Showing soccer over GAA in pubs

Dubfan abroad,I used to get dragged to loads of Galway utd games by a mate,most of the fans there were only interested in sneaking in vodka and coke,and many paid little attention to the game.As well as this there was often a very tense atmosphere at the games,particularly when sligo and derry came to town,often stewards had to separate fans after the games.Some of the chants were repulsive as well.The football wasnt great (especially cause we lost all the time)but it was good craic every now and again.There were some good games too.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 07/12/2011 18:30:50    1081419

TheRoad

Dubfan abroad,I used to get dragged to loads of Galway utd games by a mate,most of the fans there were only interested in sneaking in vodka and coke,and many paid little attention to the game.As well as this there was often a very tense atmosphere at the games,particularly when sligo and derry came to town,often stewards had to separate fans after the games.Some of the chants were repulsive as well.The football wasnt great (especially cause we lost all the time)but it was good craic every now and again.There were some good games too.

I love Terryland Park. It was home away from home for a couple of years whilst living in Galway and couldn't make it back to Dalyer to see the Bohs.

A great ground and a great place to watch a game.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 07/12/2011 19:12:30    1081448

Ya might have seen me so in the section C crowd just beside the away fans section.Ya there were some good nights up there alright.Havent been there in ages.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 07/12/2011 19:16:23    1081454

I must reply to GotMilk ( Fermanagh ), while we may be from out of town as you call it, we frequent ( have done in the past), Hayes Hotel, we bring groups there, it has been a meeting place for our friends and contacts for years, all because of its historical past but not any more.
Back to that Sunday, we were watching the match and in arrived the two beer swillers and demanded to see the Man City v Liv match, which the barman duly obliged, and left us to finish our food and get out.
We went to another premises, not far away from Hayes, three Tv's and all showing the hurling match, we have e mailed the Manager and sent him a letter as well but no reply.

sam02 (Tyrone) - Posts: 643 - 07/12/2011 20:23:43    1081493

Sam if you don't mind me asking how many times a year do you frequent Hayes? Don't get me wrong I would rather watch the hurling myself but your bread and butter customer comes first.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 07/12/2011 20:30:35    1081501

lilywhite1

1080967 bbilly

Sure the premiership is a mile ahead of any GAA match. Move with the times would ye.

Apart from the top of the table clashes watching the premiership imo is like watching paint dry.

move over buddy and ill join ya cant stand the premiership meself..............................

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 07/12/2011 21:30:42    1081536

Footballforever
County: UK

Finally, why would people watch irish soccer? It's rubbish. The reason they are across the water playing is because that's where the money is and before any of ye complain that they've left there Country to play think of this, it's a job that pays the bills. Same reason why myself and thousands of other Irish people are over here and Austraila and all over the world. Our own Country can't provide for us and places like oz and the uk are more than happy too. We take £9 BILLION off them to save our Country from been crippled and then we complain when people support their teams. I know ye're probably all hardcore GAA and went mad when rule 42 was removed but lads this is the 21st Century and it's hard to say it but we'd be lost without the Brits. It was the money that they gave us that are keeping those of you working in Ireland in work. Where would the GAA be then, with every young person gone? Where would ye be yourselves? Lads without the money and support they gave us, ye'd all be over there now using the Chinese yuan and eating fried rice with your bacon and cabbage. There's bigger problems in Ireland lads. Ye should start a tread on how to save the country from ruin after that budget rather than moan about a game of soccer in a pub.

hahahaha why would they play irish soccer irish soccer is rubbish theres the sense behind it all these guys that you say are our number 1 sports people all came and played in the league of ireland they didnt become superstars as soon as they borded a plane for britain.you dont realise the fact that if soccer fans got behind the irish soccer league it would have enough money to keep them here the profile of the league would be raised thus keeping the better players here influencing foreign players to come here just like it has done in the premier league but that will never happen because small minded people are brainwashed by the media which is run by british companys so therefore will not take british sports off the back pages.to say we need the brits and we would be lost without the brits is a disgrace.
i wonder if you were here when they were throwing innocent people out of there homes and murdering irish women and children for no other reason then greed would you be so quick to proclaim there greatness.what have they done for us latly please tell me apart from you money which you say they gave ireland ha if they did give that do you not think they are doing it to make a profit for themselves.you must be clearly brainwashed by them as the british army is the largest terrorist organisation the world has ever seen.look at the countrys all over the world they invaded and still own today in the commonwealth but yet they make themselves out to be heroes when one of there soldiers is killed in iraq or afghanistan doing what they were doing all those years.the gaa was set up for that very reason to stop british rue in ireland to keep irish traditon going.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/12/2011 12:02:41    1081673

dhorse
County: Laois

hill16no1man

1081142 srgt slaughter

i would have imagined tipperary was hurling country not soccer?

