Showing soccer over GAA in pubs

Doublehop,

The vast majority of players employed by the IRFU through the provinces are Irish. BOD, Sexton, ROG etc. would all be on way more money if they were playing in France or England, or are you completely deluded? Maybe the FAI could learn a lot from them???

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 08/12/2011 16:13:56    1081862

"Premier League players are taxed 50% of their wages so they don't get as much as you'd think with the exception of Chelsea and Man City players who are on the big bucks. It might be a lot of money, but they have a ten year career and onces that ends most of them have no other job propects and the way they get hounded by the media and abused by fans they deserve every penny they get. We all want to earn as much as possible, who the hell works for nothing."

Poor babies! My point stands. It's all about the money (as the song goes), sport as such has left the building.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 08/12/2011 16:18:49    1081864

footballforever,
as one english comedian said he would stay on the pitch after the match was over and take abuse until the last supporter was gone home for the money they are getting . there is lot of players in the premiership on 15 to 50k who cant even take a corner kick properly . thats a lot of money saved in 10years.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 08/12/2011 16:33:32    1081874

Footballforever
County: UK

seriously you live in a dream world that the british media has provided for you and you buy into it.
why have we moved on because britain still rule our media and dont publish that they are terrorists themselves but yet have so many people in ireland believing that being a nationalist is a bad thing haha.seriously you cannot be serious in saying the all ireland only has 3 teams kerry tyrone and cork hmmm didnt cork sure why are you including cork if thats your case they only 1 won all ireland in 20 years.seems to me you dont understand the arguement the all ireland is much more closely matched teams yes kerry and tyrone won the competition the bulk of the last decade but you cannot say they were miles ahead of the rest dublin armagh cork kildare and mayo beat these teams during there dominance and drew with them on several occasions.where as in england the standard of football is far poorer then la liga thats my point but yet it gets publicised by the british press as the best league in the world and people like you believe it.
im not even getting into your figures on jobs an imports of trade they do all them things because it makes them more money not for any other reason and seriously it seems ok for everyone to condemn osama bin laden and celebrate his death but yet not one person would come out and say why couldnt they move on from it sure that was over a decade ago

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/12/2011 16:43:01    1081879

Gigoer,at the risk of yet another row,you said on a post a few pages back that youve "had enough of this prejudicial *****",yet on a previous thread,when I complained of ignorant,prejudiced attitudes toward the Gaa (and theres alot of that too) while I forgot exactly what you said,I remember that your advice for me was to grow up and accept that certain people will feel this way.
Gaa bigots are always criticised and rightly so (for the record I agree with your other sentiments on this thread) but no one ever slags off the soccer bigots (and as I said,theres alot of them too).

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 08/12/2011 16:43:46    1081881

gigoer
County: Wexford

well you tell me why the gaa was set up if it wasnt to have an outlet for for irish people to meet talk irish keep irish traditions and cultures alive and speak our language which was prohibited by the brits

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/12/2011 16:44:44    1081882

lilywhite1

haha good man lily

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/12/2011 16:46:03    1081883

Footballforever

Premier League players are taxed 50% of their wages so they don't get as much as you'd think with the exception of Chelsea and Man City players who are on the big bucks. It might be a lot of money, but they have a ten year career and onces that ends most of them have no other job propects and the way they get hounded by the media and abused by fans they deserve every penny they get. We all want to earn as much as possible, who the hell works for nothing.
Other sports don't have the same money because they are not global and don't have the same following but the top players in any professional sport will be very well off maybe not to the extent of others but they'll be worth a few quid. That goes for musicians and movie stars also. I'm sure if Manchester United came calling offering £20k a week, everyone on here would turn it down to stay with their local gaa team or local soccer team..... In our terms it's called a promotion and that is what we are all after at the end of the day.

hahahaha they desreve 1 milliona month which is wayne rooneys case seriuosly you live in cuckoo land,you proclaimed earlier that irish people had more to worry about with the budget that cam out but that premier league players deserve there collossol wages because they get a bit of media attention please the poor blokes what must it feel like with 50 or 60 grand a week to get a few reporters taking pictures of you when people are working flat out 5 or 6 days a week to feed their families.i was actualy offered trials in england for soccer il have you know but choose to stay and play for the north dublin team in the easter tournament

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/12/2011 16:51:33    1081886

Footballforever,many of those premier league players court the limelight and the media for their own ends.I wouldnt have any sympathy for them in that regard.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 08/12/2011 16:56:28    1081889

TheRoad, that reminds me of an incident some years back when after a few friends and I were returning from the NFL final in Croke Park we stopped at the Poitin Stil to watch the second half of a premership final game of the season with the destiny of the title in doubt until the game was over. As we tried to get a position without disturbing those who were all ready watching the game, an ignorant lout shouted at us "why don't ye **** off back to Croke Park where ye belong". How he knew we where we had come from I don't know since non of us were wearing jerseys since we were neutrals at the NFL final. Or maybe it was the fact that we only turned up after half time and wern't wearing premiership jerseys that got up his nose.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3038 - 08/12/2011 16:57:52    1081890

