Tyrone V Derry - McKenna Cup Final

A quick glance at Derrys style of play to date would suggest that they have indeed studied the donegal template very closeley. They have introduced newcomers into the full back area, but added increased cover / or a system to negate attacks on it. i.e natural half backs named as half forwards who invariably drop very deep and get behind the ball at all times (think McGoldricks & Gerard O'Kane)

On Saturday evening, Derry plan A will be to tempt Tyrone Half backs forward, force turnovers, and punt fast / low diagonal ball for Bradley & possibly O'Boyle to run onto. To Be fair Bradley is exceptional in this aspect of the game, winning clean ball or else breaking it at first and winning the follow up.

Also - whilst they were involved in another low scoring affair yesterday its worth comparing the Derry Scoring average in the McKenna cup group stages in 2011 & 2012
Derry - 2011 McKenna Cup, 60 points for and 34conceded.
Derry - 2012 McKenna Cup, 43 points for and 35 conceded.
So the facts would also suggest that they are heading the the direction of a very defensive style of play. Thats 17 points less scored in just 3 games.

Its a bit early in the year to call Derry 'Donegal mark2' but the signs are definitely there.

redhandmacca (Tyrone) - Posts: 240 - 23/01/2012 15:45:23    1098602

redhandmacca

We'll see at the weekend, i would be surprised to see Derry play this way since Brennan was such an outspoken critic of overly defensive play last year.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 23/01/2012 15:53:01    1098614

I wish some of this Tyrone optimism was infectious. Tyrone have beat an average Queen's side, a Div 3 team and a Div 4 team twice so far this year. Derry have beat two Div 1 teams, a decent UUJ team and a Div 3 team. I think Derry would be justified favourites on Saturday night. I don't understand how any Tyrone fan could "fancy Tyrone to win this one with a bit to spare"

Great to see the game on TG4, though I imagine that will impact on the crowd. 8,800 odd paying spectators in yesterday was a great crowd

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 23/01/2012 16:02:46    1098628

redhandmacca

1098602 A quick glance at Derrys style of play to date would suggest that they have indeed studied the donegal template very closeley. They have introduced newcomers into the full back area, but added increased cover / or a system to negate attacks on it. i.e natural half backs named as half forwards who invariably drop very deep and get behind the ball at all times (think McGoldricks & Gerard O'Kane)

On Saturday evening, Derry plan A will be to tempt Tyrone Half backs forward, force turnovers, and punt fast / low diagonal ball for Bradley & possibly O'Boyle to run onto. To Be fair Bradley is exceptional in this aspect of the game, winning clean ball or else breaking it at first and winning the follow up.

Also - whilst they were involved in another low scoring affair yesterday its worth comparing the Derry Scoring average in the McKenna cup group stages in 2011 & 2012
Derry - 2011 McKenna Cup, 60 points for and 34conceded.
Derry - 2012 McKenna Cup, 43 points for and 35 conceded.
So the facts would also suggest that they are heading the the direction of a very defensive style of play. Thats 17 points less scored in just 3 games.

Its a bit early in the year to call Derry 'Donegal mark2' but the signs are definitely there.

------

Houl on a minute there. So you're saying because we've conceded more we're playing a more defensive game. Lets not forget the fact that Paddy Bradley and Conleth Giligan were on fire in last years McKenna cup.

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 23/01/2012 16:08:54    1098639

derry ledd...how can you possibly compare tyrone to derry?..totally different tactics...were you in armagh yesterday...derry's game plan revolves around pulling men deep..leaving bradley inside on his own with gilligan playing slightly withdrawn..afterknocking the ballinto the corner for bradley, they allmove out of defence to support him, but its not done at any great pace, but very methodical...
tyrone however are playing with a 3 man inside line, and then move the ball at pace out of defence while trying to get the ball into the inside forwards before the other team can retreat...both teams have very contrasting styles!

