Puddersthecat County: Kilkenny Posts: 1660
1123981 pplocal, There has been 101 under age club gaelic football matches played in Kilkenny already this year. There is plenty being done at under age level. I bet that is more than the entire Tyrone hurling club fixtures. Plenty is doen to promote football. There are huge crowds at the under age development camps. But as for adults, the interest isn't there. There is more interest in junior soccer at adult level in Kilkenny and even with that we couldn't keep a league of ireland team out of lack of interest.
We play hurling. We live for hurling. It may not be your cup of tea but it is ours. And even if we are left the only county in Ireland playing it (which I doubt) we will still love it. And we will nourish it as long as we live. If football stalwarts have a problem with that so be it. But as long as a Kilkenny person breathes, there will be life in hurling.
well said pudders. i can guarentee that there has been more football played in Kilkenny this year than hurling in Cavan.
s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5520 - 07/03/2012 10:08:01
Would ye like a goody bag for your passion and dedication towards hurling, Pudders?
Sort the football out lad, in fairness. The other 31 counties can do it, nothing makes ye so special not to.
ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 07/03/2012 11:29:56
pplocal County: Tyrone Posts: 4819
1122914 The sport involves hitting a ball as hard as you can with a stick, I'm sure it's good craic to play but let's not pretend it's in any way skillful. Gaelic football is and that's why it's so much more popular. Counties like KK, Waterford, Tipp realised the would never be good enough to win Sam Maguire's so settled for a sport only about 5 counties actually care about. Their Hurling All-Ireland's are worthless I'm afraid to say
Did Tipp realise that before or after their 4th All-Ireland football title?
Are Tyrone going to come to the same conclusion after their next football title?
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13796 - 07/03/2012 11:30:41
There's a book by a Cork guy called Christy Keneally in which he tells of growing up on Cork's northside. This was back in the days when the city was hurling mad and Keneally was a member of the legendary Glen Rovers. He says that they used to go down to the Mardyke to hurling matches on Sunday afternoons, and on their way, they'd stop at the cricket grounds to have a look. 'It was like watching a game of marbles on your way to the Coluseum' was his comparison! I'd say a lot of Kilkenny people feel the same way about football!
But seriously, the only issue here is whether young lads in KK are given a real option to enjoy a game of football. After that, it really doesn't matter how good or bad they are. If they're given the chance, then there's no issue. If they're not given the chance, KK county board should be hauled over the coals and have their funding cut in half. Then, any additional funding should be granted on condition that it is used exclusively for football.
But look, I don't really want to open up a can of worms, but somebody should say this. Lots of hurling folk down here believe it. The agressive development of football can be detrimental to hurling. I believe that football has done much more damage to Cork hurling than soccer or rugby. I'd hate to see the same thing happen in Kilkenny. In some clubs, when a hurling man opens his mouth, he's told he's spending too much money, and not to be a hurling snob!
I think Cork hurling people are frustrated, 'cause we think there's a chance that we're going to fall further behind Kilkenny. And many of us definately believe that our dual status is contributing to that process. You only have to look at the players denied to the hurling panel to see we have a point. If Walsh, Sheehan and Cahalane lived in KK, they'd be playing hurling, and Cadogen wouldn't be burning himself out playing two sports for club and county. It's these lads choice what they wish to play though. For now, some of them have chosen football, and the best of luck, and a big thank you, to them. It does leave us in an ultimately untenable position. The player burnout that they talk about in every county, is multiplied by two in much of Cork, Galway etc. But the solution isn't found by dragging KK down to our level.
Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 07/03/2012 12:28:19
Agree about the football culchie.I love gaelic football,but looking the book "the club" about St Josephs Doora Barefield (all ireland winning hurling club 12 years ago),it seems that most of the competition for the kids time comes from gaelic football.I know its just one club,but looking at Tipperary winning the football AI,and hearing Pat Spillane rather smugly talk about a hurling area had turned into a football area (cant for the life of me remember where he was referring to),it does seem to be a bit of a trend.
TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 07/03/2012 13:46:50
pplocal County: Tyrone Posts: 4819
1122914 The sport involves hitting a ball as hard as you can with a stick, I'm sure it's good craic to play but let's not pretend it's in any way skillful. Gaelic football is and that's why it's so much more popular. Counties like KK, Waterford, Tipp realised the would never be good enough to win Sam Maguire's so settled for a sport only about 5 counties actually care about. Their Hurling All-Ireland's are worthless I'm afraid to say
--------
Needless to say Tipp have four All Ireland Senior Football titles, whereas Tyrone online have three.
ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 07/03/2012 14:54:34
Hurling has alot more unique skills than gaelic football. I am sure there is plenty of soccer played in kilkenny so the whole concept of kicking a round ball should not be totally alien to them. Surely kilkenny can find 15 fit lads who can kick a round ball. football is different to hurling as well as a team are better able to hold the opposition in football than in hurling, just look at what donegal did in last years championship. I am sure kilkenny could find 15 lads who arent making the hurling panel and play soccer to make up a decent team. football is a simple game and you get out what you put in. Tipp won the football minors last year and have been going well at u-21 level as well, would be nice if kilkenny could make the effort. there is no excuse for these hammerings that they are taking year in year out, questions should be asked in how they spend their funding.
as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 07/03/2012 16:02:49
I think its fairly obvious that the real agenda of the anti KK posters on this thread is jealousy.
mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 538 - 08/03/2012 11:23:03
I am involved in ALL aspects of association and there are many parts which can be improved upon in many counties including Armagh, Armagh is a weak county at hurling but we are trying to address that problem with a plan - we are realistic, in the early 70's armagh were one of the worst counties at football - there were many reasons for this. In 1994 Derry hammered Armagh in the first round of the championship, the co. board set up a 5yr plan, (1999 an Ulster title was achieved.
Not all counties can be Cork or Dublin with their massive populations or finances but every county can plan for the future, kilkenny hasn't done this with football...... there was an excellent article in the Irish Independent on Saturday with an ex-Kilkenny minor footballer who told of no squad training or challenge matches, little or no medical attention or facilities or training gear.. Any team can loose but to loose before the season has started shows contempt for the sport from the Co. Board
and as regards jealousy, my grandfather and all his brothers hurled for Kilkenny.
What annoys most gaels everywhere is the balent attitude regarding this sport. In Callan or Kilkenny town etc, there is someone who cold excell on a gaelic field and mighten be a hurler, but to use the 'flipint' remark that hurling is number one and noone likes gaelic football is a far to simplistic remark to make........
cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 08/03/2012 12:45:23
ahsure. County: Galway Posts: 393
1124398 Would ye like a goody bag for your passion and dedication towards hurling, Pudders?
They don't need Goody Bags, they have their All Irelands.
onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 08/03/2012 12:53:14
onlyhurling County: Galway Posts: 495
1124398 Would ye like a goody bag for your passion and dedication towards hurling, Pudders?
They don't need Goody Bags, they have their All Irelands.
--------
haha, funnily enough onlyhurling I was going to say 'a medal' instead of 'goody bags' but I didn't want to allude to all those All Ireland medals.
You've caught me.
ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 08/03/2012 13:32:14
Clearly there are players in KK who want to play football and it's sad to see them undermined & dismissed so easily by so many, both on the pitch and off it
I find it difficult to do that because I wouldn't disrespect anyone who wears & plays for their colours and thereby contributing to the greatest amateur sporting organisation on earth, and it's for our entertainment too
That said, this is doing nothing to promote football in KK and it really is being treated as a laughing stock
I suppose for the good of it, they should withdraw and enter into a plan, schools, pregrammes and all the rest of it for the next 5 years or so and try again
gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 08/03/2012 14:16:25
I don't know why people are commenting on this still, numourous people have come on here and said underage plans and development squads are in place, what more can Kilkenny do at this time, what's in the past is in the past. Come back in ten years and complain if it hasn't worked. At least they are fielding teams unlike other Counties in Hurling. As for Armagh, Tyrone, Kildare and the rest, what are they doing to promote hurling? Does every club in those Counties play hurling and football like in Kilkenny. Get your own ship in order and then come on here and rant. As far as I'm concered Cork and Dublin can give advise, maybe Galway too. No way would I take suggestions from the rest. Armagh have won 1 Senior All Ireland in both codes, and Cuculainn comes on here as if they are the best thing since slice bread. I would take Kilkenny's success over Armagh's any day of the week. Senior players aren't interested. Juniors are. That's the way it'll be until they come up through the grades.
