Kildare back in the transfer market?.

Seanie chose Kildare and not the other way around and he's publicly come out and said that. There's no poaching of anyone from Kildare. You can bitch and whine all you want but the fact of the matter is he's not a Kildare player yet and may never be one. If he is you'd be better served whining about the lack of GAA rules that would allow such a transfer to go through.

Lacy and O'Dwyer lived worked and played club football in Kildare. Believe it or not it's a common enough thing for people to move from one area to another particularily into Dublin and surrounding counties. Meath themselves have a promising up and coming corner back the son of a Kildare legend on their books due to such a move. I'm sure if you'd time on your hands you'd find some Limerick men that played for Kerry in the past?

Would Cork have won two All Ireland's without the transfer of two Kildare men? I'd say not. Kildare owe the transfer market as jinxie calls it absolutely nothing and.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 04/04/2012 17:40:24    1143851

Clondalkindub I too like you. Your posts are witty and often tongue in cheek like some of mine.
But I stressed that day I wrote that about the forwards that it was quite day in office and I wanted a laugh. Actually my very next post. And between that time and the next game 3 weeks I had stated many many times what my intention was. All before the meeting of meath and kildare so meath were still on 2 from 2.
And as I said if pushed we probably had 2 that would have genuine claims Stephen bray and graham rielly. I still stand over that. 6. no it was totally aimed at a few not all but few of the deluded kildare lads who have serious notions above there stations. But if they want sedico included to try to take what was stated within that day as been a joke as gospel then I cannot help that. And you know something I don't care.
I also said afterwards that we had best midfield pairing?? But no one seems to state that when referring to me. Oh we don't even have a mid field before anyone starts on about that.

So next time sedico, derfil1 etc want to try to change the discussion to a anti meath one then by all means do but try a different tact as the 6 forwards one is getting old.

Mario belletelli is moving from man city in summer I'm sure he will soon have a house in newbridge.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/04/2012 18:11:34    1143869

04/04/2012 17:40:24

derfil1

Seanie chose Kildare and not the other way around

Do you really believe that ???? I think the vast majority of people would say its other way round even in kildare

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/04/2012 18:15:12    1143872

I don't really like the idea that players can change county, and I wouldn't be completely comfortable with the precedent that is being set but at this stage I think that they should just let the guy go ahead and move. If he can make the Kildare team good luck to him.

kickpass (Down) - Posts: 208 - 04/04/2012 18:52:48    1143896

derfil1

Do you really believe that ???? I think the vast majority of people would say its other way round even in kildare

Look the guy came out and said it. All he wants to do is play football at the highest level he can. Cavan manager made it clear he wasn't wanted so he got off his ass and did something about it. Fair play to him. If the GAA who are in existence long enough dont have any clear rules in place then that's their problem. They make enough money out of the likes of Seanie Johnston and players like him that they can afford to put some proper rules in place and stop laying the blame for anything that might be perceived ethically wrong on individual players. Their whole rule structure and not just in relation to transfers has been proven to be a farce.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 04/04/2012 19:03:41    1143905

just wondering with the motion thats been put before congress in two weeks time..where a player may now have to play for at least 12 months in a club in the county that the player whishes to transfer to if this is passed in congress in two weeks time then how would the SJ transfer set up new precedent when the rules will now be changing..if anything will SJ not be the last transfer (if passed) to go through under the 'old' rules as it where.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 04/04/2012 21:15:55    1143997

Finally derfil1 something we can agree on the rules regarding this and transferring of players is a disgrace and needs to be changed.
Of course sj came out and said he wanted to transfer as if anyone in management or kildare co board said it there would have been uproar.
But as I recall even seamus aldridge reprimanded mc geeney over his favorable comments on sj transferring.
The dogs on the street knows what happened hear and no matter how loyal anyone is to there county can say hand on heart that this is all seannies doing.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/04/2012 08:44:57    1144068

royaldunne I have talked to a good few people in Kildare GAA about this whole thing and trust me when I say you don't know the first thing about it so don't assume to. I wrote a long post yesterday which I thought was suitably vague about it and it didn't get published, that's fair enough, I couldn't back it up beyond hearsay although I would trust the people who told me. But don't think you know anything about it, you don't have a clue...

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 05/04/2012 09:58:19    1144104

doublehop

royaldunne I have talked to a good few people in Kildare GAA about this whole thing and trust me when I say you don't know the first thing about it so don't assume to. I wrote a long post yesterday which I thought was suitably vague about it and it didn't get published, that's fair enough, I couldn't back it up beyond hearsay although I would trust the people who told me. But don't think you know anything about it, you don't have a clue...

Doublehop you're wasting your time on this. The argument in this thread that Kildare had something to do with Seanie's request is predominantly from a couple of Meath boys. I can't understand it, it's not as if we need Seanie to be beating them, even in their own back yard.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1745 - 05/04/2012 10:20:31    1144126

lilywhitemagic

just wondering with the motion thats been put before congress in two weeks time..where a player may now have to play for at least 12 months in a club in the county that the player whishes to transfer to if this is passed in congress in two weeks time then how would the SJ transfer set up new precedent when the rules will now be changing..if anything will SJ not be the last transfer (if passed) to go through under the 'old' rules as it where.

