Portlaoise last weekend

juniorbsub
County: Wexford

Gigoer,
The point im making is that some people are well able to slag others but when it comes to taking it they can be to put it mildly over sensitive.Nothigh curious there my man!

Exactly!
The hypocrisy from the little darlings of armagh is staggering!!

Couldn't agree more lads, lost count the amount of time I've sat through Derry and Armagh games without a smart comment somewhere during the game about "Londonderry"

unclederry (Derry) - Posts: 67 - 21/03/2012 15:41:45    1134144

Jaysus H*rse your taking some hiding here cove!
This is a beating usually reserved for us Dubs :)

I am with ya H*rse!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 21/03/2012 15:43:38    1134148

you're making that up unclelondonderry ;-)

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 21/03/2012 15:50:40    1134156

Tom1916
County: Armagh

1134156 you're making that up unclelondonderry ;-)

lol!

pig.ignorant (Derry) - Posts: 655 - 21/03/2012 15:54:30    1134164

This would never happened when McGeeney was the captain, they'd have been
afraid of their ***** to say something like that to him! He would have armagh
worked up to destroy Laois in the second-half!
Armagh just don't command the same level of respect and fear from the opposition
as they used to!
I hope they get their b*lls back before the Tyrone game this year, Tyrone could
do with a challenge!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 21/03/2012 15:56:13    1134168

'If I had a euro for everytime I heard freestate b*****d this and freestate b*****d that from Armagh and Tyrone fans at games over the last few years well I wouldent have to worry about paying my household charge...Cop on lads and stop being so sensitive!'

'There aloud to do it, its just when its the other way around theres a problem'

Being called a freestate b*****d only questions your parentage not your nationality lads

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 21/03/2012 16:00:46    1134174

goalpost
County: Armagh

horse youve made a fool of yourself, stop acting so childish and embarrasing the many good gaa people of laois who undertsands the seriousness of this! ita about time someone was made an example of for this kind of behaviour, if not it will continue in the gaa. also we all know tyrone and armagh are not angels, name me a county team or even club team that are? gaelic is a physical sport, there will be tussles but to use that type of verbal abuse is uncalled for! i think any decent gaa person would agree no matter where in ireland they are from.

On the one hand you are saying that all counties are guilty of verbals. on the other you are saying laois are the ones who should be made an example of. which is it?

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 21/03/2012 16:07:28    1134185

In his book"Prescence is the only thing" Mickey Harte said that although his players did verbally taunt opposing players during matches,at least they didnt physically attack them.Will he say the same thing about the Laois player in question?Hmmm...........
The condemnation of Derrytresk was widely criticised (even though it was based on video evidence),yet it seems that hearsay is enough to condemn the laois football team in many people eyes.Hmmm.......................

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 21/03/2012 16:11:06    1134189

Liamwalkinstown

Jaysus H*rse your taking some hiding here cove!
This is a beating usually reserved for us Dubs :)

I am with ya H*rse!!

Ha ha, long oul day alright!

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 21/03/2012 16:11:34    1134190

juniorbsub
County: Wexford

1134122 Gigoer,
The point im making is that some people are well able to slag others but when it comes to taking it they can be to put it mildly over sensitive.Nothigh curious there my man!

If you say so, but please don't quote other counties to me whom I did not mention or implicate in the first place. that's what was curious about your post

Anyhoo, my stance remains that it is NOT acceptable or harmless for ANY GAA player of ANY county to bring hate-inspired prejudice like that onto a field of play, it has no place there and whatever is required to deride that sort of thing must be seen through to the end

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 21/03/2012 16:15:03    1134199

As a Laois GAA supporter this entire debacle saddens me greatly. Firstly I have to say I was at the match last Sunday in Portlaoise and neither saw or heard any forms of abuse being hurled at anybody (apart from the unfortunate referee). I came home from the match deligthed with the win even if we were somewhat fortunate given that Armagh played the entire second half with fourteen men and the Laois goalkeeper pulled off some extraordinary saves.

Everyone in the crowd was surprised to see Ciaran McKeever given a red card at the beginning of the second half. It was only later we learned that the red card was brandished as a result of blow being struck while the players were going to the dressing rooms at the end of the first half.

