Trouble at the All-Ireland club JFC semi

Tyrone people just go a bit crazy at football matches.
This is a scientific fact.
They're really lovely people an hour or so after the final whistle though.

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 23/01/2012 12:07:11    1098313

I don't remember once in my post singling out Tyrone. It's a growing trend in general. Nice of you mayotyroneman to point out the failings in my own County. Yes.. i agree with you. It is bad and a disgrace. My own club are no saints and i don't sit in an ivory tower but any team i was ever mentor over i always taught them to show respect and we as a club are trying to put this to right throughout the club.
Can you answer me why you think a melee and people being hit can be vindicated on here by saying that someone just can't take their beating? I'm asking an honest question when i ask you do you believe that supporters coming onto a pitch and abusing officals and opposing teams verbally or physically is really passion about the game? If so maybe i'm involved in the wrong organisation.
Fair play to you if you spend 3 or 4 days a week at your club. Are you involved with a team perchance?... perhaps an underage team? If so do you teach them to play the game hard but show respect to officials and opposing clubs?

kingpuck71 (Derry) - Posts: 691 - 23/01/2012 12:13:20    1098323

Living down in South Kerry Tyrone through and through but from talking to a few dromid people that attended the game any niggles or incidents were 50 50 but I feel any supporter that attacks a player should be banned from all GAA activity . Love the Tyrone Kerry matches , league or championship , proper banter but there is a love-hate relationship between the two .

RenardRedHand (Tyrone) - Posts: 547 - 23/01/2012 12:21:00    1098333

Cant be giving out about the tyrone team for the melee saying its a disgrace. It happens every weekend in every county whether it be junior, intermediate or senior.
Can never condone fans getting involved, or even subs. Sickens me when you see a sub come on and head straight for some lad and hit him a cheap shot when he has no right to be on the pitch! Gaa authorities not effective enough when it comes to dealing with supporters

soreknee (Westmeath) - Posts: 166 - 23/01/2012 12:33:36    1098343

To put the matter straight, i wasn't at the game and how many were really there, if we listen to the radio and the hype there were thousands at it:
1. Any player hit by a handbag is wrong - totally unacceptable, weather it is a handbag/umbrella/ flag - they can all be weapons
2. to target a player from the outset is wrong - many teams to it - but it is still wrong - even Kerry do it, T. Kennelly did it in the first minute of an All-Ireland - but it is still wrong
3. reading and listening to the events - both sides are biased - it takes 2 to tangle
4. As i said there were 2 Kerry players sent off - that's a fact - were they innocent or guilty - one was sent off for striking
5. no team either the kerry or tyrone team wants a game to end in a farce..
6. but there is a worrying trend here if a kerry team looses........somebody is at fault

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1691 - 23/01/2012 12:47:03    1098360

kingpuck...i certainly don't need any lectures from you about mentoring and how to deal with young people,or indeed for that matter with rogue elements in tyrone football...coylers elbow couldn't have put it better..we in tyrone get a bit carried away during a match, and our passion for the game spills over during the game, but we don't need lectures from the so called "saints" of football...when tyrone naievly went down to croke park in the eighties and nineties..and got seriously hammered, and i mean physically hammered, we were told to button our lips and "man up"...now we have to listen to lectures from the great and the good from kerry and galway, as to how we should behave in a gentlemanly way....in kerry and galway you have no idea of what it was like living in the marshes of derrtresk on the shores of the lough being the whipping boys of tyrone football for so many years, and seen as "yokels"...yesterday was the day derrytresk stood up as a community and claimed their place in croke park....for far too long they were too quiet langusishing in the bottom half of tyrone division 3..now they will have their day in croke park,and no amount of whinging will take that way from the men and women from the hill

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 23/01/2012 12:49:51    1098362

gaafan2012

1098150 In any other sport, if a player is attacked by a fan it is a big issue. That woman that attacked o sullivan should be banned for life.

Certainly agree with this post. And to those comments about this being due to some sort of rivalry between Kerry & Tyrone, or someone can't take their beating or this is how the supporters are, blah blah, it's completely missing the point

A supporter attacking a player in any match, anywhere at any time is unacceptable in every measurable sense & appropriate measures must be handed down. It is important though to take a view that is based on the available evidence at hand i.e. the video evidence and ban those trouble makers for life

But it is inherently wrong to tar all Tyrone supporters with the one brush. It's time for the GAA to use the security & video evidence available for incidents such as these and hand down stiff punishments to the trouble makers and ensure it serves as a warning to the rest of the supporters, irrespective of where they're from

Failing that, I fear the only solution may be to ban supporters of teams entirely, but that is too drastic at this point.

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 23/01/2012 12:55:30    1098366

So Dromid ended the game with 13 men. Well done to Derrytresk for letting their football do the talking in the face of intense provocation and cynical tactics used by the opposition. I trust the Garda have cordoned off the stadium and a forensics team are leaving no stone unturned in the efforts to find this mysterious handbag, handbag related assault has drastically increased in recent years and it is quickly becoming the scourge of modern day Ireland. In all honesty this is getting ridiculous now, take your beating like men

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 23/01/2012 12:59:38    1098370

The problem I have is that the righteous high horsers on this thread are almost 100% guaranteed to be either struck dumb or completely hypocritical when their own team is associated with incidents like this.

