Hill16101man,if you had bothered to read my post properly you would have seen that I said that I would have preferred to have watched the Gaa,but it is an undeniable fact (not opinion,FACT) that whether we like it or not (and I dont) the vast majority of people in this country would rather watch the premier league game than a deferred club game (in Irish).Once again that is a fact.Im not saying I like it,Im no big fan of soccer,but its the way it is.Why you feel the need to criticise me for stating the obvious is beyond me.
TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 06/12/2011 11:49:49
miketyson County: Limerick Posts: 2363
1080441 The barman was dead right. The vast majority of people would want to watch the soccer over some club game, if twas an intercounty game i could understand but a club game, which is defferred and in Irish???.... what did u expect? a red carpet and champagne in front of the fire.. get over it
how was he dead right first off the hurling match was on and people ordered food and set down to watch it therefore they were paying customers and were there for the use of the tv.your second assumption also would prove wrong as i can guarnatee you if you looked at the viewing figures on the island of ireland for those two matches in question the hurling would have more viewers.the all ireland football final attracted 1.4 million viewers the hurling final 1million viewers the rugby highest match was 800thousand viewers and the champions league final was 300 thousand viewers.gaa is by far the most supported and viewed sport in ireland. even though soccer and rugby are the most promoted sport in our media this is because our media is british run still unfortunatly. how emabarrasing is it to hear you say AND IN IRISH.what country are you from IRELAND just because you were not smart enough in school to learn your own countrys language doesnt mean the rest of us cant listen or watch a match.anyway you watch a match with your eyes not ears
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/12/2011 11:52:26
It must be great to be you hill16man. Everything is black or white, Yes or No and On or Off. No need for compromises or half measures.
It is whatever you say it is... even if you are way off the mark.
doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 06/12/2011 12:01:25
TheRoad County: Galway Posts: 308
i wanted to reply to your bit on sky sports mainly,il rephrase my reply why do you want to lick up to a british organisation,it is an irish sport and yes there are micky mouse teams all ovver the world but the all ireland is essentialy only teams in ireland playing,london and new york are only in there for a holiday and yes i know london drew with mayo and beat fermanagh but thats the only thing they have done in the last 20 years or so,so my point is why do you want a british organistaion to take over an irish only sport and brodcast it,you do realise it would be the last on there list of priorites if this was the case.we already have a massive problem with our media being biased to foreign games mainly because there is only 1 or 2 newspapers that are actualy irish run the rest are versions of british papers so gaa suffers because it is not an english sport.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/12/2011 13:33:06
doublehop County: Kildare Posts: 1375
1080633 It must be great to be you hill16man. Everything is black or white, Yes or No and On or Off. No need for compromises or half measures.
It is whatever you say it is... even if you are way off the mark.
im surprised you didnt mention dublin beating kildare by a bernard brogan free that supposably i only saw ,you realy need to move on from that. everytime i post you try and have a go at me i think you still bitter,anyway to your jibe at me all i can say is i cannot actualy see what your point is you state these things without no referance?
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/12/2011 13:36:23
Some of the statements on here and ridiculous, I've never seen so many single minded comments. Just because you're in Ireland doesn't mean GAA has to be shown on the tele. As I said earlier there was probably a sign outside the door stating what match they were showing and if there wasn't the people eating should of asked before they ordered. Not all of Ireland like watching GAA so to say it has to be shown instead of a premier league match is petty to say the least. How many of you moaning Michael's on here actually watched the game deferred on TG4? I wouldn't be surprised if none of you watched it. Ye were probably watching reruns of Coronation Street and Chitty Chitty Bang Bang so grow up the lot of ye. Pubs have the right to show whatever sport they want.
Footballforever (UK) - Posts: 92 - 06/12/2011 14:15:59
Some of the statements on here and ridiculous, I've never seen so many single minded comments.
Exactly.
hill16no1man, I suppose Footballforever has it in for you as well, does he?
doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 06/12/2011 14:25:24
Here in Dublin I stopped going to my nearest pub because although they have 3 tv screens they would not change to GAA on a Sunday yet they can show three different soccer matches on a Wednesday night. Met the landlord recently who enquired of my and two friends absence.When told the reason he plamased that next Sunday he would put it on. OK we said but voted with our feet and went where the owner is accomodating to all races and cultures.Take no **** from them.
Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 06/12/2011 14:26:14
Footballforever County: UK Posts: 22
1080721 Some of the statements on here and ridiculous, I've never seen so many single minded comments. Just because you're in Ireland doesn't mean GAA has to be shown on the tele. As I said earlier there was probably a sign outside the door stating what match they were showing and if there wasn't the people eating should of asked before they ordered. Not all of Ireland like watching GAA so to say it has to be shown instead of a premier league match is petty to say the least. How many of you moaning Michael's on here actually watched the game deferred on TG4? I wouldn't be surprised if none of you watched it. Ye were probably watching reruns of Coronation Street and Chitty Chitty Bang Bang so grow up the lot of ye. Pubs have the right to show whatever sport they want.
so now you have to ask if the match that is on the screen will remain on if a couple of guys come in and decide they want to watch another sports match from a differant country ahead of the game that is on the screen currently?not all of ireland like british soccer so to sayit should be shown in an irish pub ahaead of a sport somebody is already watching is petty to say the least.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/12/2011 15:02:29
doublehop County: Kildare Posts: 1378
1080729 Some of the statements on here and ridiculous, I've never seen so many single minded comments.
Exactly.
hill16no1man, I suppose Footballforever has it in for you as well, does he?
no he actualy gave his opinion on the matter and made a point ok i might not agree with him but he aired his opinion on the matter as for you what did you say on the topic nothing you just went straight for an arguement at me
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 06/12/2011 15:04:03
hill16no1man County: Dublin
London and new york are only in there for a holiday
hillno1man, you're probably the most ignorant person on here coming out with remarks like that. As someone who once played both codes in London I'll have you know that the players put in twice as much of an effort as those in Ireland. Have you to travel 2-3 hours in traffic to training 3 times a week, getting home at midnight? Have you to give up your whole weekend to go back to Ireland to play a game and get no thanks for it? It's people like you that give the GAA it's bad name. I'm ashamed to say that you are associated with the GAA. I for one hope you are never involved in the management of any teams because it's the likes of you and your snide remakes that our games are struggling with only a few counties competing.
