Galvin/O Leary

I love when these two our marking each other, there's nearly always some drama between them. What happened with them off the ball today?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/03/2012 20:33:57    1131891

Dont know,but judging by O Learys last shot,Id say he was aiming at galvin instead of the goal.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 18/03/2012 21:01:06    1131932

Simple....

Galvin was on Canty for the majority of the game. No issues ... both lads gave 100% and there was no off the ball issues..

Cork bring O'Leary on and all he is interested in is getting galvin to react and get sent off.

Thankfully Galvin didint get sent off ... O'leary knows this is his only chance as he cant play football against Paul...

Galvin was man of the match in my opinion.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 18/03/2012 21:10:05    1131937

its no coincidence that that galvin and kerry are playing good all at the same time, i think he's back to his best again after a year full of injuries last year. i firmly believe if he was fully fit it would have been a different story last september. this is what o'leary has been doing everytime they play trying to get him sent off just like cadogan did two years ago and i hope he can learn by now and ignore those two idiots and just play his game . we will need him.

chicago09 (Kerry) - Posts: 694 - 18/03/2012 21:59:34    1131987

Can't stand watching the Cork fella.. All he seems to do is try get Galvin sent off.. Its not fair that. He was a disgrace to Martin Clarke in the AI 2010 and he also helped get him sent off the year after. Just targets the best players.. Too bad he will never be as successful as Galvin.

gaelic_life (Down) - Posts: 286 - 19/03/2012 14:16:33    1132227

o'leary, why aren't the media down on top of him like they do with paul galvin, triying to provoke galvin

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 20/03/2012 10:03:30    1132861

What actually happened in this incident?

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 20/03/2012 11:46:18    1132931

gaelic_life
County: Down

1132227 Can't stand watching the Cork fella.. All he seems to do is try get Galvin sent off.. Its not fair that. He was a disgrace to Martin Clarke in the AI 2010 and he also helped get him sent off the year after. Just targets the best players.. Too bad he will never be as successful as Galvin.

I'd be no fan of O'Leary either but your talkin nonsense here.O'Leary had a superb AI 2010,He had Clarke in his pocket from the first whistle.
Think there was a wee bit too much pressure put on the superstar before that final and he could'nt handle it.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 20/03/2012 21:26:23    1133594

GAA needs more villains, they add to the whole occasion and there are no better pair than O'Leary and Galvin. O'Leary is a top class wind up merchant and a good marker as well. Galvin has a swagger and arrogance that just brings attention, he also has been involved in many controversial incidents and O'Leary wasn't even in the stadium! I know one Tyrone player that descibed Galvin as the worst player that he had ever marked for off the ball stuff. In regard to the weekend's game, there was no chance of any off the ball stuff between Canty and Galvin, not even Galvin is that mad.

MB1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 360 - 20/03/2012 21:45:19    1133629

Agree with frederickwood.O Leary was brilliant in the 2010 final.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 20/03/2012 21:51:40    1133632

Galvin is great when he is left the freedom of the pitch, Noel is a great manmarker sticks to him like glue, inevitably Galvin gets fustrated and lashes out.
As we seen many times in the past Galvin doesn't need any excuse to lose the rag

Redfoot (Cork) - Posts: 388 - 21/03/2012 11:44:24    1133823

Was that the same Marty Clarke that busted Noels face with an elbow?
If you don't like being marked closely then you should play something like tennis.

Redfoot (Cork) - Posts: 388 - 21/03/2012 11:48:02    1133826

As a Kerryman, i have to admit i love O Learys style and think he is a quality footballer. Galvin likewise is quality but i think everyman should agree there is somethin missing in the 2 of them and that what sets them off the whole time.
and for any down man to say o leary did anythin other than quiten their 'gloden boy' in 2010 then he is a very sore loser.

Patchy (Kerry) - Posts: 74 - 21/03/2012 12:07:57    1133851

To be fair to the Kerry lads, they have a point regarding O'Leary (and Cadogan, who ever it was that mentioned him). When he does go on Galvin, inevitably things happen that are unpleasant. I can't disagree with that. One of the Kerry posters also said that when Galvin was marking Canty, there was no messing. Again, I agree with that. It was noted that Galvin was man of the match on Sunday. Again, I totally agree. It was stated that when Galvin is playing well, Kerry are playing well. Once again, I am in perfect agreement.

