Why are so many reporters against the GAA?

Mod I ask you this, why are the rugby club in question not following up the incident? Why are they not demanding to know who commited the alleged offence? There is more to this than you know. The only reason I ask is that this incident should not have been dragged up here when people don't know the story. Why do you mention the media? I couldn't give a hoot about the media in either code I am simply stating that this incident was highlighted as an argument against the rugby media and its lack of coverage in relation to the incident. Nobody has argued against my other points about brawls at GAA matches compared to rugby matches. Did he gouge himself? I doubt it. Was the injury related to gouging? No it wasn't. Maybe you should read the statement from Boyne properly before you comment again.

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 30/01/2012 14:37:57    1102558

30/01/2012 14:37:57
jonny1951

1102558 Mod I ask you this, why are the rugby club in question not following up the incident? Why are they not demanding to know who commited the alleged offence? There is more to this than you know. The only reason I ask is that this incident should not have been dragged up here when people don't know the story. Why do you mention the media? I couldn't give a hoot about the media in either code I am simply stating that this incident was highlighted as an argument against the rugby media and its lack of coverage in relation to the incident. Nobody has argued against my other points about brawls at GAA matches compared to rugby matches. Did he gouge himself? I doubt it. Was the injury related to gouging? No it wasn't. Maybe you should read the statement from Boyne properly before you comment again.

The incident involving the boyne player losing the sight in an eye, at a hearing highfield rfc, whos player was accused of the gouging, had as evidence video proof that one of their players could not have caused the injury. It was an accident and the case is now closed and let everyone here wish the best for the young lad whos life will be impacted as a result of such a terrible accident

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 30/01/2012 14:50:11    1102565

I knew the craic Ormond I just wish some of the people on here would have a bit of cop on. People who know nothing about the facts and then make false claims to get the upper hand in what I feel is a non sensical thread in the first place, pathetic. More than Mod that did it, they all jumped on the bandwagon and are gone very quiet now.

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 30/01/2012 15:06:48    1102586

30/01/2012 15:06:48
jonny1951

1102586 I knew the craic Ormond I just wish some of the people on here would have a bit of cop on. People who know nothing about the facts and then make false claims to get the upper hand in what I feel is a non sensical thread in the first place, pathetic. More than Mod that did it, they all jumped on the bandwagon and are gone very quiet now.

TBF jonny the likes of Mod, Che and a few others will jump on anything to have a go at rugby. Silly really that they cant support irish lads competing and in the most part being very successfull for irish teams against international opposition

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 30/01/2012 15:18:15    1102592

thats because it's so easy to be successful in rugby compared to soccer caz theres so little teams...like ireland have acheived nothing in the world cup when you think about it...these imaginary crap triple crowns dont count

ffgg (Longford) - Posts: 2571 - 30/01/2012 17:27:27    1102672

30/01/2012 17:27:27
ffgg
County: Longford

1102672 thats because it's so easy to be successful in rugby compared to soccer caz theres so little teams...like ireland have acheived nothing in the world cup when you think about it...these imaginary crap triple crowns dont count

Yes, il be the first to admit that we've underachieved in the world cup but in the past 7-8 years weve been one of the best sides around with 2 of our clubs amongst the top 4-5 in surope which you cant really say about many sports
Triple crowns do count, they mightnt have had a trophy until a few years ago but their damn hard to win,

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 30/01/2012 17:38:52    1102675

Johny 1951, Post of 29/1/2012

As the author of this post I do regard it as nonsense. But I respect your narrow view and I feel you should respect other more educated views that are well founded and well held views that the GAA get a bad press for minor incindents

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4044 - 30/01/2012 18:43:20    1102698

Tomsmith I am pointing out the fact that this incident was highlighted and people jumped on it. I agree that some minor incidents are blown out of proportion but that is not what got me involved. Once this post started on about the good press the rugby lads got and people referred to an incident that they knew nothing about, the topic became irrelevant. I didn't mean to offend anyone its just the way the thread turned got my blood boiling.

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 30/01/2012 20:50:00    1102787

After following the ramblings of this thread, it might be asked why are so many journalists for the GAA?

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 30/01/2012 21:01:10    1102797

Re Johnny51 + bannerman out of respect for TomSmith I will keep the reply as short as possible.
You seem to be saying the report in the Examiner proves there was no gouging. Might I respectfully suggest it does nothing of the sort. The player concerned must have felt he was gouged he brought it to the attention of his club who then cited a player from the other team (we are all agreed on that). The headline states "Boyne sorry for wrongful citing in gouging case" ie the wrong man was cited it does not say no gouging took place. If there was no gouging I'm sure that point would have been made loud and clear. Furthermore the article goes on to quote from the IRFU investigation

"While Boyne RFC originally believed there was sufficient evidence for the citing of a Highfield player, it now confirms in the intervening period a review has taken place of additional evidence, including a high definition video provided by Highfield RFC, as a result of which Boyne RFC are satisfied that the Highfield player cited did not contribute in any way to the serious injury suffered by its player, Mr Eoin Collins," a club statement read. (the underlining and bold is mine) but once again they are saying the incorrect person was cited. Nowhere does the report say there was no gouging. Nowhere does it say (as you do) the blindness was caused by an accident elsewhere (which it surely would in such an official report if that were the case). It looks like a cover up to me.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 30/01/2012 21:57:54    1102846

30/01/2012 21:57:54
mod

1102846 Re Johnny51 + bannerman out of respect for TomSmith I will keep the reply as short as possible.
You seem to be saying the report in the Examiner proves there was no gouging. Might I respectfully suggest it does nothing of the sort. The player concerned must have felt he was gouged he brought it to the attention of his club who then cited a player from the other team (we are all agreed on that). The headline states "Boyne sorry for wrongful citing in gouging case" ie the wrong man was cited it does not say no gouging took place. If there was no gouging I'm sure that point would have been made loud and clear. Furthermore the article goes on to quote from the IRFU investigation