Goes to show what imagination and sterotyping can do. Think Shane long. minor football 2011, aidan o brien, etc. theres a whole big wide world the far side of the poitin still

seriously is there nothing to do in laois at all ? you have to look for every post i make.and hurling contry as in the main sport there

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/12/2011 12:05:00    1081677

the premiership is the biggest overhyped sports league ever.there is at most 3 teams every year who can win it,an after a few months that drops to two teams they jst have great brainwashing and money behind them that gets people to seriously think its the bees nees.the spanish league has far better skillfull players and no hoofing football to watch like in england but yet it doesnt get half the coverage or name tag because it dont have the same money involved in it.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 08/12/2011 12:09:58    1081681

GotMilk ( Fermanagh), I have been in the hotel in Thurles on many many occasions this year, and stayed there before Tipps NHL games in Semple, also Munster C'ship matches. I am as well known in Thurles as any local, and was at the opening of Lar Corbetts Bar and stayed O/N in the hotel.
It wouldnt have mattered had "Tom the Devil" came in that evening, the Barman and the 2 people at the bar wanted to see the Soccer. Wonder would they turn off soccer to watch Hurling or Gaelic Football in your county, eg Brookeboro, Ballinamallard, Kesh.

sam02 (Tyrone) - Posts: 643 - 08/12/2011 12:42:05    1081706

hill16no1man, If I agreed with you we'd both be wrong. You obviously know little about how Ireland operates as a Country if you are coming out with comments like this "what have they done for us latly please tell me apart from you money which you say they gave ireland". The buy roughly 80% of the produce that is generated and sold in Ireland. That is where we get our money from. We trade goods in exchange for money. They use more Irish products than Ireland does itself. And other than giving work to about a million Irish people along with the £9 billion (which of course they will make money from, a bank doesn't give you a loan without making money), you're right, they do nothing for us. I don't condone what happened in the past but we've moved on from that now and it has little relevance with the topic in question. By the way, ye're talking about the premiership been 2 or 3 teams, it's the same in every sport. Hurling is Kilkenny or Tipp, Football with the exception of this year is Kerry, Cork or Tyrone, La Liga in Spain is Real Madrid or Barcelona, Tennis is Nadel or Fedderer. It's like that in all sports. No one is forcing any of ye to watch the premier league, if ye want to go off and watch Rós Na Rún during the winter then go ahead. I'm suppose ye watch no English tv channel's at all, ye just watch re runs of realing in the years and fair city. I'm not commenting anymore, some of the statements are embarrassing. I'd rather talk to thurlasblues about Tipp winning the 5 in a row starting in 2009

Footballforever (UK) - Posts: 92 - 08/12/2011 12:56:30    1081720

hill16no1man

gaa was set up for that very reason to stop british rue in ireland to keep irish traditon going.

Dear God, he's lost it completely...

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 08/12/2011 14:20:08    1081771

Footballforever,

I would claim that in club soccer, the more money you have will invariably hugely influence how successful you will be. Take Chelsea & now Man City as most recent examples. You can't say that about tennis, rugby or GAA! At some point the lines between sport & business get blurred & the essence of true competition is lost. For me, soccer lost this essence years ago when players & managers began getting paid ridiculous sums of money.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 08/12/2011 14:29:56    1081781

Why couldn't you say it about rugby?

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 08/12/2011 14:42:39    1081792

hill16no1man is getting ambushed from many quarters here. I may not agree with all his points but he is entitled to his opinion the same as anyone else even if people who disagree with him criticise him for holding his own views.
"I do not agree with what you say but I will defend to the death your right to say it". Voltaire

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3038 - 08/12/2011 14:49:52    1081798

The Irish provinces, particularly Munster & Leinster, have done remarkably well in the Heineken Cup despite French & English clubs having much larger budgets. That's why! Plus most Irish players have chosen to ply their trade in Ireland instead of abroad.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 08/12/2011 14:50:30    1081800

The pub i usually watch games in has 2 tellys. If there is a clash of games. gaa in front bar and soccer in back bar. a lot of soccer fans will be giving out that they have to go in back bar. but the reason is that they are always shouting at da telly annoying all the other customers who come in for a quiet drink.

ironman (Mayo) - Posts: 131 - 08/12/2011 14:52:36    1081802

The Irish provinces, particularly Munster & Leinster, have done remarkably well in the Heineken Cup despite French & English clubs having much larger budgets. That's why! Plus most Irish players have chosen to ply their trade in Ireland instead of abroad.

..because they get 40% of their tax back when they retire. And the Irish provinces/IRFU have bigger budgets than the majority of English and French clubs. Rocky Elsom, Doug Howlett, Christian Cullen and many more don't come here for the food and music.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 08/12/2011 15:04:03    1081806

Premier League players are taxed 50% of their wages so they don't get as much as you'd think with the exception of Chelsea and Man City players who are on the big bucks. It might be a lot of money, but they have a ten year career and onces that ends most of them have no other job propects and the way they get hounded by the media and abused by fans they deserve every penny they get. We all want to earn as much as possible, who the hell works for nothing.
Other sports don't have the same money because they are not global and don't have the same following but the top players in any professional sport will be very well off maybe not to the extent of others but they'll be worth a few quid. That goes for musicians and movie stars also. I'm sure if Manchester United came calling offering £20k a week, everyone on here would turn it down to stay with their local gaa team or local soccer team..... In our terms it's called a promotion and that is what we are all after at the end of the day.

Footballforever (UK) - Posts: 92 - 08/12/2011 15:36:14    1081826

I have no problem with any sport shown on tv in pubs. The main problem I have found in my area of Dublin is that even if a GAA match is on during the winter months and there are no main soccer matches, some pubs insist in having any other sport,cricket,darts,Sky sports news etc on even if there is not a customer interested.Seen as I stated before some publicans with no cop on losing good customers because of their attitude.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 08/12/2011 15:47:05    1081833