He must have been exposed to the "Troubles" to produce such wanton aggression.
Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 01/02/2012 13:03:18
dubbydave. County: Dublin
Based on the video clip I agree that your interpretation is certainly possible. If I was on a committee where due-process and the requirement of proof beyond reasonable doubt were required I don't think I could have voted to sanction him.
kickpass (Down) - Posts: 208 - 01/02/2012 13:11:48
Well seany16 you cleary didnt watch the links posted above because contact was clearly made.. I hadnt seen the incident until now but I'm pretty angry after seeing it. Not because I'm from kildare or anti Dublin but simply because it was a cowardly thing to do to ANY player!! McMannamon did it to McIntee a few years ago and I felt the same way!!
redsash (Kildare) - Posts: 31 - 01/02/2012 13:25:52
imo in dont think it was intended its a tough call to mae but fromt he angle he does seem to be falling forward and his armms are almost stretched out in front of him so stop him falling over
Ah here Dave, watch the clip on youtube! Connolly is lying on the ground as the camera pans by him. About half a second later he pops back into shot and while looking straight at Fitzpatrick leads with the knee towards his head. He then without putting his hands on the ground jumps back to his feet and runs off.
- He does not have any momentum as he has just been on the ground - He is not off balance - He does not check if Fitzpatrick is okay, he runs off straight away
There's no way it was an accident.
doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 01/02/2012 13:42:13
Should of been banned in my opinion , Cowardly thing to do.
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 01/02/2012 13:56:52
dubbydave. probably going to be slated for this and im not just saying and have to emphasise this because he is from dublin too but i was watching the match over again last night which i recorded previously and imo in dont think it was intended its a tough call to mae but fromt he angle he does seem to be falling forward and his armms are almost stretched out in front of him so stop him falling over??? as i said in previous posts going on his track record would also suggest he is not that type of player no and again is hot headed but most times he is clean cut and professional
Ah I dont knnow about that dave, from looking at it it appears he led with the knee straight to the guys head. The other leg was behind him, surely if he was just falling then he would have both knees under him to break his fall. In my book he definately intended to catch the guy, he was very much in control of the fall and had his eyes on the guy under him, in other words, if he wanted to miss he could have.
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 01/02/2012 14:50:16
The more relevant point is why did this have to get as far as the CCCC? Going by the clip the referee booked him therefore he must have seen what he done. If he didn't see it he should not have booked him and if he did see it he should have sent him off. If he thought it was unintentional then he should not have booked him at all. I also thought that the CCCC only looked at incidents that referees took no action on? Surely referees are being undermined if they make a decision and then it is referred to the CCCC anyway or conversely referees will take the easiest option knowing that the decision will be revisited. On the incident in question, it is impossible to know whether Connolly intended it or not however he did connect and did not appear to be out of control. Red card and 3 month ban (As per official guide) in my opinion
omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 01/02/2012 15:08:21
omaghredhand he was booked along with Kavanagh for what followed this incident, i.e the pushing and shoving, not the incident with Fitzpatrick which happened just before it.
doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 01/02/2012 15:21:48
omaghredhand County: Tyrone Posts: 3403
1103622 The more relevant point is why did this have to get as far as the CCCC? Going by the clip the referee booked him therefore he must have seen what he done. If he didn't see it he should not have booked him and if he did see it he should have sent him off. If he thought it was unintentional then he should not have booked him at all. I also thought that the CCCC only looked at incidents that referees took no action on? Surely referees are being undermined if they make a decision and then it is referred to the CCCC anyway or conversely referees will take the easiest option knowing that the decision will be revisited. On the incident in question, it is impossible to know whether Connolly intended it or not however he did connect and did not appear to be out of control. Red card and 3 month ban (As per official guide) in my opinion
yes those were my thoughts too. can someone confirm that it was actually Connolly that got the yellow card. if so was it for the initial foul (preceeding the knee to the head) or was it for this incident.
s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5524 - 01/02/2012 15:29:31
waynoI County: Dublin Posts: 3682
1103544 Should of been banned in my opinion , Cowardly thing to do. _____
It was cowardly... not impressed at all with him. Thought he had a very big roll in the AI final... becoming play maker and score creator.
But as you said... cowardly and he could have seriously hurt the lad. Petr Cech anyone...
He should have been punished and he needs to address that side of his game.. a player with his ability should let his football do the talking. Like against Tyrone...
JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 01/02/2012 15:39:43
I was on here last year saying Connolly's red card against Donegal should be rescinded so I have nothing against the lad but this incident and the way it has been handled is disgraceful in my opinion.
Firstly Connolly's actions were highly dangerous. Anyone with a head on their shoulders can see that it was intentional. Without trying to blow it out of proportion he could very easily done serious and long lasting injury to the Kildare man. Thank God the player only sustained bruising and had the outcome been different he could have found himself up in front of the courts instead of the CCCC.
With that said he done this in the heat of the moment and I'm sure he would be embarrassed for his actions.
It is at this point the CCCC should step in and lay sanctions on Connolly to atone for this momentary loss of sanity to ensure everyone knows that this is unacceptable behaviour. As there were no serious injury's I think 8 weeks would be fair for the intent alone as it was a hell of a lot worse than a striking offence.
