Why are so many reporters against the GAA?

Re dhorse Very surprised and disappointed at your reaction to a simple question (you did see the ?). If I was making a statement you would have seen an (!). Not only did you mis read the posting but you then extrapolated that I think all GAA reporters are anti GAA, finishing off by name calling - a bit extreme and perhaps rather puerile don't you think? For whatever the reason you seem to feel very threatened by the notion that reporters are biased in their coverage of GAA. Could it be that you need to calm down a little. I think it is more useful to progress the argument by the use of concrete examples rather than emotional generalisations/assumptions (like those who disagree with me have a persecution complex).
Here is one I came across in today's Indo an ex Limerick hurler was involved in an accident where he knocked down some man, he stopped the car went back to see how the injured man was, put him in the car and took him to hospital. He was found by the Gardai in the hospital waiting room staying to hear how the injured man was doing. Apparently he committed an offence by not remaining at the scene of the accident. The headline on the Indo was "Top hurler appears in court over 'hit and run ' incident" Now I dont know about you but to the average man that is not what 'hit and run' means. The connection with GAA was made very clear we were told that he " is the countys most capped championship hurler". The Gardai agreed they had no difficulty in finding him in the hospital.
Now contrast that with how a similar story (car accident) in the same area of the country was handled up by the same paper. This involved 2 people from Tipp (a boy and his uncle) who were going north to buy a car when they found cattle straying on the road and reported it to the Gardaí but decided like good Samaritans to stay to herd the cattle to safety in case they caused an accident. While they were in the process of doing this a well-known Munster rugby international who was worse for drink ploughed up on the hard shoulder killing the young boy (I'm not sure about the other man) No hit and run headlines for that incident. There was a court case where the accused got off with a suspended sentence. The mother was distraught and said she felt as though the rugby player was treated like a king in the courtroom. No mention on RTE and minimal coverage elsewhere.
Finally I think that Hogan Stand is a valuable resource and forum for GAA followers let us all stick to the topic and not resort to name-calling we are better than that.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 14/01/2012 14:55:47    1093534

D Horse, How many Jurno are aginst the GAA.
Well my answer is what sales can be promoted by being anti Gaa or pro another sport.
It is not that long ago that a certain Dublin man took over a mickey mouse club in England and all the papers had it that Aer Lingus out putting on two extra flights to take fans over to a industrial estate in England to see eleven millionaires take on eleven Millionaire. You would feel that every thing that is important in life happened at that club.,
Look at the GAA, how much coverage do the GAA folk get other that negative stuff. Do the big flare ups at Rugby games get mentioned, Read the back pages of the sports section and what has the ordinary man in the street in common with what the Red tops write about.
If I see Packie Bonners great save once more I will cry

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4044 - 14/01/2012 16:09:06    1093552

mod

1093534 Re dhorse Very surprised and disappointed at your reaction to a simple question (you did see the ?)

Indeed I did see your ?

I merely enquired as to what figure you might have for the "so many' part of the question.

If you feel that a newspaper/TV/radio reporting on some other sport is being against the GAA, I like some others would interpret it as a mild form of persecution complex. There's is a whole big world of sport out there and a lot of Irish people are interested in rugby and british soccer NFL even, the media generally will reflect this. So far all you have intimated is that anything other than GAA PR shouls not be printed or broadcast

If I called you a name please point it out , I will immeadiately deal with it in the appropriate manner.

Yours in sport, etc

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 15/01/2012 18:33:57    1093981

tomsmith

1093552 D Horse, How many Jurno are aginst the GAA.
Well my answer is what sales can be promoted by being anti Gaa or pro another sport.

A bit Cryptic for me Tom, How many?

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 15/01/2012 19:45:39    1094054

Re Dhorse Oh dear so you persist in this "those who dont agree with me have a persecution complex" I thought you were better than that. I take it then that since you either don't want to or cannot engage with the issue "reporters against the GAA" you are conceding the point. I gave you 2 concrete examples of blatant bias which you have chosen to ignore. There are many more here is a link to a story which was completely ignored by RTE and the Indo link
Would this be ignored if a high profile GAA manager was involved? Lets stick to the issue dhorse and less of the persecution complex nonsence.
Dont forget the old chinese proverb that goes "Remember everytime you point one finger at someone you are also pointing three at yourself". So stick to the topic and engage with the question.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 16/01/2012 17:56:55    1094553

16/01/2012 17:56:55
mod

1094553 Re Dhorse Oh dear so you persist in this "those who dont agree with me have a persecution complex" I thought you were better than that. I take it then that since you either don't want to or cannot engage with the issue "reporters against the GAA" you are conceding the point. I gave you 2 concrete examples of blatant bias which you have chosen to ignore. There are many more here is a link to a story which was completely ignored by RTE and the Indo link
Would this be ignored if a high profile GAA manager was involved? Lets stick to the issue dhorse and less of the persecution complex nonsence.
Dont forget the old chinese proverb that goes "Remember everytime you point one finger at someone you are also pointing three at yourself". So stick to the topic and engage with the question.

