Club Football - Any Chance of a Social Life?

Not to sound like a complete grumpus at this time of year but my god what is with the whole fad of training on Sunday mornings?

I'm now playing with the senior team at my club for 15 years and getting very sick of the commitment (especially when certain players come and go when they please and break drink bans but still get playing)

I am always a campaigner for games on a Saturday (not as if many working at the min) and Friday nigths when the long evenings come in. We seem to have to play almost every game on a Sunday leaving no time for any social life.

Our new manager came in a couple of weeks ago and announced trainings for the year on Tuesdays, Fridays and wait for it.. Sunday mornings - for the whole year! I dont mind a few for this time of season or around championship time but all year?? That means Sundays are booked up indefinitely with training or a game. Oh we have bank holidays off though - whoohoo! Im sick of it all already!!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 01/02/2012 08:59:17    1103354

I'm more or less in the same boat Brolly but it's Thursday's instead of Fridays.
I wouldn't change it for the world though. You'll be retired long enough
Commitment and team spirit has to be there from everyone though to make it work.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 01/02/2012 10:48:12    1103404

I dont see why your complaining Brolly, if you find it hard to commit as you want a social life then dont play.

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1664 - 01/02/2012 11:06:50    1103414

Yeh I feel your pain brolly except this will be my 13th year of senior ball , we haven't started trainin yet but the thought of it makes me sick ;-) , what club you with brolly ?

mickduffy2009 (Monaghan) - Posts: 182 - 01/02/2012 11:27:14    1103427

There will be plenty of time for a social life ...

Goals_Will_Come (UK) - Posts: 375 - 01/02/2012 11:33:28    1103430

01/02/2012 11:06:50
PK57
County: Louth

1103414 I dont see why your complaining Brolly, if you find it hard to commit as you want a social life then dont play.

PK, thats harsh. Brolly may be playing senior football but its a past-time and playing shouldnt completely stop someone from going out on a sat night and having a few drinks. (Though he could do it anyway- i do go out before matches sometimes and its ben great craic on the pitch slightly hungover)

Brolly is not a pro, I imagine he is playing football for the love of the game and the pride of the jersey etc but how can you enjoy playing football if trainings are scheduled that mean you cant go out on a saturday night and have a few drinks.

What need is there to be doing 3 pitch sessions a week anyway. 2 and everyone doing a gym session in their own time would be of much more benefit. Doing 3 sessions a week will only help lead to burnout.

Different sport but nearly all senior rugby teams do a max of 2 pitch sessions a week with everyone else doing their own weights, fitness, swimming, yoga or whatever other kind of sessions in their own time at their own pace

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 01/02/2012 11:39:35    1103439

Ah brolly I totally agree with you, Sunday morning games are bad but Sunday afternoon games are even worst, nearly your whole weekend is gone waiting for A Sunday morning match but then your whole Sunday is gone waiting for an afternoon match. All games should be on Saturday we give enough of a commitment to have a Saturday night on the beer.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/02/2012 12:01:19    1103450

mickduffy2009
County: Monaghan

1103427 Yeh I feel your pain brolly except this will be my 13th year of senior ball , we haven't started trainin yet but the thought of it makes me sick ;-) , what club you with brolly ?

That would be giving to much away now mick - suffice to say we are in division 3 meaning junior championship - with long odds at winning it :-(

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 01/02/2012 12:37:11    1103473

PK57
County: Louth

1103414 I dont see why your complaining Brolly, if you find it hard to commit as you want a social life then dont play.

I wish it were that easy PK. When you play for a club with a tiny pick like mine you cant walk away easily. It's like joining the ra, onece your in you cant get out!

In all honesty i do commit but find it very tedious especially when mates are getting married and having stags etc - always seems to be a siege organising that, not to mention the grief i get from the woman!! Then again if i take your advice i should probably walk away from that too!!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 01/02/2012 12:40:27    1103477

The opening post shows the difference between commitment in a serious club footballing county and that of a county whose club footballers are just happy to plod along!.....and that is the truth of the matter!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 01/02/2012 13:00:01    1103491

Brolly we train 4 nights a week , 2 nights mixed circuit and gym work, and 2 nights standard training. We don't do drink bans. If we have a match on a Saturday we go on the lash after it. Never have training on a Sunday. If lads are willing to work their asses off during the week there should be no need for Sunday training.

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 01/02/2012 13:09:40    1103500

I agree completely brolly. I use to play college football during week and club on fridays and sundays. Overall meant I trained 4 days a week and didnt have any social life.

I got injured 2 years ago and I havent gone back because while I love the football, and part of me regrets not playing every day, I rather having my social life. I watch training/matches most days of the week but atleast me hands arent tied. I can go out for my pints on a saturday, and as long as I dont go too crazy im on the road to another game the following day.

Some people cant just turn their backs on it and I have alot of respect for them but 17-30 is the time to have some sort of social life I feel.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 01/02/2012 13:46:24    1103532

Sure go on the beer saturday night and run it off sunday morning. What's the problem?

walkinglunchbox (Longford) - Posts: 334 - 01/02/2012 13:53:06    1103541

Of course the expected response is the one snuf posted, but I think it is over-simplistic and incorrect. I am a firm believer in treating a team like adults. Showing trust and respect to players is the cornerstone of building the type of group spirit that is capable of winning trophies. Yes you might get some sporadic success the other way, but it never lasts, mainly down to lads getting fed up with overzealous and ultimately damaging expectations year after year, as brolly has. If you treat them with consideration then they wont get fed up.
Allow them to go out and be sensible, if they arent sensible and betray your trust then drop them in no uncertain terms. Let them, and everyone else know why they are dropped. Let it be known that they have let the group down with their behaviour. That shows the team that everyone is the same, it breeds respect within the group. They will value the group and not want to let the others in it down. Playing these guys only breeds contempt. The group falls down because they know it is only a group for some and not others.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 01/02/2012 14:08:49    1103557

ur a hill billy brolly.. call in to the centre for a few pints after trainin sure.

francie (Monaghan) - Posts: 56 - 01/02/2012 15:46:49    1103655

johnny1951 - that would work for me lad, it's the sundays i dont like..

TheMaster - totally agree, and excellent post.

Snuf - Your post is snobby. I'm sure there are plenty of clubs in Dublin which have no choice but to plod along every year waiting for a good crop of players to come along and make hay when the sun shines.
I dont see how my views on my club have anything to do with how our counties fair out.
In fact i would put Dublin's far better record to Monaghan more down to club numbers (Monaghan 50 affiliated, Dublin 223 affiliated)

http://www.gaa.ie/content/documents/publications/annual_reports/2011_GAA_Annual_Report_Congress.pdf (Page 65).

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 01/02/2012 15:55:10    1103664

francie
County: Monaghan

1103655 ur a hill billy brolly.. call in to the centre for a few pints after trainin sure.

Nathin wrong with being a hill-billy francie?

Sunday trainings all year suits the sado's who dont have social lives but then u have the likes of myself who has other commitments. It's just not about beer on a sat nite!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 01/02/2012 16:02:17    1103672

And drink bans are bananas. Teams who are going places know themselves when to drink and when not to.

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 01/02/2012 16:20:41    1103689

It is a well known fact that teams win without being on a drink ban.

walkinglunchbox (Longford) - Posts: 334 - 01/02/2012 16:23:02    1103691

trainin on sunday mornins are a joke brolly,seems to be the in thing tho!glad i quit ;)

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 584 - 01/02/2012 16:25:09    1103693