The myth of Dublin hurling

A merger of underage competitions with Meath, Westmeath, Laois and Offaly might be a good way forward too for teams up to under 16 or minor level, and to be fair a few clubs in north Kildare could probably hold their own if they were to play in the Dublin league up to under 16 or so too.

Totally impractical. it's hard enough to get mentors to take charge of chaps for games 10 miles away. imagine getting them from Cullahill to Castlepollard and back or Ardclough to Kinnity and back on a regular basis. I think it would actually put young lads off the game.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 09/07/2012 20:48:20    1213287

dhorse
County: Laois

Totally impractical. it's hard enough to get mentors to take charge of chaps for games 10 miles away. imagine getting them from Cullahill to Castlepollard and back or Ardclough to Kinnity and back on a regular basis. I think it would actually put young lads off the game.

Depends what way you look to organise it I suppose.

One of the main problems I've seen with underage hurling is the lack of games and competitions played. A season or championship can be over in a matter of weeks.

If you were to take a few clubs from neighbouring counties and dedicate one weekend a month to play some sort of blitz style competition at least you have a chance at increasing the number of matches and possibly keep the interest going by playing different teams in different counties.

Obviously this would have to be done outside of county championships to work best. Don't some of the Carlow clubs play in the lower levels of the Tipp and Kilkenny competitions? Doesn't seem to have done them any harm lately.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3691 - 09/07/2012 21:03:02    1213300

Jaysus,

I got slated when I started this thread. How right was I?

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 14/06/2013 15:33:01    1406678

daytona11

1406678 Jaysus,

________

Think you're giving yourself way too much credit...

Dublin have made massive strides... reaching AI finals at underage / Winning league titles at senior etc etc

We have a way to go but we're as close as we've ever been to the top table

So it's no myth..

We were only a handful of points away from a senior AI final... but thats where the current setup peaked

Daly has done a great job but I think he's done all he can

A new freshness is needed as we're missing a link between underage and senior at the minute

But we're as close as we've ever been...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 14/06/2013 15:45:41    1406688

I know Jim. That post was a WUM. But considering the way I was treated when I created the thread I do feel vindicated somewhat.

A perfectly legitimate thread.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 14/06/2013 15:48:51    1406692

Dublin hurlers are more succesful than the Kildare footballers my friend at all levels.

So if you want a discussion about myths, bring it on :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 14/06/2013 15:51:08    1406697

Fair enough

But the title of the thread is a wee bit extreme.

Thats been the problem from the start

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 14/06/2013 15:51:57    1406700

Work away Hurling Dub. Perhaps create a thread on that subject and try sticking to the topic of this thread. If that's your best defence forget about it.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 14/06/2013 15:52:54    1406702

hurlingdub

Dublin hurlers are more succesful than the Kildare footballers my friend at all levels.

So if you want a discussion about myths, bring it on :-)

Bang, right outta the park.

Take a bow hurlingdub. Viva la revolución

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13796 - 14/06/2013 15:53:48    1406704

Ok,

Excepted the title of the thread is off the mark.

But the original argument does have it's merits. I do admire the work that has been done. My point is that I think it has been over stated in some parts.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 14/06/2013 15:55:08    1406706

Stick together lads, hunt in numbers. And try to deflect away from the subject as well.

......hopefully people won't notice.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 14/06/2013 15:57:02    1406709

daytona11

1406706 Ok,

Excepted the title of the thread is off the mark.

But the original argument does have it's merits. I do admire the work that has been done. My point is that I think it has been over stated in some parts.
________

Well that has it's merits

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 14/06/2013 16:03:07    1406717

daytona11

Stick together lads, hunt in numbers. And try to deflect away from the subject as well.

......hopefully people won't notice.

What's your point, that Dublin aren't as good at hurling as you thought we were?

Yeah, hurling is hard, that's why most countiers don't bother with it at a serious level. It's a lot easier to be competitive in football as everyone has a level whereas in hurling it is very hard.

We were at a low ebb but have done something to rectify that. We've fallen back a little over the last season or so but the work is still ongoing. We have potential whether that gets fulfilled or not remains to be seen.

But as much as people want us to we are not going away.