"While Boyne RFC originally believed there was sufficient evidence for the citing of a Highfield player, it now confirms in the intervening period a review has taken place of additional evidence, including a high definition video provided by Highfield RFC, as a result of which Boyne RFC are satisfied that the Highfield player cited did not contribute in any way to the serious injury suffered by its player, Mr Eoin Collins," a club statement read. (the underlining and bold is mine) but once again they are saying the incorrect person was cited. Nowhere does the report say there was no gouging. Nowhere does it say (as you do) the blindness was caused by an accident elsewhere (which it surely would in such an official report if that were the case). It looks like a cover up to me.

cover up? why would the 2 clubs stop any info or wrong story enter the public domain. Video evidence from the game given by highfield rfc at the accused players hearing proved that the injury could not have been caused by a highfield player. So if an oppositon player couldnt have caused the injury, it clearly was an accident. I have heard from sources involved in both clubs hat the eye injury was an accidental injury.
Again wish the injured lad the best of luck in the aftermath of such a horrible injury and hopefully he can make a recovery

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 31/01/2012 09:15:41    1102863

Mod your disregard for facts is frightening.

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 31/01/2012 09:39:52    1102874

Re Ormandbanner+ Jonny51. Normally I dont get a chance to view this site until after 20:30 but I expected there would be a response so here goes. The facts Jonny51 are these A player felt he was gouged (not kicked punched etc. and I know you must agree there is a difference between sticking your finger, thumb into someones eye and the alternatives) He and the club cited A PLAYER from the opposition (not the whole opposition just one player) The IRFU judgement to quote them says "Boyne RFC are satisfied that the Highfield player cited did not contribute in any way to the serious injury". It does not exhonerate the entire team, just that player, in fact I seem to remember it uses the phrase "insufficient evidence". You say ormandbannerman "Video evidence from the game given by highfield rfc at the accused players hearing proved that the injury could not have been caused by a highfield player" which is true in that it was not caused by this particular named player but it does not mean (which is what you are suggesting) that the injury could not have been caused by any Highfield player. There is a massive difference. If the video found the cause of the injury I am sure they would have said that. You will note I am dealing with the facts I have always dealt with the facts I have quoted numerous factual examples which are largely ignored. I dont use phrases/terms like pathetic/chip on shoulder/paranoid/stupid/crazy/silly etc.etc. I trust you will grant me the same courtesy

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 31/01/2012 13:54:15    1103040

Mod you are wrong. There was no gouging incident. Boyne RFC saw the footage of the incident and confirmed that no Highfield player gouged the player . They have actual footage of the incident and how it happened. The injury was not caused by gouging. You do not know what you are talking about. Please drop it.

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 31/01/2012 14:11:39    1103050

I'm with Mod on this one:
Irish Times:
http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/rugby/2012/0127/1224310845296.html
Newstalk:
http://www.newstalk.ie/2012/sport/boyne-and-highfield-drop-citing/

None of the statements close the issue at all, I suspect we'll be seeing this one, in court. It is entirely possible that it was caused by a multitude of possibilities, ultimately it will be down to what the terribly injured and ruined player feels. I hope all parties put the players welfare first which is not always the case.

On the media not all stories make it to the newspaper, no matter what organisation. The IRFU/GAA et all do "lean" on journalists and you can be certain there are stories that if they do make it to the paper the journalist in question will be starved of future stories. This has been used by politicians, and sporting organisations. There is little doubt of media bias against the GAA, regularly you hear the tax payer built Croke Park, as if the Aviva was donated to the IRFU/FAI by the hard graft of its members.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4954 - 31/01/2012 18:42:31    1103199

Jonny51 We are going to have to disagree on this one. I cannot see how feel the IRFU report supports your stance. It is clear airing the issue causes you some discomfort and I have no wish to do that. Perhaps it might give you some idea of how GAA followers feel when they are frequently treated unfairly by our national media. I have listed numerous examples already and will finish with a final one, You remember at the Ireland France match in Paris when the claw stamped on Olivier Roumats head. He was exiled literally to Australia and we were told he would never play for Ireland again. Of course he was reinstated and had a long career subsequently. The incident was never mentioned again and when he retired he was feted by our national media. Peter Canavan (Tyrone) was one of the greatest GAA players in my memory he scored some magnificent goals and was involved in many excellent games but when he retired the clip RTE showed was one of a tussel he was involved in where the jersey was partly torn from his body. I consider this part of the discussion closed, indeed we have moved a long way from the title of the thread but such is the nature of debate. Wishing you all the best for the 6 nations Jonny51. Its not the game I object to but the influence of the organisation over our media which I feel is most unhealthy.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 31/01/2012 21:42:52    1103330

No bother, we will agree to disagree. By the way, I am a Gaa player first and foremost so please don't tag me as a rugby nut as Gaa is and always will be my number 1, thanks.

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 31/01/2012 21:54:41    1103338

The Irish independent yesterday had half their back page taken up with the headline Black day for the GAA while RTE news at six spoke about the growing problem of violence in the GAA. There is a full weekend of league fixtures coming up yet all the media want to do is talk about the problems in the GAA even though there will be more people at Gaelic games this weekend than any other sporting events or otherwise in the country.

Louth Gael (Louth) - Posts: 1227 - 03/02/2012 14:45:07    1104927

Was there any untruths in either pieces?

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 03/02/2012 14:48:12    1104933

Is anyone suggesting there are any untruths? It is clear to me Louth Gael (and many other contributors) is pointing out the lack of balance in the Indo when covering GAA.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 06/02/2012 15:05:34    1106590