Galvin/O Leary

I'd love to hear cute_kerry_hoor's apologia for the latest Paul Galvin incident too. Will it be up there with the 'nose bite' and the 'fly on the notebook' in terms of inventiveness?

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 21/03/2012 14:08:31    1134008

Horse, as I mentioned on the Kerry forum to Rebel.Og, I don't want to go into detail on it as it's pointless. But you are right, it was bad enough for both of the lads to get involved.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 21/03/2012 14:09:43    1134012

You're quick to try to rubbish an eye-witness account with a glib dismissal to paint Galvin as the 'victim', but completely absent on detail, cute-kerry_hoor.Is it that the 'official line' hasn't been concocted by the PR deprtment yet? Or that it is being held in reserve for the next Paul Galvin incident when he actually is sent off?. Since I doubt very much you had a better view of what happened to 'provoke' St. Paul ( as I said, O'Leary was breathing down his neck and pulled his jersey as he tried to make a run, there had been nothing more than both of them doing some minor jostling and O'Leary not letting Galvin stray more than two feet from him before that) it must have been something that he said to St. Paul. That skinny jeans are so passe, perhaps? Go on, let it out, cute_kerry_hoor.

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 21/03/2012 14:29:29    1134046

KeyserSoze

I'd imagine from the tone of your post that, that is the very reason why C-K-H is keeping stum. I will testify though and I;ve seen my north Kerry league and championship as well as inter county games to say first hand that I have never seen Paul Galvin start or instigate an altercation or incident.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 21/03/2012 14:38:01    1134053

You have it in one Horse.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 21/03/2012 14:46:39    1134064

Kerry people do a lot of imagining when it comes to condoning and justifying the actions of Paul Galvin ( and others) , so who am I stop you you from imagining now, horsebox? I only threw out the possibility of something as being said to Galvin because cute_kerry-hoor did not have the view of the incident that I had and I wanted to hear what possible justification for the face-clawing that he had, it was the only I could think of that he might come up with. Darran, Declan and Donaghy must have had the hearing ability of owls because they were straight in from well over 30 yards away to create the diversionary fracas aftwerwards. I expect that it will the excuse we will hear next time though.

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 21/03/2012 14:48:26    1134065

If you have anything else to get off your chest about Paul Galvin, KeyserSoze, by all means let it all out. It's enjoyable seeing your petty remarks about his on and off the field persona. Granted Noel O Leary gave him a little tug and that was the only reason for said altercation, care to explain why Darran O 'S and company were visibly livid at O'Leary right after the event? I've never seen him so angry on the field of play

M.Stack (Kerry) - Posts: 22 - 21/03/2012 14:51:51    1134072

Can we get a Kerry version of what happened in this incident! If Galvin could be relied upon not to loose the head he would be some player for them, he ran their show last Sunday and whenever he had the ball something good came out of it. However in a big game you always feel he is going to do something stupid, always felt he liked to be controversial.

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 21/03/2012 14:52:15    1134073

KeyserSoze

Let it go a small bit. Noel O'Leary is no saint and while I did see what happened, I am guessing that there was more to it than a simple jersey pull. I don't know exactly what happened but I do know one thing for certain that we are not in a position to be taking the moral high ground on incidents involving our players and Kerry players. There has been plenty of stuff that has gone on down the years that don't exactly paint a rosy picture of the players concerned-both Cork and Kerry. Many years ago I saw Teddy Mc flatten Ambrose O'Donovan in what seemed like an unprovoked attack, Niall Cahalane was never shy in 'introducing' himself to Kerry players (he was always keen to say 'helloo' to Pat Spillane), Pierce O Neill on Dara O Se a few years back and there are many others...you could also write a list the other way around and well Kerry people know it.

The point is, just let this one go and stop taking the high ground on such issues.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 21/03/2012 14:56:45    1134079

Regardless of what occurred between both players, the linesman on the near side was very poor. He watched the incident play out in front of him, did nothing, but the second Galvin raised his hand to push O' Leary away ( I stress push as it was not a strike or rake across the face ) the linesman couldn't call over Deegan half fast enough.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 21/03/2012 15:06:23    1134095

Lads, some of this is utterly priceless.

The usual 'St Paul of the Innocence' is now being complimented with 'He was provoked. I won't tell you how he was provoked (perhaps 'cause I haven't quite decided), but trust me, he was provoked. Sure, the proof is in the reaction of the other Kerry players.
'
You'll forgive me if I digest that with a considerable slice of scepticism.

