Sedico,
Can you back up what your saying in that post?
Ive regularly spoke about previous transfers on here. As for comparing it to clubs, this is a different issue. If you want to discuss club transfers, feel free to set up a thread on it like I have done in the past.
For now however, unless you are capable of making a valuable contribution to this thread, then you are only wasting your own time and trying to distract away from the real topic. You are also claiming that supple is lying in the arcticle and that Seanie Johnson approached Kildare all of his own accord. You really are deluded.
Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 09/02/2012 17:30:37
Wonder would mc geeney entertain it if he was manager of armagh.
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 09/02/2012 17:42:57
Jinxie County: Meath Posts: 3878
1108680 Sedico,
Can you back up what your saying in that post?
Ive regularly spoke about previous transfers on here. As for comparing it to clubs, this is a different issue. If you want to discuss club transfers, feel free to set up a thread on it like I have done in the past.
For now however, unless you are capable of making a valuable contribution to this thread, then you are only wasting your own time and trying to distract away from the real topic. You are also claiming that supple is not correct in the arcticle and that Seanie Johnson approached Kildare all of his own accord.
I was right all along when I suggested you have a fascination with Kildare GAA a few weeks back.
sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 09/02/2012 18:02:38
Firstly douplehop. You are 100% right. The whole thing stinks. And your post is completely right in every aspect
The facts sedico are seannie johnston did not wake up one morning and say I want to play for kildare while I still work and in actual fact still want to play for cavan gaels. And when told no you can't do that as if like magic he wanted to play for a intermediate club team in kildare which by the way does not prevent him returning to a senior club in another county (once not having played for senior club) and cavan gaels are senior. How convenient. What this says to young kildare lads aspiring to play in the white jersey? Don't bother cause our manager does not want you no matter how good you are. Throw the supple coments into that. Which neither him nor the author had any benefit in making up as seems to be the general trend of some kildare replies. Lads if you believe that this never happened and is in no way managers view then I wish you all a happy easter when the easter bunny calls to your home
If it looks brown and has a smell of it with some bits in it odds are its crap.
The real loosers hear are the kildare players just outside the team pushing trying to break into it. And shame on those that promote this way of gaining success
Ps I remember been on hill 16 for all ire final in either 87 or 88 and a white flag with traitors written and it was waved everytime either tompkins or fahy got the ball. Times have changed I guess but would I be surprised if I saw a blue and white flag with similar this year at a kildare game? No.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/02/2012 18:06:23
royaldunne County: Meath Posts: 160
1108698 Firstly douplehop. You are 100% right. The whole thing stinks. And your post is completely right in every aspect
The facts sedico are seannie johnston did not wake up one morning and say I want to play for kildare while I still work and in actual fact still want to play for cavan gaels. And when told no you can't do that as if like magic he wanted to play for a intermediate club team in kildare which by the way does not prevent him returning to a senior club in another county (once not having played for senior club) and cavan gaels are senior. How convenient. What this says to young kildare lads aspiring to play in the white jersey? Don't bother cause our manager does not want you no matter how good you are. Throw the supple coments into that. Which neither him nor the author had any benefit in making up as seems to be the general trend of some kildare replies. Lads if you believe that this never happened and is in no way managers view then I wish you all a happy easter when the easter bunny calls to your home
If it looks brown and has a smell of it with some bits in it odds are its crap.
The real loosers hear are the kildare players just outside the team pushing trying to break into it. And shame on those that promote this way of gaining success
Ps I remember been on hill 16 for all ire final in either 87 or 88 and a white flag with traitors written and it was waved everytime either tompkins or fahy got the ball. Times have changed I guess but would I be surprised if I saw a blue and white flag with similar this year at a kildare game? No.
Again it seems I'm being misunderstood here. I've pointed out already that I'm not happy over the Johnston saga so thats not my argument. My argument is that people are up in arms over a dodgy transfer which happens the whole time in the GAA. I'm asking wherre the uproar until now?
And I'm arguing about why people believe Supples quotes in the paper and not Johnstons? We will never know the truth until someone in Kildare GAA comes out and says it. We can speculate all we want.
sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 09/02/2012 18:22:50
Will this discussion ever end! sick of hearing about it at this stage
Whyalwaysme (USA) - Posts: 37 - 09/02/2012 18:25:33
What's needed to end this is a clarification from kildare management that seannie while welcome to try for kildare is unlikely to be selected as they have a policy of selecting from existing panel
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/02/2012 11:00:49
That would contradict what they've already said royaldunne: McGeeney would welcome Johnston on board
doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 10/02/2012 11:09:46
sedico
Theres at least 2 other thread there where you have ran from after making stupid claims that you could not back up. Stop making a fool of yourself.
From the very first post on this thread Ive stared that this is a genuine thread and that If you cant contribute in a meaningfull way, then dont waste your time. Youve constantly tried to deflect away from the subject of the thread by calling people liars, making irrelevant comparisons to other situations and rambling on about club transfers. If you dont like what your seeing in the thread, then I invite you to stay away from it and dont be upsetting yourself.
Doublehop
If McGeeney doesnt get Johnson, has he put himself in a difficult position with clubs when he goes back to them looking for a forward, or keeper or whatever else? Well I didnt want or rate you, but I cant get Johnson or whoever so now I want you on the panel. Wouldnt exactly intice a player to join..
Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 10/02/2012 11:31:08
The problem with this transfer is it will leave a bad taste for both Cavan and Kildare supporters.
Carlow lost Thomas Walshe a few years ago to Wicklow and even though he came back there was a lot of bad feeling between the 2 counties.
