Seamie might even get a game with them..
mayoboy1 (Mayo) - Posts: 1654 - 01/03/2012 14:48:43
County Hurling at Minor level is divided into 3 sections, A,B & C level. Tyrone for example who are currently developing at this level play in the 'C' competition, with teams of similar standard all of whom have a realistic chance of success in the competition thus helping develop the game in the County. At U21 level we play in the Ulster Shield, effectively a 'B' grade competition with success in same honoured with progress onto an All-Ireland 'B' stage and also entrance into Ulster Championship in same season. Something similar could be done in regards to Football, give all Counties a realistic chance of progressing and developing at all levels, instead of being thrown in at the deep end like Kilkenny. Kilkenny aren't the only County in this predicament.
lasttoknow (Tyrone) - Posts: 99 - 01/03/2012 14:50:35
Could Kilkenny not be facilitated for example could their seniors not participate in the junior championship or do they already?
Could there under 21/minor not enter the tipperary B grade championship at these age levels?
We need to find them a level to help them, clearly years of neglect are not going to be turned around in 5 years or even 15 years for that matter, we must send in a team of coaches to work in kk at under 8/10, we must find competitive competition for their older teams and we must not sit back and condemn.
North Side Gael (None) - Posts: 1076 - 01/03/2012 14:51:11
daytona11 County: Kildare Posts: 1832
1120159 Until they start supporting footballers and promoting it within the county they shouldn't be allowed to enter a hurling team. Every other county in the country are competitive at their level in both codes.
It's no wonder there so good at hurling when they don't have to bother with football.
Thats a bit rich coming from a Kildare man now in fairness! Sure ye dont field a team in either code!!!
Only citizens of true dual counties are eligible to comment on this topic. When I say dual I mean counties like Cork, D*blin, Laois, Galway, Westmeath, Antrim.
Some counties are one trick ponies, Kildare, as far as i can see, are a no trick pony.
Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 01/03/2012 15:00:30
squidword County: Louth Posts: 2569
I'm in no way blaming Louth I am just saying you are not comparing like for like. Kilkenny are all ireland hurling champions, if they played in any county in Ireland there would be a crowd. Louth do not hold the same appeal. Comparing the Kilkenny football team to the Louth football team is like comparing the South Down hurling team to the Louth hurling team. I understand Louth play both sports, both are they realistically going to win an all ireland in either in the next 10-20 years? The same could be said for the vast majority of duel counties than are holding their own playing hurling at "their level".
Footballforever (UK) - Posts: 92 - 01/03/2012 15:02:23
This does actually represent a stain on the name of GAA in Kilkenny and to be honest, while this kind of stuff is going on in The Marble City there is no way KK can be declared a truly great GAA county. They simply are not. You could say Tipp/Kerry are the same, but that would be very lazy analysis. Hurling is on a level playing field with football in parts of North Kerry and the Kerry Hurling team are a million times better and more committed than the KK "football team" and look at the progress Evans and Co have made in Tipp.
Cork may have a hurling rivalry with KK, but when it comes to which is a better GAA county....Kilkenny couldnt shine Corks shoes.
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 01/03/2012 15:12:56
1120454 daytona11 County: Kildare Posts: 1832
1120159 Until they start supporting footballers and promoting it within the county they shouldn't be allowed to enter a hurling team.
Horse County: Laois Posts: 878
Only citizens of true dual counties are eligible to comment on this topic. When I say dual I mean counties like Cork, D*blin, Laois, Galway, Westmeath, Antrim.
Some counties are one trick ponies, Kildare, as far as i can see, are a no trick pony.
Both of those posts are as thick as the other.
By the logic of the first post, a county should not be allowed compete in one code without promoting the other - does this mean that Mayo, Cavan or Tyrone - just to pick a few examples - shouldn't be allowed to field a football team if they don't pour more resources into hurling?
And as for the second post, that's just a badly disguised dig at Kildare
gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 01/03/2012 15:19:30
Gig , if your gonna get uber offended by everything H*rse says you wont last long on here!!!
H*rse is a legend but for many different reasons!!!
C'mere Gig, you made cornerforward on the HS team on another thread but you never showed for training the other night What gives!! You out vandalizing neighbours strawberry patches again? Or were you still drinking in Rackards at the time???