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 23/01/2012 16:13:03    1098645

@ EnolaGay - you can only beat whats put in front of you, I respect your comment about the divisional status of their respective opponents to date, but if you really wanted you could sit all night and pick holes in both Tyrone & Derry's performances to date. i.e the Donegal team that Derry beat wasnt really the team that earned promotion to Div1 last year? Similarly Benny Coulters comments on the value of the McKenna cup would suggest he wasnt too bothered by defeat yesterday?

Had a look at the betting odds, Tyrone are warm favourites, 8/11 to win the match or 4/7 to lift the trophy so my comment perhaps wasnt as outlandish as you make it seem.
Tyrone for example started 2 completely different forward lines in the two match's against Fermanagh, so every teams form is a bit clouded and its hard to know their true worth. I just suspect Harte will want to lift the trophy come Saturday night, and I believe he will pick the team to do just that.

Also - players and management play down their own chances in the media enough, with regurgitated sterile interviews - so if a fan believes his team will win "with a bit to spare" i think he should come out and say it. It brings a bit of craic to the debate anyhow.

redhandmacca (Tyrone) - Posts: 240 - 23/01/2012 16:54:38    1098689

Unlike the bookies I would make this game 50/50. Last years final was a good one and I expect the same come Saturday night. However for both teams it is a big year as neither team look near the standard of Dublin, Kerry, Cork, Kildare etc at the moment.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1800 - 23/01/2012 19:16:08    1098823

I think Byanthon is nearer the mark than the bookies' 4/7 Tyrone, 13/8 Derry. I would suspect the odds reflect more the weight of money than any firm opinions on the form of either side so far. Anyway, I have Derry backed at 7/2 from last week, which does look good value at this stage. I have to admit, though, that I often have a wee bet on my own team, a habit which has so far failed to make me a rich man.

doiregael2 (Derry) - Posts: 337 - 23/01/2012 19:44:16    1098859

redhandmacca.....a very quick glance it was indeed on your behalf, Gerard o'kane at half forward, whilst he may have played defence all of his career he was always one to pop up with a score, therefore brennan gave him a go at half forward, think he nearly got 4 points in both games against uuj and donegal not quite sure, but he certaintly could not be labelled as just a defensive option. Poor analysis and memory on your belhalf, with tyrone having joe mcmahon their wing half forward this last number of years on a few occasions?...where he start his inter county career?...

As for saturday, tough to call as always with these games...would rather have the 2 league points when we meet in another few weeks time....

unclederry (Derry) - Posts: 67 - 23/01/2012 20:21:09    1098912

Hard to know where either team are. Fermanagh were terrible and Down were not much better (more defensive than any of the other 3 teams on show). Tyrone were incredibly wasteful in the first half. The forward line seems to need Stephen O'Neill to give them a bit of shape, very toothless without him. Lots of questions still about the younger players. Derry defended well, were good with the ball and have some dangerous forwards. Derry are maybe a bit stronger at this stage. Hope I'm wrong.

MB1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 360 - 23/01/2012 21:17:18    1098979

Is the game in Armagh again? I think it will be competitve, moreso than the previous games. Derry have come on alot in last couple of years but they had to really as they were in dire straits for a long time. But has the old Derry rift healed, we all know about it how they are more loyal to their clubs than the county. I heard on many occaision that these Derry men would drop their county at the first wiff of strife, whereas they would live and die for their club only. Thats what Tyrone need to take advantage of, their weak will.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 24/01/2012 08:55:03    1099063

redhandmacca - sure thats all it is at the end of the day, a bit of craic.

I find it hard to believe that the bookies would have Tyrone as such strong favourites, there is certainly more value in Derry at 11/8. But like you said, and I said, it will be a completely different line up from both on Sat night. The old realiables will be back and the younger players, who have mostly failed to make an impact, will have to sit it out until next January again.

