Trouble at the All-Ireland club JFC semi

Dellboypolecat

moomoo

1098478 I actually cant believe are defending what happened. Then again most of them are from Ulster who are surprise surprise

Not that long ago your club players where attacking there own county players , poeple in glass houses should not throw stones.

So your saying what happened was ok then? Also why is it Ulster people that are defending what happened?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 23/01/2012 15:04:55    1098519

mayotyroneman
just waiting now to hear a kerry supporter phoning into joe duffy saying they were kidnapped and dumped in a hedge in tyrone...our club was "subjected" to some of the derrytresk treatment in years gone by....they were certainly no shrinking violets,and i'm sure they still aren't, but this is way out of hand...sounds like some posters on here have an issue whith tyrone as evidenced by their comments, and "the master" fromMayo...so, there hasn't been any incidents in club matches in mayo?...i beg to differ!

I have never seen or heard of an incident in mayo football where the crowd came onto the field en masse and assaulting players. If there has been then I condemn everyone involved.
You were saying?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 23/01/2012 15:05:51    1098520

TYRONELEGEND

Declan O'Sullivan did get a bit of abuse but that was to be expected .. a kerry senior player was always going to be singled out.

Why?

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 23/01/2012 15:15:06    1098531

"Men and women of the hiil"

Did ye ever hear the likes, romantic nonsense.

A disgrace and you won't change these people. Mind you it all a bravado with most of them ,catch them on their own,they become all shy about stepping forward. Idiots .sin e

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 23/01/2012 15:16:38    1098534

Listening to the daitribe/open season on Tyrone/Ulster GAA/the North on the radio as well and I am incensed. Yesterday's incidents in Portlaoise seem to be the catalyst for some Gaels and media figures outside Ulster to vent their intense dislike/hostility, indeed outright hatred, towards 'Nordies' and the Ulster GAA scene. Let me be clear, those responsible for yesterday's trouble should have the book thrown at them if they are identified and found guilty but this should be fair and take everything into account. However Kerry people and some from other counties once again have their blinkers on and have totally blanked the fact that Dromid had TWO men sent off and 7/8 yellow cards so who were the real aggressors here? There seems to have been a reaction from the Derrytresk team and fans to the stuff that was happening on and off the ball and there have been allegations made that a member of the Derryresk management team was struck by a Dromid player which kicked off a reaction from the Derrytresk bench so all of this has to be taken on board. Some of the comments and talk I have heard on the radio and read today in Southern media outlets has been a disgrace and totally biased against Derrytresk with obviously entrenched hostlity towards the Ulster GAA and the North. "Animals" "up there" "Northern Ireland teams" "aggressive brutal Nordies" etc etc are just some of it and would be called racism under any other conditions. Is this the same Kerry that has produced hard, aggressive and sometimes beyond the rules players like Paul Galvin, Tadgh Kennelly, Dara O'Se, Paudi O'Se etc? As for ANY Meath fan or player to lecture anyone about GAA violence is the joke of all jokes. 1996 All Ireland final......?

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 23/01/2012 15:17:48    1098536

thegeneral thread of many comments on here seems to be...them boys up in tyrone indulge in a brand of thuggery, which is ONLY peculiar to tyrone, and doesn'thappen in any other county in the country...In fact when tyrone teams are playing, we all should go along with ear muffs because EVERYONE of them are foul mouthed neanderthals..the hypocricy here emanating from kerry.mayo,galway and meath is something else...it really is laughable to read comments frompeople on their high horse...a kerry teamgotanother beating yesterday from a tyrone team...get over it!

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 23/01/2012 15:17:50    1098537

Remember your man came on to the pitch at Croker swinging at Paidi O'Se? Sure that was a great bit of craic though wasn't it?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 23/01/2012 15:19:23    1098540

TYRONELEGEND

Bit of a biased account of things there. Both teams as bad as each other i thought. Declan O'Sullivan did get a bit of abuse but that was to be expected .. a kerry senior player was always going to be singled out.

So now people are admitting Kerry players are getting singled out?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 23/01/2012 15:21:03    1098542

LiosTuathail
moomoo

I already stated it was a disgrace it is there in black in white in one of my post , yes they should get life for these attacks and i stated no player should be abused because he is a county man. But yous coming out with this nonsense tyrone ulster rubbish 8 yellow cards and 2 sending offs with kerry club yestarday that is not tyrones fault and yes it happens in every county and should be stopped before someone gets killed . And only lasyt year a kerry county player got serious injury in a off the ball incident in club game not 5 years ago.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 23/01/2012 15:21:52    1098543

sourtherngael

Maybe you should give paul galvin some of your advice over rules...

