Thankfully the level of debate has improved considerably I too largely agree with witnof. Re Ormandbannerman I 'm sure your opinions are honestly held but I cannot agree with the statement rugby gets plenty of negative press, as much as any of the other big sports in this country. Could you give an example of any of this negative press.
mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 19/01/2012 21:18:49
ormondbannerman County: Clare Posts: 720
Then why does the GAA occupy the minds so much of sports writers/journalists who clearly have no time for it? The journalist alluded to the wholesale dumping of cash at gates into bags/biscuit tins etc etc and whisked away - by an invisible army, a sort of parallel economy and he is supposedly one of ours one of the better ones. all tongue in cheek of course. And of course people will come on here and say thats true!! even though he was supposedly joking. But irony requires some level of intelligence, this sort of crap is lapped up by that growing new breed of rugby school types - you can spot them at Booterstown, they stand out like the Morrocan White Egrets, with peroxide blond hair the dark roots a give away, umppa lumppa tan, travelling on the Dart to their preferred elite school - in fact the article I got from one of them reading it aloud. The real irony of it all is, the fastest growing sport in Rugby Country even in the fee-paying schools is - guess? Ladies Gaelic Football - says it all really.
arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4954 - 19/01/2012 21:35:13
19/01/2012 21:18:49 mod County: Mayo Posts: 423
1096812 Thankfully the level of debate has improved considerably I too largely agree with witnof. Re Ormandbannerman I 'm sure your opinions are honestly held but I cannot agree with the statement rugby gets plenty of negative press, as much as any of the other big sports in this country. Could you give an example of any of this negative press.
Google tom humphries and rugby and you will get plenty of anti rugby stories and he is one of irelands biggest sports writers and there is others
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 19/01/2012 21:59:44
The article AROCK is referring to is linked below:
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2012/0114/1224310244887.html
A back handed slap at the GAA was my reading of the article
witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 20/01/2012 08:29:02
No contradiction there dhorse, I fail to see where you got that
I was just responding to witnof's post about how negativity in the press sells and I was just saying that's true in my view but that's not just against the GAA, the same could be said for almost any press on earth on virtually any subject. I was just providing an example of that but you seem to have taken it as some sort of comparative analysis - I assure you it was not, I was just making a point
gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 20/01/2012 09:14:44
20/01/2012 08:29:02 witnof County: Dublin Posts: 260
1096857 The article AROCK is referring to is linked below:
Awful garbage, joke of an article Below is a link to 2 awful atrticles having go's at rugby for stupid reasons including a real bitter article published in the days after ireland won their grand slam http://www.munsterfans.com/threads/17589-Clownish-article-by-Tom-Humphries
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 20/01/2012 09:17:31
My god - are we all so bloody insecure about the GAA that we constantly have to be worrying about the state of it in relation to other sports? Grow up - not everybody has an agenda, some people just like other sports more - if you don't like it, don't buy that paper.
abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 20/01/2012 09:36:12
20/01/2012 08:29:02 witnof County: Dublin Posts: 260
Awful garbage, joke of an article Below is a link to 2 awful atrticles having go's at rugby for stupid reasons including a real bitter article published in the days after ireland won their grand slam http://www.munsterfans.com/threads/17589-Clownish-article-by-Tom-Humphries
--------------------------------
Tom never had much love for rugby people in Dublin, and to be honest some of them get on my tits as well, the people not the game. Many of them are a bunch of Hooray Henry's
But as per my earlier post, paper never refuses ink, and its all swings and roundabouts, and its not related to one sport but all. November to February is silly season for GAA journalists as there is no major games to report on other than the Club championships so you get all these 'opinion pieces'. Has been like that and will be always like that. Has not, nor will not, stop the GAA, so you just take it with a grain of salt and move on.
witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 20/01/2012 10:33:47
20/01/2012 10:33:47 witnof County: Dublin Posts: 261
1096912 20/01/2012 08:29:02 witnof County: Dublin Posts: 260
Tom never had much love for rugby people in Dublin, and to be honest some of them get on my tits as well, the people not the game. Many of them are a bunch of Hooray Henry's
But as per my earlier post, paper never refuses ink, and its all swings and roundabouts, and its not related to one sport but all. November to February is silly season for GAA journalists as there is no major games to report on other than the Club championships so you get all these 'opinion pieces'. Has been like that and will be always like that. Has not, nor will not, stop the GAA, so you just take it with a grain of salt and move on.
As gig(fairly sure its gig that says something like this, if im wrong ooops!) usually posts he supports wexford in the hurling, leinster in the heineken and im the same tipp in the hurling, munster in the rugby. I just wish the likes of Seamus89, Real Kerry Fan, CheFinny would all stop with the now very tiresome attitude of slagging off rugby in every thread about rugby
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 20/01/2012 11:00:39
thurlesblues County: Tipperary Posts: 3013
1096807 thurlesblues County: Tipperary Posts: 3007
1096787 because they know nothing about the gaa.
They're probably not against it so. dhorse , 19/01/2012 at 20:47
well they must be if someone asked the question so my answer is the only obvious reason
Two Brilliant pieces of logic.
Because Asian, and European media know nothing about GAA the must be against it.
If somebody poses a question suggesting something then it must be true.
BTW, why are so many tipperary people against the GAA
dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 20/01/2012 12:11:29
good lad bannerman, yeah my support (albeit very tough in terms of priority) is for
1. Wexford hurling (grew up on hurling), 2. Leinster Rugby (can't take my eyes off it!) 3. Wexford Football (we're getting there!) 4. Irish Rugby (obviously) 5. Ulster Rugby (herself) 6. Cavan football (herself again) 7. Munster Rugby (the oul' lad) 8. Irish Soccer
Although in truth, you could juggle 1-4 in any order any day of the week depending on my mood!
