ormond
how did i say i want them to fail just highlighting a fact that the rugby crowd showed there true colours on sunday by only booing the last kick of the game and you could not say they were booing because they didnt think it was a penalty as it was a clear penalty
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/02/2012 14:52:59
Valid points by both hill1601man and ormondman. Rugby is not as squeaky clean as the media make out.
TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 06/02/2012 14:58:24
06/02/2012 14:52:59 hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 1435
1106577 ormond
how did i say i want them to fail just highlighting a fact that the rugby crowd showed there true colours on sunday by only booing the last kick of the game and you could not say they were booing because they didnt think it was a penalty as it was a clear penalty
So they booed, its not like fans at a GAA game ever Boo at a decision, be it wrong or right
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 06/02/2012 15:03:04
Fair nuff hill, I'm sure the Dubliners in Croke Park at a Dublin match will please one and all, enjoy that
What's your view on half time entertainment of this type overall though?
It was only brought in for the league for the first time last year, wasn't it? though I am open to correction on that
gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 06/02/2012 15:08:47
Might not watch the rugger but its rubbish to state I dont want them to win.If Ireland were in a wife carrying competition I'd like them to win.!
Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 06/02/2012 15:34:51
gigoer, think any sort of entertainment thats not cringworthy(saturday night) is good, can add to the night with two matches on. jedward worked because kids wanted to go who wouldnt normally go to matches and parents who mightnt normally go to matches brought them .If a small percentage of adults come back from that type of group or they get their kids involved because they are impressed with the games themselves it has to be good. saturday nights show might do the opposite.
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 06/02/2012 15:58:29
06/02/2012 15:34:51 Real Kerry Fan County: All Posts: 2513
1106630 Might not watch the rugger but its rubbish to state I dont want them to win.If Ireland were in a wife carrying competition I'd like them to win.!
Then why do you constantly have a go at them for reasons that are nothing to do with rugby, go to a socio-economic forum if you wish to talk about the higher prevelence of men from fee paying secondary schools on professional rugby teams in Ireland
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 06/02/2012 15:59:49
Indeed AthCliath, goo dpoint made there
Though Jedward will never entice me from the bar at half time! Or from anywhere else either for that matter....
:-)
gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 06/02/2012 16:22:48
Maybe have a word about getting the pussycatdolls n for ye next time!!!
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 06/02/2012 16:58:03
reading some of the posts about dublin not been the best team in the country last year and been lucky to win the all ireland is ridiculous
If people think it , Fair enough , at the end of the day Dublin are all ireland champions and that wont change because of a few lads having opinions. Your never going to get everyone to agree on the same thing regarding sport Hill thats one of the many things that attracts people to it.. If everyone had the same opinions as you, These boards and sport in general would be alot more boring than it is. I dont particularly mind if people think the best team didnt win the all ireland last year. It takes nothing away from what we have achieved and that at the end of the day is the most important thing. MY OPINION is that the best team of the year wins the all ireland. Its as simple and as straight forward as that. I believe every team gets a bit of luck along the way including our good selves.
Let it be my man..
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 06/02/2012 16:58:08
hurlingdub County: Dublin Posts: 3693
1106352 Well I got that one wrong! Like all my other bets this weekend :-(
Was raining all day which I would imagine knocked a fair bit off the potential attendance. 46,000 is not bad all the same.
Are the premium tickets that were issued and not used included in that figure?
dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 06/02/2012 17:01:27
I have never begrudged Dublin their win and was one of the first to wish them well and praise they way they came back against Kerry last year. However for 65 mins of that game Kerry were the better side and played the better football, they collapsed mentally in the last few mins as they have done against Tyrone a few times. This Kerry side are a bit fragile when up against it but still play some of the best football in the country and I do believe they are a better side than Dublin; just an opinion, no agendas.
