segregation is not the gaa way !!hope cross trash crokes for that silly comments
curnew (Wicklow) - Posts: 449 - 27/01/2012 14:26:56
The Croke have put in a fair request for a block of tickets so supporters can be together. There's nothing wrong with that. A hooligan element from Crossmaglen did cause trouble in the replayed final a few years back. It was the media who put 2 and 2 together and put the story out as being looking for segregation.
Ambrose O'Donovan had been struck on the head by a Crossmaglen supporter after he was sent off and substitutes were "intimidated" by a Crossmaglen water-carrier and alleging Gardaí twice had to intervene to stop Crokes' substitutes being threatened by Crossmaglen fans. Patrick O'Sullivan, then club chairman and current Kerry chairman, is reported to have said at the time: "The club is very bitter about the stuff that went on, far more so than on the yellow card. I've had a lot of parents on to me expressing their disgust, and looking for action from the GAA. We had 40 kids there on Sunday, and it was a poor advert for the GAA. If this is the kind of antics that Crossmaglen are going to bring to the game, then it is little wonder Ulster football gets so much bad publicity." This paragraph above about hooliganism in that final and an innocent request for a block of tickets has been put out by the media as looking for segregation
Legendzxix, did you see this 'hooligan' element or are you simply regurgitating what their Chairmen said? I saw the O'Donovan incident and a woman reached across and ruffled his hair for want of a better description and said something along the lines of "that'll teach ye". Shouldn't have happened but certainly not what I would call being struck on the head. If the 'intimidation' offences were so bad that the Gardaí had to be involved then surely a formal complaint should have been made and sustained. the Gardaí took no further action so there msutn't have been much intimidation.
Like I said there would be no issue if the club sought a block of tickets for juveniles to keep them together but it should never have been in the Press in the first place for them to put 2 and 2 together. If the request was made 3 weeks ago what value was it being made known to the Examiner so that a story could be made out of it. It was Crokes trying to swing influence in their direction and it has backfired.
RangerDanger (Armagh) - Posts: 101 - 27/01/2012 14:41:28
any news about the cccc last night, when will this info be released?
supersummersam (Tyrone) - Posts: 13 - 27/01/2012 15:01:51
Unreal how this crying match has now went against Crossmaglen. Absolutely ridiculous. Its only when the kerry boys are beat that the crying starts.
Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 27/01/2012 15:06:34
legendzxix County: Kerry Posts: 1624
1101329 RangerDanger County: Armagh Posts: 28
1101179 superglue, it's hard not to take that wrong meaning out of the statement, given the timing, given the media furore over what happened in the Dromid-Derrytresk game, also in light of the comments made by the former Chairman Patrick O'Sullivan about our fans, it in my mind was a clear slight at the club. The teeling comment was that there needs to be more stewarding at the subs benches. The inference from that is that either our subs cannot be trusted to stay in their position or that the Dr Crokes subs need protection from our fans!! I presume he has no fears that there will be any issue with his own fans abusing our subs and his own subs staying in their own dug out.
We are a proud club and have been central to bringing the club game to its current high profile. We are confident and dare I say it a bit full of ourselves but no more so than any other great team, and that is one of the reasons we are a great team. However, we also have a great respect for the traditions of the game and great respect for the people who play the game and history has shown that. Gone are the times where our problems were the focus of the news around us and we are proud of that. The behind the veil remarks that were made this week may in your mind have been innocent but they were a clear attempt to undermine our club, undermine our team and undermine our people while in the same breath force the hand of the GAA to stack the cards a bit more heavily in your favour. It won't work and the one thing that will happen on the 18th is that the best footballing team will win the match. The game will not be won through the pages of the Kerry Examiner but on the grass of O'Moore Park.
The Croke have put in a fair request for a block of tickets so supporters can be together. There's nothing wrong with that. A hooligan element from Crossmaglen did cause trouble in the replayed final a few years back. It was the media who put 2 and 2 together and put the story out as being looking for segregation.
Ambrose O'Donovan had been struck on the head by a Crossmaglen supporter after he was sent off and substitutes were "intimidated" by a Crossmaglen water-carrier and alleging Gardaí twice had to intervene to stop Crokes' substitutes being threatened by Crossmaglen fans. Patrick O'Sullivan, then club chairman and current Kerry chairman, is reported to have said at the time: "The club is very bitter about the stuff that went on, far more so than on the yellow card. I've had a lot of parents on to me expressing their disgust, and looking for action from the GAA. We had 40 kids there on Sunday, and it was a poor advert for the GAA. If this is the kind of antics that Crossmaglen are going to bring to the game, then it is little wonder Ulster football gets so much bad publicity." This paragraph above about hooliganism in that final and an innocent request for a block of tickets has been put out by the media as looking for segregation.
