Kildare will win Leinster

Ulsterman

Good to watch at times but missing the steel needed to kill teams off and win the big games. Should have beaten Donegal last year but didn't and had the Dubs at their mercy a few times but didn't have the nerve or belief. Would like to see them win Leinster or Sam for the efforts McGeeney puts in. However I heard some of their players said some nasty stuff when they played Antrim, 'British' this and that and commenting on Elizabeth II and so on.

=========================================

Thats a lie. You shouldn't make up or spread lies like that.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 15/01/2012 16:58:55    1093890

Unfortunately, politics gets in the way of sportsmanship sometimes and that's sad.

I sincerely hope you boys are correct in denouncing this as a lie

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 15/01/2012 17:52:20    1093934

Good ruthless win for Kildare today,yes Offaly are not great,but it's a good aign early in the year if you are hitting 0-17 and concedeing 0-4...

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 15/01/2012 18:55:27    1094008

Lets be clear, I'm a Biffo long resident in KIldare and today was embarrassing. Worst Offaly team I've seen in 50 years BUT

Kildare were only alright. Messed up 4 goal chances and kicked 6 or more into keepers arms. They will need major improvement for next Sunday and for Leinster to be anywhere near.

KELF (Kildare) - Posts: 775 - 15/01/2012 19:13:36    1094026

Ahh to be far kelef its early days...

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 15/01/2012 19:23:24    1094036

I think promotion to Division One should be a much higher priority for Kildare. In the short term it would give them a massive boost going into the Championship but more importantly it would give them regular matches against top teams and confirm their own status. I get the impression that the Kildare Management almost view the League as a pre-season competition.

kickpass (Down) - Posts: 208 - 15/01/2012 19:36:30    1094048

Count_Awesome

The bitterness of the Laois posters here is ridiculous! Luckily they're so far behind we can't quite make out what they're saying

Harsh but true!!

Although Laois are a division above Kildare and Meath so if they get their act together for the league and get a good run they could well be the dark horses of Leinster.

To the poster above, the league is a pre championship competition so there would be something wrong if they didn't view it like that.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 15/01/2012 20:10:17    1094070

People should know me by now and I don't make things up. I did hear from reliable Antrim sources that a few comments were made on the pitch against Kildare regarding North/South and British so and so's. There were definately a few comments from Kildare fans along these lines when the teams met last season. Now it may just be gamesmanship and that's fair enough but I didn't make that up.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 15/01/2012 21:18:29    1094165

KELF

Lets be clear, I'm a Biffo long resident in KIldare and today was embarrassing. Worst Offaly team I've seen in 50 years BUT

Kildare were only alright. Messed up 4 goal chances and kicked 6 or more into keepers arms. They will need major improvement for next Sunday and for Leinster to be anywhere near.

Spot on Kelf. Kildare were average at best today.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 15/01/2012 21:20:03    1094168

I doubt anyone cares one way or the other Ulsterman

This is a GAA forum, not a political one, yet you continue to preach to the wrong crowd

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 16/01/2012 10:13:35    1094254

Ulsterman

1094165 People should know me by now and I don't make things up.

good one but please use the jokes thread for humerous items in future.

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 16/01/2012 10:22:12    1094264

We don't have the forwards to really challenge for an AI but if we get a bit of luck for once, we might get a Leinster and perhaps another semi final spot.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1172 - 16/01/2012 10:33:12    1094270

There were definately a few comments from Kildare fans along these lines when the teams met last season.

Are you talking about the league match in 2011 or the championship matches in 2010?

I was both the matches in 2010 (home and away) and never heard anything like that. It's also surprising considering all your stories about Wicklow gaels telling you what a bad bunch we Kildare folks are you never felt the urge to include this accusation from your experience until now in a nothing thread in 2012.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 16/01/2012 11:37:50    1094296

@cute_kerry_hoor

Kildare would beat kerry, kerry are not a great team your good but not great you were great on time but if kildare meet kerry in an all ireland semi final or final i can tell ye kerry would not have it there way kildare would win, no team fears you now and dublin proved that after years of lying down against you they stood up in 2011 and knocked ya out of the park, and just to finish off kildare are stronger than kerry in the backs and midfield and ya have very little sharp shooter apart from gooch.

kildare12 (Kildare) - Posts: 16 - 24/01/2012 15:31:06    1099509

Ive a feeling they will win Leinster and who the hell would begrudge them.......they have been pipped this last couple of yrs on big occasions and surely deserve a provincial title, they are a good side and play a decent brand of football....

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 24/01/2012 15:38:34    1099516

kildare12

@cute_kerry_hoor

Kildare would beat kerry, kerry are not a great team your good but not great you were great on time but if kildare meet kerry in an all ireland semi final or final i can tell ye kerry would not have it there way kildare would win, no team fears you now and dublin proved that after years of lying down against you they stood up in 2011 and knocked ya out of the park, and just to finish off kildare are stronger than kerry in the backs and midfield and ya have very little sharp shooter apart from gooch.

Thanks for making me laugh lad, I needed that badly haha

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 24/01/2012 15:51:30    1099531

Ok my head is all over the place right now but can everyone relax about Kildare. They won against half a Dublin team in an o Byrne cup game in newbridge, well done to Kildare but I think people need to calm down. Also I'm all for hard hitting and stuff but what dermo did was dangerous and has no place in football. I love Connolly as a player but people are right he needs to cut that stuff out. Again well done Kildare they look in great shape but come on everyone it's winner football that has no baring come the summer.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/01/2012 16:03:13    1099547

correct it's only winter football and Leinster titles or All-Irelands titles aren't won in January. Still the win over Dublin was good preparation for the forthcoming league.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3070 - 24/01/2012 16:42:12    1099579

Ye very true lilywhite. One worry for Kildare is there wides tally, it just doesn't seem like that problem yous have is going away.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/01/2012 17:10:45    1099612

Fair point, clondalkindub, it's something that will need to be worked on in the coming months. As for Dublin as they get back to full strength ye will I believe be very formidable come the championship as ye set about defending your All-Ireland title.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3070 - 24/01/2012 18:17:52    1099686