I'm very passionate about GAA & Rugby, much like yourself I suspect - isn't it great we have Rabo & Heineken & 6 Nations and when they're finished, THEN we have GAA championship?
Best of both worlds without having to prioritise one over the other at the same time but like you, this debate keeps rearing its ugly head trying to diss one over the other with little in the way of mutual agreement or even respect, which is a shame
gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 20/01/2012 12:18:05
dHorse,i know loads of people who dont like the Gaa even though they have never watched a football or hurling match.
TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 20/01/2012 12:23:58
TheRoad County: Galway Posts: 589
1096989 dHorse,i know loads of people who dont like the Gaa even though they have never watched a football or hurling match.
Hope you dont construe that as being proof that a lot of Reporters are against the GAA.
did you ever ask them why? Is not liking the GAA a serious problem?
dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 20/01/2012 12:34:26
Well Im not necessarily talking about reporters but when Thurles blues said they dont know about the gaa,you replied that theyre probably not against it so.I dont know the situation in laois,but in the east side of Galway city (Mervue Utd country) knowing nothing about the gaa and dislking the gaa go hand in hand among many people here.
TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 20/01/2012 12:49:15
TheRoad County: Galway Posts: 590
1097008 Well Im not necessarily talking about reporters but when Thurles blues said they dont know about the gaa,you replied that theyre probably not against it so
I was discussing asian and European media with another poster at that point, Thurles burst in and intimated they didn't know anything about GAA and I replied that they are probably not against it so, which I think is a fair enough supposition. He also reckons that because the original poster asked "why are so many reporters against the GAA" that that was evidence enough to assume thet there are a lot of reporters against the GAA, which I find a tad ridiculous.
However, having just read some of his ramblings on other posts , I will endeavour not to do so again.
dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 20/01/2012 13:04:33
ormondbannerman County: Clare Posts: 732
1096929 20/01/2012 10:33:47 witnof County: Dublin Posts: 261
1096912 20/01/2012 08:29:02 witnof County: Dublin Posts: 260
As gig(fairly sure its gig that says something like this, if im wrong ooops!) usually posts he supports wexford in the hurling, leinster in the heineken and im the same tipp in the hurling, munster in the rugby. I just wish the likes of Seamus89, Real Kerry Fan, CheFinny would all stop with the now very tiresome attitude of slagging off rugby in every thread about rugby
---------------------------------------
Ormond this is the way world, there are always people who will not like one sport or another. Not related to simply Ireland, more fun that way to be honest, we won't be having a thread like this otherwise. My only issue with rugby in Ireland is some of the people (D4 heads) that are involved with it. Actively involved in rugby in France which is a complete flip side of the coin compared to rugby in Ireland. Same goes for the journalists as well in comparison.
Maybe the GAA should do what has been done in French rugby, every Monday and Friday have a newspaper dedicated to matches, analysis, topical discussions etc.
witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 20/01/2012 13:28:34
20/01/2012 13:28:34 witnof County: Dublin Posts: 264
Ormond this is the way world, there are always people who will not like one sport or another. Not related to simply Ireland, more fun that way to be honest, we won't be having a thread like this otherwise. My only issue with rugby in Ireland is some of the people (D4 heads) that are involved with it. Actively involved in rugby in France which is a complete flip side of the coin compared to rugby in Ireland. Same goes for the journalists as well in comparison.
Maybe the GAA should do what has been done in French rugby, every Monday and Friday have a newspaper dedicated to matches, analysis, topical discussions etc.
I know there will always be people who will not like one sport or another. I dont particularly like golf but do you see me constantly post anti golf remarks likee there is here about rugby. If a thread is clearly about rugby why do the same people constantly appear posting in these threads when they dont like the sport. If you have nothing that is constructive to add to the debate dont bother. There is some fools involved in rugby but the same can be said about any sport, its just rugby has a perception of being something that isnt entirely true any more which isnt helped by the Ross O Carroll Kelly stuff etc
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 20/01/2012 14:17:45
TheRoad County: Galway Posts: 590
1096989 dHorse,i know loads of people who dont like the Gaa even though they have never watched a football or hurling match.
A statement devoid of substance in my opinion.
When you say 'don't like', it is more aptly put as 'no interest'. I have no interest in Ice Hockey, ergo have never watched a game of it. Simple as that.
Despite my obsession for hurling, I have a brother who wouldn't watch a game of it if it was being played in his sitting room - he just doesn't want to watch hurling, it's not in his interest or in his taste so he is perfectly justified in saying he doesn't like it.
with respect, I see no basis for judgement whatsoever in that statement
gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 20/01/2012 15:18:06
Gigoer,what an arrogant post.Devoid of substance?How can you say that.You dont know my experiences or my friends.Who are you to tell me what my mates think of the gaa?I can assure you that when I said dont like,I meant dont like (as in borderline hostility).For many soccer people around our cities (and I follow soccer by the way so its not like Im an old fashioned gaa bigot) the gaelic games are old fashioned sports for old Irelands culchies (I have heard the term turf munchers more than i would like).i tried sparking up a conversation with an uncle of mine once about the drive for five-""I dont follow that s***te" was my gruff response (he admitted to never watching a game by the way).I watched the 1998 AI final in a friends house.His mother came in "I dont want that stuff on my television" she said.Charming.There are other examples,trust me,but you get the idea.These examples are a pretty acccurate barometer. For the record,I too have a younger brother who has no interst in hurling (or any sport by the way) but thats absoloutely fine by me because not having an interest is different to disliking
TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 20/01/2012 16:26:37
By the way,I agree dHorse that when it comes to professional sports reporting,the gaa dosent get a particularly raw deal.
TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 20/01/2012 16:29:21