Anybody but Ciarraí?

TheGateKeeper

it will probably take another 10-16 years for Dublin to win it again lol,

I can wait that long no bother! Took Tyrone well over a 100 years to win one lol!

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 23/01/2012 17:15:43    1098705

Dodgy refereeing....yawn!!He should have allowed Kerry one last attack yes (as Cluxton took an age to get up to the ball) but apart from that i didnt see too much wrong.Its not fair to take away from Dublins victory like that.When you look at the Leinster final/Kildare games against Donegal/Down as well as the Wexford v Limerick game (Im probably forgetting some others too) it was a pretty acceptable referee performance.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 23/01/2012 17:19:26    1098711

PJ

1098705 TheGateKeeper

I can wait that long no bother! Took Tyrone well over a 100 years to win one lol!

Give it up lads/lassess dublin win it fair play decisions go against you one day and for you another.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 23/01/2012 17:24:51    1098715

TheRoad

'Dodgy refereeing....yawn!!He should have allowed Kerry one last attack yes (as Cluxton took an age to get up to the ball'

I agree the Ref couldve played another minute there if he wanted! I have watched the game a number of times now , I can say that Kerry got some Dodgy refereeing decisions of there own, but these things happen in most games! Thats the way it is!

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 23/01/2012 17:31:21    1098723

Dellboypolecat

1098715 PJ

1098705 TheGateKeeper

Give it up lads/lassess dublin win it fair play decisions go against you one day and for you another.

I agree Del, you were missed for doing the refereeing around here, :-)

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 23/01/2012 17:34:22    1098728

doublehop

I still dont know where the idea of Kerry being cocky before the All Ireland came from. Because people said they were going to win thats being cocky is it?

Sounds familiar. They said on The Sunday Game that Kildare could be considered a top three team and Dublin people kept falling over each other to tell Kildare how we were losing the run of ourselves even though we had said nothing of the sort ourselves.

For future reference, maybe all Dublin posters can consult the following graphic which might help clarify matters: link

If your a reasonable and rational supporter of your county and think that Kildare are outside the top three then you are 100% correct. Much like Dublin only a few short years ago, Kildare cannot be considered as All Ireland contenders until they beat a top side (Kerry, Cork, Dublin) in the All Ireland Series. The only exception to this rule being if you were to get an exceptionally lucky run to the final and did not meet either of the three above teams. Even then you wouldn't know much! If Kildare were to beat Dublin in a Leinster final it still would not make them AI contenders as it would only show Kildare could beat Dublin in Leinster. Your acid test, and im sure Kildare are good enough to earn it, will perhaps be a quarter/ even semi final against a top side. Win, your contenders, lose its the same old story. Being considered in this bracket is exciting for Kildare football but making the next step is another animal altogether.

Closer to home, the Dublin hurlers are in the same boat. We cannot be considered as AI contenders until we beat Tipp or Kilkenny in the All Ireland series. Even if the wonderful prospect of beating KK in Leinster were to occur this year we still could not be considered as contenders as we would nearly be certain of having to beat them again later on in the summer. Dublin too, are in an exciting place, but the next step is a much sterner challenge. In essence, there is a wealth of difference between being in the top 4-5 in football rankings and being All Ireland pedigree. As for me, considering a team as 4th best in football means nothing if they cannot beat the top 3. Same in hurling, any rank outside the top 2 is meaningless until the time comes when the side in question beats Tipp or KK.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 23/01/2012 17:41:13    1098732

Dellboypolecat

Good man Dell.

Its nice to see you sticking up for your roots!!!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 23/01/2012 18:23:32    1098774

Obviously I love to see Kerry win but as the saying goes you win some you lose some. Dublin's victory last year was well deserved and I certainly didn't begrudge them their win and shook hands with their supporters after the final whistle - the law of averages were weighted in their favour. Its good for the game and at the end of the day that is important to see different teams make the breakthrough to maintain the interest in football.

traleeexile (Kerry) - Posts: 732 - 30/01/2012 21:39:49    1102833

Win some, lose some is exactly it. Once the club championships were back in full swing, it was all focus on that. It's been great to see the Kerry hurlers progess as well. We've shown good commitment to hurling in the Christy Ring level and Ballyduff had a decent run in the Munster Intermediate Championship.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8972 - 31/01/2012 10:21:40    1102894

Er, well at least ye win some lads!

(Ahem ahem)

:-)

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 31/01/2012 10:32:02    1102901

This is a strange thread in that it appears that posters from counties other than Kerry and Tyrone appear intent on making it a battle between the two. Kerry are and will be the standard bearers in relation to gaelic football. I remember in the 80's when Kerry came to play in Omagh that there was this mystic and aura around these mighty men from the kingdom, a sort of hero worship. They gave us an 8 point start in 1986 before whipping us in no small fashion and still the aura surrounded them. As things have progressed so too has Tyrone's attitude towards Kerry. The last decade has shown us that we can compete with Kerry at the highest level on any given day, no more no less. We do not have the history nor is it likely that we will ever match their achievements. However, the hero worship has now disappeared and what remains is a fierce respect on the most part by any true Tyrone supporter. I love Tyrone Kerry games. The quiet assured confidence of the Kerry folk borne out of years of success and knowledge that their boys are generally the best and the more brash slightly arrogant confidence of Tyrone folk borne out of years of adversity. The atmosphere even at league games stands the hairs on your back and the determination by both teams and supporters not to give an inch during the game yet socialising just as hard after the game is a true measure of the GAA. Kerry now see Tyrone as worthwhile adversaries and that is a compliment to Tyrone. Tyrone Gaels still respect Kerry as the yardstick by which success is measured. I feel having watched games between the two that this is very much the feeling between the two counties despite the best attempts of others to continually drive a wedge and create conflict.

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 31/01/2012 11:47:06    1102951

omaghredhand

Well said Omaghredhand, excellent post.

kickpass (Down) - Posts: 208 - 31/01/2012 12:57:01    1102986

Great post omaghredhand

DanBreen (Kerry) - Posts: 73 - 31/01/2012 13:34:26    1103023

Have to echo the comments by DanBreen/Kickpass, very genuine and excellant post Omaghredhand

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 31/01/2012 13:53:21    1103037

PJ

1097335 If you want to lose to a team in the Champioship it would be Kerry! There is no shame in losing to them! on the flip side if you want to win an All Ireland then you would want to beat Kerry in the Final! Then you truely know you are the best around!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 31/01/2012 20:55:24    1103298

Well captured Tyrone lads; the feeling is mutual-have genuine respect for Tyrone and had some great craic with their supporters!

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 01/02/2012 10:14:33    1103389