Should be an interesting game regardless

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 24/01/2012 09:18:11    1099078

EnolaGay

I have to disagree with you there that the younger players have failed to make an impact. There will be at least four new players in the Tyrone Team for the Ulster Championships. Sure enough a few of them have not been up to scratch and its their own fault for taking the opportunity Harte has handed to them. But there are 3 or 4 who look very good and i'd expecting to see them alot more this year.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 24/01/2012 10:37:55    1099152

cacs.... you are trying so hard to get a rise!!!

kingpuck71 (Derry) - Posts: 691 - 24/01/2012 10:56:59    1099184

cacs - undoubtedly there will be new players getting gametime, but I don't think that has been brought upon by their outstanding performances. The only reason they will get a game is because older players like McGuigan and Jordan have called it a day. But that's not their fault and fair play to the younger lads, I hope they make a good go of it

Tyrone are going through a major transitional stage, and I think winning McKenna Cups will be about the height of the achievements we can expect for the next few years anyway

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 24/01/2012 11:29:59    1099225

cacsmckilly

Is the game in Armagh again? I think it will be competitve, moreso than the previous games. Derry have come on alot in last couple of years but they had to really as they were in dire straits for a long time. But has the old Derry rift healed, we all know about it how they are more loyal to their clubs than the county. I heard on many occaision that these Derry men would drop their county at the first wiff of strife, whereas they would live and die for their club only. Thats what Tyrone need to take advantage of, their weak will

Brennan boys have a team mentality pulling together in the right direction, building a strong squad with a club atmosphere. To be honest i'd rather get the big win in the belly of the dragon in Omagh lge game Feb, with fond memories of 2006

brolly_4_pres (Derry) - Posts: 356 - 24/01/2012 12:50:22    1099300

Tyrone putting out a very strong team for saturday

1 John Devine - Aireagal Chiaráin
2 Aidan McCrory - Aireagal Chiaráin
3 Justin McMahon - An Omaigh
4 PJ Quinn - Baile na Móna
5 Cathal McCarron - An Droim Mór
6 Peter Harte - Aireagal Chiaráin
7 Dermot Carlin - Coill an Chlochair
8 Michael Murphy - An Gallbhaile
9 Colm Cavanagh - An Mhaigh
10 Matthew Donnelly - Trí Leac
11 Peter Hughes - Eiscreach
12 Martin Penrose - Achadh Uí Aráin
13 Owen Mulligan - An Chorra Chríochach
14 Mark Donnelly - An Charraig Mhór
15 Stephen O'Neill - Clann na nGael
16 Pascal McConnell - An Baile Nua
17 Aidan Cassidy - Eochar
18 Conor Clarke - An Omaigh
19 Kyle Coney - Ard Bó
20 Jonathan Lafferty - Urnaí
21 Damian McCaul - Domhnach Mór
22 Niall McKenna - Domhnach Mór
23 Joe McMahon - An Omaigh
24 Stephen McNulty - Cluain Eo
25 Ronan O'Neill - An Omaigh
26 Sean O'Neill - An Droim Mhór

tyronelegend (Tyrone) - Posts: 270 - 26/01/2012 21:58:39    1101143

Bring on the Noisy Neighbours a great start to the new season a game that both will give No Quarter here's to a fantastic but fair game played with all the blood and thunder that Ulster games are known for and to give the Sunday scribes the headlines for all the right reason's Tir Eoghain abú!.

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 27/01/2012 12:26:49    1101240

I am very much looking forward to this one, more so then the FBD league final on tonight. It would be nice to see the underdog win this game, however I think Derry will have too much for them. Derry have a massive price in the bookies, easy money!

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 27/01/2012 12:35:10    1101246

No real surprises in the Tyrone team. Harte has returned to the tried and trusted to try and beat Derry. Should be a cracker game, very close to call. Seen Derry at 6/4 with some bookies, massive price in my opinion..

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 27/01/2012 13:33:29    1101292