Portlaoise last weekend

"It was agreed that allegations made by Armagh County Board in their statement do not accurately reflect what occurred in O'Moore Park."

I wish they had thought about this before they went to the press.

Leixonian (Laois) - Posts: 20 - 22/03/2012 20:53:08    1135206

hurlingdub

I have to say that Laois seem to be confident of their position on this. Just saying :-)

From what I am hearing they have every right to be confident of their position on this.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 22/03/2012 21:02:55    1135211

Hearing from who Paddy?
Your best friends sisters bridesmaids brother-in-law?

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 22/03/2012 21:09:08    1135216

Coylers Elbow

I am not allowed to post it, however I believe the true story may never come out due to both counties drawing a line under, but it is very sinister.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 22/03/2012 21:19:17    1135221

Any evidence to back up McKeevers claims thegatekeeper?Id say youre happy enough to believe him without question.
theroad

I couldn't care less about McKeever, Armagh or Laois theroad!
I made it clear how I feel about Armagh in an earlier post.
Being from Ulster. I have the right to simply ask these lad's throwing
mud my way if they have any evidence to back up there claims!
Otherwise their claims cannot be substantiated, and they risk becoming
the hypocrites (with an s) you keep harping on about!

A Tyrone player was sent off in Tuam on sunday under questionable
circumstances. I witnessed it first hand but will leave the matter
there. because I have no video evidence to prove my point, and I'm
not a hypocrite.
Its a good idea to read other peoples posts before commenting on them;
for your own understanding of the subject; and as a sign of respect for them.
There's a good lad. :)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 22/03/2012 21:23:15    1135226

"It is acknowledged by both Boards that inappropriate verbal exchanges took place between players during the game and this will be addressed with our respective panels."

Maybe its just me but does this not seem like a non-issue? If players wish to shout at opposing players some really silly immature infantile "insults" as a wind-up so what - worse the eejit to fall for it. Its like that other idiotic wind up, you know when the sub comes on and someone runs into him presumably to "let him know I am here" just plain embarressing like so with this nonsense.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4956 - 22/03/2012 21:30:18    1135234

Fair post for once thegatekeeper.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 22/03/2012 21:44:28    1135258

Very strange happenings...
I now look forward to the next Co. Board meeting with added interest. However,

1. I feel as a Gael that this statement was premature.... ' I heard of a number of incidents during the All-Ireland Club Final later that night, and the next day.. but not of the Laoise game....
2. Yes the referee was poor on Sunday but spectators are unaware of what happens (or said) on the field. tunnel etc
3. The Laoise player is named tonight in the norther media, 'If he said it he should be punished'
4. Who sent out this statement - club secretaries received the press statement and a follow -on statement prior to the press release to the media, was this the Co. secretary or the Co. Executive ?
5. I do believe the remarks were made, but unfortunately this will happen more and more, if an opposing player felt he/she could really annoy the opponent and put him off his game it could be used and will be used.....
6. St. Mary's CBS Belfast defeated Doon CBS Limerick in All-Ireland Colleges Hurling semi-final last week and have come out saying that they had to endure serious levels of abuse because they won...... would they have come forward if Armagh hadn't done so...
7. I do believe that Croke Park seriously repremanded armagh for the way they handled their injustice - the gaa way is to do things in-house
8. Do armagh feel that croke park is not listening - C.McKeever was not sent off againt Cork - but the CCC on tv footage suspended him ,Most Armagh people (decent ones) feel that the CCC is not exactly fair with number 10 of Gary castle and others not being punished for their behaviour and maybe why armagh went to the media and not through croke park which would be the correct channel
9. this incident has hurt the gaa, armagh and laois

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1691 - 22/03/2012 21:50:56    1135267

Various allegations were carried in this morning's Irish News that similar 'partitionist' comments were made by Garrycastle elements towards the Cross camp AND from the father of a player from a Belfast schools hurling team that played a Limerick side in Dublin last week. It's on record in today's paper and it would appear that this is a normal thing when Ulster/Northern sides who play in the South experience so despite what may have happened in Laois under no circumstances can Armagh be accused of indulging in an over the top reaction. There has been a massive deny and deflect amongst our Southern brethren as to these matters and the problems that they appear to have with 'outsiders' from whatever background. It's not good enough to bury your head and say it doesn't happen. It's like saying that despite the Mahon findings the Southern political system wasn't really rotten and corrupt.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 22/03/2012 21:53:01    1135272

Charming remarks indeed from the Laois player,I suppose thats how he greets Mc Nulty at training sessions and the like.If I was the manager I would kick him off my squad or at least ban him for a few games.If some lads get banned for talking about training methods or having a few drinks then this should warrant a ban even more so.I wouldn't call it racist though,simply crass and unbecoming of GAA members.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 23/03/2012 08:53:56    1135297

Great to see both county boards coming to a decision together.

Word on the street round my parts is that mckeever never wanted to go public and the county board worked away on their own accord. A plyer rep asked them to withdraw all complaints and so the matter is now over.

I do feel it did highlight an on going issue within the gaa that wont go away.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 23/03/2012 08:58:14    1135300

This joint statement is some slap in the face to the Armagh County Board!!!
Talk about put back in their box
they have no one to blame but themselves tho

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 23/03/2012 08:59:35    1135303

Perhaps apologies to Horse might be in order from some people?

I have to say too that given the antics of some Ulster teams - some I stress - over the past ten years with the clear support of management, this hand wringing is a bit irritating. There's a few lads from Kerry and Dublin and wexford and Mayo would have some curious tales to tell were they not the sort of chaps to stand on their dignity.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 23/03/2012 09:12:14    1135308

Looking from today's events armagh deserve praise for trying to more on...... they believe Laoise player was guilty of abuse...... Christy Cooney feels that we should accept it and it is a worse to highlight this in the media than to abuse a player

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1691 - 23/03/2012 09:25:39    1135315

The Irish News paper is being quoted again by posters and we can not forget that they are the the ones with extra sales when these sort of stories break. I think a lot of gaels in the north get fired up by these reporters who have started using the Gaa as a means of increasing sales by nit picking at issues and finding contention. Remember too that Dillon from Garrycastle was not the only player that should have got red in the club final. The media are using the GAA as a football and the more points of contention, the better the sales figures. Media power to increase sales.

maroon2gold (Westmeath) - Posts: 551 - 23/03/2012 10:00:15    1135335

Well gents I am pleased to see that common sense and rational behaviour has triumphed over sensationalism and slander.
To the other posters who resisted jumping on the anti Laois (or is it spelt Laoise now!?!) bandwagon and waited for the story to unfold - fair play and thanks.

The only thing that sticks in my craw is that it turns out the most fair minded posters are from Dublin - a county i am deeply prejudiced against!!!! :)

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 23/03/2012 10:09:10    1135342

Sing along H*rse.....

Ring a ring a rosssseeeyyyyy.............. ;)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 23/03/2012 10:23:06    1135348

Respect to Horse for sticking to his guns and ultimately being vindicated in the end, I never doubted you for one minute;o)

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 23/03/2012 10:33:23    1135355

How come people post a lot more when there is a big controversy?
Then they all pretend they hate rows !!!!!!!!!!

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 23/03/2012 10:55:02    1135369

mullingarian
County: Westmeath

Being called British is an insult?

Yes it is. I'm Irish, Im not British and I never will be. My inclusion in an artificial state controlled by the British is was a crime and injustice when it was done under the threat of "immediate and terrible war" and it remains and injustice now. As part of the the peace process we are will to undo that injustice in a peaceful manner. But undo it we will.

kickpass (Down) - Posts: 208 - 23/03/2012 10:59:43    1135371