Tyrone V Derry - McKenna Cup Final

EnolaGay

1101292 No real surprises in the Tyrone team. Harte has returned to the tried and trusted to try and beat Derry.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I wouldn't fully agree with that - from memory, I think he has only selected 6 of those who started against Dublin in our last championship outing. Yes, it is the strongest side Mickey has selected so far this year, but there are still a few experiments in there. Mattie Donnelly and Peter Hughes are newcomers in attack, while Aidan McCrory and Mickey Murphy have seen very little league football in the past (dont think either of them have ever played in the championship). PJ Quinn, although around for a few years, has hardly played since 2009, so I think it is a fair mix of the old and new.

Derry, on the other hand, are very close to full strength.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 27/01/2012 15:13:46    1101373

Derry is no way near full strength for this game Eoin bradley,decky mullan,kielts charlie james,friel,c mullan,muldoon,d,onaghy,scullion,mc camley,holly,mc guckin,some players i can think of that would probably feature for derry if werent available through injury or work commitments.

93vintageyear (Derry) - Posts: 301 - 27/01/2012 15:36:01    1101392

EnolaGay

1101292 No real surprises in the Tyrone team. Harte has returned to the tried and trusted to try and beat Derry.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I wouldn't fully agree with that - from memory, I think he has only selected 6 of those who started against Dublin in our last championship outing. Yes, it is the strongest side Mickey has selected so far this year, but there are still a few experiments in there. Mattie Donnelly and Peter Hughes are newcomers in attack, while Aidan McCrory and Mickey Murphy have seen very little league football in the past (dont think either of them have ever played in the championship). PJ Quinn, although around for a few years, has hardly played since 2009, so I think it is a fair mix of the old and new.

Derry, on the other hand, are very close to full strength.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Would agree with you Thomas Clarke, it is the best team Harte has at the moment - still fairly experienced though- 5 of the team were involved in some way V Dublin last year (McMahon, Perter Harte, Dermot Carlin, Colm Cavanagh and Martin Penrose) and with Owen Mulligan and Stephen O Neil they shouldn't be wanting in the leadership department either - still a very tough one to call

letitinlong (Tipperary) - Posts: 24 - 27/01/2012 15:51:38    1101405

93vintageyear
County: Derry

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Are you seriously saying that those dozen or so players you named will all be pushing for places on the Derry championship 15 next year? 3 or 4 might make it, but the vast majority of what Brennan has selected for tomorrow night's game are likely to be on the Derry first 15 come June.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 27/01/2012 16:16:02    1101421

Derry is no way near full strength for this game Eoin bradley,decky mullan,kielts charlie james,friel,c mullan,muldoon,d,onaghy,scullion,mc camley,holly,mc guckin,some players i can think of that would probably feature for derry if werent available through injury or work commitments.

so derry have 12 players missing for tomorrow night what bull. who are the players they are are going to replace or is the new derry team going to have 25 players

rahillyman (Tyrone) - Posts: 314 - 27/01/2012 16:22:05    1101425

Derry missing Muldoon, the Kielts and Friel players who are probably first team starters. Tyrone missing Gormley, Ricey, Hub and Sean Cavanagh? Is there anymore who will be realistically definite starters come June?

unclederry (Derry) - Posts: 67 - 27/01/2012 16:48:41    1101444

Tyrone putting out a fairly strong team there.

northpole (Derry) - Posts: 739 - 27/01/2012 17:08:30    1101457

Some of those players i named would start the rest probably in the squad so i will get back to you when we name our championship team to see how many in mc kenna line up starts in june.

93vintageyear (Derry) - Posts: 301 - 27/01/2012 17:43:05    1101484

the two kielts, ciaran mullan, michael friel, enda muldoon all started in the ulster final, eoin bradley and john mccamley injured and ulster club young player of the year craigbane's lee moore all to come in, Brennan building strong squad and just think a few haters once said derry are a one man team. Tomorrows not important bigger days ahead for Brennan's boys this summer

brolly_4_pres (Derry) - Posts: 356 - 27/01/2012 19:30:45    1101540

Looking forward to seeing this game. How is paddy Bradley moving so far this season?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/01/2012 17:52:12    1101824

Derry playing well at the moment leading by 5 just as i type Derrys James Conway has got sent off

b.mullins (Dublin) - Posts: 1413 - 28/01/2012 19:48:55    1101877

Tyrone are woeful! It doesn't bode well for them, even with an
extra man! Halftime can't come quickly enough!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 28/01/2012 19:55:34    1101882

A scrappy start to the game! Some great scores by Derry,
however their negativity is taking away from their great
attacking ability! Tyrone are lucky to be in it, they got a
lifeline and are back in it.
There is no love lost between these lads.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 28/01/2012 20:14:34    1101892

Derry imploded after losing a man! If they had concentrated on playing football
in the first half they would have won the game. Tyrone outplayed them in the
second half. A dubious penalty decision kept the scoreline respectable for derry.
Tyrone have alot to do before next saturday. Always great to beat your neighbours.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 28/01/2012 21:13:36    1101923

Another season of dubious refereeing to look forward to if tonight's game is anything to go by.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 28/01/2012 21:18:35    1101924

derry were going fine until the sending off [any one know what for]and it was easy for tyrone the 2nd half with the extra man to comfortably win the match.

93vintageyear (Derry) - Posts: 301 - 28/01/2012 21:23:54    1101927

93vintageyear
Second yellow I think, not sure. Derry lacked discipline in the first half
and it cost them the game. This is not in anyway a biased opinion! lol
Should be a good league game.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 28/01/2012 21:42:15    1101937

loyal2theroyal everyone knows that all the bad refs get the pre season games .Its usually the only games that they get but that still doesnt excuse the terrible tackling sported by both teams there tonight.

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 28/01/2012 21:49:48    1101946

Jaysus in the 2nd half the referee gave frees for looking crooked at a fella. He must have got his orders after the melee last week in Portlaoise !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 28/01/2012 21:55:35    1101954

Derry were flying early on, dominating midfield, nice quick ball into the forwards...............but lost their shape completely when they had the man sent off, which appeared to be a straight red, a striking offence I assume but since the cameras didn't pick it up I can only guess. Tyrone played some lovely stuff though, exploited the spare man perfectly, they're off to a flyer for the season and I can see them breezing through Ulster this year.

Stephen O' Neill's point in the second half from near the corner was an absolute beauty, brilliant footballer.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 28/01/2012 21:58:31    1101957