Names on Jersey's

Given the level of debt reported in counties over the convention season this appears to be an overly costly, and unnecessary, addition to the geansai.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3749 - 29/01/2012 20:35:55    1102296

ron_burgandy

1102256 If you dont know your players or even most of the opposition at this stage, helmet or no helmet, your obviously a fair weather supporter. Here is a tip to ye, Buy a program.

Have to totally agree with you. but I'd hate to see the GAA go done the soccer route of names on jerseys, and don;t start me on Squad numbers. Also some counties have banned their players from swopping jerseys a the cost was spirling out of control. if counties had to put names on the back due to the cost of a new set per game I could see the only alternative would be squad numbers

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 29/01/2012 20:49:13    1102308

Wouldn't be in favour of it. I cringe when I see people at matches with, for example, a Kerry jersey with "Gooch" or "Galvin" printed on the back, it looks horrible!

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 29/01/2012 21:28:13    1102345

what would be the point? why is this even a discussion? We dont have to follow the english soccer methods for everything

deisebhoy (Waterford) - Posts: 416 - 29/01/2012 21:30:38    1102347

Cute_Kerry_Hoor

1102345 Wouldn't be in favour of it. I cringe when I see people at matches with, for example, a Kerry jersey with "Gooch" or "Galvin" printed on the back, it looks horrible!

have to be honest cant stand it meself,i know one or 2 lads not friends but just know of them and they have there own names on the jersey looks ridiculous in all fairness..

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 29/01/2012 21:50:23    1102362

game.on.now.ger

..in any case, having watched the last 2 camogie finals on the tv the names on their jerseys are awful hard to read, unless its really close up.

Maybe for Camogie and Ladies Footbal they should put them on the front of the shirts.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 30/01/2012 08:53:11    1102371

Have no issue with it I think its a great idea especially for Hurling, on either shirt or helmet.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4954 - 30/01/2012 09:16:50    1102376

Was just going to say that aorck, why doesnt the hurler just put it on his helmet - all problems solved.

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 30/01/2012 12:48:26    1102483

On Jersey's what?!!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13812 - 30/01/2012 14:54:39    1102571

I don't see the harm in this at all

Nothing wrong with being able to identify players from afar. Probably would add to the match experience if anything.

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 30/01/2012 15:52:18    1102613

What size would the letters have to be so as to allow them to be read. Dont know about antone else but I dont think it would be much help in identifying players an djust sounds to me like a nonsense !!

monitor (Down) - Posts: 209 - 31/01/2012 09:42:17    1102877

With the way there's so many positional changes these days as opposed to the rigid 15 as before, it's be a good move for the Championship to have names on the jerseys.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8928 - 31/01/2012 09:57:04    1102882

One minute we all want better coverage , exposure and marketing of the gaa. The next minute we dont want names on jerseys incase somebody knows who the player is without having gone to numerous matches and can identify the players characteristics from the stand. no big deal either way but kids might like the idea.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 31/01/2012 10:01:00    1102886

Keenan with the number eight on the back of my Louth jersey. Im all for it.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 31/01/2012 10:21:49    1102895

Maybe names being added for FINALS ONLY might be an option, i.e. the National League Finals, Provincial Finals & All Ireland Finals. Other than these specific games I don't think Names on Jerseys would be feasible in the GAA.

What would you all think of names on Jerseys for Finals Only??

RiceysBrother (Tyrone) - Posts: 125 - 31/01/2012 10:59:02    1102920