Showing soccer over GAA in pubs

Footballforever
County: UK

If you had actually been around in Ireland you would have known that TV3, RTE, TG4 GAA audience figures are at all time record sporting viewing levels in THIS country, yes the only country that actually matters. The establishment after all is in Ireland not low-life street UK, not that too many of us care about that place, the people in it or what they watch or eat for breakfast. SOME (a tiny minority) of us may ape UK "culture" but I wouldn't lose the run of myself, some Belgians actually think their French.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4955 - 06/12/2011 19:04:46    1080970

Reading this thread makes me sad. Sad that the service in a hotel is so bad and lets be honest ignorant.

Some Irish people think that the Premiership is 'IT'. Great for them.

I for one can speak a little Irish and I watch TG4 very often. They show the real GAA, the club games. Its a pity that our National Broadcaster does not. I always look forward to the Tg4 coverage and especially on Monday evenings in the winter when GAA is quiet nationally and locally. There are some great games on and great coverage - and I think its nice to have them in Irish!

I am not interested in the viewing figures. We can use statistics to back up any argument. The key point is that Soccer People believe that they have a right ot watch 'THEIR TEAM' on a Sunday or Wed evening. What the lads experienced in Hayes Hotel is a national phenemona. It is a regular experience for many punters in pubs. Its a reality I feel and I dont know if there is anything that can be done about it. There is a lot of antipathy and ignorance towards the GAA and its difficult to engage with it. We can see some of the comment on here and its typical of the anti gaa stuff that we often have to endure.

well, fair play to those pubs who have the manners to put on the game that is on TG4 and whether its a relayed game or not I dont think is relevant to any argument. If people ask to see a game, then they want to watch that game. Not any other game.

Finally, I watch football and hurling games and when there is noting else on... then will I watch soccer.... agree with another poster... like watching paint dry.

I will be watching Ireland in the European Finals, as they will have to score goals to get through to the next round... so will be worth watching. I also watch some of their qualifying games as again there is something at stake. But the premiership.... overpaid and underworked!

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1881 - 06/12/2011 20:16:33    1081025

Did any one find out how many televisions were in the pub .before everything english gets blamed for maybe a barmans ignorance and inability to accomadate two parties with what both wanted.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 06/12/2011 20:50:02    1081046

I was in the aforementioned hotel bar in Thurles a couple of years ago when Longford beat Westmeath in the 1st round of the football championship. In fairness, there was Premiership soccer on at the time but the barman did accommodate me by putting on the game on one of the televisions. And we won!

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 06/12/2011 21:46:40    1081074

hill16man, you're always banging on about attendances, viewing figures, this and that, applying statistics to the comings & goings of everyday real life & turning it into some sort of popularity contest between Soccer & GAA. (If you work in the Central Statistics Office, you're in heaven on a daily basis).

Maybe GAA is more popular than Soccer, maybe it isn't, I'm not arguing either case, I know you are but my point, (and try not to miss it) is that if from September to May, if you add up all the viewing figures from all the soccer and compare them to the viewing figures of the GAA, there'd be no comparison and that's simply because, as I said, there is 100 times more soccer on TV than GAA, so much more promotion, many more televised matches & therefore so much easier to access all year long etc etc etc so to compare the 2 on some sort of competitive level is pointless as it grossly undermines the argument for the GAA.

I don't like it any more than any Gael, but that's just how it is. I admire your passion for the GAA & like you, will pick it over Soccer any day but you seem set in your ways so I'm assuming I'm wasting my cyber breath here. And please, don't come back to me with some viewing per capita figure, I'm not interested. Perhaps if you ever get fired from the CSO, you should take a job in the GAA Marketing Department.

And as for the original poster, it's unfortunate that a premises like Hayes decided to keep the soccer punters happy on that occasion, only made worse by the brash attitude of a barman, but if it were the Sunday Game showing Championship hurling/football on the TV, there'd be no question what they'd be showing so enough with the loudspeaker

And for those of you on your soapboxes crying 'For shame!' to those who want to watch soccer over GAA - get over yourselves & get real. You are allowed to be Irish and have no interest in the GAA.

