Tyrone V Derry - McKenna Cup Final

Derry looked comfortable right up to were conway was sent off. They looked in full control but well done to tyrone made the the spare man count. Have to say last night there was some lovely points taken...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 29/01/2012 09:36:48    1101964

tyrone new guys were really very impressive....mattie donnelly cathal mccarron michael murphy ronan oneill as well as some of the old hands.mulligan and s oneill were back to their best.derry's loss of a man will put a question mark over this tyrone win so next match against kildare will tell us a lot.

toe2hand (Galway) - Posts: 223 - 29/01/2012 11:19:04    1101985

Delighted to see Derry beat last night. The whinging from their manager to the referee when Colm Cavanagh was down with a serious injury was disgraceful.

Collie09 (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 29/01/2012 12:02:42    1101998

Enjoyed the game last night some great scores o niells being the pick of them just after half time. But what was the story with the ref, there wasn't one dirty stroke in the game yet the ref kept giving booking after booking, he was terrible he even gave a free in for mulligan who did the worst dive I've ever seen, and then he gave a peno at the end for what? Terrible game from the ref last night. I wouldn't be to disappointed if I were Derry the sending off was the changing of the game but up to that you were playing some great stuff. I've always said if Derry could get to croke park with the two Bradley's up front with there pace and that space they would trouble anyone.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/01/2012 12:47:32    1102016

Enjoyed the game last night some great scores o niells being the pick of them just after half time. But what was the story with the ref, there wasn't one dirty stroke in the game yet the ref kept giving booking after booking, he was terrible he even gave a free in for mulligan who did the worst dive I've ever seen, and then he gave a peno at the end for what? Terrible game from the ref last night. I wouldn't be to disappointed if I were Derry the sending off was the changing of the game but up to that you were playing some great stuff. I've always said if Derry could get to croke park with the two Bradley's up front with there pace and that space they would trouble anyone.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/01/2012 12:47:33    1102017

paddyogall

I am very much looking forward to this one, more so then the FBD league final on tonight. It would be nice to see the underdog win this game, however I think Derry will have too much for them. Derry have a massive price in the bookies, easy money!

I hope you didn't play on the exchanges last night Paddy old boy , but then again a Fool and his money are easily parted!. Tir Eoghain abú.

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 29/01/2012 13:49:38    1102039

I am glad this match was televised on TV, so the rest of Ireland has got a wee look at Tyrone. We have been unfairly written off from the start of the year apart from the psoter Cute Kerry Hoor giving us some credit. Last year, hammered by Dublin followed by retirements of regular household names. The conclusion made by others was that Tyrone are finished, gone, never to be heard of again. The freakishly good team Tyrone has had is now history. Were we unfairly written off? Are we not capable of replacing 4 to 5 retired players with equally talented younger models? Are we not a large enough county with and anbundance of talent at our disposal to continue with our recent successes. As Gerry Adams once pointed out "They haven't gone away you know"

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 29/01/2012 13:57:07    1102045

Tyrone shouldnt get carried away with last nights victory sending off changed the game 3 or 4 games into the league will see a true picture of were the teams are,dreadfull ref again but sure thats the norm both teams should do well in div 2.

93vintageyear (Derry) - Posts: 301 - 29/01/2012 14:18:13    1102060

Pure Dirt from Derry in the first half, must have went out with the plan to rough up the young Tyrone lads, kind of back fired!

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 29/01/2012 14:29:00    1102072

steady the buffs cacsmckilly no need for that . John Brennan is a man known to tell his teams whether club or county to go out and get stuck into the opposition. Great win I new Mickey and the lads wouldn't lose a 3rd McKenna cup final on the bounce .

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 29/01/2012 14:48:49    1102081

cacsmckilly

Pure Dirt from Derry in the first half, must have went out with the plan to rough up the young Tyrone lads, kind of back fired!

is this the same game where three tyrone players targeted g o'kane in the first 5 min, and joe mcmahon running 50 yards to shout abuse at danny devlin after your goal. tyrone are no saints

brolly_4_pres (Derry) - Posts: 356 - 29/01/2012 15:25:00    1102106

cacsmckilly...you're a good laugh i enjoy you...tyrone for sam...

unclederry (Derry) - Posts: 67 - 29/01/2012 15:34:05    1102111

What about mulligans dive??? Embarrassing.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/01/2012 15:36:41    1102113

Great to see peter robinson at the game, fair play to him,

millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 29/01/2012 16:15:41    1102141

cacsmckilly

1102045 I am glad this match was televised on TV, so the rest of Ireland has got a wee look at Tyrone. We have been unfairly written off from the start of the year apart from the psoter Cute Kerry Hoor giving us some credit. Last year, hammered by Dublin followed by retirements of regular household names. The conclusion made by others was that Tyrone are finished, gone, never to be heard of again. The freakishly good team Tyrone has had is now history. Were we unfairly written off? Are we not capable of replacing 4 to 5 retired players with equally talented younger models? Are we not a large enough county with and anbundance of talent at our disposal to continue with our recent successes. As Gerry Adams once pointed out "They haven't gone away you know"

settle your head buddy most posters in fairness said tyrone were now a work in progress and not just forgotten although it is only the mckenna cup so i wouldnt be getting to excited just yet the NFL will tell a few tales,and also the game changed very quick when derry went down to 14 men dont get me wrong im remaining a neutral on this wasnt to bothered who won last night either but what did stand out the ref was poor again....

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 29/01/2012 16:24:21    1102145

Cool your jets there cacs, this team is a log way off challenging for honours so lets enjoy this and accept it for what it is.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 29/01/2012 17:03:33    1102172

Good win for Tyrone last night. I was disappointed with Derry after the good start they made. The sending off didn't help their cause but they seemed to throw the towel in very easily. That said, Tyrone played well and deserved the win. It will be a different story in Omagh in two weeks time when two league points are on offer. Tyrone are a long way from the finished article. I'll be surprised if we make it out of Div 2 this year, but here's hoping we can. Onward to Croker!

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 29/01/2012 17:14:13    1102178

Thumbs up to Tyrone for a fantastic performance,thumbs down to Mulligan for his theatrics.Are the days going when Gaa people can lecture soccer people about player integrity?

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 29/01/2012 17:26:56    1102186

the road, if your going to write negative bile, could you keep it for the 'dromid/derrytresk
blown out of all proportion' topic! I for one am getting a bit sick of you!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 29/01/2012 17:50:08    1102199

Which colours was Robinson wearing? ;)

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3154 - 29/01/2012 17:57:06    1102206