Paddypower have them at 25/1 to win the all Ireland this year, crazy price. The messiah Alan Mullholland is in charge and he will go from Headford to Ballinasloe, from Clifden to Portumna to get the undoubted talent there is in Galway. They are favourites in my eyes and will breeze through Connacht to the all Ireland quarter finals from there the open space of Croke park will see their brlliant style of football overwhelm the naturally defensive teams of Donegal, Dublin and Kildare. paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 03/01/2012 17:11:25 1088204 Link 0 |
while i think that you are exaggerating their chances a little i do genuinely believe galway have the players at their disposal to challenge for the title this year . Key to doing this is making sure armstrong is fully fit , meehan can feature even as just a bit part player , joyce to not retire and nicky joyce to show the attitude and commitment this season which he hasnt showed in previous years , if this happens galway can be darkhorses for the title . They have a raft of young players coming through with u21 all irelands in their back pockets such as michael boyle , danny cummins , mark hehir , eric monaghan , tomas flynn , finnian ocurrain , josh moore , jon duane and colin forde . There is huge potential their for mulholland to work with and if they can win connacht they have a great chance of getting toa final or even winning stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 03/01/2012 17:36:45 1088216 Link 0 |
Not a hope in hell. They have no chance. clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/01/2012 17:43:01 1088220 Link 0 |
Yet again I am banned from saying anything more than 'Happy New Year' on any thread on this website!! Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 03/01/2012 17:58:21 1088230 Link 0 |
You get a case of Buckfast for Christmas paddy ?. fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 03/01/2012 18:06:20 1088237 Link 0 |
A mayo man blowing up galway, makes a change from blowing up his own county to inevitably fail as they always do. Maybe your hoping this will happen to galway. Galway are in major transition will be there in the future will prob win connacht but are million miles from all Ireland like everyone else in connacht I'm sorry to add. skinthecat (Galway) - Posts: 394 - 03/01/2012 18:10:45 1088240 Link 0 |
One team that definetely won't figure at 25-1 arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 03/01/2012 18:12:42 1088241 Link 0 |
No Fortyfive, I was drinking in Taffes during the christmas and was in conversation with Galway GAA people there. They said they are quitely confident that Galway will win the all Ireland this year. They want to come in under the radar, so they wont appreciate me starting this thread ruining the surprise, hence the attack from the Galway supporter above. paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 03/01/2012 19:32:04 1088282 Link 0 |
i think the above post should have been typed on the friday afternoon thead ;-) dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 03/01/2012 19:52:19 1088295 Link 0 |
Paddyogall obviously hates Galway and is expressing it through sarcasm! realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8748 - 03/01/2012 21:08:04 1088326 Link 0 |
b.mullins (Dublin) - Posts: 1413 - 03/01/2012 21:09:26 1088328 Link 0 |
I'm an eternal optimist, and while this thread was started as a wind up i am of the opinion that if we have a decent league, blood a few of the U21s and have a good run in Connacht Sam may not be a pipe dream. If we can win back the Nestor and get a handy 1/4 final draw it does set up a potential Semi with whoever wins Leinster. tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 04/01/2012 09:22:21 1088369 Link 0 |
Galway for sam no disrespect but i would,nt be so quick to place that wager... DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 04/01/2012 09:49:25 1088374 Link 0 |
tribeinbrum Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 04/01/2012 09:55:12 1088375 Link 0 |
If Galway win one championship match outside the province this year it will only be their second win against non-Connacht teams in the championship since being crowned All-Ireland champions 10 years ago. Given their league form throughout that time (and not including the disaster that was last year) they are underachievers but any sposts psychologist will tell you that the worst word that can be used to describe you is to say you have "potential". doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 04/01/2012 10:02:15 1088376 Link 0 |
LOL Snuffy , Happy new year to you too! BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 04/01/2012 11:20:33 1088389 Link 0 |
Whilst I do like Galway people, it has to be said they have not a hope of winning anything this year, I doubt they'll even win Connacht. They're well behind Mayo and I'd say Roscommon would give them a tough game any day. Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 04/01/2012 12:10:45 1088415 Link 0 |
ah lads ye have the dates all wrong... It's new years not fools days!!! Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 04/01/2012 12:23:05 1088423 Link 0 |
thistle_harps (UK) - Posts: 879 - 04/01/2012 13:29:28 1088453 Link 0 |
Sergeant_Slash paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 04/01/2012 13:29:30 1088454 Link 0 |