JinxyPoop County: UK Posts: 1041
Should you not be more worried about the London players?
vice99 (Donegal) - Posts: 1054 - 01/02/2012 17:31:28
Diarmuid Connolly seriously needs to buck up if he wants to continue playing for Dublin. His form for starters is indifferent and although i feel he is extreamely talented and has so much potential , apart from 2 or three games last year i felt he was very poor as i've said on here before. He is a number 14 and should therefore be helping out on the scoresheet and bar Mayo , Laois and Tyrone last year he has been very average indeed (Please dont lambast me , Its an opinion i have and not a personal thing against the lad)
He is in the headlines all to often for red cards and on the field issues which dont include kicking the ball between the posts. I for one am sick of his discipline. He got sent off against Donegal last year and frankly from going to games the last few years there are times when i feel he has been very lucky to have gotten away with further acts of serious sportsmanship.. Its all well and good seeing a fella getting wound up by his opponent , But how do youturn that around to wind your opponent up ? by doing what the likes of Peter Canavan always did , and Jason Sherlock et al , By scoring points and goals
Like i said , So so much potential its very easy to see that. He does alot of stuff right but unless he sorts out his tendancies to lash out and keep the head , He will struggle to keep his place. Pat isnt the sort of guy who will keep lads in the panel if they are of little or no help to Dublin.
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 01/02/2012 17:55:28
Also take into account Ballotelli's record
________
Also take into account Diarmuid Connollys record
Ballotelli has a poor disciplinary record , Very poor , And in terms of GAA and Diarmuid Connollys Dublin career he too has a very poor disciplinary record (Sent off 4 times i think) . He plays on the edge which is fantastic to see , He has an aggresive streak which is also good to see , But where there is a line your not meant to cross , Diarmuid has on this occasion and on other occasions too croosed that mark. I actually feel he was lucky to get away with his red card being taken away before the all ireland final too , I thought his hand was closed and he made a forward movement and struck the opposing playing. Wasnt exactly as hard as a punch from Mike Tyson or Muhammed Ali but there is nothing in the rules as far as i'm aware regardin the power of the strike but thats another topic of discussion altogether.
He got away with it then and he somehow has got away with it again. This may seen like a vendetta against him as i have constantly critisized Diarmo in the past regarding his performances on the pitch , HOWEVER , It genuinely is not. I have alot of time for the guy , I think he has so much potential as i will say again and i love seeing him playing and representing our county, I believe he has the talent and the ability to become as influential and as consistant as Bernard Brogan and players like Barney Rock back in the day. My beef is that when he plays on the edge he does alot of the time fall over the edge in the wrong direction and as i said above , If he cant sort out that discipline and stay away from trouble on the pitch, Pat will get rid and replace him with someone he can trust to stay away and be less confrontational on the pitch.
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 01/02/2012 18:12:08
Ratoath Royal County: Meath Posts: 431
1103737 Dubfan, I have to say your post is embarrassing. How can you prove what Balotelli did was intentional using only the video evidence?
My point exactly, now, apply that to the All Ireland JFC and Diarmuid Connelly and move on to other topics.
Dubfan Abroad (Dublin) - Posts: 282 - 01/02/2012 18:13:13
Whatever about the Connolly incident Dubfan,surely the brawl at the JFC was intentional.If not,it was a heck of a strange moment.
TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 01/02/2012 18:22:51
I was annoyed when I came on here and saw people saying that if 'twas a Kerry player he'd have been done. As a Cork man, I thought to myself - 'Here we go again with the Kerry victimhood complex.'
But then I went and had a look at the incident. And I was wrong. That was an appalling foul. He could have broken the guys neck. Somebody said that Paul Galvin's 'finger in mouth' incident was mild by comparison. They were absolutely right. Much and all as I hate to admit it - Mr Galvin has never done anything nearly as dangerous as this. Even Tadhg Kennelly's 'challenge' on Nick Murphy seems tame next to this.
I know nothing about the guy. He may not have too much history of dirty play. But this one incident alone should be enough to give him a serious warning about his future behaviour.
Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 01/02/2012 18:42:41
Dubfan Abroad County: Dublin Posts: 112
1103728 Ratoath Royal, What Ballotelli did was obvious and plain to see to all but the blind. Comparing the video evidence against Diarmuid Connolly to that is some stretch. Also take into account Ballotelli's record, just like John Terry. His intent was very clear. Cop On.
You are right dubfan, it wasnt like balotelli's kick. It was more like cantona's kick on the crystal place fella.
But was it intentional though?
If you believe that nonsense then these arguments are the least of your worries.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 01/02/2012 19:00:01
I hardly ever post in here but feel I have to on this. I was at the match and seen the incident clearly. Connolly got to his feet, ran straight at Fitzpatrick, dived on his head and very quickly scampered off. There was no one near him and he didn't trip. It was very deliberate... end of.
