Portlaoise last weekend

Horse,

I had been predicting and hoping that Laois, as underdogs, would stay up this season.

I'm delighted that Laois's fate will be decided by Irishmen from Kerry and Irishmen from County Down who unlike their neighbours in Armagh are not missing their best players to the AI Club Championships. As a matter of fact I hope that down rest up a few key players this weekend just to make sure that they settle the issue on Easter Sunday.

kickpass (Down) - Posts: 208 - 21/03/2012 14:27:26    1134043

gigoer,
Are you telling me none of the current Armagh or Tyrone teams has never called any player from the south a derogatory name? Its a bit of slagging and trying to wind up opponents(which obviously worked)and has been completely been blown out of proportions.The Armagh boys should have laughed in his face and gone out and won the game to shove it to Laois

juniorbsub (Wexford) - Posts: 646 - 21/03/2012 14:29:53    1134047

Malonemagic
County: Laois

1134014 If this was other way around laois would be called losers and whingers

And whose fault is that! I may have stuck up for Laois in an earlier post, but I would still maintain I have NEVER seen a bigger shower of whingers and crybabys in all my time watching GAA as the Laois team of mid to late 00's!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 21/03/2012 14:35:18    1134052

This is becoming a common theme with Laois alright.Joe Kernan mentioned it in his book,it happened last Sunday and last year in the Div 2 final V Donegal Kevin Cassidy said he received the same abuse.Someone should point out to this player that Donegal is not even in the six counties!!I know all the Laois team are not like this,but its a shame that one man is painting them all with a bad brush!!

fergie (Carlow) - Posts: 1120 - 21/03/2012 14:44:51    1134060

An absolute disgrace and totally out of order. I hope this is seriously looked at nipped in the bud. This is winding up gone way too far.

ballybannongael (Down) - Posts: 547 - 21/03/2012 14:51:30    1134071

Juniorbsub

"..Its a bit of slagging and trying to wind up opponents.."

Is it really that harmless? So by that rationale, if McKeever was German would it be okay to call him a Nazi? McKeever's no angel and I was spitting fire at the little girlie role he around he had to get Tom Sé sent off V Kerry, but this is far worse.

The whole fact that an educator of young people can come out with something so low and ignorant, to as you say 'wind up' an opponent is downright wrong and has to be punished.

rath_togh (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 21/03/2012 14:56:38    1134078

Laois should be deducted league points for this sort of behaviour!

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 21/03/2012 14:58:28    1134081

juniorbsub
County: Wexford

1134047 gigoer,
Are you telling me none of the current Armagh or Tyrone teams has never called any player from the south a derogatory name?

Extremely curious reply, I never said or implied anything of the sort. I didn't even mention Tyrone or Armagh in my earlier post so I really don't know where you got that from.

All I did say, is that in my opinion, players dishing out verbal abuse like that is inflammatory and trouble making (as this Armagh/Laois thing is proving to be) and everything that can be done should be done to stamp it out, no matter where they're from

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 21/03/2012 15:02:19    1134085

juniorbsub

If I had a euro for everytime I heard freestate b*****d this and freestate b*****d that from Armagh and Tyrone fans at games over the last few years well I wouldent have to worry about paying my household charge...Cop on lads and stop being so sensitive!

There aloud to do it, its just when its the other way around theres a problem

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 21/03/2012 15:08:42    1134098

Laois' fate will be decided on the field of play in a fair and transparent manner through scores or lack thereof.
It wont be decided by rumours, suppositions, unsubstantiated gossip or anything else you lads seem to feel should decide it.

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 21/03/2012 15:09:18    1134099

juniorbsub

gigoer,
Are you telling me none of the current Armagh or Tyrone teams has never called any player from the south a derogatory name? Its a bit of slagging and trying to wind up opponents(which obviously worked)and has been completely been blown out of proportions.The Armagh boys should have laughed in his face and gone out and won the game to shove it to Laois

Exactly - they are coming out with this nonsense for one reason only - their player lost the rag and lashed out, and got a red for it.
Its as simple as that.

If they took the time to get their own discipline under control rather than coming out with ludicrous and slanderous allegations of racism they would be a lot better off.

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 21/03/2012 15:11:26    1134104

sportsfan14
County: USA

I remember been in a pub once with a Kildare man and a Laois man. There was the usual arguing over who was the more successful county etc etc. I asked them both who was their main rival...Laois man said Kildare...Kildare man said he liked Laois and wanted them to do well but saw Meath and Dublin as their benchmark. This seemed to infuriate Laois man who then reffered to said Kildare man as a Brit and a resident of the "Pale"....
Well i think the people of Armagh and Kildare have probably contributed more in terms of nationalism than the "powder pi**ers" from Queenscounty...... they have a strange mentality down there....

This is just nonsensical ham-fisted propaganda. Next week on Hoganstand, sportsfan14 appalls the nation as he recounts how a Laoisman stole a lollypop from a kid in monasterevin back in the famine, thus clearly proving that all Laoismen steal confectionary from all children everywhere, all the time.

Id say you work for nasa do ye?

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 21/03/2012 15:17:43    1134109

hurlingdub

1133869 Horse, the Wexford player I was referring to was not abused by an Armagh player. Just to clarify!

Horse you are a proven liar and that has been substantiated.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 21/03/2012 15:19:08    1134112

All Laois people hated when Dublin were at similar behaviour a few years ago, if it's proven true that the player should be kicked off the panel.

Beo (Laois) - Posts: 15 - 21/03/2012 15:21:04    1134116

moomoo

There aloud to do it, its just when its the other way around theres a problem

Quit talking poopoo moomoo.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 21/03/2012 15:23:29    1134121

Gigoer,
The point im making is that some people are well able to slag others but when it comes to taking it they can be to put it mildly over sensitive.Nothigh curious there my man!

juniorbsub (Wexford) - Posts: 646 - 21/03/2012 15:24:25    1134122

juniorbsub

Gigoer,
The point im making is that some people are well able to slag others but when it comes to taking it they can be to put it mildly over sensitive.Nothigh curious there my man!

Exactly!
The hypocrisy from the little darlings of armagh is staggering!!

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 21/03/2012 15:27:30    1134126

Horse

Are you the only man in Maryborough with broadband? There still aren't many others here backing you up. They're ashamed methinks? Give up the ghost. Its not even a Laois man you're defending. Arguably not a man at all.....

rath_togh (Meath) - Posts: 740 - 21/03/2012 15:36:05    1134134

Horse do you refer to your manager using these terms of endearment?

Just in case you have forgotten he played for Armagh from 1995 to 2005 winning 5 Ulster titles, 1 league title and one All-Ireland and was also a selector in 2009-10.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 21/03/2012 15:36:15    1134135

horse youve made a fool of yourself, stop acting so childish and embarrasing the many good gaa people of laois who undertsands the seriousness of this! ita about time someone was made an example of for this kind of behaviour, if not it will continue in the gaa. also we all know tyrone and armagh are not angels, name me a county team or even club team that are? gaelic is a physical sport, there will be tussles but to use that type of verbal abuse is uncalled for! i think any decent gaa person would agree no matter where in ireland they are from.

goalpost (Armagh) - Posts: 215 - 21/03/2012 15:39:40    1134141