Kildare back in the transfer market?.

After losing the Superbowl last night rumor has it Tom Brady is going to join Kildare

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 06/02/2012 12:28:35    1106405

moomoo

Ha ha.

He's living in Athy now. Going to play with the local club too.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 06/02/2012 12:31:04    1106409

moomoo

1106405 After losing the Superbowl last night rumor has it Tom Brady is going to join Kildare

Another Cavan man wanting to play for Kildare, they must be offering serious cash!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 06/02/2012 12:52:19    1106423

He left the Dublin panel this week and today Shane Supple reveals that he was approached by Kildare to become a Lilywhite.

The former Ipswich town keeper gave up professional soccer and returned to Dublin, joining St Brigid's GAA club. His performances for the club saw him called up to Pat Gilroy's Dublin panel this year but he left the All-Ireland champions this week after playing just one O'Byrne Cup match.

In today's Irish Examiner, Supple reveals that Kildare tried to get him to join their squad last year.

"No was the short answer," said Supple. "The call was about playing for them but there's only one county I'd be playing for. I shot it down quick enough."

Supple hasn't completely closed the door on competing with Stephen Cluxton and Michael Savage for the No 1 shirt in Dublin either, according to Gilroy.

"In fairness to Shane, he has left himself open that if we have a problem with either of the goalies he'll come back in. He wants to concentrate on the club and that's understandable.

"We've three goalkeepers and we felt we had given them all enough game-time. He made the decision but definitely the door is open if we have a problem for him to come back in."

Whatever happens, it is clear that Supple won't be attempting a 'Seanie Johnston' anyway.

http://www.joe.ie/gaa/gaa-news/kildare-tried-to-get-me-to-play-for-them-claims-dublin-keeper-0020460-1

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 06/02/2012 13:13:52    1106448

Fair play to Ewan MacKenna. Another Kildare man it should be said and, who like a lot of other GAA people in Kildare, is not afraid to call this what it is - an absolute disgrace. McGeeney has no right to do this in Kildare football. Honestly, if this is what he honestly thinks is the best way to improve us he is welcome to leave.
Kildare have gone too far

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 08/02/2012 18:59:50    1108088

im totally against players been snatched from other counties, as was the case with thomas walsh in carlow. he was our star player and it put carlow back to where we had been in the late 90s. in the johnston case it seems to be slightly different he claims he is not wanted by the management if this is true then as a young player he is entitled to play football, if he has genuinely moved to straffan then there is very little the gaa can do about it infact there is nothing they can do, as for the brandan murphy story to the best of my knowledge there was no truth in that. poaching is wrong. but if a fella goes out and seeks a new county and complies with the rules then i say let him but make sure beyond doubt that he is living where he says

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1749 - 08/02/2012 20:43:27    1108147

doublehop

Fair comment. Have any of the clubs expressed a view on it, or under age management?
Or would there be a view that it's better to ignore it for now and hope it reaps rewards and if not, deal with it then?
If it was kkenny or another very weak football county it wouldn't seem so strange, but Kildare have always produced good footballers, so why would McGeeney think it's suddenly about to stop?

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 08/02/2012 20:53:01    1108161

Barrowsider
County: Carlow

That's a valid point. But do you think Seanie Johnson just randomly picked Kildare himself and decided he'd go there?
I definatly dont.
If anything, Kildare look like one of the tightest nit groups in the country, and so, would be very hard to break into, an for a total outsider, almost impossible. So when would he be so confident of getting to be a part of the team unless an approach was made to him?
Like what happened with Supple

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 08/02/2012 20:57:28    1108166

I dont give much credence to Ewan. It seems he never asked McGeeney if rumours true or no!!!!!

As for Meath concerns re players playing for a county which is not their county of origin, do the names Brendan Maguire Cavan, Peter Moore Clonmore Offaly, John Gibbons Mayo and O'Rourke Leitrim ring any bells !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Pot, kettle & black !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

KELF (Kildare) - Posts: 775 - 08/02/2012 21:10:11    1108183

Kelf

How much football had they ayes with other counties?

Colm O'Rourke moved to Meath when he was 4 years old. Hardly the same is it? Not even remotely similar.
What transfer was involved there?
As for not believing the stories. Are you yet another Kildare person calling supple a liar?

