Trouble at the All-Ireland club JFC semi

Ah - depressingly the was something.
Dr Croke's Chairman Vincent Casey said he wanted fans to "Sit together in a particular area of the stand and therefore both sets of supporters can cheer on their team, without interfering or upsetting each other"

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 27/01/2012 11:07:57    1101199

I think the initial reason for requesting the block of tickets was innocent. This was done a few weeks ago. It's what's normally done at Croke park if you have groups of families with kids from the same area.
The first statement wasn't the brightest and the second was probably a camouflaged attempt at a retraction more than clarification.
The media furore over the junior game has created a bit of a siege mentality and all sides have been getting their piece in where possible. What was inferred was very unsporting and unfounded. This thread itself is full of lazy stereotypes and cheap digs just to get a reaction.
I agree 100% with what you said Cross has done for club football. I don't think it has stacked the Crokes favour at all.
You boys have just what you need to nail to the dressing room door. Has to be worth a couple of points to you.
Any chance you'll return the favour. ;-)

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 27/01/2012 11:14:43    1101202

Good post Real Kerrry fan

Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 27/01/2012 11:16:18    1101204

So looks like a good game in prospect then.
Went to casement for the Cross Ballinderry game and noticed Cross seem to continue to be playing within themselves just doing enough and then a bit more when threatened. But they know better than any team how to get over the line for the big games. Incredible they've rebuilt a second side...from a parish not through transfer fees n such a short space of time.
Also goes to show that after 130 years teams can start to create their own pedigree and history without the burden of "Tradition".
So all can't be bad in our organisation?

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 27/01/2012 11:39:56    1101212

I am just after listening to the Joe Duffy Podcast about this issue. I have never been as shocked in my life.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 27/01/2012 12:08:16    1101222

Superglue, I believe you could be right about the initial request for a block of seats and I don't see an issue with it if it was simply to keep a group of juveniles together. I cannot fathom though why it became news worthy. Did Crokes bring it to the press? It in itself is not even paper filling news but the motivation in taking it to the press has to be questioned. Also once Pandoras box was opened the needed to be some work done to repair the damage done. The second statement in my eyes was even worse as it inferred that the subs needed control and it has to be suggested that he was not referring to his own players. That is the bit that I find most offensive, not the 'seperation'/'segregation' issue but the insinuation that our players/fans need extra stewarding. It could be read that we are deemed to be lesser and is hugely condescending. I know you see it for what it would be percieved to be and that is to be applauded. Dr Crokes would be well to lift the phone and apologize to our club but it won't happen. As for giving you something in return, nah, we'll keep our cards to our chest!!!!

Small point to our Tyrone friend about the creation of success without tradition. Beforw the current run of success the club was still the most successful club in Armagh and also in the top 10 in terms of county championship wins in Ireland. We had 24 counties won so there was a very strong tradition built on a strong community and strong family links down through history.

RangerDanger (Armagh) - Posts: 101 - 27/01/2012 12:23:11    1101238

I see their fans are crying about the issue now, my God do they ever stop? As the famous song goes

'Same old Kerry, always whinging...'

Collie09 (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 27/01/2012 12:45:10    1101262

Ranger..
Steady with the scatter gun. I was complementing Cross for creating a tradition of winning All-Irelands in recent years which has now created a hegemony. Until the 1990's Ulster teams struggled to assert themselves nationally. It was felt that they had no tradition of winning national titles and therefore couldn't make the breakthrough. Now they have 5? - 2 behind Nemo..

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 27/01/2012 12:47:14    1101266

I really enjoy the banter at GAA games. I have been in the Hill with the Dubs and had mighty craic and also had with supporters from other counties both north and south. But I doubt if there was much craic last sunday.

keelman (Mayo) - Posts: 113 - 27/01/2012 12:57:49    1101268

Collie09

I see their fans are crying about the issue now, my God do they ever stop? As the famous song goes

'Same old Kerry, always whinging...'

We're nearly as bad as Donegal now for it :-)

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 27/01/2012 13:11:29    1101277

I'll give you my honest opinion on this. I heard about it and read the newspaper articles and was thinking that it must have been some right battle. Then I saw the video and was thinking 'hold on there must be more'. I have seen worse all-ins in the GAA, rugby, soccer etc. There was a lot of handbag (sorry) stuff with a few digs thrown in.

Those who were not on the field of play should be suspended for sure and some of the players involved but I am still left wondering were are the proportions on this whole incident.

