Trouble at the All-Ireland club JFC semi

slag tadhg kennelly alln yas want, nobody from here will defend his behaviour v cork in the 09 final. he was wrong. simples!

LiosTuathail (Kerry) - Posts: 216 - 23/01/2012 15:36:57    1098582

Kerry people should ask themselves what caused the incensed reaction from the Derrytresk bench? I reckon most GAA teams would react if one of their management team had just been struck by an opposing player!

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 23/01/2012 15:39:42    1098586

mayotyroneman

and remember what paidi o'se did to the cork player in a Munster Final?....ah sure wasn't it a great craic?..good old paidi!

I suppose you missed the part when the Cork player hit him first?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 23/01/2012 15:39:48    1098587

slag tadhg kennelly alln yas want, nobody from here will defend his behaviour v cork in the 09 final. he was wrong. simples!

LiosTuathail (Kerry) - Posts: 216 - 23/01/2012 15:39:49    1098588

you know what's even better craic? Winning Sam Maguire 36 times.

john3seven (Kerry) - Posts: 15 - 23/01/2012 15:40:12    1098589

ahhhhh now i get it...it was the fault of those horrible tyrone players that dromid got 8 yellow cards and 2 red cards...and sure it wasn't the kerry team that was landing punches on derrytresk men, but the derrytresk men themselves!!...sure a kerryman would never resort to landing a belt?..sure they're just higher intelligent beings that play pretty football

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 23/01/2012 15:40:53    1098590

why is everyone talking about past incidents to back up their points of view. it doesnt make it right, by saying aww galvins no angel, you cant talk has no relevancy to what happened yesterday, im still shocked people are defending what derrytresk did here. disgrace.

LiosTuathail (Kerry) - Posts: 216 - 23/01/2012 15:43:09    1098594

moomoo

1098562 I see alot of oh Dromid had 2 players sent off they must have been as bad. Been reading some reports of people at the game and the Tyrone lads were trowning themselfs on the ground every chance they got to try and get lads booked or sent off (something Tyrone have been good at over the years) at one point the ref told one of them to get up off the ground and cop himself on

You say "trowning themselfs on the ground", I prefer the term "o'mahonying themselves on the ground". Doesn't have the same ring as Kennellyed but still just about works.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 23/01/2012 15:43:30    1098596

mayotyroneman

ahhhhh now i get it...it was the fault of those horrible tyrone players that dromid got 8 yellow cards and 2 red cards...and sure it wasn't the kerry team that was landing punches on derrytresk men, but the derrytresk men themselves!!...sure a kerryman would never resort to landing a belt?..sure they're just higher intelligent beings that play pretty football

Why did one of the dromid players have to go off at half time with a concussion? Or another with a black eye and stub marks on his back? I suppose his own player did that?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 23/01/2012 15:44:52    1098598

A point needs to be made here...geography shouldnt come in to this matter! Its the people in the stands that are the cause...if this was a small brawl with no fans involved it would barely get a few lines in the papers.
I believe violence with supporters is a major problem in the gaa and people who think its a northern problem are kidding themselves! Look at louth supporters at the end of the leinster final in 2010.
No matter what happens on the field and no matter how passionate they are the supporters should have some respect for the game and themselves.
Anyone who enters a field with intent to harm should be dealt with by the gardai.

soreknee (Westmeath) - Posts: 166 - 23/01/2012 15:45:08    1098600

Ulsterman

Kerry people should ask themselves what caused the incensed reaction from the Derrytresk bench? I reckon most GAA teams would react if one of their management team had just been struck by an opposing player!

Putting a player over the sideline with a shoulder last time i checked that happened in the game. I suppose because a Kerry player does it it's wrong is it?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 23/01/2012 15:46:30    1098603

News of this and a Tyrone team involved. Not surprising at all. Par for the course.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9800 - 23/01/2012 15:47:05    1098604

Do we remember what Paudi..called his own supporters.

Generalisations are wrong period...but check out how many groundless, wild allegations were made at the start of this thread. All reason went out the window very early here. The usual suspects lept on this for the latest "Tyrone bashing" session.

Also interesting the amount of gentlemen proferring an opinion ...without having been at the game.

I hope Declan..wasn't hurt great player...but would guess the humour was derived form the attack by a woman with a handbag..with all the opportunity for.."Sure it was only handbags..." If it was a male attacked him with serious inetent i suspect people's condemnation would be more readiliy forthcoming.
For what it's worth women are frequently the catlyst for rows at games ..been bashed myself by an umbrella at the lough shore.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 23/01/2012 15:47:36    1098606

LiosTuathail

why is everyone talking about past incidents to back up their points of view. it doesnt make it right, by saying aww galvins no angel, you cant talk has no relevancy to what happened yesterday, im still shocked people are defending what derrytresk did here. disgrace.

Because when its Kerry a blind eye is turned to everything ealse! Had it been the other wa around the Ulster boys would be very fast to comment on it

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 23/01/2012 15:48:29    1098607

mayotyroneman

Going by your comments on here not many could argue against that.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 23/01/2012 15:50:40    1098609

Does ANY Kerry person concede that that Dromid played a part in the events too? How do TWO reds and SEVEN yellows happen if you don't have an aggressive stance yourself? It's just Kerry being Kerry again and the Southern media being the Southern partitionist media again; Kerry are angelic, above all this and no one has the right to digress especially you upstart Nordies.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 23/01/2012 15:50:58    1098610

mayotyroneman

Why do you keep ignoring the thugs who ran onto the pitch and assaulted players? How are you justifying a player being struck with a handbag?

You laugh it off as if its great crac, then have the stupidity to try and justify it as passion. You epitomise everything wrong with the GAA.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6348 - 23/01/2012 15:52:01    1098612

thank you tim for copying the article from teamtalk....it gives us some perspective on what this day meant to the men and women from the hill...true there has been incidents at the game, but no worse than saturdays events in northampton when some real punches were thrown and not handbags,,,yet our national media choose to focus on the "tyrone boys"....the achievements of derrytresk have been phenomenal over the past year,and while they are far from perfect...they are a credit to the GAA in how a small club surrounded by "bigger" neighbours with 4 families making up the bulk of the team...these are great times for the the Reas,O'Neills, Gavins and Quinns, and their story is what this great organisation is all about...never mind the hypocrites and begrudgers on this forum and our national media...your story has been a great lift to the true gaels of Tyrone and further afield.

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 23/01/2012 15:52:25    1098613

This was posted as a new thread but since the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

Ulsterman
Antrim
23/01/2012
15:29

BIAS AGAINST ULSTER GAA AND THE NORTH

raises it's ugly head in the GAA and Southern media once again. Yesterday's incidents in Portlaoise have kicked off a rabid, nasty, one sided reaction in the GAA outside Ulster and Southern media who have always been hostile to the North and Ulster GAA. Indeed if players, fans and mentors from either Dromid or Derrytresk are found guily of violent actions they should pay the penalty but the fall out and biased campaign today against Derrytresk, Tyrone and the North from some outside Ulster would be called racism if it was carried out against any other group. It has vindicated everything I have ever said that there are those in the 26 counties who, for some reason, hate everything about the Ulster GAA, North and Northern people. It has always been bubbling just under the surface in the GAA and South and erupts every so often; today is one of those occasions and some people need to wind their necks in and take the chip off their shoulders.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2275 - 23/01/2012 15:55:17    1098616

To all the high-horsers on this thread, you know who you are. I don't think anyone is condoning the supporters behaviour here. Most people are condemning the generalising done by many posters on this thread.

If you can't understand this then you have no business high-horsing about anything.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 23/01/2012 15:57:19    1098618