However, Kerry posters will no doubt agree that it is not Conor Counihan's job to stand idly by and watch Kerry run ragged over us like they did for a good part of last Sunday. If Canty is not playing well on Galvin, then we need to make a change and bring on somebody else and try to change things. O' Leary for all his faults is a very committed man marker and is a good footballer. He does play the game on the edge and often steps over the line. Is he the only player in the country to do that? Certainly not. Have Kerry players that behave similarly to Noel O'Leary? I will let you answer that. Throughout his career, have all of Paul Galvin's misdemeanours occured only when he has stood next to Paul Galvin?? Again you need to answer that.

At the end of the game, both players shook hands and tapped each other on the back. They provided a lot of entertainment for those in the crowd and I can imagine both of them sitting down in years to come having a right laugh over their tussles. It won't happen any time soon I imagine as they will renew aquaintances before the year is out and we will have plenty to talk about again.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 21/03/2012 12:13:33    1133859

bennybunny

Hi Benny Bunny, I mentioned Cadegan in an earlier post regarding Galvin. I have to commend you on your post, you are in correct in every regard, however, in saying that there is no honourability in attempting to get a player sent off in my opinion, I wouldn't have done this in my playing days and would not encourage it either in any of the players I now coach.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 21/03/2012 12:39:48    1133889

Horsebox

Fair play. I currently coach underage football and hurling and I would never coach a player to get another one sent of or even imply it in the first place. I agree with that 100%. It is obvious when O'Leary goes on Galvin that something will happen. It is also obvious that Conor Counihan knows that. Whether it is his absolute intention to get Galvin sent off is unclear though he is in doubt that it is a possibility. However, the intention is most likely to get Galvin away from thinking about playing football and to give O'Leary a thump. It is a high risk strategy to play because, if Galvin goes off the field, O'Leary usually goes off with him. There is also the possibility that it might fire Galvin up even further to play better football and cause even more damage to Cork. Counihan is aware of all that and must chose carefully how to use O'Leary.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 21/03/2012 12:48:44    1133903

In response to ClondalkinDub, the incident occurred off the ball in front of me in the uncovered stand in P Ui C. O'Leary was breathing down Galvin's neck and got a tug on Galvin's jersey as Galvin tried to make a run. If this is 'trying to get a player sent off', every football game would end up 3-a-side after 20 minutes. Galvin reacted by turning around with another face-clawing (across O'Leary's eyes). It was seen by the linesman (who raised his flag), but no action was taken by Deegan, who didn't see it, though Galvin was on a yellow and should have been sent off on a straight red anyway if he had taken what the linesman had seen into account .

The responses from some of the Kerry contingent are disappointing, but of no surprise. Throughout his career, Galvin's supporters have always blamed others (opposing players, the CCCC, referees, the media, the man in the moon) for Galvin's actions, so it is little wonder that Galvin himself sees himself as some kind of 'victim' when he is surrounded by those who tell him he has done no wrong. Only one person has ever got Paul Galvin sent off or in trouble with the disciplinary authorities - Paul Galvin.

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 21/03/2012 13:30:22    1133948

KeyserSoze

In response to ClondalkinDub, the incident occurred off the ball in front of me in the uncovered stand in P Ui C. O'Leary was breathing down Galvin's neck and got a tug on Galvin's jersey as Galvin tried to make a run. If this is 'trying to get a player sent off', every football game would end up 3-a-side after 20 minutes. Galvin reacted by turning around with another face-clawing (across O'Leary's eyes). It was seen by the linesman (who raised his flag), but no action was taken by Deegan, who didn't see it, though Galvin was on a yellow and should have been sent off on a straight red anyway if he had taken what the linesman had seen into account .

The responses from some of the Kerry contingent are disappointing, but of no surprise. Throughout his career, Galvin's supporters have always blamed others (opposing players, the CCCC, referees, the media, the man in the moon) for Galvin's actions, so it is little wonder that Galvin himself sees himself as some kind of 'victim' when he is surrounded by those who tell him he has done no wrong. Only one person has ever got Paul Galvin sent off or in trouble with the disciplinary authorities - Paul Galvin.

G'way out of that lad, that's not why Galvin reacted and well you know it.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 21/03/2012 13:48:41    1133964

Oh sweet mother of divinity, why am I not surprised that that is the Kerry reponse? Poor St. Paul is never at fault.

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 21/03/2012 13:57:15    1133974

G'way out of that lad, that's not why Galvin reacted and well you know it.

C-K-H. what did happen, I couldn;t make the game but what ever happened both Darran and Declan were fairly mad over it and were think in the action in the aftermath, I've never seen Darran so intensed so obviously it was bad or unacceptable

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 21/03/2012 14:01:17    1133987