Why are so many reporters against the GAA?

sportsfan14
County: USA

1101327 Our media (meeja) is run from the South Dublin constituency and it thus drives this agenda. This is pro British, partitionist and apologetic to Northern Unionists. This has been the case since the time of the Freemans Journal and up to our current papers of record.
It took the DeValera Irish Press to start brining coverage to bear on the GAA. The other publications then started to cover our national games so as to keep apace with the Presses growing middle Ireland following.
If I had a Euro for every time I saw a journalist exclaim how the GAA was losing out the Rugby I would be able to pay an inter-county managers salary!
Only this week we have huge supplements on the Leinster Senior Cup Rugby competition and nothing on the equivalent competitions in Gaelic Football which is a far more popular sport. When have we last read an article on the violence that takes place on our Rugby fields?
I have played Rugby and Gaelic Football and dearly love both sports. Hurling I see as the purest form of entertainment we have and no one was happier to see us qualify for Euro 2012. There is room in our papers for all sports but we need parity in terms of criticism and also coverage that is more representative

I am sorry but that is just about the biggest load of paranoid rubbish I have ever read on HS in over 10 years.
RTE does NOT have an anti-GAA, Pro Rugby Bias. Neither does ANY of the national Print media. Its all a load of crap!!!!

You know what makes me laugh though, is when the Heddild, and I have no time for that paper, but howsever, when the Heddild a bumper spread on the Dubs, people here kick up blue murder (see what I did there) about the Dubs but then when then a paper doesnt cover GAA reguarly in the off season, its labelled as west brit pro rugby la la la la la. So when they DO cover GAA its STUPID and when they dont, they are west brits.....!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 27/01/2012 14:38:46    1101347

because they dont play gaa in D 4.

yankee (Clare) - Posts: 134 - 28/01/2012 10:59:42    1101635

28/01/2012 10:59:42
yankee
County: Clare

1101635 because they dont play gaa in D 4.

there is, google it and you'll see that there is. quit with the silly stereotyping

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 28/01/2012 12:34:40    1101671

Sportsfan14 is spot on and Eamon Dunphy summed up the Irish media on The Late Late Show last night. The Irish media is largely rotten, biased, pro-Unionist and anti Republican/Nationalist. It is self serving with a sinister right wing, big business and anti-trade union agenda. Rugby is it's darling and get's very rarely criticised while it is open season on the GAA, particularly the Northern GAA scene; it is about as neutral and fair as North Korea's.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 28/01/2012 21:24:27    1101928

They showed last weekends hassle in Portlaoise on the Late Late show. It was just stuck in during an interview with Eamon Dunphy and was completely irrelevant to what they were discussing unless a fight at a GAA junior club match is going to sort out the countries economic problems. It looks like RTE just wanted to show the clip again, maybe they were afraid that some people had missed it's continuos showing on the news and decided one more screening was needed to get the message out that the GAA is full on hooligans mad for a fight.

Louth Gael (Louth) - Posts: 1227 - 29/01/2012 13:03:52    1102021

Louth Gael,if RTE are showing those images over and over, then the people who need to take the blame are the morons involved in the brawl,and the wider Gaa community who think that this nonsense is acceptable.Gaelic games are my favourite sports,but any parent who is deciding whether or not to allow there kids join their local Gaa club have a right to know that this type of violence is accepted in the organisation before making this decision.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 29/01/2012 14:09:28    1102053

I am not saying they shouldn't have reported it on the news but there was no reason to show it on the late late when they where discussing the state of the country.

Louth Gael (Louth) - Posts: 1227 - 29/01/2012 14:19:57    1102063

well thats true.I also agree that RTe seems to be loathe to show any story that may portray rugby in a bad light,but it is up to the Gaa to sort this out,and if RTE want to show this clip every day for the next year,that,unfortunately is their right and theres nothing we can do about it.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 29/01/2012 14:33:52    1102073

Re The Road Agree absolutely with everything you said BUT the issue is one of balance. Why are the punch ups at various rugby matches not given the Joe Duffy treatment why are they not aired on the Late Late? Someone in RTE is making that call why do they always decide to highlight GAA indiscipline and ignore the same type of violence when it happens in another sport?

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 29/01/2012 14:39:01    1102077

Everyone seems to be very quiet on the Fact that the high profile eye gouging case was in fact a false accusation. I play GAA and rugby lads and while there is the odd dust up in rugby, I have never seen supporters involved in fracas at a rugby match. Unfortunately I can't say the same in relation to my Gaa experiences. This thread is nonsense, take the chip off yer shoulder lads.

