Why are so many reporters against the GAA?

Re ormanbannerman "You cannot just say that rugby gets a lot of media attention because of the old boy network," I dont say that just that its influence in getting negative stories for one sporting body blocked is unbalanced

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 18/01/2012 22:00:58    1096332

18/01/2012 22:00:58
mod

1096332 Re ormanbannerman "You cannot just say that rugby gets a lot of media attention because of the old boy network," I dont say that just that its influence in getting negative stories for one sporting body blocked is unbalanced

Its not that much of an influence and rugby gets plenty of negative press, as much as any of the other big sports in this country

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 19/01/2012 09:10:58    1096349

Keith Duggan - Sideline Cut - Saturday 14/01/2012 Irish Times Sports Supplement page 10 - for anyone doubting that sports GAA "colour" writers are just comedy writers. They know nothing about the game they write on, and I mean nothing, because even in his satirical style he simply couldn't say those things if he had been to a GAA Inter-county game in the last five years, their ignorance could be measured with a barge pole. You then get the type of writer who only concerns himself with the "big games" and then he's a bloody genius and again we all know who these charlatans are. Same on the Radio, every spotty young lads (and they are all LADS) straight out of college who probably played up to Under 14 until he discovered himself in the mirror gets to interview a GAA great and the interview is stomach churning,same with the rugby, soccer et all - truly embarressing, but make en laugh covers a lot. But I'll be kind, this sort of journalism which is peddling a myth of mass deception about our games is riddled in the newspapers and especially certain broadcastors. Tired old urban myths, getting a laugh a sneer that is what it is about, at our expense. He is not alone, but the stuff in that article is rubbish, it insults virtually everyone in the GAA and casts a slur on anyone administering the game but its entertainment.
The reason the GAA is always in the news is because so many people are directly involved with it, far far more than any other organisation, unlike elite minority sports that do own the media and always have done. But at least our games are worth talking about.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4954 - 19/01/2012 09:22:44    1096354

19/01/2012 09:22:44
arock

1096354 Keith Duggan - Sideline Cut - Saturday 14/01/2012 Irish Times Sports Supplement page 10 - for anyone doubting that sports GAA "colour" writers are just comedy writers. They know nothing about the game they write on, and I mean nothing, because even in his satirical style he simply couldn't say those things if he had been to a GAA Inter-county game in the last five years, their ignorance could be measured with a barge pole. You then get the type of writer who only concerns himself with the "big games" and then he's a bloody genius and again we all know who these charlatans are. Same on the Radio, every spotty young lads (and they are all LADS) straight out of college who probably played up to Under 14 until he discovered himself in the mirror gets to interview a GAA great and the interview is stomach churning,same with the rugby, soccer et all - truly embarressing, but make en laugh covers a lot. But I'll be kind, this sort of journalism which is peddling a myth of mass deception about our games is riddled in the newspapers and especially certain broadcastors. Tired old urban myths, getting a laugh a sneer that is what it is about, at our expense. He is not alone, but the stuff in that article is rubbish, it insults virtually everyone in the GAA and casts a slur on anyone administering the game but its entertainment.
The reason the GAA is always in the news is because so many people are directly involved with it, far far more than any other organisation, unlike elite minority sports that do own the media and always have done. But at least our games are worth talking about.

Lads im mainly a rugby supporter but i follow all sports that have irish players and teams but can ye leave all the bitter anti rugby posts out. This is a GAA site but that doesnt mean rugby has to be slagged off and had a go at at every opportunity, are people that petty.
Rugby has a perception that it is an elite sport but thats not the case any more. The tens and tens of thousands of people who play the sport throughout the country can hardly all be the elite of the country. You talk about urban myths having a sneer and laugh at the GAA. well dont be hypocritical and then say things like "at least our games are worth talking about" because if you get petty like that it ruins your argument altogether

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 19/01/2012 09:49:07    1096367

For the journalists the gaa is fair game, they feel like they can say what they want and not get reprimanded. With professional sports like Rugby they have full time pr people who make sure or keep an eye on what is writen to promote their game and the journalists know they will be kicked out of cosy cartels if they portray the game in a bad light plus if they throw in the odd jibe against the gaa it might bring them up in the pecking order.(money talks they know what side their bread is buttered). most of the rugby hype is spin and fair play to them they are promoting their sport very well, ask someone in dublin how is rugby coming along and they will say ye seems to be getting more popular ,then ask them to give you an example, 9 times out of 10 the only thing they can come up with is its on tv more. GAA need to g

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 19/01/2012 09:59:35    1096376

arock, Keith Duggan is an excellent writer.
Not sure what the gist of the article in question is.
You should put up a link.

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 19/01/2012 10:00:14    1096377

I believe the overall quality of journalism in Ireland is very poor. Its based on criticising rather than been critical. Its not just print based journalists but also on TV, and not just sports. The attitude that unless your in someone's face your are not doing a good job prevails. Negativity sells. This poor level of journalism is not simply GAA related, but comes across much more, because as AROCK says, the GAA have a higher participation rates, so a bigger market.

Even in the headlines. Look at the Indo 'Dublin Hurling at War', there is no war simply a discussion with different views on how to structure the Dublin Hurling Championship, but the words WAR sell. Or how the GAA had to be included in the headlines of the poor lad from Cross that got shot, even if not GAA related. ORMOND is right, a sport should not be included as a selling point for an article which has nothing to do with a persons participation or not in any sport.

What we must remember is that today a journalists (TV, radio or print) prime focus is to SELL, and facts or balance are not necessary requirements if they get in the way. Any media's bottom line is their bottom line which sells advertising which then makes them money. Readership numbers or listeners or viewers are the prime driver, and this cannot be denied.

