Football in Kilkenny - Is there any point?

Cadbury Leinster U21FC FT: Louth 6-35 Kilkenny 0-2. The Cats had no substitutes after 11 of their panel failed to turn up tonight.

Is there any logic in Kilkenny continuing to field teams in football?

derrymore (Kerry) - Posts: 180 - 29/02/2012 21:06:13    1120066

Scandalous. A total waste of everyones time. They should bury their head in shame.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 29/02/2012 21:44:50    1120102

Problem is the interest just isn't there. If they could pursuade a Mick O Shea type charachter to come on board it might create more interest.

11 players not turning up is bad, reminds me of a story I heard a few years ago when they had to ask people in the stand to tog out because most of the team had gone to Thurlas to watch the hurlers play Tipp.

Footballforever (UK) - Posts: 92 - 29/02/2012 21:47:31    1120106

Why are county boards all over the country put under pressure to promote hurling yet this can constantly happen in Kilkenny?

Con (Louth) - Posts: 511 - 29/02/2012 21:48:37    1120109

how bad is it at under age.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 29/02/2012 21:52:48    1120113

Finally it's been proven that the interest isn't there. All ye go on about the county board giving out that it's not promoted blah blah blah. It's promoted but its just not played, no one really cares for the game. I remember playing a county semi-final at minor level and we had to play 13 a side as they had 13 and we had 14. Come Hurling training 3 nights later the panel of 38 were all out…. It's the players fault, they have coaches and trainers there and then come the game no one comes.

When are we playing their hurlers?

KKid (Kilkenny) - Posts: 421 - 01/03/2012 08:32:33    1120127

Just to add to my point earlier I meant Mick O' Dwyer. I wonder what the score would be if Kilkenny played Louth in under 21 hurling. I'd imagine it would be worse.

I think the fact that they had no subs proves that they are not interested in the big ball. It's a pity because it is played from Primary schools to senior level within the county but when it comes down to it young lads would rather go to hurling training than play a football match.

Footballforever (UK) - Posts: 92 - 01/03/2012 09:27:12    1120143

The Kilkenny County Board should face a fine for this, not other county would put out such a team. Absolute waste of time Louth going down there for that when they could be doing something which is actually some beneficial. I would'nt mind if Kilkenny just simple had no good footballers but this is simply not the case. I went to see my local school play a Kilkenny school last year in a South Leinster final or something along those lines and the Kildare side were beaten out the gate, the footballers I saw that day playing for the Kilkenny team were as goood as you'd see in any county.
In my opinion what happened last night was the Kilkenny County Board deliberately disrespected Gaelic Football in general.

sashman (Kildare) - Posts: 465 - 01/03/2012 09:45:21    1120149

Until they start supporting footballers and promoting it within the county they shouldn't be allowed to enter a hurling team. Every other county in the country are competitive at their level in both codes.

It's no wonder there so good at hurling when they don't have to bother with football.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 01/03/2012 09:53:56    1120159

Con, the reason it's not a big a worry for the GAA is because this is the only county where football is neglected. The other big hurling counties, (Cork, Galway, Tipp, Waterford,Limerick etc) all have strong football teams who could compete with anyone else.

In hurling, there are 13/14 counties where hurling is not given anywhere near as much attention as football and because of that there is a risk of the game dying off completely in these counties so the GAA need to work to ensure this doesn't happen.

Also, in fairness, I don't mind seeing Kilkenny doing so badly at football when they're so good at hurling, at least they're successful at what they focus on. It annoys me to see teams like Cavan completely withdraw their hurling squad, it's not as if they're much use at football like.

Gaa_Player (Louth) - Posts: 158 - 01/03/2012 10:10:49    1120174

sashman

In my opinion what happened last night was the Kilkenny County Board deliberately disrespected Gaelic Football in general.

Why do you reckon the KK Co. board disrespected football? What was their intention?

There are some decent footballers in KK but they've absolutely no interest in football.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13796 - 01/03/2012 10:16:26    1120179

This was posted as a new thread but since the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

User:
Matthew

Kilkenny Football

I see Louth had quite a large margin of victory over Kilkenny tonight in the U21's. Louth 6:35. Kilkenny 0:2. Kilkenny had no subs and 11 players didn't turn up. The same thing happens every year at this grade for Kky and we have the same debate here over and over again.. Surely this can't continue? No one is going to benefit. What can the GAA or Kilkenny football county board; that's if one exists...

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 01/03/2012 10:23:42    1120185

daytona11
Until they start supporting footballers and promoting it within the county they shouldn't be allowed to enter a hurling team. Every other county in the country are competitive at their level in both codes.
----------------------------
sashman
The Kilkenny County Board should face a fine for this, not other county would put out such a team....In my opinion what happened last night was the Kilkenny County Board deliberately disrespected Gaelic Football in general.
-----------------------------------------------------
derfil1
Scandalous. A total waste of everyones time. They should bury their head in shame.

