Portlaoise last weekend

Well said Artisan

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 21/03/2012 17:29:13    1134288

Never in my day going to football games have i heard "London - Derry" sang or chanted to me by any of the 26 counties but our fellow ulster gaels seem to take enjoyment in doing so, in fact so called Armagh fans done so at the Clones semi final last year! Fine line between "banter" and over stepping the line remember we are all gaels not soccer hooligans

brolly_4_pres (Derry) - Posts: 356 - 21/03/2012 17:37:45    1134295

Sickening behaviour and need to be rooted out.
If this was said to a rugby player from the North all hell would happen. Throw the book at Laois. If this was a Kerry player I would say the same

Peace_On (Kerry) - Posts: 53 - 21/03/2012 17:49:16    1134302

bit of an ulster civil war starting in here folks:)

juniorbsub (Wexford) - Posts: 646 - 21/03/2012 18:02:22    1134315

We don't have to pretend to like each other juniorbsub! :)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 21/03/2012 18:26:58    1134337

Where is Ulsterman for all this?
He's been waiting for this day his whole Hoganstand life and now no sign of him.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 21/03/2012 18:58:11    1134369

If the allegations are true then the events are pretty embarrassing for Laois. But in fairness, its hardly earth-shattering news. This has been going on for as long as I can remember, and although its unsavory its not like a bolt of lightening. Calling it racism is also off the mark! How exactly can making a slur at someone who is presumably culturally and racially identical to you be construed as racism? Its certainly derogatory but comparisons that some have quoted including semitic and islamic examples are not helpful. If you think about it, its similar to a white person attempting to make a racial comment about someone else being white!

These comments are widespread in the GAA, ive seen plenty of people at Dublin matches make such comments, ive seen plenty of people at away matches in the North refer to us as 'free-staters and west-brits'. Is that racism? No, it certainly is not but it is offensive nonetheless. I agree we need to address it, but hyperbolising is not the answer.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 21/03/2012 19:03:03    1134372

Superglue

1134369 Where is Ulsterman for all this?
He's been waiting for this day his whole Hoganstand life and now no sign of him.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 21/03/2012 19:09:50    1134387

Absolutely disgusted at those comments from so-called members of the G.A.A. to fellow members. There should be long bans for this !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 21/03/2012 19:40:05    1134406

Liamwalkinstown

Malonemagic
County: Laois

1134014 If this was other way around laois would be called losers and whingers

And whose fault is that! I may have stuck up for Laois in an earlier post, but I would still maintain I have NEVER seen a bigger shower of whingers and crybabys in all my time watching GAA as the Laois team of mid to late 00's!

Coming from the fella who used to go off in a huff anytime the Dubs got a little bit of slagging on here?

theboydonegood (Donegal) - Posts: 522 - 21/03/2012 20:07:01    1134427

I was not at the game and like many am unaware if it happened or not. However no one has mentioned that perhaps the player that was supposed to have said it would have a fair clue! If the is even a little bit of courage in him then he should make a public apology.

I cannot condemn any player without evidence but in reality where could any evidence come from. Anyone that makes a statement will be seen as bias from the other county so it wont go any further.

I would just like to add, if it is true then McKeever should not have kicked him in the tunnel, he should have took his head off there and then for everyone to see

white.n.blue (Monaghan) - Posts: 249 - 21/03/2012 20:24:41    1134445

Lads this happens at matchs and it's pretty sad to resort to those sort of tactics but it has been happening for quite sometime now its not going to go away over night althought i do think action should be taken against the Laois man and give a message to the rest who persist in these tactics that it won't be tolarated.

finuge93 (Kerry) - Posts: 166 - 21/03/2012 20:44:56    1134462

As a Laois man who was at the match last sunday, im very annoyed at what is been said by people on this site who were not at this match and who are dragging laois through the mud, I feel I have to resopnd as many laois gaa people use another gaa forum.

A few things:

I was surrounded by armagh supporters and their anger was at ref and not towards laois, in fairness they had a point. He should have given them a penelty in first half.

The laois crowd were very quite and small on sunday, armagh outnumbered us by 2 to 1, expectations in laois are at a low at the moment even though we have two wins in league. Even when we got the goal, it was like a team that scored in an away venue!!! There WAS NO sectartion chanting by supporters at that match and both supporters walking out of the game were talking about how poor the ref was not slagging each other about british/free state s*ite that has been mentioned here.