Finally, its up to us not to be so gullible to take these things at face value and form our own opinions, remembering above and that the 'media' will interview the people that will get them the most sound bits or attention.

Case in point for me is the 'storm' over managers payments. Is this a big issue or minor issue?? No one knows as are there are no facts. Indo says they reckon it costs the GAA €15M a year but no facts are produced to back it up. A bigger financial issue for me is the cost of running county teams which are a bigger drain on County finances but is not as 'sexy' subject or as likely to get as much mileage hence has gone on the back burner.

The media is there to sell.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 19/01/2012 10:10:30    1096389

Perfect post by Witnof there

I wish the media would report matters, (no matter in what medium, be it sports, economy, crime, whatever subject you care to mention) with a practical & genuine sense of proportion but it will never happen because only bombastic overblown headlines sells and only when expressing negativity 90% of the time

Equally, people should realise this & take a balanced view but how easily people are swayed just because it's in a newspaper is scary and you could apply that in a global sense - hey just as an off-cue example, look how easily the American public were convinced by media propaganda that Iraq had something to do with 9/11 or had WMD when in reality, they had absolutely nothing to do with either and that was across the most powerful nation on earth, it's just scary how it convinces people

As far as this thread goes, sure, propaganda & dramatic headlines do seem derogatory or detrimental to the GAA but the same could be said in almost any sport or almost any subject, and with respect, I feel the originator of thos post is simply highlighting one piece of a much bigger puzzle

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 19/01/2012 10:31:05    1096404

Perfect post by Witnof there

I wish the media would report matters, (no matter in what medium, be it sports, economy, crime, whatever subject you care to mention) with a practical & genuine sense of proportion but it will never happen because only bombastic overblown headlines sells and only when expressing negativity 90% of the time

Equally, people should realise this & take a balanced view but how easily people are swayed just because it's in a newspaper is scary and you could apply that in a global sense - hey just as an off-cue example, look how easily the American public were convinced by media propaganda that Iraq had something to do with 9/11 or had WMD when in reality, they had absolutely nothing to do with either and that was across the most powerful nation on earth, it's just scary how it convinces people

Perfect post
He says the standard of journalism in Ireland is very poor, compared to where. then you say that American journalism is propoganda, bit of contradiction there perhaps.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 19/01/2012 18:46:09    1096721

witnof

1096389 I believe the overall quality of journalism in Ireland is very poor.

Compared to what. You could be correct as I'm not that familar with journalism from around the world except a bit from Aus, UK and USA. You're obviously more familar than me, so I would love to hear how you rate the rest.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 19/01/2012 18:51:33    1096724

DHorse

Compared to what. You could be correct as I'm not that familar with journalism from around the world except a bit from Aus, UK and USA. You're obviously more familar than me, so I would love to hear how you rate the restt

Wel D Horse I can tell you that if any of the media either print or audio was against the national game in the USA like what the Irish media is it would be considered terrible.
You also have to bear in mind that not alone are these (publications audio and written ) anti GAA but pro other sports that are headquartered in other Countries and that the greater precentage of Irish people cannot bear these sports .

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4044 - 19/01/2012 19:15:28    1096740

tomsmith

1096740 DHorse

Compared to what. You could be correct as I'm not that familar with journalism from around the world except a bit from Aus, UK and USA. You're obviously more familar than me, so I would love to hear how you rate the restt

You also have to bear in mind that not alone are these (publications audio and written ) anti GAA but pro other sports that are headquartered in other Countries and that the greater precentage of Irish people cannot bear these sports .

Again , i reckon your just generalising, but perhaps you have some sort of figures. Which and how many of THESE publications Are in fact against GAA. Are there an of them for the GAA?

Where did you get the Fact that the majority of people inIreland cannot bear these sports? While these sports might not even be their no 1 sport I think most people would either like them or at best be indifferent to them, as with myself regarding rugby.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 19/01/2012 19:32:37    1096750

dhorse
County: Laois

witnof

1096389 I believe the overall quality of journalism in Ireland is very poor.

Compared to what. You could be correct as I'm not that familar with journalism from around the world except a bit from Aus, UK and USA. You're obviously more familar than me, so I would love to hear how you rate the rest.

---------------------------------------------------

Have lived in Asia and a number of European countries. Now living in Paris so have a lot of hands on experience with the press, also from a business point of view.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 19/01/2012 20:22:10    1096780

witnof

On the scale of things how where would you rate Irish journalism?

you're lucky to be able to communicate in so many languages. I have a bit of spanish but not good enough to get all the nuances of The journalism, especially in south america

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 19/01/2012 20:28:18    1096785

because they know nothing about the gaa

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 19/01/2012 20:31:42    1096787

ola and bonjours and khay????

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 19/01/2012 20:33:55    1096790

thurlesblues
County: Tipperary

1096787 because they know nothing about the gaa.

They're probably not against it so.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 19/01/2012 20:47:03    1096799

thurlesblues

1096790 ola and bonjours and khay????

As I said, I just have a meagre bit of Spanish. No mandarin sadly, so I cannot Answer your question

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 19/01/2012 21:03:52    1096804

dhorse
County: Laois

witnof

On the scale of things how where would you rate Irish journalism?

you're lucky to be able to communicate in so many languages. I have a bit of spanish but not good enough to get all the nuances of The journalism, especially in south america

--------------------------------

Just find it more negative overall, not simply in relation to the GAA. Or maybe the better word is cynical, in that we take a lot from the British press

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 19/01/2012 21:04:22    1096806

thurlesblues

1096787 because they know nothing about the gaa.

They're probably not against it so.
dhorse , 19/01/2012 at 20:47

well they must be if someone asked the question so my answer is the only obvious reason

thurlesblues (Tipperary) - Posts: 4475 - 19/01/2012 21:05:24    1096807