'Now it's personal' documentary

Interesting stuff alright Seamie. Can't see a United Ireland any time soon myself. Mainly for the same reasons as yourself, both economies are a mess. Having said that I think moderate Unionists would find they have quite a lot in common with the common or garden Free Stater. It's partionist lunatics such as Ulsterman that I fear.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 20/11/2011 14:31:38    1072378

seanie_boy

1072251 Hey dhorse why would you have christmas lights,aren't you an atheist or some kind of non believer in Christ?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 20/11/2011 14:44:06    1072386

brendtheredhand

seanie_boy

1072251 Hey dhorse why would you have christmas lights,aren't you an atheist or some kind of non believer in Christ?
Thank you Brend. For everybodys benefit all non christians should refer to these lights as "holiday lights".I do believe that is the sterile,political correct term you liberals have coined for them in recent years as you attempt to destroy the christian holiday of christmas.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 20/11/2011 19:45:10    1072633

Only taking the p*ss seanie I may not have christian belief any longer, debateable if I ever did, doesnt mean to say that I disgree with your beliefs from a moral and social perspective, in many cases I don't.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 20/11/2011 21:20:14    1072723

Whether you believe in the divinity of Jesus Christ or not, Christmas is Christmas and should be respected by all. It is the main holiday of the year, and for me it is the highlight of every year. I just can't stand the people who try to water down the Christian identity of the holiday (Winterval, protesting the display of cribs etc). I'm sure Brend isn't one of those spoilsports though.

Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 21/11/2011 09:15:13    1072787

I hear ye Brend,my own faith has been tested many times and I am not what you would call avid church goer.I am nonetheless a christian,a sentimental Catholic,and I do get annoyed at the attempts to dechristianize christmas.If some don't like it then don't join in.The agnostic liberal types,such as dhorse,fail to see that it has been the Judeo-Christian heritage of the west that has allowed them to become such "radical thinkers".

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 21/11/2011 10:01:42    1072816

Roundball, your use of the term FreeStater and obvious fondness for Unionism tells us everything we need to know about the mindset of many in 21st century Ireland; I think some call it Stockholm Syndrome. Take it down from the mast!

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 21/11/2011 10:15:37    1072824

Snufalufagus:

Is P.J Gallaghers culchie hating dub charater in his new series based on you by any chance if so I think he has it spot on!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 21/11/2011 10:22:14    1072831

December 25th was a pagan holiday before the christians stole it.

morris (USA) - Posts: 302 - 21/11/2011 10:28:41    1072844

Do Catholics actually believe Jesus was conceived on December 8th and born just a few weeks later?

morris (USA) - Posts: 302 - 21/11/2011 10:29:52    1072846

Jinge bells booming out in shops and stores in November is just not on, it's so false and annoying. Christmas would be nice if they brought the word Christ back into it. All these ads on the TV have white snow, sleighbells and ho ho ho but NO mention of religion at all. There are more family feuds, fights and marriage break ups around Christmas than any other time of the year. Happy families my a..........! HUMBUG!

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 21/11/2011 10:34:56    1072854

morris
County: USA

Do Catholics actually believe Jesus was conceived on December 8th and born just a few weeks later?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Not in the club then Morris/Badmonkey? Not many Glasgow Rangers fans are I suppose.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 21/11/2011 10:38:35    1072855

Seamus89
County: Kilkenny

1072787 Whether you believe in the divinity of Jesus Christ or not, Christmas is Christmas and should be respected by all. It is the main holiday of the year, and for me it is the highlight of every year. I just can't stand the people who try to water down the Christian identity of the holiday (Winterval, protesting the display of cribs etc). I'm sure Brend isn't one of those spoilsports though.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2011/nov/08/winterval-modern-myth-christmas

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12412 - 21/11/2011 10:51:49    1072872

HAG,

I didnt see the sketch, I think Gallagher is woeful to be honest!....If its on the RTE Player I will check it out!

Anyway, I dont hate culchies and I even have pet culchie out the back in the cage along with my pet nordie!!...I treat them OK!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 21/11/2011 11:36:31    1072907

Snufalufagus

1072907 HAG,

I didnt see the sketch, I think Gallagher is woeful to be honest!....If its on the RTE Player I will check it out!

Anyway, I dont hate culchies and I even have pet culchie out the back in the cage along with my pet nordie!!...I treat them OK!

I see you are stealing culchie jokes now as well.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12412 - 21/11/2011 11:47:05    1072914

Rather than fight with the atheists, shouldn't all of us who profess a Christian identity be praying for them?

Jesus did say love thy enemy. And atheists are enemies of God. Therefore I love them.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 21/11/2011 12:06:28    1072932

Can't agree with that Sergeant. Atheists (and anti-religious people) murdered tens of millions of people in the 20th century, thus making it the most bloody century in all time. Stalin, Lenin, Trotsky, Mao, Pol Pot, Ho Chi Minh, Hitler-I think there's a clear pattern emerging here. Atheists and anti-religious people are dangerous, and shouldn't be trusted.

Now some people aren't religious, I get that, that's fine. But the ones who want to impose atheism on the rest of us should treated with contempt, if not force.

Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 21/11/2011 12:33:18    1072948

Ahh Breff, you've rumbled me!!....that has been bait for the mayo lads to pick up on!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 21/11/2011 12:35:08    1072949

Seamus, do you actually believe the rubbish you spew or are you just looking to get a reaction?

morris (USA) - Posts: 302 - 21/11/2011 13:08:23    1072970

What was rubbish about that Badmonkey? Do you think any of the aforementioned anti-religious murderers were good? Stalin, or Mao perhaps?

Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 21/11/2011 13:23:17    1072981