Overall the match was played in a good spirit with two exceptions conor boyle of laois was lying on the ground with number 12 of armagh on top.- play was at other end, ref gave 12 a yellow. he prob should have got the line. 5 mins later Armagh took player off . That is a fact- it did happen, there is evidence to prove this as the whole crowd saw this. Armagh people on this site forgot to mention that. The second exception was the sending off, the ref said it was for kicking and if he did he had to go.

Now , if a laois player did what is mentioned on this site/yesterdays papers well then he should never play for laois again.

Slander is a terrible thing and in all walks of life people slender each other especially if they dont get their way or if they want revenge. Unless Armagh GAA have evidence or the ref comes out and says the laois guy said something sectarion, well then , they should have kept their mouth shut. It kills me to think that our county is been bad mouthed in the gaa world by a county who lost by 5pts to us , lost vital league points, had a selector banned for three months, a player banned for two games and by people on this site who were not at the match and are suddenly taking the moral high ground.

It seems to me alot of people on the site bad mouthing us are from kildare carlow and dublin, traditional rival counties to laois and other counties are listening to them and joining in. Laois GAA is not bad and indeed Laois GAA people are kind and decent and this sort of thing sickness us.

Just taught id get a Laois point of view across.

Ben (None) - Posts: 108 - 21/03/2012 21:06:01    1134488

have deliberately not posted yet on this issue so i could read other views on this.
this thread has descended into an anti-laois rant in many ways

my reading of the situation is this

mckeever lost his rag, lashed out in the tunnel at half time and got caught and punished.
he initially tried to declare himself innocent but probably fearing further punishment for not leaving the field (not to mention a previous suspension this year which means a "doubling up" of punishment) this "abuse" surfaces to deflect attention

i am not saying that nothing happened.i don't know.and neither do so many on this thread who are having a cut at laois.

however this has to be said - armagh of the 00's were well known for dishing verbals so is it alright for them but not when done to them

well done horse.a true laoisman

by the way - a great post on this issue on the laois site by giovanni on thread laois 2012.interesting reading

Tommo1 (Laois) - Posts: 113 - 21/03/2012 21:52:24    1134537

Ulsterman cant say anything because he calls us dubs west brits all the time, so hes as guilty. On a serious note if the player said what was alleged he is a bloke who needs to get out more.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 21/03/2012 21:53:57    1134541

Ben,

its good that you disassociate ordinary Laois people from the alleged abuse and state that if the comments were made then the player concerned should never play for Laois again. It should also be welcomed that the Laois County Board have tonight announced an enquiry into the allegations.

It is important, however, that now that the complaint has been made, it is dealt with by the appropriate disciplinary committee. The Armagh statement says that their player was subject to abuse in the form of having his nationality questioned and expresses disappointment at the Referee's failure to mention this abuse in his match report. This indicates that they are confident that match officials did hear the comments. It is vital therefore, that the Referee & Officials appear before the relevant committee and confirm whether or not they heard the abuse. If they did then according to the rules the player has brought the Association into disrepute and the appropriate measures taken against the player/s concerned and Laois GAA as per the precedent set in recent cases where the Association has been brought into disrepute.

kickpass (Down) - Posts: 208 - 21/03/2012 21:59:37    1134546

To myself its all a storm in a tea cup, you get abuse thrown out in all sport and no-one is blameless. It doesn't make it right but it is as it is.

Think Armagh will come out worst from this. Comes across as cry baby stuff.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 22/03/2012 08:28:14    1134588

seany16

1134372 This has been going on for as long as I can remember, and although its unsavory its not like a bolt of lightening. Calling it racism is also off the mark! How exactly can making a slur at someone who is presumably culturally and racially identical to you be construed as racism?

Agree with that. And in fairness, Horse was also making that point. Both the name calling and the racist charge are to my mind childish.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 22/03/2012 09:16:24    1134603

And just on a lighter not on this. I remember being in a pub near to Croke Park in the late 90s and hearing a Derry woman accusing the barman of treating her as a 'second class citizen' because he wouldn't serve her about half an hour after closing :-) Perhaps she ought to have gone to the Equality Authority?

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 22/03/2012 09:18:24    1134604

I hate that accusation of 'crybaby stuff'. Armagh are write to report this. The fact that no-one seems surprised by this sort of carry-on means that it's become very widespread by now. By highlighting this carry on they can hopefully take the first steps in cutting it out of the game. How can that be a bad thing?

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 22/03/2012 10:05:44    1134638