We'd a poor game last week and hopefully we can rectify that tmrw night although I expect another battle. We've already done the most important thing this year in gaining promotion back to the top flight at the first time of asking.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13796 - 14/06/2013 16:05:54    1406719

daytona11

For what it's worth I'm inclined to agree with you man. Dublin have come on in leaps and bounds which is fantastic. Hurling is tough and the more counties doing it at the top level the better. . I don't think Dublin will progress any further. Winning the league is it for them. This time next year they'll be back in 1B

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3558 - 14/06/2013 21:20:19    1407048

Doylerwex
County: Wexford

1407048 daytona11

For what it's worth I'm inclined to agree with you man. Dublin have come on in leaps and bounds which is fantastic. Hurling is tough and the more counties doing it at the top level the better. . I don't think Dublin will progress any further. Winning the league is it for them. This time next year they'll be back in 1B

If we are so be it, we will work harder and get back out, you should worry about your own county.

As for Daytona to start a thread like this as a WUM is sad.
Personally I don't measure Dublin hurling on Antony Dalys team selection or how some of the lads are performing in wrong positions or under 21 clobbered together team, I judge it on the underage in all the clubs at the moment playing hurling compared to ten years ago, I judge it on all the coaches out there realishing helping out , with the same funds as every other county (very little).but sure it sounds better that we have loads of money and are squandering it at a loss to some other poor counties, jaysus even the Wexford manager is getting in on it now.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 14/06/2013 21:46:46    1407070

From a Hurling perspective the emergence has probably been somewhat hurt by the reinvention of the county senior footballers as a national force. I think if Dublin hurling came on the scene even 5 years ago the transition may of been somewhat easier. In my view the next step is to ensure that the creme de creme of youth hurling that is produced in Dublin is kept within hurling circles. Dual in Dublin will never work as long as the disparity between the two set ups is as vast as it currently is. I think we have proved and continue to prove that we have the capability of producing young players that match the best thats out there, but the pool is not as vast as many like to think and argue that it is. However making the next step to senior is always a challenge and small steps is usually the order of the day. Efforts are continually hampered by a relatively poor senior championship within Dublin but the separation of kids that play hurling and football must be re-thinked at least on an elite level in my view. I still think a minor All Ireland represents a more achievable goal in the short term. We have come close over the last couple of years by losing two finals albiet with some excellent talent. I think it will happen at senior level and it will made all the more easier when that great one in a generation Kilkenny side is eventually called ashore!

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 14/06/2013 21:53:52    1407077

daytona11
Jaysus,
-----------------------------------------------------------------

You got slated because you kicked a team and county who have done more to improve its small ball game more than any other in the country just because they have had a few setbacks on the very rocky and almost never travelled road from minnow to contender!!

You will observe that the natural order of Dublin hurling has been restored this evening daytona and we here in Dublin look forward to taking on Kilkenny in the Leinster semi-final!!

It sure is great to be a 'Dual County'....in provincial semis in both codes!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 15/06/2013 21:30:21    1407503

daytona11

how dare you start a thread like this,you be from the outskirts of dublin from a county that has won nothing in close on a 100 years,we in dublin have never said we will win liam,but we may just be a little closer than kildare are to getting sam,

D5dub (Dublin) - Posts: 283 - 15/06/2013 21:46:59    1407535

Snufalufagus

daytona11
Jaysus,
-----------------------------------------------------------------

You got slated because you kicked a team and county who have done more to improve its small ball game more than any other in the country just because they have had a few setbacks on the very rocky and almost never travelled road from minnow to contender!!

You will observe that the natural order of Dublin hurling has been restored this evening daytona and we here in Dublin look forward to taking on Kilkenny in the Leinster semi-final!!

It sure is great to be a 'Dual County'....in provincial semis in both codes!!

Explain to us how Dublin are ''a team and county who have done more to improve its small ball game more than any other in the country'' Wexford are a team that have been at a low ebb for a wile how so the all mighty only true dual county that is Dublin should have had no problem beating them if there as good as there made out to be.

Also Snuf there was no sign of you again during the week when the only true dual county lost to a county you have branded a ''one code wonder'' why was that?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 16/06/2013 12:07:45    1407643

moomoo,

There has been no sign of me for a few weeks you may have noticed! Im busy signing new contracts and keeping my empire at the top of the pile!......Eh, it certainly has nothing to do with 'one code wonder' minnow hurlers losing a second rate championship.....!!!!

How did O'Dwyer and Rochford get on for ye by the way?.....And there was you making out that Dublin were the only county to have hurlers from outside the county playing for us!!.....at least ours play for clubs within the county itself!!

......what say you, moomoo??!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 16/06/2013 15:12:19    1407783