Portlaoise last weekend

one of the things i enjoy about the backdoor is getting out and playing teams from the 26 counties as you get sick of looking at the other ulster teams as its bit of a goldfish bowl, to be honest i care as much for cork as i do for antrim or mayo for down everyone in my book is just another team. Being labeled an "ulster team" annoys me we DONT all play the same way thats just lazy journalism is there a "leinster way" of playing football? Do Wexford and Carlow play the same brand of football every team is different respect every team don't label us all under one heading.

brolly_4_pres (Derry) - Posts: 356 - 22/03/2012 19:17:29    1135130

Well if the laois player did say what he said he should feel embarrassed with himself and Mckeever has every right to feel angry but using the word "racism" was a bit wide of the mark.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 22/03/2012 19:19:59    1135133

It wasn't said. Can ye read the statement that was released? Armagh made it up.

Beo (Laois) - Posts: 15 - 22/03/2012 19:48:17    1135155

Beo
County: Laois

1135155 Can ye read the statement that was released? Armagh made it up.

Hmm we must have read different statements - would you be so kind as to publish the version you read that states the above?

redd (Tyrone) - Posts: 67 - 22/03/2012 19:56:15    1135161

If a Laois player really did try to wind up an Armagh player by calling him a British B*****d ans saying GSTQ then he should be ashamed of himself.If I was Laois manager I would never pick him again.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 22/03/2012 19:56:36    1135162

Interesting to see Colm parkinsons tweets about the issues. especially this tweet!

Laois coming out looking bad from an incident that didn't happen and which involved an Armagh player with a poor disciplinary record

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 22/03/2012 19:58:41    1135163

Here you go Redd:

It was agreed that allegations made by Armagh County Board in their statement do not accurately reflect what occurred in O'Moore Park.

So what they said was untrue. Ye can try and wriggle out of this like Bertie or ye can admit it was a wrong thing to do.

Beo (Laois) - Posts: 15 - 22/03/2012 20:01:13    1135165

Hi brolly-4-pres,
Do Wexford and Carlow play the same type of football?Everyone knows Wexford like the Dutch team of the earlt 70s play total football!!!To associate us with those scallion eaters from Carlow is a dreadful insult..I demand an apology painted on free Derry corner!

juniorbsub (Wexford) - Posts: 646 - 22/03/2012 20:09:44    1135174

Interesting to see Colm parkinsons tweets about the issues. especially this tweet!
Laois coming out looking bad from an incident that didn't happen and which involved an Armagh player with a poor disciplinary record
paddyogall

What is interesting about that Paddy?
Colm Parkinson is hardly an ambassador for fair play and sportmanship!
Come on Paddy, you can do better than that lad!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 22/03/2012 20:14:53    1135177

Being called British is an insult?...its actually preposterous!!!!, laughable!!. If the Ulster teams want to be treated the same in the South,then they need to get over the whole west brit southerner crap that still wafts from northern supporters. Incredible as this may sound, i was among several people who left a pub over barstaff being insulted by "supporters" of a Northern county(after a qualifier match) feeling aggrieved because the bar was supporting Holland in the 2010 World Cup. William of Orange was Dutch you see, and apparently "true" Irish would never be associated with an Orange "*******" like him....grow up, and get over it.

mullingarian (Westmeath) - Posts: 1 - 22/03/2012 20:24:33    1135180

The truth is coming out slowly but surely.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 22/03/2012 20:29:04    1135183

He wasn't called a british anything, can everyone read the statement released by both county boards. It says it there.

Beo (Laois) - Posts: 15 - 22/03/2012 20:29:46    1135184

Beo
County: Laois

1135165 Here you go Redd:

It was agreed that allegations made by Armagh County Board in their statement do not accurately reflect what occurred in O'Moore Park.

So what they said was untrue. Ye can try and wriggle out of this like Bertie or ye can admit it was a wrong thing to do.

I think I'll leave the wriggling, jiggling and Bertieesque behaviour to your fine self - your doing a grand job on that front so far.

Now did your wee mind even think that the words 'do not accurately reflect what occurred' just might mean that although 'words were exchanged' the racism remark was daft to say the least - I mean we are all Irish and you can call me British, Russian, Dutch I couldn't care less - I'm Irish - end of.

Now here is an idea - hows about we wait on the full facts coming out as they may do before we say he is wrong or he is right - or is that behaviour too adult?

redd (Tyrone) - Posts: 67 - 22/03/2012 20:30:01    1135185

mountain out of a molehill

deisebhoy (Waterford) - Posts: 416 - 22/03/2012 20:30:20    1135186

Being called British is an insult?...its actually preposterous!!!!, laughable!!. If the Ulster teams want to be treated the same in the South,then they need to get over the whole west brit southerner crap that still wafts from northern supporters. Incredible as this may sound, i was among several people who left a pub over barstaff being insulted by "supporters" of a Northern county(after a qualifier match) feeling aggrieved because the bar was supporting Holland in the 2010 World Cup. William of Orange was Dutch you see, and apparently "true" Irish would never be associated with an Orange "*******" like him....grow up, and get over it.
mullingarian

Any evidence to back that up mullingarian?

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 22/03/2012 20:31:58    1135187

Ulsterman in your sermon about the corrupt south you ignore the fact that the Shinners are implementing the same cuts up your end. And with the same excuse: "Bold boys (EU/IMF or London) made us do it."

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 22/03/2012 20:37:27    1135192

I've been called a West Brit and a Jackeen God knows how many times on this site...

Is that racist then? Because I know several well known Ulster posters that I can point a finger at... but mind you it's not just the Ulster posters.

To be honest I find it laughable and it's water off a ducks back... I think the same logic needs to be applied to this situation.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 22/03/2012 20:38:03    1135194

Any evidence to back up McKeevers claims thegatekeeper?Id say youre happy enough to believe him without question.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 22/03/2012 20:39:39    1135196

I have to say that Laois seem to be confident of their position on this. Just saying :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 22/03/2012 20:43:16    1135199

Redd in the original statement released by the Armagh CB they stated "The chanting of "God Save the Queen" and malign taunting of "British b**tard" has no place either on or off the field of play." The whole statement is about "the partitionist mindset".
They now admit the allegations made "do not accurately reflect what occurred in O'Moore Park."
They were caught out lieing and had to back down.

Beo (Laois) - Posts: 15 - 22/03/2012 20:46:48    1135203