ChillDara (Kildare) - Posts: 9 - 01/02/2012 21:43:53
Lads for what its worth I think DC should have got a lengthy ban myself. Very dangerous thing to do and I cant understand how he got off. I dont for a second believe it has anything atall to do with him being a Dub, but for once, I can see why ye would think that boys. Baffling. This lad, superb footballer that he is (watch the last 10 mins of the AI Final for proof) needs to have a serious word with himself. Kildare lads on HS, I stand with ye on this one. He should have got a ban. No questions.
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 02/02/2012 09:07:56
Liamwalkinstown County: Dublin Posts: 2881
1104010 Lads for what its worth I think DC should have got a lengthy ban myself. Very dangerous thing to do and I cant understand how he got off. I dont for a second believe it has anything atall to do with him being a Dub, but for once, I can see why ye would think that boys. Baffling. This lad, superb footballer that he is (watch the last 10 mins of the AI Final for proof) needs to have a serious word with himself. Kildare lads on HS, I stand with ye on this one. He should have got a ban. No questions.
Liam, DC made the mistake in the heat of a football match and it was a bad one. Occasionally people will do something stupid and out of character this is life.
The CCCC are supposed to make sure that incidents like this are dealt with in an appropriate manner to ensure it doesn't happen again. Forgetting about the specifics of the incident the CCCC have failed in their obligations to be fair and balanced.
It doesn't matter what way you look at this, it is unfair to ever single person who has ever been sanctioned by the CCCC in the past. They all deserved some form of punishment but to let DC off shows blatant favouritism and can not be justified.
I have nothing against Dublin, very much the opposite. But this kind of preferential treatment has to eradicated before the CCCC looses all creditability, if it has not done so already.
whitenred (Tyrone) - Posts: 156 - 02/02/2012 13:53:54
whitenred County: Tyrone Posts: 151
Why in your opinion do the GAA give Dublin better treatment?
JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 02/02/2012 13:57:49
TheRoad Whatever about the Connolly incident Dubfan,surely the brawl at the JFC was intentional.If not,it was a heck of a strange moment.
Selective condemnation again by the most partial of HS posters..
Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 02/02/2012 14:03:59
Tommy Carr must be laughing at this favouritism towards the dubs bs.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/02/2012 14:17:27
clondalkindub County: Dublin Posts: 1192
1104253 Tommy Carr must be laughing at this favouritism towards the dubs bs.
Did you have to go that far back to think of a Dublin suspension?
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 02/02/2012 14:46:37
JinxyPoop County: UK Posts: 1042
Why in your opinion do the GAA give Dublin better treatment?
Jinxy, it is not for me to speculate why this has happened. I am only highlighting the fact that a player who should have been reprimanded for his actions was not! I will let the conspiracy theorists deal with the whys. The facts are clear for everyone to see and the CCCC has not done their job. The fact that Dublin are involved should be irrelevant but in the absence of any other valid reason this can be the only conclusion.
whitenred (Tyrone) - Posts: 156 - 02/02/2012 14:51:15
I can see why the evidence on Connolly's "tackle" is inconclusive. I wouldn't play him, not only because of his suspect temperment which is fuelled by his inconsistent and lacklustre performances, but I just don't like him as a player.As for evidence it has to be clear cut, if there is a smidgen of doubt what can a committee do? And what exactly was Kildare's Number 15 doing kicking Connolly on the ground in the afters!! Amazing isn't it at what point we all put the blinkers on, who'd be a ref in the modern football game?
arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4968 - 02/02/2012 15:19:12
whitenred County: Tyrone Posts: 152
Jinxy, it is not for me to speculate why this has happened. I am only highlighting the fact that a player who should have been reprimanded for his actions was not! I will let the conspiracy theorists deal with the whys. The facts are clear for everyone to see and the CCCC has not done their job. The fact that Dublin are involved should be irrelevant but in the absence of any other valid reason this can be the only conclusion.
Spectacular, absolutely spectacular logic.
You think its Dublin favouritism because there's no valid reason for anything else! Including no valid reason for it being Dublin favouritism!! Absolutely priceless man :)
That twisted logic has made my day, really has!
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 02/02/2012 15:25:37
Ahhh I love having a hunch... :) I knew I'd uncover some jaw dropping plonklerism
JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 02/02/2012 15:32:55
You're welcome Mes...
JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 02/02/2012 15:38:20
arock County: Dublin Posts: 604
1104322 I can see why the evidence on Connolly's "tackle" is inconclusive. I wouldn't play him ___
Agreed. It was a very dangerous tackle and management needs to address this issue because furthe rdown the line DC getting sent off in a major game just isnt an option anymore.
Needs to learn his lesson and let his football do the talking.
JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 02/02/2012 15:45:35