Its G.A.A all the way for me...
DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 15/01/2012 20:52:34
Well I stopped buying a certain newspaper a long time ago so I have already done my bit.
BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 15/01/2012 20:55:31
NOTHING compares!!!!! football and hurling - our national games......drives me mad when I hear Irish people bookn their trips over to English Soccar games..grrr....where would ye get the athmosphere, craic, comradrae....and never a hint of trouble......not to mention the sarcrafices our players make for the good cause...genuine sportsmen and great role models for the young....
Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 16/01/2012 08:20:30
lilliewhite
bettystown i dont think tg4 will..i dont remember the o byrne cup final last year been covered there was only kildare tv camera's at conleths..( open for correction)for the kildare v louth final..
TG4 showed the Shield Final between Meath and Dublin last year. It would be a huge surprise if they didn't show it on Sunday - if it is true that they are to show an O Byrne Cup tie.
Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 16/01/2012 09:16:48
Mollymalone County: Dublin Posts: 753
1094211 NOTHING compares!!!!! football and hurling - our national games......drives me mad when I hear Irish people bookn their trips over to English Soccar games..grrr....where would ye get the athmosphere, craic, comradrae....and never a hint of trouble......not to mention the sarcrafices our players make for the good cause...genuine sportsmen and great role models for the young....
Good man. Would I be less of an Irishman if i went over to germany to watch a soccer match? I'd also hate to think that my travelling abroad for nefarious purposes would add to your madness Do you think that there might be something genetically wrong with peoople that that dont actually have an interest in all GAA codes There seems to be an issue with a lot of GAA suporters in that only 2 of our national games are getting any support
dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 16/01/2012 15:27:24
Agree with you there Mollymalone... went ot see Carlow play
carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1875 - 16/01/2012 19:57:14
Agree with you there Mollymalone... I went ot see Carlow play the Dubs last Sunday and went in to Cullen Park yesterday to see Carlow play Laois and it was great to see both games. At a tenner it was good value and it was great to see the Dubs in full flight a few times during the game. laois too showed why they are in a better division and it was a great few gamesfor our lads at the start of the year.
Many sports fans have a problem when someone like yourself say that it amkes you feel proud and they retort with ... am I less an Irishman if I go to England to support a soccer team.. or Ireland...' to me I have made the choice for me, and its GAA. If others choose other sports then fine... and move on!
The GAA fan has had a lot to endure!
carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1875 - 16/01/2012 20:02:34
carlowman County: Carlow Posts: 816
1094647 Agree with you there Mollymalone... went ot see Carlow play
Yesterday? one poor team, the other poorer.
dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 16/01/2012 20:02:58
Anyone got highlights of Dublin v Meath in the shield final last year or the full recording of injury time at least that they could put up on YouTube?
BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 16/01/2012 20:12:41
Stats can tell you anything you like. So Coronation Street is more popular than the Gaa in Ireland! :-).
AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 16/01/2012 20:44:45
The GAA is top dog in August & September alright but what about the rest of year? They really haven't a clue how to market the game properly. The league is a joke and the championship completetely lop sided and doesn't get going in earnest until the quarter finals. The league & provincial championships should have been done away with before now and amalgamated into something meaningful but they are too slow to change.
Rugby was miles behind the GAA 20 years ago but not so much anymore. The IRFU are a professional organisation and it shows how they developed the game. I am a GAA fan and also a rugby & soccer fan and can see how rugby & soccer is being introduced to areas successfully while the GAA is just standing still if not going backwards.
Also this "Love GAA hate foreign sports" attitude doesn't help the GAA . I thought that was finished with in the 70's, people can have interest in more than 1 sport as other posters have said. I watch the Premier league but not to the level of football or rugby. There is no proper soccer league in Ireland (the league of Ireland has very little support outside Dublin) so its understandable that people will have interest in soccer in the UK. That doesn't mean that they are any less GAA supporters.
The GAA is going to have move away from its parochial thinking and get with the times if it wants to keep its top status.
county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1140 - 16/01/2012 20:46:49
1094659 Agree with you there Mollymalone... I went ot see Carlow play the Dubs last Sunday and went in to Cullen Park yesterday to see Carlow play Laois and it was great to see both games. At a tenner it was good value and it was great to see the Dubs in full flight a few times during the game. laois too showed why they are in a better division and it was a great few gamesfor our lads at the start of the year.
Many sports fans have a problem when someone like yourself say that it amkes you feel proud and they retort with ... am I less an Irishman if I go to England to support a soccer team.. or Ireland...' to me I have made the choice for me, and its GAA. If others choose other sports then fine... and move on!
Cant believe anybody would say that to you.
Why did you have to make choice?
Is it compulsory to make a choice, what sport did you decide against?
Does it really matter which sport is Top Dog?
dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 16/01/2012 20:53:28
16/01/2012 20:46:49 county man County: Limerick Posts: 495
1094724 The GAA is top dog in August & September alright but what about the rest of year? They really haven't a clue how to market the game properly. The league is a joke and the championship completetely lop sided and doesn't get going in earnest until the quarter finals. The league & provincial championships should have been done away with before now and amalgamated into something meaningful but they are too slow to change.
