Well Done Tyrone County Board

The Tyrone Competitions Control Committee has come down hard on Dromore and Carrickmore after violent scenes marred last Sunday week's ACL Division 1 final.

Suspensions totalling 452 weeks and hefty fines have been proposed for both clubs. The exact details of the bans and fines haven't been made public yet, but the details have been furnished to both club secretaries.

A statement from the Tyrone county board today read: "After a very thorough investigation involving the full co-operation of both the Carrickmore and Dromore clubs, the Tyrone CCC have issued proposed sanctions to both of the clubs arising out of the incident in this year's O'Neill's Division 1 ACL Final. The proposed bans total some 452 weeks. The individuals concerned from both clubs will be informed by their club secretary.

"In addition both clubs received the maximum fine under the Tyrone Bye Law and other playing sanctions have been proposed.

"The sanctions proposed by the Tyrone CCC are amongst the most severe ever issued by Tyrone GAA. We thank both clubs for their support in the investigation and are confident that lessons have and will be learnt from the unacceptable scenes in Dunmoyle

I hope now the hearings go with the CCC on this one unlike a hearings that i know off let everyone off because of there gripes towards certain refs . And if the clubs take it on the chin they be better off because it was nasty , and the max fines also and other sanctions have been handed down. I hope other counties tackle this problem on now and abuse on refs ...

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 25/11/2011 19:53:03    1075822

Well done indeed, the Galway board should do the same with Corofin now.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3769 - 25/11/2011 20:22:56    1075843

Sorry Dell but i have to disagree with your view of tyrone county board. i along with a lot people belive that both carrickmore and dromore got off very lightly, my own club coalisland fianna were involved in a meele this year at minor level, while in no way am i condoning what our players done, our club was dealt a much harsher punshiment for less of a crime, our club field has been closed for all our youth teams from u-8 to minors for a whole season meaning all teams must play away from home!! all i would ask i that tyrone county board stop being biast towards the clubs in the east of the county and hand out the same suspensions. Fair play all around

fiannablue (Tyrone) - Posts: 326 - 25/11/2011 20:51:53    1075860

Coudent agree either DBPC .

300 Pound fine . . You could get more than that for stealing a rubber out of ASDA.

clarity (Tyrone) - Posts: 49 - 25/11/2011 21:37:14    1075885

Slap on the wrist and will do nothing to prevent further incidents in Tyrone. At least Antrim took this issue seriously, Tyrone had a chance and fluffed it AGAIN!

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9838 - 26/11/2011 14:14:27    1075979

That punishment is not a deterrent at all !!
Will it prevent future incidents ? I don't think so !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 26/11/2011 14:48:53    1075990

Total cop out by the county board, AGAIN! This type of violence is an absolute blight on the club game in our county, little wonder we can't compete at Ulster level when we would rather kick lumps out of each other. Ulstermans right, here was an opportunity to throw the book at the perpetrators, send a message to any other would be trouble makers and repair the damage to the good name of Tyrone GAA, in that they have failed miserably.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 26/11/2011 17:04:28    1076041

these type of incidents happen all over ireland week in week out , and they will keep happening till the county boards start taking things seriously , its just not a problem in tyrone its everywhere

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 26/11/2011 17:52:26    1076064

I wouldn't even call it a punishment. Again the big clubs can do what they want as the county boards are afraid to unset the county players from these clubs. As for Ulster Man we will discuss the Rasharkin punishment when all the appeals have been carried out. I would guess that it won't be a quarter of what the antrim county board gave out at the start.

Doublebounce (Tyrone) - Posts: 26 - 26/11/2011 18:11:46    1076079

Why well done? all they did was give them a tip on the hand and told them not to be naughty again ,well done indeed

b.mullins (Dublin) - Posts: 1413 - 26/11/2011 20:16:32    1076117

fiannablue
I hope you are joking here. If anyone bans U8's, 10's or 12 from playing then they are missing the whole point. Ban the minor/senior fine if they are guilty but do not ever ever ever ban children from playing any GAA games in THEIR pitches.

onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 26/11/2011 20:19:34    1076119

All these people giving out about what they gave them ? At least they did punish them.. I cant even remember now how long it is since Glenswilly & glenties had a big fight earlier on this year, and typically donegal county board haven't done anything about it yet (as far as I know anyways). It might have been as violent but it involved most players, subs and managment. Leo McLoone suffered an eye injury anyway, costing him most of the inter-county season.

up_donegal (Donegal) - Posts: 659 - 26/11/2011 21:04:45    1076147

Totally agree with ulsterman,the Tyrone county board are an ABSOLOUTE JOKE and everyone the length and breadth of Ireland realises this.

turfcutter (Antrim) - Posts: 277 - 26/11/2011 21:46:09    1076162

clarity

1075885 Coudent agree either DBPC .

300 Pound fine . . You could get more than that for stealing a rubber out of ASDA.

remind me never to steal from asda 300 pounds!!!!!!

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 26/11/2011 21:59:34    1076171

A serious change in policy is needed bye the Tyrone County board, £300 fine and meaningless suspensions that won't be rigorously enforced , both teams should be relegated or docked points for next season , that soon stop the thuggish behaviour we keep seeing at games. Incidents like this is are becoming more and more common and its put me off taking my kids and grand kids to these games.

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 27/11/2011 09:31:50    1076176

i dont know whats worse the fact little is been done about it or that the fact as fortyfive rightly said its becoming more common in the game

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 27/11/2011 10:40:45    1076182

If I was at the gate for my club next year and any of the 8 individuals suspended walked up, I wouldn't know them from Adam, so how is that meant to be enforced? 3 suspended players for Carrickmore, 2 that have subsequently retired. A £300 fine. And some stupid rules around not being able to make the league playoffs next year- which could actually be an advantage to these teams come championship time. Absolutely, totally ridiculous by the CCC. They manage to fail, again!

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 27/11/2011 11:35:35    1076196

Dellboypolecat

1075822 The Tyrone Competitions Control Committee has come down hard on Dromore and Carrickmore after violent scenes marred last Sunday week's ACL Division 1 final.

Suspensions totalling 452 weeks and hefty fines have been proposed for both clubs. The exact details of the bans and fines haven't been made public yet, but the details have been furnished to both club secretaries.

A statement from the Tyrone county board today read: "After a very thorough investigation involving the full co-operation of both the Carrickmore and Dromore clubs, the Tyrone CCC have issued proposed sanctions to both of the clubs arising out of the incident in this year's O'Neill's Division 1 ACL Final. The proposed bans total some 452 weeks. The individuals concerned from both clubs will be informed by their club secretary.

"In addition both clubs received the maximum fine under the Tyrone Bye Law and other playing sanctions have been proposed.

What are you on about Dellboy carmen have got away with it again the second time in one year they have been at it its time to kick them out for A year and let the hole club suffer.

TYRONE_MICK (Tyrone) - Posts: 332 - 27/11/2011 16:18:49    1076316

if supporters were to be banned surely some system could be organised to keep them out ????? not too sure what i could be though,what about identity cards with unique pin numbers and everytime you went to a match you swiped in but would probably cost a clean fortune to set up.but one thing for sure is it has to stop it will ruin the love of the game.....................

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 27/11/2011 16:50:14    1076332

i reply to only hurling i wish i was joking, all youth games are to be played away from home for a whole season, this is the problem with tyrone county board they always have been biast towrds teams from the east of tyrone, if our crime was guilty of a field closure, so is carrickmore and dromores. I have by no means got a grudge against these two teams it is the double standards employed by tyrone county board

fiannablue (Tyrone) - Posts: 326 - 27/11/2011 21:49:36    1076507