:24    1137642

Refs may not give as many frees in Hurling, but it still does not account for what seems to be a lot more handbags, punches thrown, pitch invasions, sending offs, club officials getting involved etc. in football than in hurling. Is a higher intelegence required to play the small ball game?? Just askin....

Dubfan Abroad (Dublin) - Posts: 282 - 26/03/2012 18:32:17    1137691

Good thread
I believe that this happens because success in modern Hurling still relies on skill much more than modern football.
In football the sheer physical strength and size of players is preferred to when it comes to team selection. It helps to have all the skills but if you're big and fit enough to win possession and hand it off then you'll do ok.
In hurling it dont matter what size you are if you cant hit the ball - also the caman is a great leveller when it comes to physicality.
I play both at senior and , in my own opinion , i find in hurling that you havent the time to get involved in any pulling and dragging .

Finsceal (None) - Posts: 559 - 26/03/2012 18:34:08    1137693

hill16no1man

also the side line ball rule seems to only be applied in football if you cross the line they give throw ball where as in hurling the linesman a yard or two away lets the player place the sliotar half a yard inside the line all the time surely this should be spotted.

The rule for sideline balls that was introduced in football where it has to be taken from behind the line was never introduced in hurling, even though a lot of people (inc. some refs) seem to think it was. They are supposed to take it on the line, or fairly close, but the linesman does have some discretion depending on how playable a sideline puck is from that place (in particular in front of the substitution zone where it can be fairly bare).

mickey harte made also a good point that the ref got hit with the hurl across the face in the all ireland final when there was a brawl happening it was laughed off and nobody got suspended could you imagine a brawl in football and the ref getting a punch the guy would get 6months minimum

The issue of the ref getting hit is a controversial enough one I've found. honestly, i personally thought it amounted to 'using the hurley in a careless manner' which would be a yellow card. It could just as easily be seen as 'to behave in any way which is dangerous to an opponent' which is a red. (the reason I didn't include 'strike or attempt to strike' is because he wasn't aiming at anyone, it was just flailing with it a bit).

The difference between that and what you said, as far as i can see, is that it would be incredibly difficult to punch a ref (or anyone else) accidentally. i'm sure a flailing arm might catch the ref if he was in the middle of it all, but in that case would you consider that a red card either?

game.on.now.ger (Galway) - Posts: 423 - 26/03/2012 19:06:18    1137713

hurlingdub

haha owl naomh fionnbarra must be high on the list

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/03/2012 19:28:27    1137727

hill16no1man

Haha, you're not a real man until you've survived a game down the Bogies!!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13837 - 26/03/2012 19:43:18    1137741

Mes amis, i would say it much like surviving a game against McD's, ardoyne or davitts in antrim, hairy enough hurling against those fellas at times :)

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 26/03/2012 20:25:59    1137778

yeah the boogies or john paul park thats worse its tighter pitch and them owl containers as dressing rooms believe me you dont want to play them halloween day an experiance in itself

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/03/2012 20:32:00    1137784

me.on.now.ger

the same rule should apply tho to both games with the sideline ball it would make more sense.

id say the media would get the player suspended tho if the ref was struck in football match the disciplinary boards would have a field day regardless of if was accidental or not like you say tommy walsh had the intent to strike somebody when he swung the hurl i think regardless of if it was a tipp player or the ref he still should be sent off for striking

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/03/2012 20:36:14    1137787

As someone earlier said football has a huge amount of body contact to "block" a ball you have to get to the boot/ball at point of contact huge amount of hand injuries far far more than hurling/camogie. I don't think its a dirtier game just a more physical one. Hurling can be dangerous but vats majority of hurlers never get a serious injury from a stick - usually from a bone crunching tackle.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4957 - 26/03/2012 20:38:30    1137791

I actually think that hurlers expect to get clattered by the stick a few times in the game so come with a different frame of mind. I also think that there is an element of the soccer dive creeping into Gaelic Football that you dont get in Hurling. Lads throwing themselves around like eejits or Ronaldo whichever you prefer. I don't think there is as much cynicism in Hurling. Lads are too focused on what they have to do to notice the odd clatter.

Dubfan Abroad (Dublin) - Posts: 282 - 26/03/2012 20:56:36    1137811