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 06/02/2012 17:17:12
gigoer County: Wexford Posts: 1266
well i think its a positive move having entertainment for league matches on a saturday night as there is a differant atmsphere to sunday league matches. i think having acts that are family based is certainly what it should be aimed at as take the season tickets dublin sold out there juvenile allocation quicker then ever this year and before the adult allocation so its clear to see there are more and more kids going to these games so its no harm on a saturday night during the league to cater for them. as for championship on sundays you would tend not to need it to be honest as the atmosphere is completly differant.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/02/2012 17:19:35
ormondbannerman County: Clare Posts: 887
1106588 06/02/2012 14:52:59 hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 1435
1106577 ormond
So they booed, its not like fans at a GAA game ever Boo at a decision, be it wrong or right
thats my point you obviously didnt read my first point on this,i said dublin supporters are always been publicised for this but at least we do it consistently where as rugby people pride themselves on being silent for kickers in ireland and yet when it came to a last minute penalty there attitude changed altogether you cant have it one way and not the other,but the media wont say boo on it
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/02/2012 17:22:06
Dhorse
As far as i am aware , Every ticket gets zapped on the way in , including premium tickets , therefore the answer to your question is .... NO :)
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 06/02/2012 17:23:07
It's good to see all these positive responses from Hillman & Athcliath with regard to the half time entertainment on a Saturday game. Personally, I'm not into commercial music/entertainment or anything that comes out of reality TV and the like, so the thought of seeing Jedward or someone like that on the pitch at half time is cringeworthy to me. But I can dig what you're saying & why it's appealing to people with kids and getting the interest in GAA up for the young 'uns and that can only be a good thing
With regard to these comments of being lucky/Dublin not the best team etc etc, I think it's time people, begrudgers or otherwise should get over that. So some people think they weren't the best team of 2011 - so what? What difference does it make? The records will forever show Dublin to be the champions of 2011 and they won't include opinions on how they did it
If you ask me, EVERY AI wining team has some luck along the way I remember when we won the hurling AI in 96, we were very lucky to get past Galway in the semi as I recall, they should have hammered us that day for all the play they had over us, we got lucky, that's all, it didn't detract from AI final day I can tell you -
And sure Dublin were lucky to be awarded a fortuitous free against Kildare, they were lucky when their only winning margin over us was an erroneous own goal from our keeper, but let's not forget they beat Tyrone fair & square and they were the only team to beat Donegal. Plus they refused to relent when going 4 or 5 points down against the Kingdom with a few minutes to go. Their AI win & eventual triumph was dramatic as any other AI win in recent years, perhaps more so in some ways.
That's part of the drama and excitement that is AI Championship and besides for a team that fell so much over the years but kept picking themselves up and kept trying, well, that's not a characteristic undeserving of an AI in my book
gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 06/02/2012 17:56:17
Excellent post as usual Gig...
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 06/02/2012 18:10:58
waynoI County: Dublin Posts: 3740
We won the all ireland , People will have opinions on us and in fairness the same was said about cork when they won it _____________________________________________________________________________
According to UTV Live news this evening, Cork current All Ireland Champions played Armagh this past weekend... lol... soooo typical of UTV...
caz (Tyrone) - Posts: 111 - 06/02/2012 18:37:10
Ulsterman, kerry were not the better team for 65 minutes,Dublin played very well until about the 45 minute then Kerry went into overdrive for the next twenty 20 minutes, then Dublin blew them away in the last 9 minutes.It dosent really matter anyway,I think Kildare were the best team in the country in 1998,but we were the ones smiling at the end of it and thats all that matters to me.
TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 06/02/2012 18:39:25
BIG SACKS County: Tyrone Posts: 1363
1106371 As one who was at both Croke Park and Lansdowne Road (with an interlude in the Cobblestone in between) I have to say that I saw nothing in Lansdowne Road to match either of Tyrone's two goals. But I am being subjective.
Jaysus you could've bought me a pint so!!!
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 06/02/2012 18:44:02