bren,
The problem with culchies and nordies is that ye have got the height of respect for us Dubs and the fighting we did for this nation in every rebellion and the fact that it was our city that was destroyed and always lads from our county that were the leaders etc!!....the only thing about ye though is that ye are so ashamed of your own particular counties inactivity during all these rebellions and freedom fights for Ireland that ye must find some way of undermining the achievements of the ones who actually had the courage!
The reason why culchies and nordies try to drag Dublin down is because ye want to play down the overwhelmingly in the majority part Dublin played in winning this countrys freedom so it will appear by comparison that your own area 'didnt do too bad either' against the Brits!!
Here in Dublin we are well used to culchies and nordies trying to play our achievements down, but we are well aware that it was our own people were the ones with the courage to fight while the country cowered! A passage for Pakenhams book on 1798 'The Year of Liberty' tells: 'The westbound mailcoach was seized in Lucan, its non arrival in the westward town signalling to those town inhabitants that the rebellion in Dublin had begun and for them to rise up in their own area!.....""""""but all along the road to Galway nothing stirred""""!!! So you see, we are used in Dublin of the cowardice of our country folk neighbours and are fully aware of their jealousy of the freedom we have provided for them and how much they try to play it down!!.....It doesnt fool us!!
Its really easy to mock the people that actually had the courage to fight and try to play down their efforts.....Dubliners cant mock the fighting efforts of country folk because country folk and nordies never came out to fight in the first place!!!!.....cowards one and all, and us Dubs recognise yer cowardice!!
....yer not fit to lace our boots!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 18/11/2011 10:00:21
"But they're not as Irish as us country folk, that's for sure. " ----------------------------------------------------------- Seamus,
If your definition of 'Irish' is being a 'snake in the long grass, schleeveen, dishonest, speak out of both sides of yer mouth, two faced, cowardly, unfriendly, dry oul codgers, lacking in wit and intelligence, wait for someone else to fight yer battles for ye' then you are certainly correct that no Dubliner is as Irish as ye country folk!!.....Ehh, and thats for sure!!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 18/11/2011 10:06:59
Dubliners enjoy a superior status within this state due to the fact that we are basically its 'owners'!!.....history is written by the victor, but you have to actually have been in a fight to be deemed a 'victor' and that is why Dubliners have superiority over all others because we were the ones who were always in the fight for Ireland while the rest of the nation were cowardly as usual!! --------------------------------------------------------------------------------- The people of the Pale most certainly were not always in the fight "for Ireland".They were in the fight alright but "for England" on many occasion. Just ask Pearce and Connolly who was spitting in their faces and calling for there execution,I think they will tell you it was the people of Dublin.
seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 18/11/2011 10:15:14
Séamus&Ulsterman
Blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah.
So who is actually Irish?
Kilkenny people with their massive Norman influence? Ulster people? Oh I forgot that's the Original and Bestest Irish/Gaelic province (well half of it at any rate!).
We are a mongrel nation. A mix of Celts, Angels, Saxons, Vikings and Normans and whoever the hell was here first. If you'd any sense of history you might be able to see that Dublin (as well as many other places around the country) perfectly illustrates this.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13827 - 18/11/2011 10:25:50
What is wrong with Irish people that we must have differing levels of Irishness? Its pathetic.
Dubliners are as Irish as people from Kilkenny, who are as Irish as people from Cork, who are as Irish as people from Belfast etc.
The point scoring is ridiculous and pathetic.
"Some Dubliners came out in 1916 to fight, therefore Dublin won independence" or "Some Dubliners (mainly wives/mothers of those in the Somme fighting for Ireland - or so they were led to believe) therefore all Dubliners are British".
History is not clear cut, its complicated. Some people's lack of understanding is deliberate I'm sure to score points. At least I hope it is.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13827 - 18/11/2011 10:39:35
Just ask Pearce and Connolly who was spitting in their faces and calling for there execution,I think they will tell you it was the people of Dublin. ----------------------- seanie,
Like I said in the earlier thread, it easy to mock the ones that had the courage in the city that was destroyed. We will never know how the people of Dungannon would have reacted if an unknown bunch of upstarts had the town flattened after a week because ye, like the rest of the country were too cowardly to ever do anything!!....so we will never know!!.....but ye mock the citizenss of the city that was flattened and actually experienced death and destruction for Ireland!!
A few points to educate you: 1. 250,000 Irishmen were fighting for the British Army at the time. 2. Dublin was hemmed in by a ring of 13 massive BA barracks not one of them more than 3 miles from O'Connell St....(was Dungannon/Omagh/Cookstown like that?.....I think not!) 3. The folks who jeered were the wives of BA soldiers who reckoned these guys were treacherous to fight the BA while their men were off fighting the Germans!....(it is recorded that all this took place on the approach roads to barracks)....understandable really, given the times that it was that jeering occured! 4. The Volunteers were only ever seen as a nuisance and not a real threat so you can imagine the shock when all of a sudden city life was turned on its head and at the end of the week the city lay in ruins and 254 civilians lay dead!!!.....no wonder some people were furious!!.....but its easy to mock the ones who had to endure it while folk above in tyrone and elsewhere simply read about it in newspapers!!
Dubliners know what fighting for Ireland is!....the rest of ye just read about it and sat cowering and comfortable!!....Thats why Dubliners have the superior standing that we do.....and we dont rate the rest of ye at all!!.......Come back to us when yer county has done something for Ireland and we might rate ye!!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 18/11/2011 10:45:38
Abhainn
True Gaels don't vote Labour.
Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 18/11/2011 11:40:24
Seamus89 County: Kilkenny Posts: 2676
1071279 Abhainn
True Gaels don't vote Labour.
___-
Funny! I'd have said true Gaels weren't right wing conservatives ;)
abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 18/11/2011 11:48:09
seanie_boy County: Tyrone Posts: 2219 The people of the Pale most certainly were not always in the fight "for Ireland".They were in the fight alright but "for England" on many occasion. Just ask Pearce and Connolly who was spitting in their faces and calling for there execution,I think they will tell you it was the people of Dublin
Seanie_boy. If you want to make an ill advised and historically poor judgement on Dubliners that is based solely on your vision of republicanism being the true one, then at least spell Pearse correctly.
abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 18/11/2011 11:50:46
Seanie_boy and others.
This idea of the PALE is ridiculous, especially coming from Northern nationalists.
What you are saying is that one part of the island was conquered and settled by a foreign power and now, despite fighting for its freedom over a period of time, is not really Irish.
Hmmm.
abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 18/11/2011 11:52:51
abhainn County: Galway Posts: 942
1071193 Speaking a what I assume ye would describe as a 'true gael' - an Irish speaking peasant from the West, I actually like Dubs, and have managed, over the course of a few years, to not be so exceptionally narrow minded as to look at them in terms of Anglicization/Nationalism/Religion but, shockingly, as fellow proud Irish people who just happen to live a different way of life to me.
Maith bhuachaill abhainn.
Is maith an rud é nach bhfuil chuile dhuine chomh cúngaigeanta le roinnt daoine ar an suíomh seo!
Ní dhéanann sé difríocht ar bith carbh as dúinn.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13827 - 18/11/2011 12:15:26
Abhainn
You're a historian by trade, yes? It's an interesting aspect of the countries history, something I've read about in Jonathon Bardon's excellent book-what was it called, Ireland in 100 episodes or something?-and in other history books. The communal, dare I say socialistic, model of ownership of cows and so on. Didn't Higgins mention something like that during the campaign, the meitheal and so on.
My biggest gripe with Labour is that it is led by a former Maoist who supported the Soviet Union. True Gaels opposed Communism, and prayed for the conversion of Russia. Labourites did not.
Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 18/11/2011 12:38:19
MesAmis County: Dublin Posts: 3909
1071305 abhainn County: Galway Posts: 942
1071193 Speaking a what I assume ye would describe as a 'true gael' - an Irish speaking peasant from the West, I actually like Dubs, and have managed, over the course of a few years, to not be so exceptionally narrow minded as to look at them in terms of Anglicization/Nationalism/Religion but, shockingly, as fellow proud Irish people who just happen to live a different way of life to me.
Maith bhuachaill abhainn.
Is maith an rud é nach bhfuil chuile dhuine chomh cúngaigeanta le roinnt daoine ar an suíomh seo!
Ní dhéanann sé difríocht ar bith carbh as dúinn. _______
Tá an ceart agat ansin. Agus Gaeilge álainn freisin!
abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 18/11/2011 12:53:08
Seamus89 County: Kilkenny Posts: 2677
1071331 Abhainn
You're a historian by trade, yes? It's an interesting aspect of the countries history, something I've read about in Jonathon Bardon's excellent book-what was it called, Ireland in 100 episodes or something?-and in other history books. The communal, dare I say socialistic, model of ownership of cows and so on. Didn't Higgins mention something like that during the campaign, the meitheal and so on.
My biggest gripe with Labour is that it is led by a former Maoist who supported the Soviet Union. True Gaels opposed Communism, and prayed for the conversion of Russia. Labourites did not.
____
I agree with a lot of the above - the meitheal was exceptionally important, and remains so, in a different context.
But "conversion of Russia" - you'd want to be careful with proselytizing language like that!
abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 18/11/2011 12:55:01
Just a bit of ribbing MesAmis, no need to take offence. It's just us country folk are so naturally superior that we find it hard not to look down on you Jackeens with contempt. We're still all Irish at the end of the day, and Dicky Dunne, Robbie Keane, Duff, Whelan and Andrews are legends to all of us. Of course I'd rather have a team made up entirely of Kilkenny men (two Waterford players in the squad, grrrrr) but you make do with what you have.
Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 18/11/2011 12:55:20
Seamus89 County: Kilkenny Posts: 2677
1071331 Abhainn
You're a historian by trade, yes?
___
I'm a historian yes (book launch this weekend, woo!), but not by trade - I work in the Arts I suppose you'd say!
abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 18/11/2011 12:56:31
Snufalufagus County: Dublin Posts: 3766 Come back to us when yer county has done something for Ireland and we might rate ye!!
Who is we? - and I would think there are not many 100% Dubs anymore with culchies in-breeding - sure your half a culchie yourself. On other counties never doing anything - did you ever here of Ernie O Malley, Grainne mhaol or Michael Davitt?
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11656 - 18/11/2011 12:58:50
In the Arts? I'm intrigued...
Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 18/11/2011 13:34:06
18/11/2011 13:34:06 Seamus89 County: Kilkenny Posts: 2680
1071394 In the Arts? I'm intrigued...
____
I'm a bookseller!
abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 18/11/2011 14:39:01
Ah...I remember you giving me stink about putting a link to Amazon on here. Well fair play is what I say. I love a good bookstore-'The Book Centre' in Kilkenny is a lovely store. Good luck with the book launch.
Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 18/11/2011 14:47:50