I think that's a very good point. As they say "hard cases make bad laws" so it would be a pity if the vote on the new rules is clouded by delegates views on the SJ case. Its clear that the rules around transfers need to be updated, agreed on by all and enforced. The SJ saga seems like a bit of a mess with no one covered in glory but at this stage he should just be allowed to get on with it. If he makes the Kildare team and gives them an edge I'm sure there will be a bit of slagging but hey if it wasn't that it would be something else.

Sorry to show my lack of knowledge, I haven't seen him play, but is SJ good enough to make the Kildare team (if so why did Cavan drop him) and will he make a significant difference?

His stats for last year: Ulster Championship he scored 0-1 (1 free) against Donegal & 0-3 (2 frees) against Longford in the Qualifiers. He did get 1-20 (11 frees) in last year's League Div 3 but it I can't see him being a serious contribution to Kildare.

kickpass (Down) - Posts: 208 - 05/04/2012 11:45:23    1144190

I saw him twice live and I thought that he was very accurate if given space but was easily enough nullified by a good man marker. Dont think he will contribute much to Kildare from play but I could be wrong......

Jack_Sparrow (Westmeath) - Posts: 1080 - 05/04/2012 11:54:47    1144199

derfil1

derfil1

Look the guy came out and said it. All he wants to do is play football at the highest level he can. Cavan manager made it clear he wasn't wanted so he got off his ass and did something about it. Fair play to him. If the GAA who are in existence long enough dont have any clear rules in place then that's their problem. They make enough money out of the likes of Seanie Johnston and players like him that they can afford to put some proper rules in place and stop laying the blame for anything that might be perceived ethically wrong on individual players. Their whole rule structure and not just in relation to transfers has been proven to be a farce.

Hes hardly going to come out and say Kildare asked him to play with them now is he? If he wants to play at the highest level he can then why did he just so happen to pick Kildare? Around the same time the Dublin sub keeper was also linked to moved to Kildare?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 05/04/2012 12:23:47    1144240

this thread has gone on far too long ...........................

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 05/04/2012 12:41:18    1144257

Agreed. It'll keep going though. Have no doubt about it.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 05/04/2012 13:07:45    1144277

05/04/2012 12:23:47

moomoo

derfil1

derfil1

Hes hardly going to come out and say Kildare asked him to play with them now is he? If he wants to play at the highest level he can then why did he just so happen to pick Kildare? Around the same time the Dublin sub keeper was also linked to moved to Kildare?

Correct. And if anyone thinks he was not asked then they are completely deluded. EVERYONE knows he was. That's everyone obviously except the kildare guys on hear. Poached. End of.

And beating the worst meath team in living memory by one point where in back yard or not is the height of your season???

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/04/2012 14:47:58    1144372

And beating the worst meath team in living memory by one point where in back yard or not is the height of your season???

No, more like a training match for us to try out new players and positions.Worked well for us last year and the year before too....even without Seanie....so stop worrying about him.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1745 - 05/04/2012 15:19:41    1144399

Well royaldunne I would maybe have thought you might have put a bit of faith in what I'm telling you since I've been so against this transfer since the beginning but there you go again. Suffice to say there's a big difference between making an assumption and what you actually know to be fact. But I suppose you've never been afraid to make these big sweeping generalised statements despite how many times you constantly contradict yourself. There are posters here you can have a decent football debate with, people you can have the banter with and then there are those who are too biased and blind to do either of these things. I'm afraid 570 posts in you have definitely confirmed yourself as the latter...

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 05/04/2012 15:22:27    1144401

05/04/2012 15:19:41

St.Conleth

No, more like a training match for us to try out new players and positions.Worked well for us last year and the year before too....even without Seanie....so stop worrying about him.

Yes what success it was ??? Come on will ya. No all ire or leinster. Is that what you consider success.?? Well I guess what makes you happy. But still best team kildare have beaten is meath. So when will ye actually get out of training mode.

Doublehop. Honestly?? If that is your view then fair enough but instead of backing it up in a reasoned debate you try a personal attack. Well if that's what you want to do then fire ahead. You point out my 570 posts. Not one of them personal against any other poster. Even the louth lads don't get personal. And the posts are a lot heavier and cutting between meath and louth than most other counties on this forum

Yous did the same with jinxie too. Well enjoy the transferring of players into kildare as much as yous like. I just find it wrong for a host of reasons. Same as I thought tompkins and fahy was wrong too. One day it maybe kildare on receiving end in future as it was in 80s. Happy easter

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/04/2012 16:41:24    1144477

We didn't say beating Meath is a success !!! Surely 5 times on the trot banishes that notion ? Believe me we've played much better and tougher teams.

And sorry for hurting your feelings Royaldunne. I'll be more gentle in future...sorry !

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1745 - 05/04/2012 16:54:03    1144488

St.Conleth

1144488 We didn't say beating Meath is a success !!! Surely 5 times on the trot banishes that notion ? Believe me we've played much better and tougher teams.

And sorry for hurting your feelings Royaldunne. I'll be more gentle in future...sorry !

BUt youve beaten feck all more. Name the teams that youve beaten in the championship that are that much better than Meath.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 05/04/2012 17:06:00    1144499