This guy has form. He's a very committed player. He's a very talented player. He is one of the most memorable players of my lifetime. And, I've never seen, or heard, anything that suggests he's anything other than a nice guy. But he's had more problems with more markers, referees, and committees than I ever remember anyone else having. In that light, the victimhood thing seems lke a very childish attempt to defend the idefensible.

It's never me that starts it Mammy!

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 21/03/2012 15:06:59    1134096

Spot on Benny, I think we're all tired of having to defend or attack Galvin, O' Leary, etc. As I said on the Kerry Forum, they are both eejits at the best of times.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 21/03/2012 15:11:11    1134103

Culchie

Well said. We are not in a position to point fingers at others given what our players do but it is not right either that our players are always at fault. To be fair I don't think many of the Kerry lads on here were saying that until Keysersoze came on. Still though, keysersoze is the only one that has given specifics of what happened. Saying that O'Leary must have done something because Darren O'Sullivan got mad is not really saying anything at all.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 21/03/2012 15:19:10    1134113

Oh benny, benny, benny. If it didn't say Cork under your name, I'd swear you were a Kerryman. Johnny hit Jack 20 years ago, and Billy hit Mick 30 years ago, so we can't discuss the face-clawing incident that happened only last Sunday, only hear the "we haven't formulated the excuse just yet, give us time" line. As for Pierce O'Neill and poor Dara, don't make me laugh.

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 21/03/2012 15:40:13    1134142

Keysersore

I assure you I am very much a Cork man and I would be furious if Kerry lads were simply pointing the finger at Noel O'Leary and saying it was all his fault. However, they are not. You are right in saying that Paul Galvin is not a saint and as far as last Sunday goes, you have given your version and nobody else has said anything so maybe we should take that. However, keysersore, you should have some balance to your argument like curchie (also from Cork) has and people will engage with you in a reasoned debate. I was simply by using the examples from several years ago (the Dara and Pierce O Neill incident is more recent) that we are no saints either and you should not take the moral high ground on these issues.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 21/03/2012 15:48:01    1134150

Sorry now lads but i disagree with ye about this. ( while i accept not alot happened on Sunday )

I sat and watched O'Leary and he was 100% at fault. Galvin did nothing wrong and his past should not come into this.

Calling both lads egjits is a cop out. Galvin did nothing wrong on Sunday, O'Leary wanted to get him sent off and the crowd loved it.

Delighted paul didint react or the usual lads woud be on here calling for 6 month bans.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 21/03/2012 15:48:15    1134151

Westkerry, I only saw the aftermath.

You say you saw it. So does one of the Cork posters. They say it was a jersey tug by Leary and a claw back by Galvin.

I take it you disagree? What actually happened so?

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 21/03/2012 16:12:46    1134195

From the minute o'leary came on i watched him and Galvin to the extent that i didint follow the ball.

Im not saying anything over the top happened however i was furious watching O'Leary.

The lad had zero interest in playing the game just bodychecking and trying to get a reaction out of Galvin.

I would have thought as a cork man he'd being trying to get Cork back into the game rather than getting an a player sent off.

Galvin knows he is a marked man and ive been at all the league games this year.. the lad is trying to play football and has had no issues in Dublin or Down or anywhere else... it drives me mad that the best tactic O'Leary has is to try and get a lad sent off rather than take hin on with the ball.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 21/03/2012 16:35:58    1134231

Westkerry,

If you watched the two of them exclusively you'll certainly know so. I saw the linesman raise his flag as Keysersoze describes. I did not see what had happened immediately prior. Keysersoze described it as a jersey pull by Leary and an attempted face claw by Galvin. In fairness it was quite a precise description - usually a sign of truth, or perception of same.

Perhaps you could give an equally precise description of what exactly caused the linesman to signal the ref. Never mind what went on in the ten minutes before that - you've already given your interrpretation of that. It's an interrpretation that I've no reason to disbelieve.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 21/03/2012 17:02:04    1134265

Come on girls...!!!!! In case its bypassed some of you, this is local derby Cork/Kerry stuff....going on for years! Stupid thread, get over it.
Bit nauseating tho', some Cork posters being "soft" with their Kerry counterparts. This is tribal stuff girls, let the Man in the Middle and
his sideline associates deal with it. Its little more than than what my kids laugh at watching Itchy & Scratchy (mind you, that is real violence!).
O'Leary and Galvin are legends, let them at it. Paul probably sent
Noel a text (not for the 1st time) on Monday and said "Welcome back Noel, was getting a bit cold turkey as the game went on, then you
came on and I got my mojo back".

eaglehaslanded (Cork) - Posts: 135 - 21/03/2012 17:21:32    1134284