'Now it's personal' documentary

Cheers Seamus - should be a good night, if a wee bit nervewracking!

The Book Centre - is that the one on the High St? A nice place alright.

abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 18/11/2011 15:01:39    1071472

Well the Pale yes that wonderful place that imprisoned the English for centuries and kept them in check. The only problem for the English is it was run by Dubliners. As for all these Pro-English Protestant and/or French/English lags well what did they ever do for Ireland? well just look at their contributions to Ireland, Sarsfield, Heuston, Tone, Tandy, Emmet, Hyde, Pearse, Childers, Burgess (Brugha), Ross (de Rossa), Gore-Booth, Grogan, Harvey to name but a few. How many of them hung from a gibbett or faced a firing squad? With not and O/Mac in sight.

And what of the great noble gaelic Irish clans?
The O'Briens? they are still in Dromoland Castle with their titles etc how come? Well how about this is because of the Lord Inchiquin Murrough O'Brien alias "the burner" the Cromwellian Govenor of Munster who sacked Cashel killing 5,000 inhabitants two years before Cromwell arrived, of course he and his deeds are neatly airbrushed out of history.
At the Battle of Kinsale 1601 we had the English armies well supported by The Munster Gaelic nobles led by McCarty Mor Lord Clancarty, we had the O'Briens under the earl of Thomand (the Burners dad) and we had the Burkes of Mayo/Galway. Why even in Gaelic Ulster O'Neill and O'Donnell had to lock up most of their relations before they went of to Kinsale.

And even Ireland's great hero Daniel O'Connell what was he doing in the 1798 rebellion - surely not a YEOMAN!!! He WAS.

So enough of this slagging the only rebellion that mattered was the one that we won.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4955 - 18/11/2011 15:21:31    1071487

Yup, at the top of High Street, or the bottom, depending on your point of view! Very close to the Parade, and the Castle. Great selection of books, nice atmosphere, central location, and a nice little restaurant-'The Pennyfeather'-upstairs. Did a stint of work experience there in Transition Year in fact, it's a nice career I'd say, from the little I got to know about it.

Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 18/11/2011 15:34:47    1071496

Seamus89
County: Kilkenny

1071279 Abhainn

True Gaels don't vote Labour.

Yes we do.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6181 - 18/11/2011 16:12:10    1071521

abhainn

Seamus89
County: Kilkenny

1071394 In the Arts? I'm intrigued...

____

I'm a bookseller!

Very best of luck with your book launch abhainn.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6181 - 18/11/2011 16:15:15    1071528

I know a book shop you guys would like!.....Easons!.....and you will like it more when the Dubs are in there on sunday signing the book 'a rare oul season'!!...Enjoy!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 18/11/2011 16:23:55    1071538

arock,

As we all know these culchies just cant stand the fact that it was us Dubs who got up and won this country its freedom while their own sorry county cowered i the corner and did nothing for Ireland!!.....thats why they try and drag us down!!

The feeling for them is of the "what you dont understand or cant be a part of...you abuse" kind of thing!!!....Thats why they try and drag us down and will try and hang onto any little thing they can to attempt to discredit us!!....human nature of the countryman I suppose...to be dishonest and jealous of your neighbour!!

They would dearly love to have the fighting glory that our county has but those that went before them were too cowardly to go out and achieve anything while those that went before us in Dublin had no fear to go out and fight!!

Dubliners are superior for that reason and we recognise it!!

As Louis MacNeice the non-Dub wrote of the Dublin he wanted to be a part of, in his peom 'Dublin':

"She never was my city,
I was not born nor schooled here,
And she will not have me alive or dead!"

Snufalufagus...Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 18/11/2011 16:33:30    1071553

get back to the point of the thread lads, should muslims be tolerated in Catholic Ireland??

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 18/11/2011 16:41:29    1071568

Don't normally respond to Dhorse's ignorant and nasty comments, but that one really crosses a line. You obviously didn't watch the show if you can come out with a nonsensical statement like that. This thread was about a documentary, which I found somewhat informative and quite amusing. Ian O'Doherty is an atheist, who has absolutely no interest in Catholic Ireland, but who is opposed to Islamic extremism anyway. And by and large Muslims come out of the show pretty well, unlike O'Doherty.