Faithfull (Offaly) - Posts: 573 - 08/03/2012 15:14:35
right faithful you have missed the point,
as i said only cork and dublin can really compeet in both codes on a continued basis, as i said armagh do compete in hurling and football at their level, as do all counties even the connacht counties. all counties with the except of cavan compete, obviously at a low level, but they try and compete, kilkenny show football with contempt.
if we had your attitude then 15-19 counties would abandon hurling completely and just concentrate on football.
cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 08/03/2012 18:07:11
You can talk all you want about Dublin's population but look how many dual players they had on their minor teams last year which both reached the All-Ireland final. It can be done where there's a will. There's no will in Longford anymore to promote hurling. There never was any will in Leitrim, Cavan or Fermanagh.
keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 08/03/2012 19:16:05
Forgive me keeper7, but there is some will in Leitrim, they hailed it as the big breakthrough in 1997 (or 96, not sure) when their u16 inter county team got to the All Ireland 'B' final.
The talent is there, its just a matter of finding a way to let it prosper.
ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 09/03/2012 10:41:39
Key to kilkenny Underage teams play in nearest county domestic leagues. Prob carlow and tipp.
Klkenny underage championships go ahead inside Kilkenny as normal.
Kilkenny Minors play in carlow/tipp minor football championship. Same at under 21.
Kilkenny senior footballers to enter junior football championship and Leinster winter junior club league.
Kilkenny County board to forward 4 people to match 4 people from strong footballing counties to form a footballing board.
Board to run blitzes from under 6 through to under 10 and leagues from 12 to senior.
Areas with 3 or more hurling clubs and no footballing clubs will get a paid coach to found a footballing club at u6/8/10.
Reports to Leinster council each year on progress of new teams, numbers playing and fulfillment of fixtures.
North Side Gael (None) - Posts: 1076 - 09/03/2012 18:28:23
09/03/2012 18:28:23 North Side Gael County: All Posts: 849
1126109 Key to kilkenny Underage teams play in nearest county domestic leagues. Prob carlow and tipp.
Klkenny underage championships go ahead inside Kilkenny as normal.
Kilkenny Minors play in carlow/tipp minor football championship. Same at under 21.
Kilkenny senior footballers to enter junior football championship and Leinster winter junior club league.
Kilkenny County board to forward 4 people to match 4 people from strong footballing counties to form a footballing board.
Board to run blitzes from under 6 through to under 10 and leagues from 12 to senior.
Areas with 3 or more hurling clubs and no footballing clubs will get a paid coach to found a footballing club at u6/8/10.
Reports to Leinster council each year on progress of new teams, numbers playing and fulfillment of fixtures.
Some very good posts there!!! Is there any chance the Authorities with the powers to make changes would look to do things like you have mentioned.While people keep bringing up countys that dont do much for hurling, improving football in kilkenny is a much easier task than improving hurling in tyrone/donegal/sligo etc
Run blitzes regularly for u6s to u12s with regular leagues for lads from u14 up Clubs be made amalganate for football
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 09/03/2012 18:47:10
North Side Gael,
1 county in Ireland is behind everyone else in football. What about the 10 or so counties who are way behind in hurling? Surely that should be a higher priority?
keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 09/03/2012 21:37:39
ahsure,
Leitrim were NEVER in an All-Ireland 'B' hurling final. They operate at 'C' level & I don't think they've ever made the final of that at any age group.
keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 09/03/2012 21:40:07