Lads, while I agree that Kilkenny's attitude to football is disappointing, I'd suggest that none of you are from a county that can assume any moral high ground at present. The most 'shameful', 'disrespectful' thing that I've observed in the GAA this year has been the Kildare senior management's pursuit of Seanie Johnson. That sort of thing will be much more damanging to the long term health of the GAA than Kilkenny's lack of interest in football.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 01/03/2012 10:43:50    1120195

It,s not a new thing in Kilkenny, seems to be pattern stretching back years.
NFL Div3(sth) 03-11-1986 Clare 6.25 Kilkenny 0.00
NFL Div3(sth) 09-02-1987 Tipperary 21-16 Kilkenny 2.03

lasttoknow (Tyrone) - Posts: 99 - 01/03/2012 10:50:40    1120203

Lads, while I agree that Kilkenny's attitude to football is disappointing, I'd suggest that none of you are from a county that can assume any moral high ground at present. The most 'shameful', 'disrespectful' thing that I've observed in the GAA this year has been the Kildare senior management's pursuit of Seanie Johnson. That sort of thing will be much more damanging to the long term health of the GAA than Kilkenny's lack of interest in football.

Yeah, why can't we all be like Tyrone who have graced the GAA with some fantastic scenes to help promote respect in the games in recent months? In fairness the only high ground you'd know is Sawel Mountain.

Maybe that seemed a bit harsh because you probably didn't approve of those scenes. Well most people in Kildare didn't approve of the Johnston stuff either but it didn't stop you tarring everyone with the one brush.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 01/03/2012 11:05:08    1120211

From the GAA Official Guide:

National Games
The Association shall promote and control the National
games of Hurling, Gaelic Football, Handball and
Rounders, and such other games, as may be sanctioned
and approved by Annual Congress.

1.4 Additional Aims
(a) The Association shall actively support the Irish
language, traditional Irish dancing, music, song,
and other aspects of Irish culture. It shall foster
an awareness and love of the national ideals in
the people of Ireland, and assist in promoting a
community spirit through its clubs.
(b) The Association shall promote its aims amongst
communities abroad through its overseas units.
(c) The Association shall support the promotion of
Camogie and Ladies Gaelic Football.
(d) The Association shall use all practical endeavours
to support Irish Industry especially in relation to
the provision of trophies and playing gear and
equipment.

Is any county who fails to actively support any of these aims of the organisation going against the organisation? I know we in Antrim might not be top dogs in any of the disciplines but at least our County board actively support and promote each code.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 01/03/2012 11:23:12    1120225

Lads would ye ever shut up what would be the score if Kilkenny played Louth in u21 hurling? Kilkenny wouldn't be allowed to play them for fear it would damage the development of hurling. All counties competitive in both codes? So Kildare are competitive in hurling? Just because the opposition ye are playing is useless doesn't mean ye are competitive.

square_ball_69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 826 - 01/03/2012 11:30:03    1120229

It's very sad really, clearly there is someone in Kilkenny, be it a member of the County board or a coach or whoever, who is trying to do something for the sake of Kilkenny football

And all this talk of disrespecting the GAA, hang their heads in shame etc is going too far, damn it, someone is trying to put it through for the good of KK GAA and yet it continues to be attacked. A thread like this seems a bit bandwagon-ish - on a parallel, why aren't you all on another thread giving out about Cavan hurling for instance? Withdrawing from the championship and all that?

It's because KK are the biggest whipping boys in football and are open to wild & nasty non-constructive criticism

I don't claim to know how the KK county board operates but perhaps the best thing for KK to do is if they can't field or name a full squad because no one wants to play, then perhaps they should withdraw it, re-start at school level and try to rejuvenate it again in 5 years time

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 01/03/2012 12:08:31    1120262

gigoer
County: Wexford

1120262 It's very sad really, clearly there is someone in Kilkenny, be it a member of the County board or a coach or whoever, who is trying to do something for the sake of Kilkenny football

And all this talk of disrespecting the GAA, hang their heads in shame etc is going too far, damn it, someone is trying to put it through for the good of KK GAA and yet it continues to be attacked. A thread like this seems a bit bandwagon-ish - on a parallel, why aren't you all on another thread giving out about Cavan hurling for instance? Withdrawing from the championship and all that?

There was a thread about it and plenty of giving out, so I don't see your point.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12310 - 01/03/2012 12:12:03    1120266

Is there a rule that says you have to do anything other than field a team?

How about this, Louth play kilkenny in football and hurling and they have an agregate score in the end. I wonder who would come out on top. One poster mentioned that every other county was competing at their level. Well "their level" are the key words there. Just because in hurling there are 10 -15 teams that aren't as good as the rest doesn't make the level acceptable. A lot of Kildare people complaining, fair enough Kilkenny wouldn't keep it kicked out to Kildare in a football match but I bet if you sent a Junior Kilkenny Club hurling team to play Kildares senior hurling team the club team would beat them and beat them well.

I do agree that Kilkenny should stop competing and rebuild. Surely a similar format that Dublin used for hurling could be used.

Footballforever (UK) - Posts: 92 - 01/03/2012 12:18:04    1120269