So what do we get from the CCCC? Nothing but a clear signal that they have one set of rules for some people and another set for others. There is no other way of looking at this other than the fact they are bias. Paul Galvin would have been hung, drawn and quartered for this!
Connolly made a bad decision in the heat of the moment but I would suggest the CCCC's decision to condone this behaviour is as BAD!
All we want is consistency and fairness, is this too much to ask?
whitenred (Tyrone) - Posts: 156 - 01/02/2012 16:20:17
Sedico
That actually was a serious question. There was two pictures in the Star the day after of Kavanagh's fist clearly connecting with Connolly's face so I thought he might have got a ban.
I didn't see the game as I was watching Mad Mario do something similar.
Thankfully he got his deserved 4 match ban.
mayoboy1 (Mayo) - Posts: 1654 - 01/02/2012 16:26:21
I don't think for a second that Connolly getting off is anything to do with Dublin favouritism, and fair play to the majority of Dubs on here also condemning Connolly. I just think it's gone beyond ridiculous how inconsistent the GAA is becoming with respect to discipline. I hate to compare it to soccer, but on the exact same date as this incident, Balotelli stamped on Scott Parker and was (correctly in my opinion) banned for 4 games within a few days despite there being no conclusive evidence of any intent. The GAA are basically inviting players to carry out cheap shots on opposition players with the knowledge that they can plead there was no intent.
Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1466 - 01/02/2012 16:33:14
kickpass County: Down Posts: 110
1103504 dubbydave. County: Dublin
Based on the video clip I agree that your interpretation is certainly possible. If I was on a committee where due-process and the requirement of proof beyond reasonable doubt were required I don't think I could have voted to sanction him.
dont get me wrong either lad if it was done with bad intentions then regardless if he is from dublin he deserves some sort of suspension or punishment but it is hard to call though imo anyway but going on previous record he is not that type of player in fairness he has a good track record to his name.
dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 01/02/2012 16:36:46
Lad's some of the comments on here are laughable, half of you sound like you are auditioning for a part in CIS Miami. If there is not clear evidence that it was intentional, you cannot convict. All you boys talking about falling forward and the angle he fell at and 2 knees would have hit the ground and such tripe, put away the slide rules and get over it. I watched the video too and cannot tell whether he fell, was pushed or did it on purpose. I also watched the video of the All Ireland JFC between Dromid and Derrytresk and it looks to me like the Derrytresk official was on his way to do damage when he got hit as he came from out of camera shot, however I would not ban him based on that evidence. Put away the conjecture and move on.
Dubfan Abroad (Dublin) - Posts: 282 - 01/02/2012 16:46:32
Ratoath Royal, What Ballotelli did was obvious and plain to see to all but the blind. Comparing the video evidence against Diarmuid Connolly to that is some stretch. Also take into account Ballotelli's record, just like John Terry. His intent was very clear. Cop On.
Dubfan Abroad (Dublin) - Posts: 282 - 01/02/2012 16:58:38
Dubfan Abroad County: Dublin Posts: 112
1103718 Lad's some of the comments on here are laughable, half of you sound like you are auditioning for a part in CIS Miami. If there is not clear evidence that it was intentional, you cannot convict. All you boys talking about falling forward and the angle he fell at and 2 knees would have hit the ground and such tripe, put away the slide rules and get over it. I watched the video too and cannot tell whether he fell, was pushed or did it on purpose. I also watched the video of the All Ireland JFC between Dromid and Derrytresk and it looks to me like the Derrytresk official was on his way to do damage when he got hit as he came from out of camera shot, however I would not ban him based on that evidence. Put away the conjecture and move on.
Sure with that attitude there'll barely be another suspension in the GAA
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 01/02/2012 17:01:01
1103728 Ratoath Royal, What Ballotelli did was obvious and plain to see to all but the blind. Comparing the video evidence against Diarmuid Connolly to that is some stretch. Also take into account Ballotelli's record, just like John Terry. His intent was very clear. Cop On.
Are you for real? Are you a friend of Diarmuids or what?
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 01/02/2012 17:04:25
Dubfan, I have to say your post is embarrassing. How can you prove what Balotelli did was intentional using only the video evidence? And a players record doesn't come into it when deciding whether or not a ban is justified. Also, how do you explain Mattie Forde's 3 month ban a few seasons ago for something which he also claimed was unintentional? Look at the response to the incident from the other Dublin fans here. Take off the blue tinted specs, take your own advice and "cop on".
Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1466 - 01/02/2012 17:08:59
1103728 Ratoath Royal, What Ballotelli did was obvious and plain to see to all but the blind. Comparing the video evidence against Diarmuid Connolly to that is some stretch. Also take into account Ballotelli's record, just like John Terry. His intent was very clear. Cop On.
Dubfan, are you for real?
The majority of Dubs on here can see it was intentional and fair play to them for saying that there should have been at least some repercussions levelled towards Connolly.
I don't have any EVIDENCE that the ball in the video is either pumped or stuffed but I'm sure the majority of people on here would know the answer, would you?
whitenred (Tyrone) - Posts: 156 - 01/02/2012 17:26:49