The myth of Dublin hurling

With a clean bill of health, team will be hard to select by June. Will be some intensity ar training and in challenges I would imagine! My best guess would be:

1 Maguire
2 Corcoran
3 Kelly
4 Brady
5 Hiney
6 Boland
7 Durkan
8 McCaffrey
9 Rushe
10 McCormack
11 O'Dwyer
12 Keaney
13 O'Callaghan
14 Treacy
15 Ryan

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 16/03/2012 10:47:31    1130632

its no myth but like a poster already stated ina very simliar position to kildare in football.
we are improving but i feel anthony daly is getting far too much credit for it then he deserves in my opinion.
more credit should go to the development squad coaches and club coaches who have worked alot harder on developing hurlers at clublevel in dublin in the last 10 years and daly has come along at a time when alot of these players are senior after consistently beating kilkenny growing up along the way.
I feel we play too negative still and need to produce another two forwards who can win a ball and take on their man another conal keeney haha.
if you take it in the view of the last 3 years we have only beaten two teams who were rated above us at the time in the championship.
we beat wexford in 09 to make it into a leinster final and we beat galway last year to make a leinster final again.we lost a quarter final to limerick in 09 which would have been a big step forward had we won.in 2011 we beat limerick in the quarter final but limerick had fallen back after the strike and all.
If we can get a full team out this year maybe we can progress and hopefully we will and I think if we made it to an all ireland semi final against tipperary this year that would be the real bar of how far we have come if we could beat them thats the next step

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/03/2012 11:42:27    1130681

Only for O Dwyer we wouldn't have beaten limerick and as we all know he's a Tipp man. I think there should be no country players on the panel, we have a big enough population. He's nearly become the face of the senior hurling panel, every time I open a paper about our hurlers it's usually his face I see doing interviews or whatever. We've made good progress underage but without the Culchies on our senior team we wouldnt have made the semi last year.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 16/03/2012 11:55:55    1130690

It amazes me how these threads make it onto the forums.

I admire Dublin hurling, alright alright, I know a lot of money has gone into it. But they wouldn't get anywhere without dedication and sticking with it. I'd say they will in an All Ireland in the next few years, a Leinster title would be a great return this year.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1673 - 16/03/2012 12:07:09    1130701

Ahsure, the money aspect is greatly exaggerated. Seriously, you would imagine we had a professional team the way some people go on! It is also largely a myth put about by a small number of football people who resent the growth of hurling.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 16/03/2012 12:28:24    1130718

Thats fair enough hurlingdub. Its just every time I talk about hurling to people and Dublin comes up, I keep on getting an earful about the amount of money put into it.

Are they and I uninformed? Probably.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1673 - 16/03/2012 12:39:55    1130728

ahsure

thats just typical of people who have an inferior complex against dublin
they will always have a reason to say its because this its because that as an excuse against dublin winning something or doing well in something i think its because dublin is the capital its probably the same in all countrys acorss the world.look simple is you dont pay players so regardless of money its the 15 who take the field against 15 form another county regardless of populations,money,home grounds,amount of supporters.
im surprised more people havent commented on like clondalkindub did regarding the 3 outsiders on dublin panel.i think hes going a bit far as only two of them starts so to say without them we would be crap is way off the mark

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/03/2012 13:06:31    1130754

I doubt clondalkindub knows very much about the hurlers. Besides which calling people 'culchies' detracts from any argument.

Ahsure, there are full time paid coaches but it is not the case that everything in Dubin hurling is paid or that it is all paid for from central funds to the detriment of other counties. A good number of clubs pay for their own coaches. Kilmacud for example have a full time coach and have spent hundreds of thousands of their own money on hurling facilities.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 16/03/2012 13:17:37    1130763

A far amount of money was invested by the Dublin County Board to get hurling up to the levels required, starting with the clubs. Where this money come from? As opposed to the general consensus the money was raised by the Clubs and County Board themselves.

To be honest, saying it was the powers that be, or Croke Park or some other mysterious donor is simply away of deflecting criticism in other counties as to way they do not do it themselves.

GAA people spend more time knocking the GAA than anyone else, it amazes me!

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 16/03/2012 13:58:17    1130786

Look lads, silly thread, started by someone who can't quite get the better of Dublin in football so he has a go at our hurlers, while his hurlers struggle to beat Meath, pathetic. Dublin are a very decent side, end of.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8746 - 16/03/2012 13:59:09    1130787

Just a quick question though. Has it ever occurred that the winners of the league one year have got relegated the following year?

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 16/03/2012 14:08:01    1130801

The main thing that Dublin has over other counties is population. If that raises extra money through fundraisers/raffles/gate receipts/whatever, then so be it. Good for them.

But no amout of money makes for good hurlers. Dublin are becoming one of the most prolific hurling teams in the country thanks to the efforts made through schools, colleges, training, management & enlisting good players.

They've worked hard for that so credit where credit is due.

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 16/03/2012 14:17:50    1130810

Only for O Dwyer we wouldn't have beaten limerick and as we all know he's a Tipp man. I think there should be no country players on the panel, we have a big enough population. He's nearly become the face of the senior hurling panel, every time I open a paper about our hurlers it's usually his face I see doing interviews or whatever. We've made good progress underage but without the Culchies on our senior team we wouldnt have made the semi last year.

Thats true about O Dwyer hes always in the papers and i taught the Brogans were bad

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 16/03/2012 16:15:30    1130917

Decent honest post here. Fair play.

I don't think any county would say no to odwyer though.

He's as bad as Eamonn fennell.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 16/03/2012 16:24:03    1130929

Thats true about O Dwyer hes always in the papers and i taught the Brogans were bad
moomoo , 16/03/2012 at 16:15

and he still couldnt make the Tipp panel as he made himself available to Tipp 2 years ago before the transfer to Dublin

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 16/03/2012 16:28:40    1130933

Antrim hurling folk would give their eye teeth to be in Dublin's position; the progress they have made over the past few years is remarkable though I believe good work has been done at underage level there for some years. Croke Park have ploughed big money into Dublin though that's quite understandable population and finance wise. I do believe though that the GAA could and should be supporting the hurling communities in Belfast and North Antrim far better than they do.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9817 - 16/03/2012 16:33:58    1130937

Thurles blure I presume he'd be given a chance to stake a cliam now if he were to become available again? What with the loss of corbett.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 16/03/2012 16:35:19    1130939

Maybe if Tipp had taken him on you might have put up a decent fight in the AI final last year instead of letting Kilkenny run rings around you!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8746 - 16/03/2012 16:56:42    1130950

Thurles blure I presume he'd be given a chance to stake a cliam now if he were to become available again? What with the loss of corbett.
daytona11 , 16/03/2012 at 16:35

dont worry daytona Lar isnt gone anywhere

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 16/03/2012 17:38:18    1130980

'I think they'll win the senior AI within the next three years. I hope they do, their supporters are salt of the earth'

Ahh come off it hurlinspuds! Ive been in dublin a good number of years and always had a soft spot for the hurlers but its amazing how all these 'trueblue' supporters have come out of the woodwork all of a sudden. For many years there was more away supporters and neutrals at parnell park for the dublin home games than dublin supporters and they were looked upon as a laughing stock amongst the general dub public. Now everyone is claiming to be a die-hard dub hurling fan on the hill and showing their class by booing the opposition everytime they take a free (behaviour which has never been common in hurling before) Ive no doubt that there are many genuine hurling people in dublin but the vast majority are just bandwagoners

deisebhoy (Waterford) - Posts: 416 - 16/03/2012 20:03:47    1131074