Football in Kilkenny - Is there any point?

Well there is my point proven thanks footballforever.
The disregard for football is alive and well. The match was set well in advance training was to be next eve. suddenly it was changed without any notice to me.
So I hope everyone else sees that even when help offered its throwing in your face great hurls there lads. Is it any wonder with guys like this guy promoting hurling how its in such decline ?
So yous go on playing it on your own and keep believing its great while the rest of us get on with the much more competitive and popular sport of footnball. So enjoy your declining interest in your game

I'm off to a real game between two teams who can provide entertainment excitement intrigue and skill. Meath v kildare. Yous keep slapping yourselfs on your back with your sticks.
While the rest of us enjoy the most played watched and attended game in the country gaelic football.

C,mon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/03/2012 16:05:48    1121269

royal, what school or club are you referring to?

I went to primary school in Kilkenny. Every school has a football team. The under age football and hurling do not overlap.

The vast majority of managers looking after the school hurling team, look after the football team. Same generally with the clubs.

I bet there are more under age football matches in Kilkenny than under age hurling matches in many counties.

You do know that O'Loughlins recently won their division of Feile na Peil? Stop talking nonsense about under age football in Kilkenny.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 02/03/2012 16:36:20    1121290

I don't see how your point is proved cause you are talking absolute rom. Training was changed to the same time as a match? This would never happen. Outside of the city most Kilkenny schools have classes of 7 and 8 pupils so why would hurling training be changed to the same time as a match? As I said earlier and puddersthecats stated, the hurling and football trainers are the same people. (Normally a school teacher)

Kilkenny are promoting hurling to the world by bringing it to unseen levels. What more can Kilkenny do for hurling? Who is promoting football? Who is the Barcelona of Gaelic Football? Who makes it exciting to watch? Big crowds watch cricket, doesn't mean it's exciting. All football teams are doing now is killing the sport with negetive tactics. If hurling was so easy then every County would be able to compete at the same level and there would be no excuse. In fairness to Kerry and Dublin they produced a good final. If Meath were playing in the garden I'd shut the blinds

Footballforever (UK) - Posts: 92 - 02/03/2012 16:56:37    1121320

Interesting one for the Louth boys having a go about the footballers

Leinster Junior Club Final 2006 - Match played in Louth
Danesfort (Kilkenny Junior Hurling team) 4-11 Knockbridge (Louth Senior Hurling team) 1-05

That year Knockbridge represented Louth Senior hurling team with 9 players on the panel. Louth a duel county? I doubt it.

Footballforever (UK) - Posts: 92 - 02/03/2012 17:06:29    1121329

This argument should not be between football and hurling but it SHOULD be about the Association and how its organised. The majority of county boards lean heavily toward football-fact. Hurling will never get a look in under these circumstances because the democratic will of the clubs in these counties will always have a veto over hurling development, the suits on county boards know this and don't care. There should be a separation of football and hurling administration. For the weaker hurling and football counties it should be directly from Croke Park. it would not be difficult. Take the BMW region for hurling. I stand corrected on the numbers but it goes like this, Sligo 8 clubs, Leitrim 5, Longford 7, Cavan 2, Monaghan 5, Fermanagh 4, Tyrone 6= 37ish clubs, which is the equal of 1 county board in most counties. Organise and admin directly from Croke Park. If county boards are not doing what they are supposed to be doing then pull their funding. You will soon find counties who had no interest in hurling bucking up their ideas as they don't like to lose money, money they were diverting to football in the first place.

breffni666 (Cavan) - Posts: 294 - 02/03/2012 18:07:30    1121353

With the possible exception of a few dedicated souls, Kilkenny people do not care about football and that's just the way it is. There is no point trying to force them to promote the game when there is bugger all interest from players or supporters. It would take a massive investment of resources over a period of at least 10 years just to get to the point where their minor football team might have a chance of beating one of the weaker counties in a championship match, and in the meantime their seniors would continue getting slaughtered on a regular basis. There are plenty of counties that are useless at hurling. So what if Kilkenny are crap at football.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 1033 - 02/03/2012 18:57:10    1121384

Hurling in 20 odd counties? Is there any point?

I find it hypocritical that many of the posters on here slaying Kilkenny football are from counties which are a disgrace to the beautiful game of hurling and treat it worse than KK treats football. Interesting that there is little or no posters from KK here its people from other counties kicking up the stink. Get ur own houses in order first I say

deisebhoy (Waterford) - Posts: 416 - 02/03/2012 19:26:48    1121408

Listen will ye all forget it, the are no interest in football in kilkenny
SIMPLE AS, we are the home off hurling and thats good enough for us.

4bythenore (Kilkenny) - Posts: 360 - 02/03/2012 19:53:16    1121424

leinster minor league friday 2nd march

laois 6-15
kilkenny0-1

HOB (Carlow) - Posts: 97 - 03/03/2012 09:09:00    1121542

if they have people willing to play football then it is not a waste of time or shameful. Just because they are not good does not mean they should quit playing! Using that logic Offaly and Wexford should pack it in after the hiddings Kilkenny gave them!! Armagh should have stopped playing hurling years ago too, now they are stronger than ever!!

wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 03/03/2012 12:07:03    1121608

think its time the hq stepped in and sorted it all out to be beating 6 goals and 30 odd points its doing no justice for any other team more like a training session than anything else but not gaining anything from it and to players willing to play and getting mercifull hiding not a good place to be going on to long now has to be rectified....

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 03/03/2012 12:35:51    1121624

I really can't understand how they are so useless at football. I think it takes a bit of work to be that woeful at the game.

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 03/03/2012 14:42:38    1121676

It's unrealistic to expect every county to be competitive in both codes. This notion is largely a product of sentimentality and tribalism. The All-Irelands were originally a club competition. I believe the GAA should have pursued a system of regionalisation that would have fundamentally altered the intercounty competitions. For example, we might have an urban club with an open selection policy for elite footballers playing their home games in Portlaois or Carlow. Any talented footballer from Kilkenny would be eligible to play for this team, subject to trials, etc.

The same policy could be applied across the country, (Urban hurling clubs in Derry or Belfast for example competing in the All-Ireland), and it would do much to address imbalances in demographics and playing numbers across Ireland, or even the UK. It would mean a streamlined All-Ireland but it would be much more marketable with evenly matched teams.

Ollie99 (Meath) - Posts: 442 - 03/03/2012 15:32:04    1121700

Lads you have to realise that this wasnt a very poor Kilkenny team, it was just a Louth team hell bent on revenge for the time Kilkenny beat Louth in the Leinster SFC in 1929, which was to be their last ever win in the senior championship.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1677 - 03/03/2012 19:57:49    1121855

Revenge is a dish best served cold Castlebravo.He who laughs last laughs loudest.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 03/03/2012 20:03:26    1121858

Latest in one of two early throw in's at the basement of the NFL this afternoon....Kilkenny 0-02 7-09 Fermanagh

gaelicgab (USA) - Posts: 878 - 04/03/2012 14:08:09    1122139

bring back underdogs programme for kilkenny football, and ses if they can get them to beat a county team..

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 04/03/2012 14:39:20    1122166

it must be horrible for them lads to go out every week and get a mauling by any team jesus christ its about time something was done about football in kilkenny
but u have to respect the lads who go out and play even though the know they are going to loose they still show up

delboydub (Dublin) - Posts: 665 - 04/03/2012 17:13:37    1122290

kilkenny hammered once again

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 04/03/2012 17:21:49    1122298

kilkenny county board have to do more to promote football

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 04/03/2012 17:32:03    1122308