I think I am correct in saying that Armagh's initial reaction was to deny that any blow was struck by their man. Then on Tuesday the news breaks in 'The Star' that an 'unnamed' source from Armagh alleges that McKeever was racially abused by a Laois player and hit out as a result.

If this abuse did take place then as a Laois GAA supporter I feel thoroughly ashamed and would like to see the culprit being banned from representing Laois ever again.

I think in fairness though, the player in question should be considered innocent until proven guilty. It saddens me to see Laois being condemned before any proof has been put forward. I would ask contributors to hold fire until an investigation has been carried out.

Remember though, that if this abuse took place the views held by any particular individual does not represent the views of all Laois GAA people. We are as fairminded as any GAA supporters. Laois people enjoy matches against Armagh, Antrim, Derry, Down, Fermanagh and Tyrone and I for one have been delighted to see Ulster teams enjoy so much success in recent years.

Please don't condem Laois peole for what one person may have (or may not have) done.

Leixonian (Laois) - Posts: 20 - 21/03/2012 16:15:31    1134201

I would ask all contributors to this thread to hold fire until proof of abuse has been put forward.

If the alleged abuse took place then I as a Laois man I feel thoroughly ashamed, but allow me to be very sceptical until I see that proof.

Leixonian (Laois) - Posts: 20 - 21/03/2012 16:23:43    1134216

Great post leixonian, I will post about this no more. I know the people of laois are good decent people and people should disregard horse as being in any way representative of them.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 21/03/2012 16:33:46    1134228

In his book"Prescence is the only thing" Mickey Harte said that although his players
did verbally taunt opposing players during matches,at least they didnt physically
attack them.Will he say the same thing about the Laois player in question?Hmmm...........
The condemnation of Derrytresk was widely criticised (even though it was based
on video evidence),yet it seems that hearsay is enough to condemn the laois football
team in many people eyes.Hmmm.......................
TheRoad , 21/03/2012 at 16:11

The incident happened between Armagh and Laois, and has nothing to do with
Tyrone or Mickey Harte! Its amusing how you try to use this thread as an excuse
to have a pop at Tyrone!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 21/03/2012 16:41:20    1134239

Leixonian
Great post

onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 21/03/2012 16:46:31    1134249

Im not having a pop at Tyrone or Mickey harte,I am having a pop at those who are condeming laois based on hearsay,yet who criticised those who condemned Derrytresk when it was based on more than hearsay.Its pure hypocrisy in fairness.
For what its worth,if he is guilty, I think the Laois fella should feel embarrassed with himself.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 21/03/2012 16:47:46    1134250

Horse your boring me now. Hon mcnulty, hope he takes it out on them in training this week

goalpost (Armagh) - Posts: 215 - 21/03/2012 17:07:32    1134271

Im not having a pop at Tyrone or Mickey harte,I am having a pop at those who are condeming laois based on hearsay,yet who criticised those who condemned Derrytresk when it was based on more than hearsay.Its pure hypocrisy in fairness.
For what its worth,if he is guilty, I think the Laois fella should feel embarrassed with himself.
TheRoad , 21/03/2012 at 16:47

You are entitled to your opinion, even if it is off the wall!
By the way, I was in Tuam on Sunday and enjoyed the hospitality of true Galway Gaels.
A great county.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 21/03/2012 17:15:01    1134279

Complete storm in a tea cup. McKeever responded to childish taunts, I'd have though he have too much about him to respond to such nonsense. I see the Armagh board are claiming racial abuse, is there a race unique to Armagh that I'm unaware of ?

Expect every northern team to come up against this crap now in attempts to get more reactions.

I've experienced Laois, they're not nice people down in PortLaoise, but you should be more 'street wise' than to raise to this school yard sh*te.

artisan (Down) - Posts: 1795 - 21/03/2012 17:18:41    1134282

In addition, Armagh should conduct themselves more in the fashion of their great club team from Crossmaglen. What happens on the pitch stays on the pitch. Stop yapping and take the suspension on the chin - McKeever is completely responsible for his actions, he should have known better.

artisan (Down) - Posts: 1795 - 21/03/2012 17:27:36    1134287