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 29/01/2012 14:53:17    1102085

Re TheRoad again!! Our posts seem to be overlapping. I do not agree that it is RTE's right to take whatever stance they please. RTE is publicaly funded it has a duty to report in a fair manner on ALL sports. It should not be the PR dept of the IRFU.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 29/01/2012 14:54:19    1102088

Re Johny 1951 I read the piece in the Examiner. The point made there was they cited the wrong man but 1) The eye gouging took place 2) It happened during that rugby match 3) The player is losing his sight as a result. 4) It was ignored by RTE. You are not implying that the man gouged himself are you? Sounds like an IRFU fudge to me. It isn't the first (I can give you loads of examples if you wish) The IRFU tend to circle the wagons when it comes to snuffing out negative press.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 29/01/2012 15:08:08    1102093

agree with a LouthGael (for once)! :)

My 2 cents....
I feel there is a lot more coverage given to Rugby due to the media hierarchy, despite the fact that rugby has nowhere near the fan base of the GAA. Anything out of line with the GAA and bang, its all over the news etc. Due to the large number of people demanding coverage of GAA games these journalists have to cover the games etc. but stick the boot in when ever they can.

Just look what RTE are doing to boxing, probably one of the most recognised sports in the world (unlike your 7 rugby countries or whatever). Irish Boxing have made huge strides in the last number of years. (They actually qualified more Boxers to Beijing than the USA!) And have won numerous europeian and world titles since.

The standard of Boxing in this country has never been higher. The all Ireland Senior championship finals are on next weekend and RTE ARE NOT SHOWING IT.

Boxing gets no coverage in this country as dare I say it, its most popular with less educated people, of which few will make it to work in media circles or be in position of sponsorship, to be able to push an agenda etc.

NAIL_BAR (Meath) - Posts: 457 - 29/01/2012 15:10:51    1102095

Liam , Ulsterman Mod and ect ect, .
The heading of this Post was Why are so many reporters against the Gaa.
This Post has now spread to an anti Rugby Post which was not intended.
I have to say fair play to the Rugby followers who can gain such press.
Anyone that lived in rural towns would know thatin the past that 90 % of Rugby players were from the white collar class. This membership has now spread out to to the odinary natives and hangers on. It takes no brains to know that the rugger lads decided to infilitrate Gaa membership.
This same rugger classs also made use of the white colllar people in towns from Teachers, Gardai , Doctors, and some legal eagles to further the rugger image.
So I feel any person who feels that Rugby has advanced should look at what the Gaa has done on promotional work themselves.

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4044 - 29/01/2012 15:33:43    1102110

The saying 'That a paper never refuses ink' was never more true than it is with all reporters. What we need to keep in mind is that we are just reading ONE persons opinion and that that Person has an agenda, that is to be controversal to sell more papers, which pays his/her wages, 'the wages of sin' to paraphrase.

keelman (Mayo) - Posts: 113 - 29/01/2012 16:20:24    1102143

Mod you are acting like a tabloid reporter yourself on this one. A gouging incident took place? You are sure about this? Choose your words carefully when you don't know the story.

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 30/01/2012 09:32:40    1102387

i am sick of people bashing our association in newspapers every day.its a barrage of abuse every day from media.handbags stuff blown out of the sky. look im not saying its right but most of these flashpoints are coming from poor officals and poor decisions.we the gaa are critised when we allow drink companies to advertise compettions.rugby soccer with heineken cup dont get any slack for it.why?some of the organised hassle at soccer matches in league of ireland hardly gets a mention.?are we the moral guardian for ireland?.as for late late its a numbers game and viewers that they want so bash the gaa.as for soccer and rugby gaining popularity its our own fault for not promoting our game more and for allowing croke park to showcase their wares.get off the gaa back everyone .ita still a wonderful organisation which just needs a little tweaking .we must not allow dublin 4 media to dictate our policy.who will forget the scenes at landsdowne rd in 1995

hurler40 (Cavan) - Posts: 450 - 30/01/2012 11:54:49    1102448

Jesus lads feom a GAA man I am embarrassed by the self pity going on here. Get a grip.

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 30/01/2012 12:04:18    1102454

RTE are the epitomy of the lazy disregard for the GAA, I noticed on Saturday nights news they reported on the McKenna cup final and said it was being played in Newry Co Down even though their highlights clearly showed the words Ard Mhacha emblazoned in Orange and White across the seats in the stand!! Also the fact that it was shown live on TG4 showed that they couldn't even be bothered asking a colleague were it was.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 30/01/2012 12:06:19    1102457

Re Jonny1951 "Mod you are acting like a tabloid reporter yourself on this one. A gouging incident took place? You are sure about this? Choose your words carefully when you don't know the story. "
Sounds like a threat so I will repeat the Examiner article which you highlighted twice does not say gouging did not take place it says they cited the wrong man and they use the weasle words "not sufficient evidence to show the incident took place" again I repeat did he gouge himself? Is he not losing the sight in his eye? Has it been ignored by the media who are very quick to highlight "dust ups" as you call them in GAA? If it walks like a duck talks like a duck and looks like a duck then chances are its a duck.
Of course like many who do not engage in the argument you resort to name calling "quote This thread is nonsense, take the chip off yer shoulder lads." " feom a GAA man I am embarrassed by the self pity going on here"
As I said before the IRFU are quick to circle the wagons when facing bad publicity remember the Brian ODriscoll spiking incident when Brian was told by our own rugby media to stop moaning. The media coverage of the incident consisted of a very poor grainy film strange for a tournament which was deemed so important.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 30/01/2012 12:51:20    1102486