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 07/12/2011 10:07:08    1081103

You should send an email of complaint as well and let us know what the reply back is. Places should be able to cater for all sports.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8971 - 07/12/2011 10:57:20    1081120

gigoer
County: Wexford

im only ponting out that to be the number 1 sport in a country you obviously have to have the most people paying into see the games and the most people watching it when its televised thats how you judge not by how much media publicity something gets and lets face it soccer and rugby only get media publicity because a they are professional so they pay for it and they are both british played sports so the media will cover them.
your point on the viewing figures from september to may is that soccer would be ahead but in what country yes across the world more people will watch soccer then gaa because gaa is only an irish sport so therefore your competing with billions againt 4 million in irelands population,but if you look at ireland only there is more people watch televised gaa matches in ireland then any other sport.comparing the premiership to gaa is not what we are about because the premiership viewings are taken from the uk,soccer in ireland is the airtricity league and the national team.so if soccer is the number 1 sport in ireland why is its legaue so poorly attended and under valued,why is the national team made up of half british born players whos relations come from from ireland and are not good enough to get into there country of origin so choose to take the offer to play for ireland.why does not one player from the irish national team not live in ireland or let alone play in the irish league if it is such a big sport here.
i dont work in the cso by the way im a personal trainer just for your info i would love a job as a gaa marketing offical because they are lacking badly in that department at least someone who will threaten to pull out of rte contracts unless they air more gaa news,like why on earth should ronny o sullivan threatning to pull out of snooker because he lost a match get aired and not one single bit on gaa news like fine if you live in scotland but we live in ireland if your going to do the irish news give us news on irish sport is all we ask.the original point is though that they person was watching the hurling and they turned it off on him why couldnt they make the two guys go to another part of the bar and watch the soccer on another screen

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/12/2011 11:18:58    1081131

carlowman
County: Carlow

Reading this thread makes me sad. Sad that the service in a hotel is so bad and lets be honest ignorant.

Some Irish people think that the Premiership is 'IT'. Great for them.

your right unfortunatly alot of irish people today are so brainwashed by the media that they cannot think for themselves they are like sheep

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/12/2011 11:21:11    1081132

lads its simple business you have to please your regulars first ive seen in my local where horse racing oversees all ....if ya dont have regulars you dont have a business....it has nothing to do with soccer over gaa just simple business...however if they had more than one tv and there was not a big crowd watching the game they should have accommodated you

srgt_slaughter (Meath) - Posts: 462 - 07/12/2011 11:27:36    1081140

srgt slaughter

i would have imagined tipperary was hurling country not soccer?

you missed live in ratoath or navan haha at least the horse racing is actualy in ireland so therefore irish sport

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/12/2011 11:31:28    1081142

Hill you're missing the point again. I never said at any time that Soccer was the number 1 sport in Ireland and I'm not trying to proclaim GAA as the number 1 sport in Ireland either.

And to use an example of the League of Ireland as poorly attended is lame - it's not as if your typical GAA league match is out the door with attendances. Hell, Croke Park is even 2/3 empty in the minor final on All Ireland final day and some of the provincial finals - particularly in Leinster remain poorly attended.

GAA will always be our home sport, we will always be proud of it, we will always be able to call it our own, for us Gaels there's nothing like it and I'm going to leave it at that.

As to whether or not people should be dictated to make it the number 1 sport in Ireland, to choose it over Soccer regardless, not to mention that closed-minded comment you made in the Rugby World cup thread, I'll leave that to you as I'm a strong believer in To Each Their Own

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 07/12/2011 12:32:16    1081174

well facts are facts and if you want to blindly ignore them thats your choice but your comparing the premier league in england to the gaa in ireland but calling soccer in ireland into question so that accounts for the airtricity league and national team the premier league is not in ireland

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/12/2011 12:47:52    1081185

I think the League of Ireland should be watched and attended long before any English premier teams. Not one team in Englan or Scotland (Celtic Included) Gives two cents about Irish Sporting Fans. The priority for pubs should be Start with GAA, then Irish Soccer and the Premiership should be shown somewhere down the list after the Angelus.

Dubfan Abroad (Dublin) - Posts: 282 - 07/12/2011 13:04:45    1081193

Lads the hotel is a business. Two people calling in for a bite to eat after a match will not keep the business a float. Those who came into watch the soccer probably do so on a regular basis. If they are forced to watch the match somewhere else then there is the possibility they will not return to that hotel to watch the soccer. Myself I would rather watch the hurling myself but at the end of the day the hotel is there to make money not satisfy the needs of two out of towners who are only there once a year.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 07/12/2011 13:35:59    1081220

I still bet there was a sign outside the door saying that they were showing the Liverpool game at 4 and it was missed by the original poster. I've seen it happen in many a pub in Ireland.

