Kildare will win Leinster

Kildare are clear favourites for Leinster this year!

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 24/01/2012 18:32:33    1099708

lilywhite1

1099579 clondalkindub
correct it's only winter football and Leinster titles or All-Irelands titles aren't won in January. Still the win over Dublin was good preparation for the forthcoming league.

no harm to you lad but cant see yous beating dublin been good preparation for the league as dublin was a no show on sunday and never really teted you's think it will be more of a confidence boost than anything else.

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 24/01/2012 18:49:03    1099729

Will Sweeney play midfield come the summer ? Never really rated him but played well Sunday. Still no sign of earley , what's the story with him? At 34 now and suffering two bad knee injuries is it asking to much from him to come and make an impact at this level?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/01/2012 18:50:04    1099732

1099732 Will Sweeney play midfield come the summer ? Never really rated him but played well Sunday. Still no sign of earley , what's the story with him? At 34 now and suffering two bad knee injuries is it asking to much from him to come and make an impact at this level?

i think the last i heard of EARLEY his injury was coming around the best looking to be back march time he's out due to a cruciate ligament.

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 24/01/2012 18:55:14    1099742

Still no sign of earley , what's the story with him? At 34 now and suffering two bad knee injuries is it asking to much from him to come and make an impact at this level?
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Out kicking ball before the match, expected back in March.

jimmy90 (Kildare) - Posts: 160 - 24/01/2012 19:17:39    1099759

earley was out on the pitch before the match with them in navy and green jersey kicking a ball im nearly sure was him.

as for kildare winning leinster i wouldnt get excited yet i expected them to win that match on sunday as it was one they needed to win for there own self belief if nothing else as if they couldnt beat a dublin team that looked like they only rolled out of bed 5 mins before throw in then some serious self doubts would set in.they were out warming up an our before throw in compared to dublins approach of strolling out in dribs and drabs 5mins before throw in which was dissapointing.
i wasnt impressed by kildare though on sunday yes they won but their style of play is not easy on the eye,i wonder what the handpass count was for them as the only time they kicked the ball was for points and their shooting was abysmal,it took them ages to change the free taker as he was missing some simple frees.
you can get away with that hand passing in a tight pitch like newbridge but they will be found out in croke park unless they introduce kicking into their game.
to early to call on who will win what as sure look at munster kerry didnt even enter the mcgrath cup so does that mean cork must be hot favs on their current form to take munster? everybody expected louth to make the leinster final when thedraw was made last year so thees alot of football to be played before the leinster championship even throws in

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/01/2012 19:54:08    1099794

kildare have been very unlucky i would not begrudge them any success

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 24/01/2012 20:59:24    1099854

seany16

1099708 Kildare are clear favourites for Leinster this year!

I think someone already made a sarcastic post exactly like this one in this thread. In fact I think it was the very first one, hence the thread title.

No-one in Kildare is claiming we are favourites. No-one is reading too much into January football. No-one has said with both first 15's at full strength and playing at the levels both reached last year that Kildare are better than Dublin.

Kildare do have some valuable players back from injury, have a strong squad and have shown some potential that maybe it can all come together. We are there or thereabouts but have yet to prove we can do it on the big big days but then so were Dublin a year or two ago.

These posts about Kildare thinking we're great would be hilarious only for other people seem to get wound up and think we're the ones saying it about ourselves. We are not!

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 24/01/2012 21:00:04    1099855

Yes doublehop that's why I said 'would everyone' and not Kildare supporters. Ahh to be honest I don't even care anymore.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/01/2012 21:46:05    1099895

Yes doublehop that's why I said 'would everyone' and not Kildare supporters. Ahh to be honest I don't even care anymore.

In fairness, I was more picking up on seany's input rather than your own. But look we have the odd clash on here but it's only football and obviously everything pales into significance in relation to the awful news from your own club this week. I hope you're all managing to cope out there in Clondalkin Round Towers. From what I've read Ciarán seemed like an exceptional young lad. I think I can speak on behalf of everyone on the forum here that are thoughts are with his friends, family and clubmates as you bury him today.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 25/01/2012 08:15:17    1099907

Well to be fair to Kildare they have learnt from their last two defeats in Leinster and adapted the Dubs tactics!!! Forget Northern Football its the Dubs tactics for Leinster.

In that the rule is get a man sent off, earlier the better, and then victory is assured :):):).

Logic says Dublin v Kildare Leinster Final and THAT will be SOME match!!!!! (The Kildare/Meath Semi will be some match)

And get rid of the Provincials I hear!!!!!!

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 25/01/2012 08:29:21    1099910

seany16

1099708 Kildare are clear favourites for Leinster this year!

Well said.

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 25/01/2012 10:34:47    1099968

Kildare need Division 1 Football if they are going to step up to the next level. Playing the likes of Kerry, Cork, Dublin and Mayo regularly would be of huge benefit to them in the long run.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 25/01/2012 10:42:07    1099969

Kildare and Tyrone are by far the 2 best teams in leinster and ulster. It would be worth throwing 20 quid on the 2 of them

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 25/03/2012 20:09:54    1136913

Kildare and Tyrone are by far the 2 best teams in leinster and ulster.
It would be worth throwing 20 quid on the 2 of them
bettystownroyal

You got one of those right bettystown, but
Dublin are by far the best team in Leinster,
I know its hard to take but its a fact. :)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 25/03/2012 20:25:10    1136941

2nd best team in leinster which in fairness isnt really a great standard at the minute. Kildare are good and they have been unlucky at times but I don't think they are as good as a lot of people let on!

cboyle92 (Down) - Posts: 184 - 25/03/2012 21:39:05    1137071

2nd best team in leinster which in fairness isnt really a great standard at the minute. Kildare are good and they have been unlucky at times but I don't think they are as good as a lot of people let on!

cboyle92 (Down) - Posts: 184 - 25/03/2012 21:40:15    1137076

BettystownRoyal

Kildare and Tyrone are by far the 2 best teams in leinster and ulster. It would be worth throwing 20 quid on the 2 of them

Dublin the best team in Leinster and Ireland until otherwise proven. Tyrone can only be judged on their last championship and that wasn't great. All the same probably still the best in Ulster. So I guess your half right. Worth a bet though.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 25/03/2012 21:44:28    1137084

Well I've made that bet and Tyrone hammered Meath and Dublin lost to Down so I'd have Kildare as the best in Leinster. And I think Kildare will be better prepared for a leinster final after a good hard battle with meath than would be after playing minnows like louth.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 30/03/2012 21:43:05    1140404

My money is on Meath. Can't see Kildare beating a team with the six best forwards in Ireland. It doesn't make sense.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 31/03/2012 09:42:05    1140433