GAA sports should be played all over the world by any person that wants to play it regardless of race or beliefs. For us people that live abroad it brings us all together and gives us a chance to meet people who have similar interests for a chat and a pint and a bit of craic.
To get back to the topic, a pub in Ireland showed a soccer game that was watched by millions over a deferred club hurling match watched by a few hundred on a channel that nobody can understand. What has Ireland come to??? For shame!!!
Footballforever (UK) - Posts: 92 - 06/12/2011 15:08:07
hill16no1man County: Dublin
so now you have to ask if the match that is on the screen will remain on if a couple of guys come in and decide they want to watch another sports match from a differant country ahead of the game that is on the screen currently?not all of ireland like british soccer so to sayit should be shown in an irish pub ahaead of a sport somebody is already watching is petty to say the least.
I have no idea what you are talking about here but yes if a soccer match is on the tele and you come in for food and would like to watch the hurling or football or golf or horse racing etc, you should ask at the bar will they turn it over. If they say no then go buy your food somewhere else or just go to the bloody match and buy a bag of chips at half time
Footballforever (UK) - Posts: 92 - 06/12/2011 15:13:26
I objected strongly, only to be brushed aside by the Barman, we sent a message to our other friends not to come, finished our food and left, and on the way out made a complaint to the Staff at Reception.
To be honest I think most people would rather watch Liverpool v Man City and I think you made a complete spectacle of yourself sam02 if the above is true.
Ps I have no idea what hill16no1man is saying, I refuse to read his posts because he's a malicious liar and I'd urge other to ignore his posts aswell because they're of no worth, thank you.
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 06/12/2011 15:17:01
Soccer is the most watched sport on the planet. And with the multi-cultural population we now have on our little island, soccer has only grown more popular here.
Plus there is massively more matches/competitions/leagues/internationals in soccer games on TV & on God knows how many channels - sure look at any pub in the country, the majority will advertise Sky sports in their windows just to bring in the soccer pundits
And don't start quoting All Ireland TV viewing figures at me, the GAA just doesn't have the profile, the money, TV coverage or the amount of games that soccer does, so to compare or compete the 2 doesn't seem plausible or even relevant
Pubs are a business at the end of the day so they will depend on the Man Us & Liverpools in the Champions League on a Wednesday night or in the Premiership on a Saturday or Sunday all year long to bring in the pundits & their money and will not be relying on GAA league games on a Sunday afternoon on TG4. The reality is it only picks up in Championship season and that's it
Business is business when it comes to watching matches in pubs, I wish it weren't like that but that's just how it is
gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 06/12/2011 15:18:41
hill16man you should ask santy for a few full stops this xmas.
Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 06/12/2011 15:31:06
I objected strongly, only to be brushed aside by the Barman, we sent a message to our other friends not to come, finished our food and left, and on the way out made a complaint to the Staff at Reception.
To be honest I think most people would rather watch Liverpool v Man City and I think you made a complete spectacle of yourself sam02 if the above is true. -------------------------------------------------------- Htaem,
Sure its just another example of nordies trying to prove their 'Irishness' and ram it down peoples throats!!.....Im surprised he didnt try to make the complaint in pidgin Gaeilge with a uileann piper and blind harpist in the background and a pack of Wolfhounds before him whilst wearing a saffron kilt and swigging a bottle of the creatur!!
Typical nordies!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 06/12/2011 15:32:11
By the way, I'm not saying Soccer is or should be more popular than GAA or vice versa, there are viable points to both sides of that argument, I for one will never pick soccer over hurling or football and but if you were to drop the national pride for a moment & be pragmatic, you have to admit when it comes to TV figures, there is only one winner and that's soccer, unfortunately
gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 06/12/2011 15:36:37
no he actualy gave his opinion on the matter and made a point ok i might not agree with him but he aired his opinion on the matter as for you what did you say on the topic nothing you just went straight for an arguement at me
I posted my opinion earlier in the thread regarding the original debate (although I notice it has been censored a good bit now) and my point in the post I first said in reply to you was that in the posts I have read from you maybe things aren't always as clear cut as you sometimes like to make out.
Jeez, is it the prospect of the impending Culchie's day out in the 'big schmoke' on Dec 8th has all you Dubs wound up so tight today?
doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 06/12/2011 15:46:10
Exactly hill16,most British run newspapers do do very little to promote Gaa,I agree,but what Im saying is that the Gaa should try and change that as it would increase the profile of our games. Last September the AI Final (played on front of 82 300 people) got zero coverage on sky sports news,but some Indy racing contest in the back woods of the american south that people this side of the atlantic would have very little interest in would probably get a segment dedicated to it.
TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 06/12/2011 15:54:46
TheRoad County: Galway Posts: 309
1080816 Exactly hill16,most British run newspapers do do very little to promote Gaa,I agree,but what Im saying is that the Gaa should try and change that as it would increase the profile of our games. Last September the AI Final (played on front of 82 300 people) got zero coverage on sky sports news,but some Indy racing contest in the back woods of the american south that people this side of the atlantic would have very little interest in would probably get a segment dedicated to it.
Dunno about the All-Ireland Final, but SSN covered the London Waterford match.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12425 - 06/12/2011 15:59:03