Kevin Cassidy dropped!

Was he sober when interviewed ? because his remarks re 2011 seem very strange. I have always admired Kevin as a great player and still do but giving out sensitive information as he did sounds unreal.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 10/11/2011 09:46:34    1066432

Jinxy - that wasn't Jim who ran onto the pitch. It was Rory Gallagher. And he got a sideline ban for that.

squareball_1988 (Donegal) - Posts: 343 - 10/11/2011 09:54:06    1066435

Good piece from Ewan MacKenna which maybe goes a small way to explain what Cassidy thought he was doing...
http://eircomsports.eircom.net/News/Ewan-MacKenna-blog-Cassidy-was-wrong.aspx

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 10/11/2011 10:10:55    1066439

the gaa should make a statement on where they stand on these disgraceful allegations

chalkie (Derry) - Posts: 312 - 10/11/2011 10:18:34    1066445

tomaoo7

Were you even aware that the GAA existed before this September?

Break_er (Donegal) - Posts: 798 - 10/11/2011 10:26:13    1066448

Break_er

What a pathetic comment...

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 10/11/2011 10:42:15    1066463

Break_er

tomaoo7

Were you even aware that the GAA existed before this September?

Yes just/but i seen a new low on the 28/08/2011 and Cassidy has confirmed it for me....Do you condemn your county and your players for their actions this year

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 10/11/2011 10:48:23    1066472

Who really cares outside of Donegal!!

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1207 - 10/11/2011 10:50:58    1066475

I think it's important to acknowledge that Cassidy obviously feels a large degree of remorse regarding his previous antics...

Donegal don't have a lot to be proud of regarding their semi final performance... That's 3 incidents now - The disgraceful dive, Cassidy admitting that he lied in order to get a man sent off, and Donegal management entering the field in order to get a man sent off...

Indefensible stuff... and especially on a GAA pitch

But He has come out and admitted that he lied in order to get a fellow player sent off - I wouldn't want that on my conscious either and I say fair play for coming forward - it was the least he could have done

Terrible carry on really... but at least he's come out and admitted to it... Did he go as far as to apologise?

Jim Mc has gone down in my measure - throwing a player out of his panel for doing the right thing… what does this say about Jim….

Very poor showing... a sad day for our games if you ask me

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 10/11/2011 10:52:05    1066477

Donegal are a disgrace to the gaa.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 10/11/2011 10:55:55    1066483

Trivial stuff froma trivial footballing county!!.....Donegal board with this thread please!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 10/11/2011 11:02:55    1066491

Donegal didn't deserve to reach an All Ireland final... I don't like how they played that day but they had a game plan and stuck to it - play to your strengths - so my opinion on styles of play doesn't come into it

But the other "stuff" that went along with it… is as low as it comes... and to think that Donegal were representing Ulster... not good at all.

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 10/11/2011 11:03:29    1066494

Time for people posting on here to get down from their ivory towers and face reality!! How many of you have played the game or even watch it closely??

I can guarantee that your club team and your county team members have at one time looked to have an opposition player sent off for a foul and if you say no you are only kidding yourself. Winning is all about the little details and don't forget that Connolly did lift his hand, yes the donegal player made a meal out of it but why wouldn't he and there's posters on here from Kerry and Dublin saying that Donegal football is a disgrace, did Sherlock or fancy pants Galvin never take a tumble trying to get a player sent off, did Jack Sheedy not drive his boot into Brian Murray off the ball in the All Ireland Final of 1992!!

It seems to be the easiest thing now to bash Donegal football. Kevin Cassidy done wrong when outlining tactical and training methods imposed by the management when the panel was told at the outset to keep these private and the punishment is correct but he will be back for the championship in 2012.

Ask Mickey Harte, Kieran Mc Geeney, Pat Gilroy or any other successful manager and on the quiet they'll all tell you that when it comes down to the wire you will look to seek any advantage in a game to win it and the players will feel the same!! If you don't agree with this the chances that you have any medals of note are slim, you may never even have played the game!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 10/11/2011 11:23:22    1066511

Tomo imagine if it was the other way around... ;) Holy Moly....

Sure some posters still harp back to 7 years ago when talking about this current Dublin team...

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 10/11/2011 11:23:46    1066512

JinxyPoop
County: UK

Sure some posters still harp back to 7 years ago when talking about this current Dublin team...

If it was this place would be in overdrive Jim and you know it..

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 10/11/2011 11:34:28    1066519

mcguinness has turned donegal into the the second most hated team in the country, meath are the only county people despised more than them.

Gammy_Knee (USA) - Posts: 1482 - 10/11/2011 11:43:17    1066524

tomaoo7

1066519 JinxyPoop
County: UK

If it was this place would be in overdrive Jim and you know it..
_________

All too well Tomo... ah well

JinxyPoop (UK) - Posts: 1162 - 10/11/2011 11:51:50    1066530

Lads, thats because Dubs are the masters of all men and everyone hangs out of what we are getting up to!!......when ordinary counties do something 'controversial' nobody cares, but the slightest thing that the Dubs do is scrutinised by the nation!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 10/11/2011 12:07:12    1066546

Not another Dublin thread!!!!?!?!?!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12483 - 10/11/2011 12:12:05    1066551

Kevin Cassidy was dropped because everyone hates Dubs, is that the point ye are making lads?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12483 - 10/11/2011 12:13:31    1066553