Seriously, you're one of the most useless posters on here, but to try and make a thread about your own agenda is despicable, and really shows what you are. Get lost.

Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 18/11/2011 16:49:49    1071576

Thanks Greengrass!
And Seamus, yes it's a nice career - exceptionally unlike a lot of peoples perceptions - we have 2 warehouses and there is a lot of lifting a lot of heavy books! But even that is great, and there is nothing in the world like going through a new library purchase, sorting and finding a gem or two!

abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 18/11/2011 17:30:24    1071608

abhainn

Seanie_boy and others.

This idea of the PALE is ridiculous, especially coming from Northern nationalists.

What you are saying is that one part of the island was conquered and settled by a foreign power and now, despite fighting for its freedom over a period of time, is not really Irish.

Hmmm.
------------------------------------------------
Why is the idea of the "Pale" ridiculous? Did it never exist? Did the English not use it as a base to go raping and pillaging all over the rest of the country? You got me on the spelling mistake and fair enough,but if you want to take people to task on this thread start with Snuf as he has instigated every reply with his "we the Dubs are the best people in Ireland" contribution. Personally I know many Dubs made great contributions to Irish life and society,but guess what,many others from all over the country made great contributions also.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 18/11/2011 18:30:50    1071643

There is only one 'Pale' that I know of these days and it begins about 70 miles up the road from Dublin!!......Down here we fought BA soldiers and spies to win our freedom in open combat whereas up north ye bombed innocent children and took mothers from their houses 'abducting' them to make them 'disappear' and for all that ye got yer cumuppance for yer misdemeanors.....the Good Friday Agreement which enshrines ye into the UK and Ireland to give up its claim over folks who claim to want to be Irish yet loved to bomb shopping centres full of families!!

Stay up there in the new 'Pale'!!....ye deserve it!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 18/11/2011 19:41:40    1071686

seanie_boy

1071643 abhainn

Seanie_boy and others.

This idea of the PALE is ridiculous, especially coming from Northern nationalists.

What you are saying is that one part of the island was conquered and settled by a foreign power and now, despite fighting for its freedom over a period of time, is not really Irish.

Hmmm.
------------------------------------------------
Why is the idea of the "Pale" ridiculous? Did it never exist? Did the English not use it as a base to go raping and pillaging all over the rest of the country? You got me on the spelling mistake and fair enough,but if you want to take people to task on this thread start with Snuf as he has instigated every reply with his "we the Dubs are the best people in Ireland" contribution. Personally I know many Dubs made great contributions to Irish life and society,but guess what,many others from all over the country made great contributions also.

Thanks Seanie.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 18/11/2011 19:43:52    1071689

abhainn

1071193 Speaking a what I assume ye would describe as a 'true gael' - an Irish speaking peasant from the West

A true gaels don't recognise the removal of rule 21

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 18/11/2011 19:54:54    1071698

Very disappointed with your comments seamus89 slagging off Dublin and you being a massive Ireland fan.have you not notice where practically the whole team/squad is from? So are you saying the Irish team going to Poland is not really Irish cause its full of dubs?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/11/2011 20:07:46    1071710

Very disappointed with your comments seamus89 slagging off Dublin and you being a massive Ireland fan.have you not notice where practically the whole team/squad is from?

London?

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 18/11/2011 20:31:23    1071723

Snufalufagus

1071538 I know a book shop

It's bookstore... silly

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 18/11/2011 20:42:56    1071733

Haha very good paddy.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/11/2011 20:54:41    1071743

It's bookstore... silly
--------------------------------
In New York City maybe!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 18/11/2011 21:56:43    1071788

Many fair and knowledgeable points made about the island and I agree with most of them BUT why then during the Presidential campaign did the Dubli media and many Southern political/social commentators take great delight in telling Ulster/Northern people they were NOT really Irish or less than Irish?

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 18/11/2011 21:59:38    1071792