1997 when this incident took place was an entirely different time and place and has little relevence on today, then there was no twitter, facebook, mobiles with cameras etc.
mod, you are completly biased against rugby, yes this is coming from probably the most pro rugby supporter on this forum but do i often in my posts have a go against the great sporting organisation that is the GAA. No, i dont so can you do the same

Please can nobody jump in and say this is a GAA site and that people can say what they like but surely if you dont like something or someone you dont need to throw in insults....

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 16/01/2012 18:19:48    1094568

mod

I take it then that since you either don't want to or cannot engage with the issue "reporters against the GAA" you are conceding the point.

Why are so many reporters against the GAA?

Ah, you have changed the issue slightly but significantly. The "so many" part, which intimated that there were a lot and that maybe you had some figures was what I was trying to get a handle on, but alas it's gone.

Now reporters against the GAA is issue, however I'm not aware of any, then again I'm not actively seeking them out but I'm sure it's always possible to dig up an example or two of anything.

If a reporter states something factual that you see as being detrimental to some part of the GAA does not mean he or she is against the GAA in totality. I know a few reporters that are GAA members, they might be against paying managers for example but I doubt if They are totally against the whole organistaion.

Quite a few of the associatons greatest managers have from time to time come out against aspects of the GAA, but it would hardly be true to say that a lot of GAA managers are anti GAA.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 16/01/2012 18:31:21    1094573

Yes D Horse I take your point, But I still wonder why is it that some reporters can say nothing positive about the GAA.
Take MB for example, he expounds all that is negative in the GAA

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 4044 - 16/01/2012 19:14:00    1094606

tomsmith

1094606 Yes D Horse I take your point, But I still wonder why is it that some reporters can say nothing positive about the GAA.
Take MB for example, he expounds all that is negative in the GAA

Perhaps, but sure we are free not to read his stuff just as he is free to write it. He obviously has an audience.

I would be more concerned that if any large institution like the GAA didn't have have somebody nipping at their Heels.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 16/01/2012 19:35:49    1094627

Ulsterman is bang on in his response - and 'TheRoad' dismisses all of the points raised by Ulsterman just as a state programmed robot would.

whosyourdaddy (USA) - Posts: 9 - 17/01/2012 11:17:04    1094928

Re Ormandbannerman Yes 1997 is a different time but not as different as you think. I seem to recall a big todo about a certain Mayo v Meath All Ireland in 1996. Its frightening therefore to think the old boy network was strong enough to muzzle a story in the national media (RTE Indo etc.) about an attack by a very prominant rugby official on a fellow reporter. One wonders about all the other stories that must have been hushed up. It also begs the question of course is the same network used to muffle critisism of the untouchable bankers and developers who are beggaring the ordinary citizen. The other examples (drunk driving eye gouging) are of more recent vintage.
You say Ormandbanner man that I am completely biased against rugby, I have never attacked rugby cricket bowls or tiddly winks but I like others have a major problem about the malign and disproportionate influence, the rugby fraternity it have on the media. Finally I do agree with you when you say "but surely if you dont like something or someone you dont need to throw in insults.... " I am careful as you will see from my posts to avoid throwing insults pity more dont comply with that wish.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 17/01/2012 20:01:44    1095525

Re dhorse I must admit that your convoluted reasoning has me at a loss but then I am a simple man. I certainly have not changed the issue slightly or otherwise. no matter how you try to twist it. "reporters against the GAA "is after all the title of this thread.
I mentioned it merely to bring you back on track as you seemed to be more intent on arguing that those who disagreed with you had a persecution complex.
Might I suggest a suitable counter argument could be one where you could show where rugby was unfavourably treated and GAA coverage of a similar issue too benign.
I have given you a number of examples of clear bias but you choose to avoid the debate by your argumentum ad hominem style. It is widely accepted and it also has been my experience that anyone who has to resort to that level of debate really hasn't much of a case.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 17/01/2012 20:18:08    1095544

Whosyourdaddy,"state programmed robot"?Once again...................YAWN.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 17/01/2012 20:26:13    1095556

mod

1095544 Re dhorse I must admit that your convoluted reasoning has me at a loss but then I am a simple man. I certainly have not changed the issue slightly or otherwise. no matter how you try to twist it. "reporters against the GAA "is after all the title of this thread.
I mentioned it merely to bring you back on track as you seemed to be more intent on arguing that those who disagreed with you had a persecution complex.