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 23/01/2012 15:26:32    1098551

The problem here is that people very quickly turned it into a Tyrone issue, the issue is much more widespread than Tyrone or Ulster and isn't a "new" issue. What happened at the weekend is unacceptable and I believe the "good" GAA fans out there should name and shame the people involved and let the authorities deal with them, however this is unlikely to happen especially at club level.

Stick this into google and see what comes back "assaulted site:www.hoganstand.com"

First three results:-
Ref assaulted in Antrim
Umpire assaulted in Tipp
Kevin Nugent assaulted during club game in Armagh

Older results:-
Second Cavan ref assaulted in a matter of months(2008)
Umpires assaulted in Wexford (2006)
Photographer I know who assaulted me (2007 Munster final)

spyboy (Antrim) - Posts: 343 - 23/01/2012 15:27:24    1098554

moomoo

1098542 TYRONELEGEND

Bit of a biased account of things there. Both teams as bad as each other i thought. Declan O'Sullivan did get a bit of abuse but that was to be expected .. a kerry senior player was always going to be singled out.

So now people are admitting Kerry players are getting singled out?

You say singled out, but I prefer the term "Kennellyed"

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 23/01/2012 15:27:35    1098555

ULSTERMAN is spot on about some meath posters they should get there own house in order at club level before giving out about others .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 23/01/2012 15:29:35    1098557

@ShowsFair the fermanagh gaa forum is a joke, i am not from shamtown, no allegiances there, i make serious points on the fermanagh forum form time to time, i make no apologies for the slaggin i give on it either but here is a serious issue within the gaa, dont discredit it by saying aww hes not from here r there, that has no relevance to anything, worry about what im saying!! that is all.

LiosTuathail (Kerry) - Posts: 216 - 23/01/2012 15:29:35    1098558

I see alot of oh Dromid had 2 players sent off they must have been as bad. Been reading some reports of people at the game and the Tyrone lads were trowning themselfs on the ground every chance they got to try and get lads booked or sent off (something Tyrone have been good at over the years) at one point the ref told one of them to get up off the ground and cop himself on

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 23/01/2012 15:30:33    1098562

It's all about opinions - read this report..different perpective.
Always good to be read widely and form an opinion based on informed reason.
Granted this may be a different perpective than our Kerry view but no less jaundiced I would expect.

Derrytresk Produce Heroics To Earn Date At Headquarters.

Somewhere in a newspaper last week there was an article that stated the 21st of January was viewed by many around the world as the most depressing day of the year. Well such doom and gloom merchants should have paid a visit to East Tyrone last week and they would have left with a different view of the order of things. There was not much talk about around Derrytresk about anything other than football as the whole community looked forward to the prospect of competing in an All Ireland Club semi final on Sunday 22nd. The sense of euphoria and excitement among the supporters was almost palpable as the date with destiny drew closer and the feel good factor was such that it could have lifted the mood of the nation..

From early on Sunday morning Tyrone registered cars were parking up outside O'Moore Park and the local groundsmen and gate attendants must have been wondering at what they were seeing as a queue of blue and white clad Derrytresk supporters waited patiently for the gates to open. When they finally did the best seats in the stand were quickly filled and the noise level was raised a decibel or two as the men, women and children from the Hill made their presence well and truly felt.

The team came out to a cacophony of noise which set the tone for the day and battle commenced. The men from the hill had come to do a job and were intent on settling for nothing less than victory. There were heroes all over the field as the "boys in blue" played the shirts off their backs on their way to a well deserved but hard earned six point win. There were many talking points and all will be discussed over the next few days but suffice to say the reputations of this great bunch have been enhanced even further and they can now look forward to appearing in Croke Park in the All Ireland Club Final the week after Tyrone and Kildare open the 2012 National League.

It has been a wonderful story thus far for all associated with the club and fingers crossed the final glorious chapter will be written in the nation's capital on the 12thof February.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 23/01/2012 15:31:26    1098565

I have never seen or heard of an incident in mayo football where the crowd came onto the field en masse and assaulting players. If there has been then I condemn everyone involved.
You were saying?

Unless every man woman and child from Derrytresk invaded the pitch and assaulted someone you are being very misreprestative of the issue here and there is no need for it.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 23/01/2012 15:32:04    1098568

As an Ulster Gael I am not for taking any more of this biased anti-Northern/Ulster rubbish Dell, I will throw it right back at people who are the worst kind of hypocrites and who don't need an excuse to vent their own anti-Northern sentiments.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 23/01/2012 15:33:15    1098571

@deelboypolecat, what are you talking about paul galvin for, like seriously, nothing to do with this, does that mean i start talking about ryan mcmenamin, no it doesnt, totally different issue at hand, cop yourself on!

LiosTuathail (Kerry) - Posts: 216 - 23/01/2012 15:33:21    1098572

and remember what paidi o'se did to the cork player in a Munster Final?....ah sure wasn't it a great craic?..good old paidi!

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 23/01/2012 15:34:57    1098574