Rugby was miles behind the GAA 20 years ago but not so much anymore. The IRFU are a professional organisation and it shows how they developed the game. I am a GAA fan and also a rugby & soccer fan and can see how rugby & soccer is being introduced to areas successfully while the GAA is just standing still if not going backwards.
Also this "Love GAA hate foreign sports" attitude doesn't help the GAA . I thought that was finished with in the 70's, people can have interest in more than 1 sport as other posters have said. I watch the Premier league but not to the level of football or rugby. There is no proper soccer league in Ireland (the league of Ireland has very little support outside Dublin) so its understandable that people will have interest in soccer in the UK. That doesn't mean that they are any less GAA supporters.
The GAA is going to have move away from its parochial thinking and get with the times if it wants to keep its top status.
The GAA is top dog June, July, August and Early September. As a rugby supporter, if the GAA organised itself properly with everything from competition scheduling/organisation, marketing etc it should have wiped every other team sport out in most of the country and it didnt which is great as it looks like the GAA will never ever exist in great strength outside of ireland and no matter what international sports have a great precedence over sports played in just 1 country
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 16/01/2012 21:05:45
For all the talk of the rise and growing popularity there is no real proof, 1. how many new rugby clubs were formed in the last 10 years 2. very poor crowds at club rugby 3. Some counties have only 1 or 2 or no-rugby involvement 4I enjoy all sport but remember the hype with american football or cage fighting 5. the crowds at recent o'byrne and mc kenna cup games are higher than the magner league games
cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 16/01/2012 21:23:27
Mollymalone County: Dublin Posts: 753
1094211 NOTHING compares!!!!! football and hurling - our national games......drives me mad when I hear Irish people bookn their trips over to English Soccar games..grrr....where would ye get the athmosphere, craic, comradrae....and never a hint of trouble......not to mention the sarcrafices our players make for the good cause...genuine sportsmen and great role models for the young.... __________________ Here here mollymalone, well said.
brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 16/01/2012 21:36:49
The reality is the GAA sports are the most popular for 2-3 months of the year only, for the rest of the year soccer and rugby dominate. Most people enjoy a wide variety of sports anyway
bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 16/01/2012 21:36:53
The GAA might not be as popular now if it wasn't for this fixture
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tEy9z1Ul_to
BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 16/01/2012 21:49:42
Some posters here need to cop on!!!! IM well aware that loads of people (in particular MEN!) have interests in various Sports and thats fine...however I do have an issue with someone claimin to be IRISH and puttn the likes of English Soccar teams and players ahead of our National Games and Players.....Lets put it this way ye dont see too many Britts gettn over enthusiastic about Gaelic football or hurling or goin to the expense of comin over here spending money in Croke Park during the summer months...As an Irish man or woman it would seem normal and natural to have immense pride in our national games and all that they stand for and nobody can argue that our players represent all thats good and true bout "Sport", they do it for the love of the game and county or club, dont get paid a bean and then have to face into their days work on a Monday morning just like the rest of us, if thats not real Sportsmanship I dont know what is,.,,,
Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 17/01/2012 08:21:17
16/01/2012 21:23:27 cuchulainn35 County: Armagh Posts: 397
1094781 For all the talk of the rise and growing popularity there is no real proof, 1. how many new rugby clubs were formed in the last 10 years 2. very poor crowds at club rugby 3. Some counties have only 1 or 2 or no-rugby involvement 4I enjoy all sport but remember the hype with american football or cage fighting 5. the crowds at recent o'byrne and mc kenna cup games are higher than the magner league game
1. I can think of 20-25, some of which are only fielding at underage level and only thinking of expanding into fielding adult sides, eg fethard in south tipp, west clare warriors, east clare eagles, bantry bay, 2. any newcomers support munster,leinster as their team if they like the sport enough and have kids etc, they may go onb to play the game or their kids might 3. that is true but development officers paid by the provincial branchs are expanding the game 4. rugby has always had a base in ireland it might not have been hugely popular apart from internationals in the past but there has been clubs registered in ireland since the 1870s and that will never change 5. which games? munster and leinsters average gates for pro 12 games is about 18000... how many of those games have that kind of crowd
Yes this is a GAA website but why do people insist on trying to bring down rugby every chance they get. 80% of the players are irish and are representing your province and country and many of them have been extremaly successful, and give ireland yet another thing to be proud of
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 17/01/2012 09:23:30
For once, I agree with dhorse. And Mollymalone, put down your megaphone & get off your soapbox.
Who the hell are you to say someone should be obligated to prefer GAA & diss Soccer just because they're Irish? What kind of ridiculous logic is that? You might as well say the USA shouldn't compete or follow any sport other American Football or baseball, despite them having athletes in most major sports on earth
I live for the GAA (and Rugby & absolutely no interest in soccer) but I know plenty of people who live for the game of Soccer and have no interest in GAA whatsoever, considering it to be bogball or stickball or whatever the expression is. That's their choice and that's their liberty and considering the following the Premier league has in Ireland, if your blood boils every time an Irish person travels to a soccer match with their hard earned money which is theirs to spend as they wish, then you'll probably become the greatest example of Spontaneous Human Combustion on earth
Get over yourself
gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 17/01/2012 10:49:37