These are isolated incidents and a number of foolish posters have used this opportunity to get their generalising and stereotyping sticks out. That is wrong too

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 23/01/2012 13:02:46    1098375

Like there is actually a Meath Poster high-horsing a Tyrone poster about teams targeting the opponents best player??!?!?! hahaha only in GAA!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 23/01/2012 13:04:49    1098377

Sounds like a possible film for the future the way your making it out mayotyroneman "have there day"...sounds like some american football epic from the 90s. No excuse for violence, end of!

soreknee (Westmeath) - Posts: 166 - 23/01/2012 13:06:18    1098379

Never mind lifetime bans; if a supporter attacks a player they should be criminally prosecuted. They have nothing to do with the game and as such it's nothing less than assault.

cobby (Galway) - Posts: 27 - 23/01/2012 13:21:32    1098388

cuchulainn35 - no-one in Kerry is disputing the outcome of the match. Derrytresk were the better team. That was evident from the start.
There is no trend here.
The issue is with the Derrytresk subs and supporters coming onto the pitch fighting.

Mayotyroneman you'd swear you were up against the kingpins of Kerry football.
Dromid isn't some sprawling metropolis. Plenty of marshy land out there.

We expect people to behave themselves. It's not too much to ask is it?

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 23/01/2012 13:29:06    1098394

A lot of fuss over nothing

tyronelegend (Tyrone) - Posts: 270 - 23/01/2012 13:32:29    1098398

The woman with the handbag should had have it, and everything in it confiscated by the nearest steward - see how smart she is then. The Derrytresk supporters at the county final were certainly very passionate - but there has to be a limit and this sort of thing and it is giving Tyrone GAA a very bad name. However, mindless comments on twitter from Dick Clerkin and the likes don't help matters. Plenty of decent Tyrone fans at club and county level never get involved in brawls at matches. The actions of one or two Derrytresk fans should not take away from their great win yesterday either. As for what happened on the pitch, I am sure Declan O'Sullivan and his teammates will get over it and come back more determined next year. Sounds like they were not 100% innocent either???

paddywack09 (Tyrone) - Posts: 150 - 23/01/2012 13:35:03    1098403

Nobody is blaming Tyrone supporters in general. I have always found them to be good humoured sound fans over the yeras. This was obviously a pocket of fanatical club 'supporters' who,and it has happened in other counties also. who think violence is the solution against players. Get the video evidence and deal with it and suspend those identified. The treatment of Declan also brings to mind that referees,linesmen and umpires constantly witness abuse,verbally and physically and do nothing about it, The GAA HQ instead of tinkering with the rules should have the present ones clearly enforced to give fair play to those players who are earmarked for abuse.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 23/01/2012 13:59:56    1098425

Bit of a biased account of things there. Both teams as bad as each other i thought. Declan O'Sullivan did get a bit of abuse but that was to be expected .. a kerry senior player was always going to be singled out.

awful comment......why should he have to suffer dirty play because of his talent?....easy to know you have never had to worry about it....

sportsfan14 (USA) - Posts: 281 - 23/01/2012 14:02:10    1098430

Jinxie Let me get in here with this , firstly the gaa has gone to the dogs with disgracefull scenes everywhere lately and believe me till life time bans and proper sanctions are handed down this will continue and players in your county at club level push refs but get off scot free so till your county gets there house in order no point slating others tut tut .

But back to the point the gaa and clubs are to blame for this for allowing this type of thuggery to happen and another sad day for the gaa ,

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 23/01/2012 14:07:28    1098439

lads..i've heard it all now!..joe duffy is at this moment leading the nations next moral panic about those nasty tyrone people...it's time to lock up your daughters!....this is now getting ridiculous...why didnt this mornings daily miror carry a photograph of the brawl in the munster northampton match...why isn't joe duffy giving out about the punches landed by munster and northampton players?...the munster match was much more high profile than a junior football match, but hey lets focus on another GAA brawl"...i'll tellyou one thing i'd rather get hit by a handbag by a woman from derrytesk than a haymaker from a northampton prop forward....pathetic!

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 23/01/2012 14:13:13    1098447

Exactly right RenardRedHand. We all know some things do happen on the field during a game, guys get booked or sent off, there can be pushing and shoving etc. It isnt what we want to see but it does happen. However the line has to be drawn at others coming onto the field or approaching players after the game. These people arent involved in 'the heat of the battle' and anything they do is premeditated. Furthermore, it opens the door to all sorts. Anyone who comes onto the field for anything other than helping someone who is seriously injured should be automatically banned from GAA games.

Furthermore, the people who have tried to use the fact that two lads were sent off in the game as a type of balance are a disgrace in my opinion. This pack mentality that seems to prevail whenever tyrone are involved in something unsavoury needs to stop. This isnt a question of who was the better side, it was generally accepted on all sides that the tyrone team were better, this goes beyond the game they just played, you have to look at the bigger picture. What would people say if that happened to their brother/father/son? Players shouldnt have anything to worry about other than the football of the opposition. DOS is one of the best footballers in the country, how can people do such a thing and still say they are gaa men/women?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 23/01/2012 14:15:00    1098448