Hilarious how some of ye go to such lengths to deflect away from what's happening. Trying to change topics, making up stories, calling other county players liars. A sad state.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 08/02/2012 21:17:09    1108190

Does anyone know why Johnston can't make the Cavan panel if he's good enough to make the Kildare starting line up? Was there a falling out in Cavan?

kickpass (Down) - Posts: 208 - 08/02/2012 21:22:28    1108195

To be fair KELF this isnt really the same as O Orourke (Im not sure about the others).O Rourke lived in Meath his whole life.the Supple thing is an out and out transfer.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 08/02/2012 21:25:49    1108205

kickpass
County: Down

Does anyone know why Johnston can't make the Cavan panel if he's good enough to make the Kildare starting line up? Was there a falling out in Cavan?

Well he was making the team under the same manager last year. He also wasn't the only lad dropped, but he is the only one looking for the transfer.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 08/02/2012 21:28:03    1108208

BettystownRoyal

1106125 Don't think this should be allowed in any county. Once you play for one county that should be it.

That's a nice ideal but in my opinion not entirely practical. Take for example that Mayo footballer who now plays for Armagh (forgive me Mayo fans, his name escapes me at the moment)

I've already proven my memory is shoddy on these things, but I'll carry on regardless - he moved to Armagh with his wife if I recall correctly? And he didn't want to stop playing football but it was no longer practical or doable to play for Mayo after his relocating. So now he's an Armagh player

I don't think a footballer/hurler should be denied senior football/hurling for a county just because he once played for another. It's not as if every player is going to start jumping counties as a result, these occurrences are a minority

Ergo, it would be hypocritical of me to criticise Kildare for what's happening here

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 08/02/2012 21:31:57    1108213

If your man johnson is living in Kildare I think alot of people would find it easier to accept (I dont think there was much uproar when padden declared for Armagh),but its looking like McGeeney is just going to players from other counties and just asking them to play for Kildare.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 08/02/2012 21:39:23    1108228

Just to clarify to those who said "another Kildare person" deflecting etc

I am not a Kildare person. A BIFFO. Played on a team in Offaly that Peter Moore trained !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That was after he finished playing with his neighbours !!!!!!!!!!!

KELF (Kildare) - Posts: 775 - 08/02/2012 21:49:43    1108245

Jinxie

that is what i want to know, did kildare unsettle johnston which lead to him walking away from the cavan panel, or did he fall out with management before that. if it's the former then we are down a very dangerous road, if its the latter there is two ways to look at it, does he go to say armagh or down and possibly face his own county in the ulster championship. or does he get away to a county that is not to far away but that has prospects, dublin wouldn't take him so kildare would be a natural choice

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1749 - 08/02/2012 21:56:58    1108255

It goes against the ethos of what the GAA is supposed to be about. Unfortunately its no longer as unusual as it once was and is to an extent becoming more 'acceptable'. It's wrong to all native Kildare club players who are subsequently denied an opportunity to represent their county. Jobs, new clubs and home addresses can soon be engineered to short circuit the criteria the GAA currently have in place. I personally believe you should have to move clubs for a minimum of two years before an inter-county transfer is sanctioned. I dont think it would be unreasonable either to stipulate a minimum mileage/travel distance for inter-county transfers i.e. someone from say Leitrim couldnt transfer 20 miles down the road to Roscommon on 'work grounds' or dare I say from Carlow to next door Wicklow. Both of these measures would go a long way towards removing disingenuous transfers and shenanigans.

Passer_By (Carlow) - Posts: 552 - 08/02/2012 21:57:04    1108256

KELF

Can you give details of the intercounty transfers of any one of the people you mention? Can you also dicuss their intercounty careers before the transfers?
In particular, How much football did Colm O'Rourke play in Leitrim? Under 3's was it?

Your examples are not even remotely similar and carry no significant arguement at all.

And irregardless of where you are from, you are either calling Supple a liar or you arent. Which is it?

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 09/02/2012 09:14:27    1108287

Kelf think you need a geography lesson. Firstly orourke was a child of 4 or 5 when his family moved to county. Does this stop all the dublin lads coming through in kildare that they not eligible?

As for peter moore well hear is the geography lesson. Peter more was from parish and club of ballinabrackey co meath. Now the parish does incorporate part of offaly once you go far side og castlejordan. But at peter moores time you could play for ballinabrackey or rhode he choose the bracks and was therefor eligible for meath. If anyone wondering about this place it is situated at far end of meath bordering offaly westmeath and to a lesser extent kildare. Chris oconnor on current panel is from there as was peter moore and a former meath mid fielder jj mccormack however his club for most was walterstown as he worked there. And before you start going on about clonmor harps the were not set up until mid eighties. Long after moores time

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/02/2012 10:11:51    1108310