My own feeling is you play for your own county unless your living in the other part of the country.
Ill put it like this "Would any of us suddenly support another county"
carlovia (None) - Posts: 1556 - 10/02/2012 11:32:56
carlovia County: All Posts: 169
But it isnt just Jonhson.
Its, Johnson, Supple, McNamee, Murphy...
2 Players approached, the other 2 have had numerours rumours in the media linking them all to Kildare.
Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 10/02/2012 11:58:25
Doublehop
If McGeeney doesnt get Johnson, has he put himself in a difficult position with clubs when he goes back to them looking for a forward, or keeper or whatever else? Well I didnt want or rate you, but I cant get Johnson or whoever so now I want you on the panel. Wouldnt exactly intice a player to join..
Well, exactly. I wouldn't use that term 'glory-hunter' lightly. To me this looks like McGeeney knows he's finishing up with Kildare shortly anyway so this is his solution to get us over the line. But look maybe I'm going on about this too much but I would ask other Kildare fans to ask themselves is actively attempting to bring in outside players (if that is definitely what's happened) the best thing for Kildare football or is it just the best thing for Kieran McGeeney?
doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 10/02/2012 11:58:42
Apparently Supple was asked if he'd be interested in doing some coaching as he's got professional experience and was never asked to be a squad member. Jinxie, You mention McNamee. There's no truth in that and I'd say you know that which leads me to believe there's an element of trolling to all your comments. Somebody made a twitter a/c in his name and said he was declaring for Kildare. McNamee himself came out and said thats what happened and that he was never courted by Kildare.
Who's Murphy?
derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 10/02/2012 12:39:39
Jinxie County: Meath Posts: 3884
1108954 sedico
Theres at least 2 other thread there where you have ran from after making claims that you could not back up.
From the very first post on this thread Ive stared that this is a genuine thread and that If you cant contribute in a meaningfull way, then dont waste your time. Youve constantly tried to deflect away from the subject of the thread by calling people liars, making irrelevant comparisons to other situations and rambling on about club transfers. If you dont like what your seeing in the thread, then I invite you to stay away from it and dont be upsetting yourself.I've no interest in continuing a debate with someone who has other agendas.
sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 10/02/2012 13:01:52
sedico
Can you name and prove any other agendas please?
Otherwise thats yet another false accusation
Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 10/02/2012 13:46:36
derfil1
I didnt make up the McNamee bit. Im simply quoting whats been in the media.
Im the piece the doublehop posted, Ewan McKenna names McNamee and Brendan Murphy and highlights that these rumours had been in the media.
Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 10/02/2012 13:49:29
My whole point hear is that its very bad optics. The kildare manager has brought out a lot of fitness in this current team. But what else? Nothing and now with all of these rumors some of which are facts. Johnston and supple for starters. Where is the young talent? Where is the bedrock to ensure there is a vibrant team after his time? Will it help kildare if the manage to win a leinster and in 3 or 4 years they are regarded as no hopers and slip down the rankings again? The facts are that to be honest only a few answered 1 are you happy with this whole seannie johnson thing. 2 do you think the manager is letting fringe players down by courting from outside county? And if yes to either of them is he doing it for his own vanity? or is it for benefit of kildare going forward? This is something that could backfire big time especially within the team
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/02/2012 15:57:08
My whole point hear is that its very bad optics. The kildare manager has brought out a lot of fitness in this current team. But what else? Nothing...
Right well I've been critical of McGeeney here but I don't agree with that. You're peddling a Meath agenda there saying that usual line about Meath's natural footballers and Kildare's un-coordinated bunch of super athletes. Nonsense. Kildare are a much better team than before McGeeney came along. He has revamped the county junior set-up in the county, has been actively involved with the underage setup, made us far more tactically astute and has brought on an awful lot of footballers who have improved immensely under his tutelage.
I am critical of this transfer process because I think it will make all this good work defunct. Don't try and twist my words to make it seem I am implying Kildare were going nowhere before all this started.
doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 10/02/2012 19:15:19
Not peddling meath agenda one bit. What I am doing and the bit you did not post is why on earth do you go outside county if you bring on a team as much as he had. And I ended it at fitness because I do not believe there is a fitter team in country. There talents were obviously there. But yes his main achievement has been the fitness level of this team. I have never seen a bunch of players as fit in all my time watching them with one exception graham geraghty in his hay day. So if you misread what I'm saying I apologise if I did not make it clearer. But the fact remains kildare playing in div 2 no leinster titles and best in all ire semi final. And yet have to beat kerryn dublinn corkn or dublin in championship. So the question I asked was is he good enough to bring them the final step? Or is he so desperate foe his own motives to do anything to try and win. ? Including destroying team moral? No meath agenda not one bit of a one but to be quite honest I think meath are pretty much on par with kildare or certainly will be by summer. No agenda. I hated what happened to carlow and what is happening to cavan and if banty did same I would be exact same
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/02/2012 20:26:00
Jesus such a load of hooohahh! In all of this I'm just thinking of Johnson. He obviously loves his football and wants to contribute. Imagine being told you wouldnt feature for your county anymore at the peak of your game? Why is this btw? So what if McGeany did go looking for him. If the man is prepared to move his life to Kildare it just shows his commitment to football regardless of who he plays for. I would take issue with it if he had a place on the Cavan team and then wanted to go to Kildare cos they are a more successful team. But in this instance I don't see the problem. I doubt if the switch was the other way round i.e Kildare to Cavan there would be much uproar. Kildare seem to be getting as much unfair stick as the Dubs these days!!
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 11/02/2012 08:42:25