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 01/03/2012 15:28:10
ahsure. County: Galway Posts: 375
1120283 Kilkenny are a disgrace to the GAA.
You are a Disgrace to Galway:
Wheither people want to believe it there are very few Counties who are actually dual counties, Dublin maybe the only genuine one (maybe Antrim, Wexford but I'm not sure) Cork, Galway etc are not really dual counties, they are counties split in two with a strong hurling area and a strong football area. Moycullen gaining Senior hurling status last year in Galway means there is a Senior hurling club in the West of the county for the first time in probably 40 years. There are no Senior hurling clubs from the north of the county. I don't believe there is any club in Galway that has won Senior titles in both codes (not sure about this so I will stand corrected if someone wants to google). I know Cork is not quite as stark a division and there are a couple of strong dual clubs but in general footballl is West Cork, Hurling East. I not saying there is anything wrong with this, just stating a fact. I don't believe it's possible to reach the highest level in two totally different sports which basically only have in common the pitch and number of players on in.
onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 01/03/2012 15:55:20
gigoer County: Wexford Posts: 1328
And as for the second post, that's just a badly disguised dig at Kildare
Badly disguised? Where is the disguise?! Sure i called them a no trick pony. Thats a straight up insult where i come from!!!
Anyway Gigoer your like a mother hen the way you do be cluckin around the kildare boys, worrying about them being hurt or offended by any bit of banter or slaggin. Maybe you should stick to the oul music writing as you clearly dont have the stomach for Gaa talk.
Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 01/03/2012 15:56:14
Ha! Looks like I frayed a few nerves there!
Giddy-up lads!
:-)
gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 01/03/2012 15:59:48
Con County: Louth Posts: 463
Westmeath were due to play a Leinster final last year against Louth(I think correct me if I'm wrong there).. Westmeath were at the pitch when they got a call saying Louth(?) couldn't field and we could just collect the shield.. That is far worse than what Kilkenny did last night
square_ball_69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 826 - 01/03/2012 16:00:03
Looks like Liam from Walkinstown is on the Pieball's back there! Tally-ho!
Anyhoo, I know which end of the horse his posts are always spoken from Liamo, and I'm not offended I'm just pointing out the stupidity of that post, that's all. sure what have been Kildare been doing for decades only fielding football teams.
By the way, cornerforward? I'd say I'm better in goal!
Hardy har
gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 01/03/2012 16:08:37
Footballforever County: UK Posts: 65
1120269 Is there a rule that says you have to do anything other than field a team?
How about this, Louth play kilkenny in football and hurling and they have an agregate score in the end. I wonder who would come out on top. One poster mentioned that every other county was competing at their level. Well "their level" are the key words there. Just because in hurling there are 10 -15 teams that aren't as good as the rest doesn't make the level acceptable. A lot of Kildare people complaining, fair enough Kilkenny wouldn't keep it kicked out to Kildare in a football match but I bet if you sent a Junior Kilkenny Club hurling team to play Kildares senior hurling team the club team would beat them and beat them well
Probably the most ridiculous post i've seen on hoganstand. Can I ask you have you ever seen Kildare seniors play or a KK junior team play? Its like saying that all Brazilians are great soccer players or something.
tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 01/03/2012 16:09:23
Gig, I have been kicking H*orses **** from one end of HS to the other for ten years at this stage :) But I still appreciate the lad for what he is, one of the best HS has ever had. Thats not licking his horrible Laois **** , thats just a fact. The fella is a gas man and one of the greats! An insufferable toerag all the same!!!!
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 01/03/2012 16:14:04
gigoer County: Wexford Posts: 1333
1120527 Looks like Liam from Walkinstown is on the Pieball's back there! Tally-ho!
Anyhoo, I know which end of the horse his posts are always spoken from Liamo, and I'm not offended I'm just pointing out the stupidity of that post, that's all. sure what have been Kildare been doing for decades only fielding football teams.
By the way, cornerforward? I'd say I'm better in goal!
Grand, we'll swap, never wanted to be in goals in the first place!
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12310 - 01/03/2012 16:14:12
Breff I am trying to keep you and Snuff as far away from each other as possible your in goal he is FF
Gig either play FF or go home
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 01/03/2012 16:25:23
Liamwalkinstown Have you a link to this HS team selection? wouldn't mind a look. IS it a football or hurling team?
onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 01/03/2012 16:39:40
gigoer County: Wexford Posts: 1333
sure what have been Kildare been doing for decades only fielding football teams.
You are clearly a hurling enthusiast.
Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 01/03/2012 16:40:17
tiobraid County: Tipperary Posts: 1050
Played against both in challenges. Although both teams beat us the Kilkenny club team at the time Bennettsbridge had far better hurlers. James McGarry was playing centre for them
Footballforever (UK) - Posts: 92 - 01/03/2012 16:48:00