So what's the common denominator...did the Kerry club lose this one too?
Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 27/01/2012 15:16:47
So what's the common denominator...
tisn't hard to work out. Kerry players gets assaulted by supporters.
Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 27/01/2012 15:33:08
Superglue County: Kerry Posts: 351
1101390 So what's the common denominator...
Female supporters
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12338 - 27/01/2012 15:36:09
Breffni39 County: Cavan Posts: 6756
1101393 Superglue County: Kerry Posts: 351
1101390 So what's the common denominator...
Female supporters
In Portlaoise?
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12338 - 27/01/2012 15:38:23
Enough is enough - this carry on here is really sickening my ****.
Identify and ban the relevant sub / supporters and move on. End of story.
This whinging is just pathetic.
These Kerry lads need to "man-up" and get on with things. You'd swear they were all Angels down that neck of the woods.
It actually reminds me of my favourite song of 1996 that went along the lines of "Cheer up Johnny Maughan... etc. etc.".
As for this North vs South mullakey?? Last I knew - we were all Irish.
Grow up FFS.
BRING_ON_GURTY! (Meath) - Posts: 712 - 27/01/2012 15:40:40
Must be something in the burgers and chips at the chip van at O' Moore Park!!
Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 27/01/2012 15:42:38
Segregating fans at Gaa is a great idea..Look at all the work unemployed builders would get putting up walls in grounds around the country!!!
juniorbsub (Wexford) - Posts: 646 - 27/01/2012 15:50:23
Good man bring on Gurty
Ah you'd never have got a nothern woman assulting Maurice Fitz...
Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 27/01/2012 15:50:43
Cute_Kerry_Hoor County: Kerry Posts: 387
1101401 Must be something in the burgers and chips at the chip van at O' Moore Park!!
Well its probably not meat anyway!
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12338 - 27/01/2012 15:58:26
Breffni39 County: Cavan Posts: 6758
1101410 Cute_Kerry_Hoor County: Kerry Posts: 387
1101401 Must be something in the burgers and chips at the chip van at O' Moore Park!!
Well its probably not meat anyway!
Well since it's Friday - could it have been the mad cow stuff
Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 27/01/2012 16:20:41
There will be some banter at the double-header next weekend. Its time to wrap up this thread, can't we all just get along?! lol
TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 27/01/2012 16:29:36
That's for sure GateKeeper! My mates from Tyrone and Dublin will be knocking some craic out of this for sure, over a few pints of the black stuff of naturally :)
Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 27/01/2012 16:40:16
It is now essential that Cross give Crokes a football lesson. Sick and tired of gettin lectures from the Kerry faithful down the years . As far back as I remember my Dad would complain about the Kerry teams and how they were comfortably the dirtiest County in Ireland. The crying is borne out of frustration at defeat , nothing more. Beating the Kerry teams is , unfortunately the only way to gain respect. It will be a long hard road though.
gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 27/01/2012 16:40:32
Speaking as a neutral who has stood back and listened to both sides, this whole thing has saddened me. I think that the one thing that is missing in all of this is that neither side will admit or accept their role in all of this whole distasteful affair. they both seem to be blaming the other side. whatever happened in portlaoise last sunday, the name of the gaa was dragged through the mud by BOTH teams. From examining the footage it seems that dromid started the row and that derrytresk finished it. whatever happens now, i think both teams should get a big big fine and both sets of players recieve big suspensions for their role in this melee. the derrytresk subs coming onto the field was completely out of order and deserve what punishment that comes before them, even if it means missing an all ireland final. scenes like that on sunday have no place in the gaa.
db9 (Meath) - Posts: 283 - 27/01/2012 16:44:29
Also the people that assaulted Declan O Sullivan should not be allowed set foot into any gaa pitch for a long time. maybe life bans. sickening behaviour from so called "fans" towards one of the best players of modern times love him or hate him.
db9 (Meath) - Posts: 283 - 27/01/2012 17:00:40
Agreed DB9, but DOS should also man up and admit to the reason he was hit with the hand bag in the first place
Cillies (Tyrone) - Posts: 9 - 27/01/2012 17:07:30