I was in a pub in Kerry in 1998 when Kilkenny were playing Waterford in the All Ireland Final and the pub had golf on the tele. I asked was he showing the match in the bar and he said no, to be fair to him he brought me and my pint of cider upstairs to a small room with an even smaller tele and I saw the game.

Finally, why would people watch irish soccer? It's crap. The reason they are across the water playing is because that's where the money is and before any of ye complain that they've left there Country to play think of this, it's a job that pays the bills. Same reason why myself and thousands of other Irish people are over here and Austraila and all over the world. Our own Country can't provide for us and places like oz and the uk are more than happy too. We take £9 BILLION off them to save our Country from been crippled and then we complain when people support their teams. I know ye're probably all hardcore GAA and went mad when rule 42 was removed but lads this is the 21st Century and it's hard to say it but we'd be lost without the Brits. It was the money that they gave us that are keeping those of you working in Ireland in work. Where would the GAA be then, with every young person gone? Where would ye be yourselves? Lads without the money and support they gave us, ye'd all be over there now using the Chinese yuan and eating fried rice with your bacon and cabbage. There's bigger problems in Ireland lads. Ye should start a tread on how to save the country from ruin after that budget rather than moan about a game of soccer in a pub.

Footballforever (UK) - Posts: 92 - 07/12/2011 14:23:02    1081237

With hands joined in prayer, Dear Lord, please give Hill16man the strength & courage to address the point actually made

Anyhoo, I've had enough of this prejudicial sh*te, I don't care what pub shows what match unless I'm in that pub wanting to see it, I don't know what's the most popular sport in the country, and I don't want to know because I don't care and for the next 10 months I will be:

- Watching our hurlers with keen interest with Liam Dunne as our new manager, hopefully we'll take steps in the right direction

- Assuming Dublin & Wexford get through their rounds in the Leinster, looking forward to attending Croke Park in the semi final where we will hopefully, at long last, topple the mighty Dubs. Gotta happen one day! ;-)

- In the Aviva next week for Leinster vs Bath in the Heineken Cup, can't wait, hopefully it will lead to back to back Heinekens for Leinster next year

- Bringing the better half back to Ravenhill for Ulster vs the Ospreys

- On the sauce with my workmates in the summer for Ireland in Euro 2012

So it's all apples & oranges for me.

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 07/12/2011 14:34:00    1081245

hill16no1man

1081142 srgt slaughter

i would have imagined tipperary was hurling country not soccer?

Goes to show what imagination and sterotyping can do. Think Shane long. minor football 2011, aidan o brien, etc. theres a whole big wide world the far side of the poitin still

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 07/12/2011 14:44:09    1081249

Jaysus Footballer forever, you've lost the run of yourself a bit there. Calm down man. We're talkin sport here relax. This is a GAA forum so I wont go too much into the soccer part except to say, Have you ever attended a LOI game?? Its a great product and great value for money. If you knew anything about football as you espouse with your name you would know the game in Ireland has improved vastly.

Dubfan Abroad (Dublin) - Posts: 282 - 07/12/2011 15:06:04    1081261

In my local, they have four TV screens so the problem of GAA v Soccer v rugby v horseracing coverage never arises.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3038 - 07/12/2011 16:35:56    1081337

dhorse
County: Laois

Cavan_Slasher

1080929 Absolute disgrace that this hotel with such a G.A.A.reputation would show soccer ahead of our own games !!
They should be ashamed of themselves !!

Too right, had lunch there a few weeks back and they had lasagna on the menu, not mention of bacon and cabbage, Micheal Cusack would have founded the GAA in the anner if he was about nowadays

Ha ha. I remember Derek Davis talking about going into a restaurant in Longford a good many years ago and being surprised that they has Lasagna on the menu as it was a relatively new dish to Ireland. He said he ordered it and it came well presented on the plate BUT while he was admiring it two waitresses arrived at either side of him and one piled on spuds and the other cabbage before he could protest !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 07/12/2011 18:19:00    1081408