Its annoying alright lilywhite1.I get alot of that where Im from.Often I found that with mates of mine,most of the time their respect for the Gaa surged dramatically once I got them to watch a couple of games,but still,if that fella in the pub wants to go through his life believing soccer is the only sport in the world thats his loss.Guys like him will never get to watch things like the drive for five coming to an end,Cluckos heroics,great munster championship games etc.As I said,his loss.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 08/12/2011 17:13:02    1081901

hill16no1man .i was actualy offered trials in england for soccer il have you know but choose to stay and play for the north dublin team in the easter tournament

I'd say the only trials you were offered in England were in front of a judge. You're not a hero if you turned down riches. You're a fool. And the more money players get the more tax is generated for the government. They are rubbing their hands together everytime Man City offer players £200k a week, It's easy money for them. Thank god you're not running the country or actually with the state it's in, maybe you are.

It's not all glam lads, look at poor Gary Speed who we thought had it all

Footballforever (UK) - Posts: 92 - 08/12/2011 17:15:49    1081907

Footballforever,depression can affect ANYONE regardless of money/lifestyle etc.Thats just the way it is.We will never know why Gary Speed (RIP) took his own life,but Ill bet it had nothing to do with his job/financial situation,both of which were in a healthy state.
Tax or no tax,prem league footballers are loaded,and the ones at the bigger clubs get paid more than alot of world leaders.They have a magnificent lifestyle,get to see the world, their girlfriends are stunners.Id bet if you were to ask say Torres,what his worst nightmare is,being an average joe would not be too far down the list.Of course there are drawbacks,but we wouldnt say no to their lot in life.
Of course its not all glam(id say its about 98% glam)

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 08/12/2011 17:36:25    1081927

tis bloody awful carry on... foreign sport being shown instead of our national game.. men died for this sport

Royal09 (Meath) - Posts: 157 - 08/12/2011 17:37:50    1081928

hill16no1man is not a fool to turn down the possible chance of a rich lifestyle. He had a choice and he made it. He doesn't appear to regret it. So therefore it was the right choice for him personally even if you can't understand it.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3038 - 08/12/2011 17:51:35    1081942

Royal09,poor attempt at humour.Men did actually die for playing this sport.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 08/12/2011 18:03:28    1081951

Hill they way you go on, you'd swear we invented hurling just so we could beat the Brits off our island with hurls

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 08/12/2011 18:07:59    1081956

keeper7 in additon to what I already said about tax rebates I could reply to you with facts about salary caps and limits on foreign players in England and France and the fact that centrally contracts Irish international players are paid directly by Ireland and not by their provinces but since I assume you would coninue to say I'm deluded I'm not going to bother. If it makes you happy to believe that Irish provinces are achieving their results against the financial odds go on ahead.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 08/12/2011 20:17:13    1082042

Roadie I don't know what you're on about, I've had some interesting debates on this forum with you, sure they get fired up from time to time as healthy debate should do but I don't ever recall even having a row, much less another so try not to be so sensitive and please don't half-quote me from another thread completely. For the record, I respect people who like GAA but don't like other sports and vice versa but that doesn't give anyone a licence to diss anyone for having different interests nor does it give anyone the right to impose GAA on someone who isn't interested in it just because it's Irish. Prejudice works both ways and I delve in neither. As for hillman, I must say I've enjoyed reading many of his posts, he makes a lot of interesting points but this opposition to any other sports other than GAA seems unhealthy to me and these anti-English commentary very hateful, it's bordering on disturbing. I don't discriminate & you boys seem to have a problem with that

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 08/12/2011 20:19:32    1082044

Footballforever

hillno1man, you're probably the most ignorant person on here coming out with remarks like that. As someone who once played both codes in London I'll have you know that the players put in twice as much of an effort as those in Ireland. Have you to travel 2-3 hours in traffic to training 3 times a week, getting home at midnight? Have you to give up your whole weekend to go back to Ireland to play a game and get no thanks for it? It's people like you that give the GAA it's bad name. I'm ashamed to say that you are associated with the GAA. I for one hope you are never involved in the management of any teams because it's the likes of you and your snide remakes that our games are struggling with only a few counties competing.

GAA sports should be played all over the world by any person that wants to play it regardless of race or beliefs. For us people that live abroad it brings us all together and gives us a chance to meet people who have similar interests for a chat and a pint and a bit of craic.

To get back to the topic, a pub in Ireland showed a soccer game that was watched by millions over a deferred club hurling match watched by a few hundred on a channel that nobody can understand. What has Ireland come to??? For shame!!!

You actually have the cheek to call someone else ignorant. What do you mean ´a channel nobody can understand? Of course some people can understand it because they have taken the time and effort to learn and use the language. I personally hope you are never involved in the running or management of a team (especially of youngsters) because your attitude is the complete antithesis of what should be promoted within our games. i.e, culture and pride in being Irish and to say that nobody understands the gaelic language is unbelieveably narrowminded and stupid.

BluesNeverLose (Down) - Posts: 38 - 08/12/2011 20:47:50    1082056