Alas , once more you have misread the title. "Why are so many reporters against the GAA?

The "so many" part of it would indicate Tom had a quantifable number in mind, in comparision to the number of reporters that are for the GAA.

The headline you have chosen to use, is subtly but very different. Reporters against the GAA, could be construed as there being as as two or several hundred, thuis my asking for some sort of figures.

I do however concur totally with the opening sentence of your post

My point as understood by Tom, is that merely because a reporter critises some aspect of the GAA does not mean he is against the GAA in total, just as any player, manager or fan that critisises an aspect or aspects of the GAA is not against the GAA as whole.

I do hope this has helped you understand your own post.

Even though, I'm bored with this, please feel free to come back for clarification if the need arises

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 17/01/2012 20:36:02    1095569

Re horse We are back to angles on a pin again. Why dont you address the issue. I have suggested a method of progressing the argument that is if you are interested/able for real debate and not this silly buggers stuff.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 17/01/2012 20:49:14    1095585

I have addressed the issue as in the post heading, what other or related issue do you wish me to address

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 17/01/2012 21:37:10    1095649

Will you two take it outside?

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 18/01/2012 09:57:55    1095713

Some lads here need to get a grip on reality. The reason Rugby gets presented in a better light in the papers is because the PR people for rugby are better at their job than GAA PR people. The GAA is an amateur organisation and are very good at certain things but lets itself down on other points.
GAA players do not like talking to the media and are often stopped from doing so by the team management. Every day in the national newspapers there is interviews with top managers/players/coaches etc when the rugby season is on. The only paper to have decent GAA articles is the Sunday INDO(the rest of the paper is terrible)

Pull_Knee_High (Meath) - Posts: 35 - 18/01/2012 11:27:51    1095783

17/01/2012 20:01:44
mod

1095525 Re Ormandbannerman Yes 1997 is a different time but not as different as you think. I seem to recall a big todo about a certain Mayo v Meath All Ireland in 1996. Its frightening therefore to think the old boy network was strong enough to muzzle a story in the national media (RTE Indo etc.) about an attack by a very prominant rugby official on a fellow reporter. One wonders about all the other stories that must have been hushed up. It also begs the question of course is the same network used to muffle critisism of the untouchable bankers and developers who are beggaring the ordinary citizen. The other examples (drunk driving eye gouging) are of more recent vintage.
You say Ormandbannerman that I am completely biased against rugby, I have never attacked rugby cricket bowls or tiddly winks but I like others have a major problem about the malign and disproportionate influence, the rugby fraternity it have on the media. Finally I do agree with you when you say "but surely if you dont like something or someone you dont need to throw in insults.... " I am careful as you will see from my posts to avoid throwing insults pity more dont comply with that wish.

You cannot just say that rugby gets a lot of media attention because of the old boy network, rugby has increased in popularity several times over in the past decade and for a lot of that period we have been successful with munster, leinster and ulster winning since 2001: 6 celtic/magners leagues, 1 or 2 celtic cups, 4 heineken cups, 4 triple crowns, a grand slam and we have improved the standard iof players being produced. That is a major reason why media attention is so big. If we were still as rubbish as we were in the 90s the media attention would be nowhere near as big as it is

Yes the schools cups get way too much attention and i would love it if the hogan cup, harty cup etc got as much but the newspapers clearly make a huge amount of money from advertising etc and maybe they feel doing the same for the gaa schools comps isnt viable enough, i cant answer that. If you dont like it, email or write a letter to the newspapers and they will give you a reply, theres no point whinging saying its anti gaa or its dublin media deciding that. they clearly choose their publications based on their readership, who will buy the paper.....

In the eddie halvey case why should something he did as a career for 2 or 3 years and what he does in his free time come into what he did.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 18/01/2012 11:57:11    1095808

Re dhorse I don't understand your failure to engage on media bias, surely that is what a discussion forum is all about I'm afraid our relationship is irretrievably broken and though it was hardly triple A to begin with, your faux distain, pedantic style and failure to debate the issue means for me (and others I suspect) alas this discussion has become pointless.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 18/01/2012 21:57:33    1096324