'Now it's personal' documentary

Interesting documentary on RTE the other night. Ian O'Doherty-columnist with the Indo-spent the week living with Muslims in Ireland and trying to understand their culture. During the week, he spent time with ordinary families, Islamic imans and scholars and even a supporter of Al-Qaeda.

While there was some interesting stuff about Muslim life, etc, I found O'Doherty to be so unintentionally hilarious that he really stole the show. There's a bit near the end, 40 minutes in or so, when he walks out of a indoor football game because somebody said he had a drinking problem. I defy anyone to watch that part and not laugh. Lots of other classic Iano moments in there too.

Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 17/11/2011 13:41:14    1070644

Its certainly a case of being able to dish it out and not eat it himself.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 17/11/2011 13:44:41    1070649

Ian O'Doherty is always hilarious.

And its always unintentional.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13827 - 17/11/2011 14:15:27    1070678

You can always rely on a Dubliner to:

1. Fear no man and always 'tell it like it is'!!......"The masters of all men"!
2. Lead the country when it comes to 'speaking out' while the rest remain ever so PC and be false about what their real intentions are!
3. Being smart and witty!

There is no chance that a country lad could ever have pulled off that documentary!!......they just wouldnt have 'the stuff to do it' like a Dubliner has!! 'Balls' and 'gift of the gab' combo that the Dubliner has in spades as shown by the fact our city is mother to the greatest writers the world has ever known!!

"The masters of all men"!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 17/11/2011 15:14:32    1070734

Snufalufagus

1070734 You can always rely on a Dubliner to:

1. Fear no man and always 'tell it like it is'!!......"The masters of all men"!
2. Lead the country when it comes to 'speaking out' while the rest remain ever so PC and be false about what their real intentions are!
3. Being smart and witty!

There is no chance that a country lad could ever have pulled off that documentary!!......they just wouldnt have 'the stuff to do it' like a Dubliner has!! 'Balls' and 'gift of the gab' combo that the Dubliner has in spades as shown by the fact our city is mother to the greatest writers the world has ever known!!

"The masters of all men"!!!

Hahaha jesus snuff you really are so wordy and articulate. Get that man a nobel prize.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12412 - 17/11/2011 15:41:50    1070761

My writing style is refered to in literary circles as 'type leisurely' breff!!.....so thanks for the endorsement, its nice to get that from the layreader!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 17/11/2011 15:46:58    1070764

http://www.dumbtionary.com/word/refered.shtml

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12412 - 17/11/2011 16:00:57    1070784

So if you are proud of him being a Dub than what does that say about you?

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 17/11/2011 16:11:11    1070796

johnny1951,

......It says that I am proud of him!...doesnt it!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 17/11/2011 16:21:33    1070808

Didn't think that this would turn into a pro-v-anti Dub thread, but seeing as it has...

Dublin people aren't really Irish. Well, I mean they are Irish, geographically speaking. But they're not as Irish as us country folk, that's for sure. All the best things about Ireland can be found beyond the Pale, and all the worst things can be found in spades in our nation's capital. English-style high streets, LA-style accents, D4 heads, white runners and tracksuits bottoms knackbags...it's just not a nice place.

If I had my way-and one day I will have my way, so be warned-we'd make the Brits an offer they couldn't refuse. Either they dig a trench around Dublin, get the Royal Navy around and tow them all way, or we'll release the Jedward virus onto the London tube. I think we could wave goodbye to Ath Cliath pretty soon.

Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 17/11/2011 16:49:40    1070838

Dublin is very much an Anglicised, Church of Ireland city and many of it's residents act in and live a British way of life. The D4's are just a horrible awful crowd styling themselves on Notting Hill with with their phoney Yar Yar accents while the so called working class inner cities are full of Man Ooo/Liverpool/Arsenal tops; British tabloids and SKY TV. Then walk around Dublin virtually EVERY tourist place is British and Protestant; Phoenix Park with it's Duke of Wellington memorial, Trinity College founded by Elizabeth I, Dublin Castle seat of British rule, Anglican Christchurch and St. Patrick's, Bank of Ireland, Guinness. Then the Pale is dominated by English and French descendants so is it any wonder guys like O'Doherty exist?

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 17/11/2011 18:10:58    1070944

If you like Ian O D snuf then I can't take you serious!!!

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 17/11/2011 18:12:30    1070946

"But they're not as Irish as us country folk, that's for sure. "

Thats because of the big population in Dublin they dont have to marry their cousins

N16Calling (UK) - Posts: 260 - 17/11/2011 18:39:43    1070964

Seamus I've just hit on a business plan
For people like you i'm going to design an Iphone APP
What this app does is trawl through the TV listings for "keywords" like Anti Muslims, Jews are great, Reganomics(sic) Lefties are loonies etc.
Oooh raa USA forever.
The App beeps when it finds something and prompts you to hit a confirm key upon which it records the programme onto your Skyplus box.

What do you reckon ?

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 17/11/2011 20:32:08    1071052

What are you on about Rua? Jews are great? Anti-Muslims? People are people man. Some good, some bad. Did you see O'Doherty's doco?

Seamus89 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 3848 - 17/11/2011 20:44:50    1071057

I on the otherhand am really fond of culchies and nordies and keep a pet one of each type in the back garden! I get great oul craic out of these little chaps and my mates an I let them fight each other like pitbull terriers!....We take bets on who will win and competition can be quite fierce between pet culchies and pet nordies!
My mates and I style the whole thing on the movie 'Gladiator' where the winning pet wins his freedom and is allowed dental treatment!

Dubliners enjoy a superior status within this state due to the fact that we are basically its 'owners'!!.....history is written by the victor, but you have to actually have been in a fight to be deemed a 'victor' and that is why Dubliners have superiority over all others because we were the ones who were always in the fight for Ireland while the rest of the nation were cowardly as usual!!

Nordies up in Ulcer got their cumuppance for not fighting for Ireland until they started murdering innocent people and remain loyal subjects of their Queen!......and the Good Friday Agreement and SF secured that for all our futures!!..........We can now leave the nordies to the same status that an 'over enthusiastic tourist' holds down in Temple Bar on a Friday night!!..........wearing GAA tops and RoI jerseys and listening to trad music and calling themselves "Oirish" so they can try and fit in with us folk down here in Ireland!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 17/11/2011 20:54:19    1071061

17/11/2011 20:54:19
Snufalufagus

1071061 I on the otherhand am really fond of culchies and nordies and keep a pet one of each type in the back garden!

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 17/11/2011 21:28:26    1071095

ah yes snuffy, the king of those surrender monkeys from the pale, and as Ulsterman says, the most anglicised 'parish' of the lot. Enjoy your status lad because you have earned no respect from the rest of this island, culchie, nordie, Mayo or whatever.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 17/11/2011 21:47:36    1071122

Seamus - "There's a bit near the end, 40 minutes in or so, when he walks out of a indoor football game because somebody said he had a drinking problem. " spot on it was so funny the guy really came across badly. His personal crusade to convert 70,000 muslems to his wonderful lifestyle is laudable but a bit Walter Mitty. But also that scene where he is chopping sausages and he complains to the guy who first said he had a drink problem - brilliant.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4955 - 18/11/2011 09:16:16    1071176

Speaking a what I assume ye would describe as a 'true gael' - an Irish speaking peasant from the West, I actually like Dubs, and have managed, over the course of a few years, to not be so exceptionally narrow minded as to look at them in terms of Anglicization/Nationalism/Religion but, shockingly, as fellow proud Irish people who just happen to live a different way of life to me.

abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 18/11/2011 09:28:50    1071193