One rule that needs to be implemented hard is the '3rd man rule', the 3rd man in gets an automatic red card, as usually, even if his involvement is innocuous it can inflame the situation. So bang red card and people will learn, even if the claim is they are trying to calm things down.

A rule may also need to be introduced around holding onto the ball to delay a line ball or free. From what I can see this seemed to be the starting point of the whole thing. Automatic yellow card.

You may see some handy red or yellow cards thrown out as a result but you need to treat the disease not the symptoms.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 27/01/2012 13:16:34    1101280

good post witnof

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 27/01/2012 13:24:20    1101286

TyroneTim thank you for the compliment, I just wanted to show we have a strong tradition.

RangerDanger (Armagh) - Posts: 101 - 27/01/2012 13:26:35    1101289

Just when you thought Dromid couldnt stoop any lower along comes someone from the club whos contacted Croker for his money back.
Now Crokes want segregation from Crossmaglen, should be the other way around lads in case the "Kerry Syndrome" is contagious; ship of fools comes to mind here.
They have both brought shame on their clubs and county, keep it up lads as we are all having a great laugh at your expense; whos the next Kerry club to make clowns out of themselves?.
lts got that bad now even Down people are siding with the Tyrone club, thats a new one on me!!!

An dun abú

bigtomsbreeks (Down) - Posts: 130 - 27/01/2012 13:35:20    1101293

In fairness, the Dromid supporter asking for a refund is making a complete fool of himself.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 27/01/2012 13:56:32    1101313

Never understood the Down Tyrone thing..one of the few counties we don't border so don't have the Armagh/Derry/Donegal/Monaghan neighbours thing

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 27/01/2012 13:58:04    1101314

bigtomsbreeks I know that fella. He's from Cavan originally.

Our Sourthern biased media isn't doing us any favours with this. It must be part of a bigger plan to make the North look bad.
What you reckon Ulsterman???

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 27/01/2012 13:58:06    1101315

Why was the Gooch poked in the eye?

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8787 - 27/01/2012 14:06:36    1101324

RangerDanger
County: Armagh

superglue, it's hard not to take that wrong meaning out of the statement, given the timing, given the media furore over what happened in the Dromid-Derrytresk game, also in light of the comments made by the former Chairman Patrick O'Sullivan about our fans, it in my mind was a clear slight at the club. The teeling comment was that there needs to be more stewarding at the subs benches. The inference from that is that either our subs cannot be trusted to stay in their position or that the Dr Crokes subs need protection from our fans!! I presume he has no fears that there will be any issue with his own fans abusing our subs and his own subs staying in their own dug out.

We are a proud club and have been central to bringing the club game to its current high profile. We are confident and dare I say it a bit full of ourselves but no more so than any other great team, and that is one of the reasons we are a great team. However, we also have a great respect for the traditions of the game and great respect for the people who play the game and history has shown that. Gone are the times where our problems were the focus of the news around us and we are proud of that. The behind the veil remarks that were made this week may in your mind have been innocent but they were a clear attempt to undermine our club, undermine our team and undermine our people while in the same breath force the hand of the GAA to stack the cards a bit more heavily in your favour. It won't work and the one thing that will happen on the 18th is that the best footballing team will win the match. The game will not be won through the pages of the Kerry Examiner but on the grass of O'Moore Park.

The Croke have put in a fair request for a block of tickets so supporters can be together. There's nothing wrong with that. A hooligan element from Crossmaglen did cause trouble in the replayed final a few years back. It was the media who put 2 and 2 together and put the story out as being looking for segregation.

Ambrose O'Donovan had been struck on the head by a Crossmaglen supporter after he was sent off and substitutes were "intimidated" by a Crossmaglen water-carrier and alleging Gardaí twice had to intervene to stop Crokes' substitutes being threatened by Crossmaglen fans. Patrick O'Sullivan, then club chairman and current Kerry chairman, is reported to have said at the time: "The club is very bitter about the stuff that went on, far more so than on the yellow card. I've had a lot of parents on to me expressing their disgust, and looking for action from the GAA. We had 40 kids there on Sunday, and it was a poor advert for the GAA. If this is the kind of antics that Crossmaglen are going to bring to the game, then it is little wonder Ulster football gets so much bad publicity."
This paragraph above about hooliganism in that final and an innocent request for a block of tickets has been put out by the media as looking for segregation.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8787 - 27/01/2012 14:13:09    1101329

substitutes were "intimidated" by a Crossmaglen

Crokes & Dromid should take it all a compliment.
Sure isn't Intimidation the sincerest form of flattery?

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 27/01/2012 14:21:58    1101336